The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

jchue73
post Jan 14 2012, 07:36 AM

2,496 posts

On my company's notebook running 128GB SSD and Windows 7 Ultimate, I find that when I right click on any file or any icon on the drive, it takes like 10 minutes or so before I can get any menu. I can move the mouse but the mouse arrow changes to busy during that time. Anything wrong?
jchue73
post Jan 14 2012, 10:00 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 14 2012, 07:36 AM)
On my company's notebook running 128GB SSD and Windows 7 Ultimate, I find that when I right click on any file or any icon on the drive, it takes like 10 minutes or so before I can get any menu. I can move the mouse but the mouse arrow changes to busy during that time. Anything wrong?
Answering to my own reply...

I initially turned off Windows Search under Services. I switched it back on and now it works fine.

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 14 2012, 08:04 AM)
New Firmware 0309 Released to fix M4 Hourly Reboot Bug

Download Link
Thanks for the post. Since getting the 64GB and 128GB M4 last October and installed in my Toshiba M9 and Acer 1410 respectively, I have only shutdown for like 5 times in total. 5184 hours equals 216 days. Will update it.
jchue73
post Jan 28 2012, 12:56 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PandoraV @ Jan 28 2012, 12:30 AM)
It is wrong to declare it under value,they will follow the rules strictly with no exception.I'm pretty sure that pc components including ssd is taxable,even books and clothing as well.And the duty imposed ranging from 5% to 15%
SSDs being computer components memang tax free.

When I got my 128GB and 64GB M4 SSDs last year, I bought some Compact Flash cards as well. They only taxed me on the CF cards. I did not argue and paid as they were correct. So confirm there should be NO TAX on computer parts.
jchue73
post Feb 8 2012, 01:40 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Feb 7 2012, 10:52 PM)
hmm besides slower R/W speeds, any downside of using SATA3 ssd in a SATA2 slot?

i'm planning to get my second corsair force3 120GB for my sata2 lappie since pricing of sata3 & sata2 ssd is quite similar

thanks for your time smile.gif
I pick a SATA 3 SSD if I have a SATA 2 controller just because it's a newer drive with newer tech.
jchue73
post Feb 19 2012, 03:37 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2012, 03:54 AM)
i think ur budget is too low already. i find the best balance between price and performance is those around 120/128GB SSD. After all the normal software my PC already took about 30GB. Imagine if you install games etc.. You wont have enough space. Plus I notice from review, SSD tend to perform faster the larger the SSD size. Its important also you find out which SATA ur mobo support. Not much point to get SATA3 if you only support SATA2. In SSD case not much point finding a future proof device because in the future SSD might drop price some more. You might as well just change new one by then...
I mentioned this before and it's not about having a future proof drive... SATA 3 SSDs are just built more recently and are generally newer tech than SATA 2 drives. Besides, there is very little price difference (if at all) between SATA 2 and SATA 3 SSDs. Its a no brainer to get SATA 3 drives even if your mobo is SATA 2 as they are backward compatible.

Running my M4s in a Toshiba M9 (64GB) and Acer 1410 (128GB) and both notebooks are with SATA 2 mobos.
jchue73
post Feb 20 2012, 05:00 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2012, 11:46 PM)
little price difference?

(Sata 2)
Intel 320 120GB = RM580
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB = RM589

(Sata 3)
Intel 501 120GB = RM899
OCS Vertex 3 = RM729
Mushkin Cronos Duluxe = RM750

580 vs 729

That is 150 ringgit difference minimum. I know the amount is depend on a person perspective of value. But that is consider alot to me.

Price example taken from: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1293022
Sorry. Thanks for the correction as I have not bought SSDs locally. Just base from my M4 buying experience from the internet.
jchue73
post Mar 15 2012, 01:32 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Mar 14 2012, 11:15 PM)
hey guys,

im using an Acer 1810TZ ultraportable with Pentium Processor and Windows 7 64bit.

Do you think an SSD upgrade will boost any performance? Can my laptop even fit an SSD? It has a 250GB hdd

thnks!
I think this was asked before. The answer is yes and yes.
jchue73
post Jul 27 2012, 07:59 PM

2,496 posts

I just got the Intel 330 120GB for RM 359. Thought of trying it out instead of the M4 since I already own a 64GB and 128GB M4.

Have not opened it yet but one thing I can say is that compared to the Crucial, Intel's packaging is superb. I hear it includes a mounting kit?
jchue73
post Jul 28 2012, 10:44 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 28 2012, 06:24 PM)
If you want to try Intel, why not the 330? I'd choose either the M4 or the 330.
Yup. Did the same thing. Could have gone the M4 route but itchy only to try the Intel 330. Also because it's the same price level as the M4.
jchue73
post Aug 14 2012, 09:24 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 12 2012, 03:26 AM)
~35GB give or take. Depending on which version of Win 7 you install and whether or not it is already slipstreamed with SP1.
After applying all updates, just the Windows 7 Ultimate OS will use up around 18GB. Clear all the update backups and don't have restore points.

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 13 2012, 07:23 PM)
i think my sweet spot for now is 128GB
For SSD, you don't need to have the indexing turned on.

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 13 2012, 08:19 PM)
My sweet spot would be 512GB. And perhaps a 1TB SSD in the coming year or so as a secondary drive.

Drives are mostly filled with applications and games. My games already total bout 133GB so far and there's more to come.
Buy 2 off 256GB and put them in RAID 0. Buy 4 if you need 1TB later on.

QUOTE(pot @ Aug 13 2012, 09:17 PM)
1 Last question to clear out b4 tomorrow order my intel 330 120GB SSD. Is there any different between normal daily usage intel 330 SSD and crucial M4 SSD, I mean can we really can feel/spotted the different if we compare both?? RM320 for intel SSD and crucial M4 +-RM369. TQ
I have both the Crucial M4 128GB and the new Intel 330 120GB. NBo difference from what I can tell.

I would say get the one that would be most comfortable to your pocket.

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Aug 13 2012, 10:13 PM)
Viewnet.
Viewnet's price as of yesterday is RM 339 for Intel 330 120GB.

How does the RM 315 price come about? rclxub.gif
jchue73
post Aug 14 2012, 10:26 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(pot @ Aug 14 2012, 11:12 AM)
Thank you jchue73 i'm getting intel SSD 330 120GB for RM315+ postage. TQTQ The price from yesterday latest 'LOCAL' distributor. But need postage for purchase under 2K.  tongue.gif Around RM20+- More than 2K will waive the postage  drool.gif
Oh, ok. Thanks for the update. Might want to buy a 2nd want a do a RAID 0 just for kicks. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Aug 14 2012, 07:23 PM)
And no, iirc you cannot switch directly from IDE/SATA/RAID to AHCI mode in BIOS, you wont be able to boot after that, windows will gives you a lovely bluescreen.
its tricky though, i've tried that(upgrading SSD firmware).
Unless your mobo has 2 different SATA controller, eg intel native sata port and 3rd party like Marvell, Jmicron ect.
That's right.

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Aug 14 2012, 07:23 PM)

I can write down the step by step though.
It's here;

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

This are steps for switching IDE to AHCI when your OS is not installed in AHCI mode originally.
jchue73
post Aug 16 2012, 01:49 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 15 2012, 08:19 PM)
Use acronis true image. Easily available.
If you want free and guarantee to work with perfect alignment, use Windows 7 built in Backup and Restore utility and make a system image in another external USB hardisk if you have one. Boot from Windows 7 DVD installer or from your Windows 7 USB stick installer and when the main install screen comes out, choose Repair your computer, follow the screen instruction and then choose System Image Recovery (3rd option from the system recovery option menu).

Caveat is the size of the partition you are going to backup must not be more than the size of your SSD. Example, if you backup and create an image file from a 150 GB partition which is only 80 GB used (i.e. 70 GB is free), you will not be able to restore the image file to a 120 GB SSD.

I don't know if Acronis can resize / shrink the partition automatically.

0.0383sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:26 PM