The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!
Mr.LKM
Feb 19 2012, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 19 2012, 01:36 AM) nah i planning to make the hard disk out to make it external. and only to plan to put in os and documents in the laptop. all media files will be put into the external hard disk. so what ssd u suggest? I am not sure of the current price in the Malaysian market. But you can try drives like Crucial M4 64GB, Corsair Force 3 64GB, Agility 3 64GB and so on. Basically you will be looking at 64GB drives. TomsHardware.com has an article on the impact between SATA2 and SATA3 ports. In short, the conclusion is that you should upgrade to SSD without considering this difference too seriously as you will still get significant performance boost. By the way, I think there will be a price cut-down soon since the distributors in Hong Kong are recently cutting down the prices of 128GB SSD aggressively. A SLC drive - Team Xtreem S3 costs only around HKD1,199 which is less than RM500. I got my Agility 3 120GB around RM450.
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 19 2012, 01:44 AM) I am not sure of the current price in the Malaysian market. But you can try drives like Crucial M4 64GB, Corsair Force 3 64GB, Agility 3 64GB and so on. Basically you will be looking at 64GB drives. TomsHardware.com has an article on the impact between SATA2 and SATA3 ports. In short, the conclusion is that you should upgrade to SSD without considering this difference too seriously as you will still get significant performance boost. By the way, I think there will be a price cut-down soon since the distributors in Hong Kong are recently cutting down the prices of 128GB SSD aggressively. A SLC drive - Team Xtreem S3 costs only around HKD1,199 which is less than RM500. I got my Agility 3 120GB around RM450. haha am i getting this the way around? is the statement should be insignificant? confused reading ur comment. owh ic. 450 is a good price for a 120gb.
Mr.LKM
Feb 19 2012, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 19 2012, 01:49 AM) haha am i getting this the way around? is the statement should be insignificant? confused reading ur comment. owh ic. 450 is a good price for a 120gb. Simply said, whether you use SATA2 or SATA3, it doesn't matter much.
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 19 2012, 01:51 AM) Simply said, whether you use SATA2 or SATA3, it doesn't matter much. allrite. by the way, does ssd get spoil more rarely compared to hdd? my hdd already 2 times get bad sector for no reason, had to change the hdd at service center. waste alot of time and my data because of that. haih
everling
Feb 19 2012, 01:55 AM
Any SSD will be at least 4x better than a HDD, even a cheap budget one like Kingston.
I have poisoned a good friend of mine by selling him an old Kingston cheaply, and now he can't live without an SSD and wonder how people can live on HDDs. And there was the other time when I sat down on a computer and I wondered if its Windows 7 had crashed during boot, but it turned out that it was simply loading from the HDD like normal. Once you have been properly poisoned by any SSD, using HDDs will frustrate you.
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(everling @ Feb 19 2012, 01:55 AM) Any SSD will be at least 4x better than a HDD, even a cheap budget one like Kingston. I have poisoned a good friend of mine by selling him an old Kingston cheaply, and now he can't live without an SSD and wonder how people can live on HDDs. And there was the other time when I sat down on a computer and I wondered if its Windows 7 had crashed during boot, but it turned out that it was simply loading from the HDD like normal. Once you have been properly poisoned by any SSD, using HDDs will frustrate you. haha its the same thing about audiophiles. well gonna survey the price 1st.
WhitE LighteR
Feb 19 2012, 03:54 AM
QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 19 2012, 02:01 AM) haha its the same thing about audiophiles. well gonna survey the price 1st. i think ur budget is too low already. i find the best balance between price and performance is those around 120/128GB SSD. After all the normal software my PC already took about 30GB. Imagine if you install games etc.. You wont have enough space. Plus I notice from review, SSD tend to perform faster the larger the SSD size. Its important also you find out which SATA ur mobo support. Not much point to get SATA3 if you only support SATA2. In SSD case not much point finding a future proof device because in the future SSD might drop price some more. You might as well just change new one by then...
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2012, 03:54 AM) i think ur budget is too low already. i find the best balance between price and performance is those around 120/128GB SSD. After all the normal software my PC already took about 30GB. Imagine if you install games etc.. You wont have enough space. Plus I notice from review, SSD tend to perform faster the larger the SSD size. Its important also you find out which SATA ur mobo support. Not much point to get SATA3 if you only support SATA2. In SSD case not much point finding a future proof device because in the future SSD might drop price some more. You might as well just change new one by then... ic. thanks for the advice, anyhow how are we going to find out if the mobo can support sata 2 or 3. ive been searching using google, but failed
PandoraV
Feb 19 2012, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 19 2012, 09:15 AM) ic. thanks for the advice, anyhow how are we going to find out if the mobo can support sata 2 or 3. ive been searching using google, but failed look for laptop equipped with http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chi...e-chipsets.htmlhttp://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chi...m-chipsets.htmlchipsets to fully utilize sata 3 6Gb/s ssd,or just look for a macbook with sata 3 port enable. Also laptop's mobo with achi enable,you are no where even you do have sata 3 port but will run on ide mode instead. You wont/hard to understand ssd as you dont have your own one at hand,by the same analogy hard for you to practice piano even you know the theory and music sheets but without a 'physical' piano.
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(PandoraV @ Feb 19 2012, 09:38 AM) look for laptop equipped with http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chi...e-chipsets.htmlhttp://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chi...m-chipsets.htmlchipsets to fully utilize sata 3 6Gb/s ssd,or just look for a macbook with sata 3 port enable. Also laptop's mobo with achi enable,you are no where even you do have sata 3 port but will run on ide mode instead. You wont/hard to understand ssd as you dont have your own one at hand,by the same analogy hard for you to practice piano even you know the theory and music sheets but without a 'physical' piano. i got dead link for both
Shufflerz
Feb 19 2012, 09:52 AM
I mean since budget is a concern, why not move to OEM stuffs? Too cheap to be truth? Or really need retail product badly?
fixgd
Feb 19 2012, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(PandoraV @ Feb 19 2012, 09:53 AM) thanks for the info. how about the laptop im about to buy? using AMD E-450. it should not be included inside the intel website right? well since i someone said i cant differentiate the speed of sata 2 or 3 if used in a dm1, i should just get the sata 2, since ill be using it for 2-3 years, and after that, new and cheaper technology will come out if i want to change my lappy, and i wont be using the same ssd then? This post has been edited by fixgd: Feb 19 2012, 10:07 AM
donpapachino
Feb 19 2012, 10:21 AM
since hdd is expensive due to the flood, ssd is getting more popularity. but sadly my team extreem g1 60gb died within 6 months. to RMA, will cost half of the price i bought the ssd.  better look for more reputable ssd with local warranty if possible.
PandoraV
Feb 19 2012, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(fixgd @ Feb 19 2012, 10:01 AM) thanks for the info. how about the laptop im about to buy? using AMD E-450. it should not be included inside the intel website right? well since i someone said i cant differentiate the speed of sata 2 or 3 if used in a dm1, i should just get the sata 2, since ill be using it for 2-3 years, and after that, new and cheaper technology will come out if i want to change my lappy, and i wont be using the same ssd then? AMD proc sure wont appear at intel's website mah,lol. The speed differences is there,may be you're not aware of it but i can feel it especially when you open photoshop cs5,boot up time and alike. Sata 3 is just last year tech,if the price difference is minimal i'd to get sata 3 instead.
OC4/3
Feb 19 2012, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2012, 03:54 AM) i think ur budget is too low already. i find the best balance between price and performance is those around 120/128GB SSD. After all the normal software my PC already took about 30GB. Imagine if you install games etc.. You wont have enough space. Plus I notice from review, SSD tend to perform faster the larger the SSD size. Its important also you find out which SATA ur mobo support. Not much point to get SATA3 if you only support SATA2. In SSD case not much point finding a future proof device because in the future SSD might drop price some more. You might as well just change new one by then... My Intel 320 Series 80GB serve me well so far Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit + Daily Use software only take up 2xGB or so Still got plenty of space to install game
kerry_king
Feb 19 2012, 02:28 PM
WTA ..better raid .or single for ssd
Raid support trim or not ?
jchue73
Feb 19 2012, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2012, 03:54 AM) i think ur budget is too low already. i find the best balance between price and performance is those around 120/128GB SSD. After all the normal software my PC already took about 30GB. Imagine if you install games etc.. You wont have enough space. Plus I notice from review, SSD tend to perform faster the larger the SSD size. Its important also you find out which SATA ur mobo support. Not much point to get SATA3 if you only support SATA2. In SSD case not much point finding a future proof device because in the future SSD might drop price some more. You might as well just change new one by then... I mentioned this before and it's not about having a future proof drive... SATA 3 SSDs are just built more recently and are generally newer tech than SATA 2 drives. Besides, there is very little price difference (if at all) between SATA 2 and SATA 3 SSDs. Its a no brainer to get SATA 3 drives even if your mobo is SATA 2 as they are backward compatible. Running my M4s in a Toshiba M9 (64GB) and Acer 1410 (128GB) and both notebooks are with SATA 2 mobos.
seatux
Feb 19 2012, 10:57 PM

Is it normal to get occasional BSOD when running on a SSD? I am on a OEM Samsung 830 128GB drive and running it on a C2D E8400 and a P43 Mobo. Fresh Windows 7 64 install even. Bought it from here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry48644735This post has been edited by seatux: Feb 19 2012, 10:58 PM
WhitE LighteR
Feb 19 2012, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 19 2012, 03:37 PM) I mentioned this before and it's not about having a future proof drive... SATA 3 SSDs are just built more recently and are generally newer tech than SATA 2 drives. Besides, there is very little price difference (if at all) between SATA 2 and SATA 3 SSDs. Its a no brainer to get SATA 3 drives even if your mobo is SATA 2 as they are backward compatible. Running my M4s in a Toshiba M9 (64GB) and Acer 1410 (128GB) and both notebooks are with SATA 2 mobos. little price difference? (Sata 2) Intel 320 120GB = RM580 OCZ Vertex 2 120GB = RM589 (Sata 3) Intel 501 120GB = RM899 OCS Vertex 3 = RM729 Mushkin Cronos Duluxe = RM750 580 vs 729 That is 150 ringgit difference minimum. I know the amount is depend on a person perspective of value. But that is consider alot to me. Price example taken from: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1293022