Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 2 2012, 03:41 PM) Is it recommended to shoot babies with flashes? Nope... but my dad took tons of my pics with his film SLR and with FLASH!!! No wonder I have the so called 'xan guang' now ._. QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 2 2012, 03:55 PM) Good Luck! Need a lot of patience, unless you're lucky the baby is awake and active, and behave! Hehehe How many months? Not recommended especially if newborn. Not exactly a baby... he's about 11 months old lo... plan to shoot at home... gonna be tough without flash.. but i'm considering a softbox set up if no window light...
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 07:45 PM
I wished D800 had a spec like 5Dmk3... then it will be no regret... reasonable MP count, and reasonable burst rate...
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 2 2012, 07:53 PM) i'm just waiting for them to announce what the D300s replacement is going to be like. Once you step into FX... DX doesn't look interesting anymore...  Don't waste time on D300s replacement, come to FX! QUOTE(gnome @ Mar 2 2012, 08:00 PM) Yeah the specs do look yummy. My friend just waiting to see if the price is right or not before jump ship to canon and ditching his D3  USD3499 versus USD3000 (D800).
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 2 2012, 08:30 PM) i want the crop factor. plus D700 or 800 doesnt look interesting to me. if got money sure go straight D3s or D4. Who doesn't want the D4 'if got money' haha!
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 2 2012, 09:02 PM) the specs does look promising, but the body looks like the 7D, even the controls are almost the same. if moving from the D3 to the 5D series, one wud have to sacrifice ergonomics. i wud say i love nikon's ergonomics, n canon's video capabilities  But the D800's video has improved quite a bit to be honest... I like the D800's body, ergonomics etc... but prefer the 22MP/6fps over the 36MP/4fps.
celciuz
Mar 2 2012, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(makaroni @ Mar 2 2012, 10:16 PM) is it a good step to upgrade to D700 rite now? actually i use D7000 Try waiting for a while, D700 price might drop a little. But D700 and D7000... you basically gain and loose some stuffs. D700 is a better DSLR for taking photo (FX sensor), but the D7000 is newer and has more bells and whistles such as 1080p video recording.
celciuz
Mar 3 2012, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 2 2012, 11:34 PM) yalor, nikon's ergonomics is so nice. hold a D700, then go hold the 5D2, u'll definitely feel the 5D2 is cheaper build (not cheaper la..maybe not as tough  ) for D800 vs 5D3, maybe it comes to the user itself. see whether u nid godly MP's or faster frame rate (and also other things that they offer)  Haha! Yes, Nikon body feels more robust than Canon body. *sorry to Canon fanboys here, its a personal preference thingy* I kinda like the 5Dmk3 22MP/6fps, but I belong to the dark side... so I definitely choosing the D800 over the 5Dmk3.. Just got back from the baby portraiture... wah seh damn tiring.. this is much harder than shooting mui mui chai ._. round 2 in a while... pocket wiz finally gonna see some real action xD
celciuz
Mar 3 2012, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 3 2012, 08:32 PM) I really do hope it's REALLY coming from a D800....if you know what I mean  What is so surprising? Its not that hard to make that sort of video recording technology. Maybe in few years ago I agree la, but this is 2012 le... hahaha.
celciuz
Mar 3 2012, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 3 2012, 10:08 PM) Right oso  saw the 5D3's iso performance, maybe it's close as the D3s' iso  I mean it's 2012 now haha Anyway, for those who shoots vertically, do u use camera strap? Cuz I find the strap is quite disturbing when shooting vertically  Hahaha! The 5Dmk3 is a new model compared to the D3s... not to mention the successor D4 is even better than the already great D3s... Yes I shoot with vertical grip and I do use a camera strap, fine with me.
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 4 2012, 01:28 AM) ISO 6400 on my D5100 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « DSC_7487 by K_S16, on Flickr i normally wrap the strap around my right wrist when i'm holding it, can secure the cam and at least the strap wont block the view In case of emergency, Superstar Libra by CY Pixels, on Flickr 6400 on the D700  QUOTE(BenSow @ Mar 4 2012, 01:16 PM) haha can you help me do mine? I wanna see what's possible with my blown sky, I only managed to fix it a little :/ Anyways how much is a Nikon 70300? for Nikon D3100.. Learn and practise...
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 4 2012, 02:23 PM) now waiting for someone to come show D3s at ISO 25,600  Let me dig my archive... I remember shooting before hahaha! But don't know still keeping or not... that time D3s just launched and my friend bought it... (was still on D90 lol~ damn impressed with the performance).
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 4 2012, 02:40 PM) next time i have to try Hi0.7 or Hi1.0  Haha, I went 25600. Not usable... unless you want those 'artistically grainy' pics
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 4 2012, 03:34 PM) Hi2 sure not usable, mine got super blue grainy noise oh damn your signature pic  The yofuuuuu! guy hahaha! Photographers standby while SK gives instructions to Fifi, Nikon Walkabout (Malacca Riverside) by CY Pixels, on Flickr Nikon Club Walkabout Malacca edition... this round with 3 Malay model, hot stuffs!  Different with my usual models This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 4 2012, 05:38 PM
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 07:48 PM
Long time didn't post bokehlicious portraits >D Nazz, Nikon Club Walkabout (Malacca River) by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
Mar 4 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(ojtee @ Mar 4 2012, 09:15 PM) bokeh? what bokeh? some thing else is licioussss....  QUOTE(tednet @ Mar 4 2012, 09:28 PM) aiyooo... dun know what to focus liao... bokeh or the wimin..  QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 4 2012, 09:54 PM) bokeh is one thing, licious is another thing  Wei wei wei... bokehlicious is 1 term k, don't break it into 2... hahaha!
celciuz
Mar 5 2012, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(amduser @ Mar 5 2012, 08:49 AM) oh btw...did anyone used Beike Pro 477 tripod before? can detach the ball head of the tripod and use on the monopod? Check the screw size used, if matches then you can. Most of them uses standard screw size.. there's 2 standard.. one is the bigger one, another is the smaller one. Don't remember the exact figure.
celciuz
Mar 5 2012, 09:31 PM
Fifi, Nikon Club Walkabout (Malacca River) by CY Pixels, on Flickr Long time no edit portraiture really bengang how to edit ._.
celciuz
Mar 5 2012, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 5 2012, 09:32 PM) Her legs pose look awkward  QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 5 2012, 09:37 PM) sure he can crop to be 3/4 length, then problem solved  But but but I like this pose... cause its more like high fashion unlike the usual boring cute pose~ hmmm...
celciuz
Mar 5 2012, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(slowkancil @ Mar 5 2012, 10:11 PM) guys need help here.... is it worth to buy nikon d7000 body now... or wait until the stock replenish.... (or straight go to d700 2nd hand, most of my lens is fx anyway) currently still using my d80 n d40... long time overdue to update already... D700 > D7000 if you don't need any video capability ;-)
celciuz
Mar 6 2012, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ Mar 6 2012, 09:37 AM) Oh, so sorry. I had a SB700 flash and my budget is around 700-900.  Thans for the advice.  2 choice, a flash (SB700) or another prime such as 35mm f/1.8G.