125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

○ Galaxy Nexus V4 ○, latest Google flagship

wallance13
post Jan 23 2012, 05:21 PM

130 posts

i tried the multi language add on.. super good.. before this my optimus 2x is on touchpal.. but the theme for touchpal sux
what keyboard u guys using?
wiraone
post Jan 23 2012, 05:29 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 05:20 PM)
hi guys, I'm very new to android and I'm considering buying this phone, i posted a question before this but nobody answered me.

anyway, i was asking if it will be difficult to unlock boot loader and root the nexus with MacOSX ?

also i've been reading around to prepare myself to the world of android and there's a few things i need to ask.

from what i can understand, after rooting, you can install custom ROM which is like customs themes and some performance alteration, am i right ?

next is kernel, kernel is pure performance tweak like giving better battery life and so on. correct ?

so after rooting i can choose a custom ROM and Kernal to install at the same time right ?

Finally, whats the difference between AOKP and AOSP ?
1. Unlock and rooting using MacOSX, shouldn't be that difficult. All the instruction can be found on the internet.
2. Most custom ROMs are there not for the themes but more toward performance, lean and better battery consumption, the same thing goes to the kernel.
3. After rooting, just install custom ROM and then go with the kernel.. after installing the CMW Recovery, you don't really need to use fastboot on your PC .. just copy the .zip files into your /sdcard and use CMW Recovery to flash them into the unit.

AOSP = google stock ROM, AOKP = enhanced AOSP done by Kang Project team.

BTW, there are few of us who're using Mac too .. so, feel free to ask question related to rooting/flashing on OSX.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jan 23 2012, 05:32 PM
AlphaOmega001
post Jan 23 2012, 05:33 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 05:29 PM)
1. Unlock and rooting using MacOSX, shouldn't be that difficult. All the instruction can be found on the internet.
2. Most custom ROMs are there not for the themes but more toward performance, lean and better battery consumption, the same thing goes to the kernel.
3. After rooting, just install custom ROM and then go with the kernel.. after installing the CMW Recovery, you don't really need to use fastboot on your PC .. just copy the .zip files into your /sdcard and use CMW Recovery to flash them into the unit.

AOSP = google stock ROM, AOKP = enhanced AOSP done by Kang Project team.
AOSP and AOKP is in the ROM itself is it ? or i have to install them separately from the ROM and Kernel ?

if I'm on fw 4.0.1, do i need to update to 4.0.3 to root ? and in the future if lets say I'm on 4.0.3 rooted nexus and then 4.0.4 fw is release, do i have to reroot all over again ?
wiraone
post Jan 23 2012, 05:37 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 05:33 PM)
AOSP and AOKP is in the ROM itself is it ? or i have to install them separately from the ROM and Kernel ?

if I'm on fw 4.0.1, do i need to update to 4.0.3 to root ? and in the future if lets say I'm on 4.0.3 rooted nexus and then 4.0.4 fw is release, do i have to reroot all over again ?
AOKP is the ROM itself. The ROM has it own kernel, but if you're thinking of going for another kernel, you could download and install that particular kernel later on.

No, you can root while you're on stock 4.0.1. I've no idea on OTA update, will it remove your rooted unit.. but if you install custom ROM, you won't probably get OTA update, need to do manual update.
hussain
post Jan 23 2012, 05:38 PM

2,012 posts

Can anyone provide me link to nova launcher?
wiraone
post Jan 23 2012, 05:42 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Jan 23 2012, 05:38 PM)
Can anyone provide me link to nova launcher?
Quick search on google will return this link:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1389071

AlphaOmega001
post Jan 23 2012, 05:42 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 05:37 PM)
AOKP is the ROM itself. The ROM has it own kernel, but if you're thinking of going for another kernel, you could download and install that particular kernel later on.

No, you can root while you're on stock 4.0.1. I've no idea on OTA update, will it remove your rooted unit.. but if you install custom ROM, you won't probably get OTA update, need to do manual update.
so the custom roms and kernel, do they require you to update your stock roms before flashing with them ?
wiraone
post Jan 23 2012, 05:46 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 05:42 PM)
so the custom roms and kernel, do they require you to update your stock roms before flashing with them ?
For the kernel, you need to check, some require you to have 4.0.3, so you do need to have 4.0.3 ROM, and only option is to go for custom ROM since google hasn't released 4.0.3 ROM. For going to custom ROM, you do not need to update your stock ROM, it will be overwritten to the new ROM that you flash in.
hussain
post Jan 23 2012, 05:47 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 05:42 PM)
Quick search on google will return this link:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1389071
Thanks buddy
Boy96
post Jan 23 2012, 05:51 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 05:10 PM)
Yup, for those who're concern about the type of leather they use, you can email them and ask. Here is his post:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2193721/+756

Added on January 23, 2012, 5:11 pm

What telco you're on, there are two numbers to send your SMS. I sent to Digi/Maxis's one and I got a reply straight away.. one with the wrong IMEI number because I entered wrongly and the reply said not registered, the second time with the correct IMEI and it sent back a reply with the warranty info.
I resent the SMS and they say need to request phone retailer to activate E -Warranty.. So who do I need to contact now.. Digi or samsung?
AlphaOmega001
post Jan 23 2012, 05:59 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 05:46 PM)
For the kernel, you need to check, some require you to have 4.0.3, so you do need to have 4.0.3 ROM, and only option is to go for custom ROM since google hasn't released 4.0.3 ROM. For going to custom ROM, you do not need to update your stock ROM, it will be overwritten to the new ROM that you flash in.
i see.

so everytime you flash a custom roms, will it delete everything in your phone ? like contact, sms, apps and so on ?
wiraone
post Jan 23 2012, 06:04 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 05:59 PM)
i see.

so everytime you flash a custom roms, will it delete everything in your phone ? like contact, sms, apps and so on ?
I'm too new to give answer on this, but if you need to wipe clean you data, the answer will be yes.
AlphaOmega001
post Jan 23 2012, 06:14 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 06:04 PM)
I'm too new to give answer on this, but if you need to wipe clean you data, the answer will be yes.
ok, thank you for explaining to me. anybody else can answer the question ?
supReme_87
post Jan 23 2012, 06:29 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jan 23 2012, 12:55 PM)
Yes, no problem for me. My warranty period starts at 16/01/2012 and ends on 13/01/2012.

Thanks for this guide. Yes, I think this step more clearer than FP step. nod.gif
benny888
post Jan 23 2012, 06:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 06:14 PM)
ok, thank you for explaining to me. anybody else can answer the question ?
Most rom cooks will advise you to wipe before flash. But you can choose not to. If the phone fail to reboot than you boot back to recovery to wipe it
Use titanium backup to backup your apps n data. Restoring back is easy
AlphaOmega001
post Jan 23 2012, 06:48 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 23 2012, 06:37 PM)
Most rom cooks will advise you to wipe before flash. But you can choose not to. If the phone fail to reboot than you boot back to recovery to wipe it
Use titanium backup to backup your apps n data. Restoring back is easy
if i backup with Titanium backup and i decided to wipe the phone, wouldn't all the data be deleted from the wiping process ? how come still can backup ?
benny888
post Jan 23 2012, 07:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Jan 23 2012, 06:48 PM)
if i backup with Titanium backup and i decided to wipe the phone, wouldn't all the data be deleted from the wiping process ? how come still can backup ?
You just need to reinstall back titanium backup. Your backup data in the internal sd will not be deleted.
sia1990
post Jan 23 2012, 07:18 PM

35 posts

Guys, I'm on AOKP maguro build 19.
Previously when I was on stock rom, there's a keyboard icon on my notification bar for me to interchange between android keyboard and any other keyboard.
But I don't see that icon anymore after i installed AOKP. How do i get it back?
It's getting very troublesome for me to go settings to chance back to android keyboard
AlphaBeta
post Jan 23 2012, 07:36 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

Can i root my phone which has been rooted alrdy? I am thinking of formatting my internal SD by re-rooting lol.
MaxReddevil
post Jan 23 2012, 07:39 PM

718 posts

PLease check it out guys. Looking to bulk for 4 units only

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry48441715

125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:16 PM