Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

mmohdnor
post Mar 27 2012, 10:47 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 27 2012, 09:52 AM)
D800 + 35 f/1.4 taking picture of its own box ..hmm yummy ...hehe ...nice!
*can only drool ... hahaha.
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 11:17 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

On a sidenote (cheap stuff talk)

Im impress with tamron 1750mm non motor version. The lens quite sharp and focusing not bad too hmm.gif smile.gif

Okay resume with the expensive discussion tongue.gif
Str33tBoY
post Mar 27 2012, 11:55 AM

1,874 posts

ani sifu send their camera & lens for calibration before...?
i plan to send mine before d warranty ends...
as i feel like my AF is slightly back focus...

kindly advise me where should i send to...
PJ or BTS...?
and what should i bring...?
thx...
chooncc
post Mar 27 2012, 11:57 AM

109 posts

Yup.
Yes, but how much better is the D4 against the D3s in terms of noise? Does the "better" noise performance warrant the extra price?

I think if one is considering the D4, the noise performance should not be the MAIN reason. I think picking a D3s (or staying with it) or getting a D4 should be other reasons like dynamic range, better AF, ergonomics etc.

Oh, I especially like how both the D4 and the D800 now have 1.2x crop.
Usable AF with f/8 lens has always been Nikon's forte. I have used a 300mm f/4 with a 2x TC as far back as on a D2Hs body. D300 and D700 also works fine.
I took a peek at the link. Not much difference in ISO performance advantage with the D4. But then again, if you can upgrade, why not...
It's one of the better Nikon kit lens. Second question, how much are you getting it for?
Yup. That and better AF.
Congrats. Is that the reason why you got the D4? Oh, just read that your baby came out premature. Hope everything is alright with mother and baby.
AF wise, the D300s is better.
Yup. 24mm is nice too.  laugh.gif

Heard you're going Bangkok at the end of the month? For business or for motor show?  biggrin.gif
your d800, how much? rclxms.gif
actually the d4 plan to take my baby on may, lucky d4 come early out of the experted.
why not take out the d800 photo for sharing we us. thumbup.gif
kennexionz
post Mar 27 2012, 12:02 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 27 2012, 11:55 AM)
ani sifu send their camera & lens for calibration before...?
i plan to send mine before d warranty ends...
as i feel like my AF is slightly back focus...

kindly advise me where should i send to...
PJ or BTS...?
and what should i bring...?
thx...
if you want fast... send to PJ... coz BTS ter they dun have equipment to test... PJ they can test while u wait...
Str33tBoY
post Mar 27 2012, 12:13 PM

1,874 posts

ok...
so what should i bring...?
warranty card & receipt...?
btw...
if for calibration...
can take on d day we send...?

plan to do a big service before d warranty ends...
kennexionz
post Mar 27 2012, 12:17 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 27 2012, 12:13 PM)
ok...
so what should i bring...?
warranty card & receipt...?
btw...
if for calibration...
can take on d day we send...?

plan to do a big service before d warranty ends...
Warranty card n receipt just bring along... calibration will depend... if they can do it on that day, they will settle it there and then... unlike BTS they will have to send to PJ also no matter what is the issue.. thus it is not possible for a 1 day job if u are sending to BTS =)
Andy214
post Mar 27 2012, 02:47 PM

3,308 posts

Yes, but how much better is the D4 against the D3s in terms of noise? Does the "better" noise performance warrant the extra price?

I think if one is considering the D4, the noise performance should not be the MAIN reason. I think picking a D3s (or staying with it) or getting a D4 should be other reasons like dynamic range, better AF, ergonomics etc.
Yup, that's what mentioned by many as well.

For people who're buying new or upgrade from lower end, they can consider D4 but that's still quite a lot of difference in terms of price. Either way, both D3S and D4 are still a great camera. D4 has amazing buffer as well, good for those that really need it.

ojtee
post Mar 27 2012, 02:54 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 27 2012, 12:32 AM)
D7k got micro af adjustment ah (maybe known as "AF Fine Tuning") ?

AF performance comparable to D300s? How are the outer cross type AF points?
D7k and D300s both has the mcro AF adjustments.Suggest you don't play play with the micro adjustment, unless you have the calibrating ruler of some sort, or else, you may screw up the AF tuning more

D300s has a better AF cross sensor points, which can be adjusted, i.e. more X points more accurate AF but will lag abit if compared to less X points. These can be customised to 4 individual banks according to the genre taken. Another thing is the AF of the D300s is quite accurate in low light AF capture IMHO

Riggo
post Mar 27 2012, 03:02 PM

772 posts

QUOTE(chooncc @ Mar 27 2012, 11:57 AM)
your d800, how much? rclxms.gif
actually the d4 plan to take my baby on may, lucky d4 come early out of the experted.
why not take out the d800 photo for sharing we us. thumbup.gif
Wow...you purposely bought a D4 for taking pictures of your newborn? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Agito666
post Mar 27 2012, 03:06 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 27 2012, 02:47 PM)
Yup, that's what mentioned by many as well.

For people who're buying new or upgrade from lower end, they can consider D4 but that's still quite a lot of difference in terms of price. Either way, both D3S and D4 are still a great camera. D4 has amazing buffer as well, good for those that really need it.
my d70s upgrade go to d90 ar? tongue.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:17 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

You guys and all your high ISO monster while i still stuck with D90 cry.gif

Taken at ISO 1600 also can see alot of noise ady, seriously considering upgrading to a newer body since my work usually involve function at night one sweat.gif
Riggo
post Mar 27 2012, 03:18 PM

772 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Mar 27 2012, 03:17 PM)
You guys and all your high ISO monster while i still stuck with D90 cry.gif

Taken at ISO 1600 also can see alot of noise ady, seriously considering upgrading to a newer body since my work usually involve function at night one sweat.gif
time to get D700?
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:21 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(Riggo @ Mar 27 2012, 03:18 PM)
time to get D700?
If i have the cash no need to tell me boss laugh.gif
ojtee
post Mar 27 2012, 03:48 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Mar 27 2012, 04:21 PM)
If i have the cash no need to tell me boss laugh.gif
if your work involves night functions, i'm sure you are able to charge 'premium' price due to OT work no?
a few functions sure can get enuff $$$$$ for a D3s yes? rclxms.gif
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 03:57 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

atm im working as an intern with an event company (not so big one la) so cant do much about the pay laugh.gif
ojtee
post Mar 27 2012, 04:22 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Mar 27 2012, 04:57 PM)
atm im working as an intern with an event company (not so big one la) so cant do much about the pay laugh.gif
your best pal for night shots( portrait ) atm would be a good flashgun, go for a good used unit if budget is tight.
or 35 1.8/50 1.8 should get you enuff light just before the sun sets
gnome
post Mar 27 2012, 04:32 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Yeap already have sb900 and 50mm 1.8G at my disposal. For long range sniping got a 80200 two touch. Only left UWA lens that i need to get (i think) lol

owh and the picture above taken with tamron 17-50mm non motor version, belongs to my friend. I like the sharpness biggrin.gif
Calvin Seak
post Mar 27 2012, 04:42 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

Woah thats nice Jchue! biggrin.gif Where did you get it from?
celciuz
post Mar 27 2012, 04:43 PM

14,037 posts

How much is that D800? RM9500 or better? I'm looking for good offers.

125 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0192sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:56 PM