2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

khusyairi
post Jan 16 2012, 04:54 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 16 2012, 04:46 PM)
Civic new design give do Hyundai a big favour....

wat is the New Civic design same with this Elantra...  laugh.gif
Maybe some of us say Civic new design is fugly in picture.
But the fact is Civic sales volume still higher in US/ Canada although Elantra won North american COTY award.
Same in most part of the world except in Korea.

In real life, Civic design not that ugly. It just safe design. It still have good quality.
khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 12:53 PM

147 posts

Honda Civic get official launching yesterday in Singapore.
Most probably Msian Honda Civic will hav same look. See link:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/events_features.php?AID=2514

If Elantra price too high, better get civic rite.
khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:05 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 17 2012, 01:53 PM)
Singapore civic spec:

"The Civic 1.6 features a standard audio that features WMA and MP3 audio file capability, Speed-Sensitive Volume Control (SVC), an audio input jack and a USB audio interface. The Civic hybrid, Civic 1.8 and Civic 2.0 add Bluetooth HandsFreeLink, front tweeters, Honda Satellite-Linked Navigation System and a 6.2-inch TFT color touch display. The navigation system features the popular Garmin system. A reverse camera system is standard. "

"Free upgrade to 5 yr unlimited mileage warranty."
what the heck. whats there left for Elantra to be proud of if at same price as civic? Hmm.. maybe i need to reconsider getting civic or its facelift.
Why Elantra much better than any car in same class like civic?
It won North american COTY award not because it had more gadgets but
1st- Design. More personality and excitement than most cars in the compact segment.
2nd- Spacious interior. wt 110.4 cubic ft it's larger than any competitors in same class. The space same as D-segment car.
3rd- The Elantra's 1.8-liter, 4-cylinder engine gets an EPA-estimated 40 mpg on the highway in any trim. Even 1.6 also rated at 40mpg globally. No need special gadget like competitors.
4th Value for money?

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 17 2012, 02:07 PM
khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:16 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 17 2012, 02:12 PM)
time to get your downpayment ready biggrin.gif
I already pay downpayment & book to change my wife car. But thinking to take it back since it's too pricey for local made car. Not worth it I think. Haha..
khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:48 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 17 2012, 02:31 PM)
Read this first before commenting about the Elantra's fuel economy:

http://www.consumerwatchdog.org/resources/...tra11292011.pdf
That's old story. So far it's not Hyundai fault.
It's rated according US EPA standard by US department of Energy not Hyundai.
http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/how_tested.shtml

Some poll show that EPA rating is true:
http://www.hyundai-forums.com/231-md-2011-...leage-poll.html

Q & A about Elantra fuel economy:

Q: Why am I not getting the rated 29 MPG in city driving?
A: It's simple. There is no such thing as an average city commute, everyone's is different. There is simply no way you'll get an average of 29 MPG while sitting in gridlocked traffic with the air conditioning running on a hot day. If you take a look at your window sticker, you'll see that below the big bold '29' is a passage that reads "Expected Range for Most Drivers - 24 to 34 MPG". If you sit in heavy or stop-and-go traffic or encounter hills, chances are good you'll be at the lower end of this spectrum but if your commute is flat with well-timed traffic signals, it will be higher.

Q: Why am I not getting the rated 40 MPG on the highway?
A: Let's be clear here; just because your commute to work contains ten minutes of highway driving with some heavy traffic in it does NOT mean you will immediately get 40 MPG. Also, you won't be getting anywhere close to 40 MPG by going 85 MPH. Maintain a steady and preferably slower speed over longer highway runs and you'll find the 40 MPG figure is very obtainable.

Q: I'm not getting 33 MPG combined for my commute. Why not?
A: Reset your average speed with each fill-up and keep an eye on it as you drive. Chances are your driving isn't as mixed as you thought it was. Currently I'm averaging 24 MPH / 38.6 KPH (not MPG) in what I used to perceive as mixed driving but if your average speed is any lower than 35 MPH (56 KPH), you're doing the equivalent of 100% city driving.

Q: How can I improve my mileage?
A: The best and easiest thing you can do is treat your accelerator as if there is an egg underneath it. Don't go storming off the line from a light if the very next one down the road is clearly red. The Elantra, like most modern cars, shuts the fuel injectors off while coasting above 25 MPH (40 KPH) so keep the transmission in gear so coast whenever possible. Shifting into neutral will re-engage the injectors and needlessly waste fuel. Using the sport shift function to engine brake down inclines also helps to slow the vehicle while saving brake pad wear. Also stick around in the right lane whenever possible to allow others to pass you. Driving efficiently may be rewarding but slowing everybody else down isn't polite.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 17 2012, 02:49 PM
khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 05:18 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 17 2012, 05:02 PM)
Exactly! Kick out the cronies and free this country for once!
I will vote 4 U 2 be our PM. thumbup.gif
People say UMNO-BN had cronies.
PR even worst. Anak, bini, inlaws, all get high post.
Hopefully U will create new party to lead the country for better future.

khusyairi
post Jan 17 2012, 05:28 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 17 2012, 05:24 PM)
I just want to have a chicken farm instead of cow farm in Apartment of Bangsar..  can I?
Of course nothing impossible in this bolehland..
Not only chicken farm; personal coffee boy who can provide U extra service also can. Hehe..
khusyairi
post Jan 18 2012, 08:19 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(knight88 @ Jan 18 2012, 01:57 AM)
Can anyone list out the differences between US version and Malaysia version for 1.8? As I know, GPi in US and MPi d-vvt in Malaysia. Does it affect the FC?
No such thing 1.8GPI or 1.8GDI in US.
It use same MPI engine.
khusyairi
post Jan 18 2012, 11:18 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:48 AM)
PR worse than BN?? Which shell are u living under la bro? Do u really think PR has got more cronies than BN? Spoken as a true BN supporter. How typical. BN controls the banking sector, EPF, manufacturing, states & national investments through various cronies and yet PR has got more cronies?? HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA
Please la. This is Elantra thread, this my will be my last post about this. I am neither BN or PR supporters, I am neutral.
In general normal rakyat view, Cronies in PR worse than BN as U can see normal rakyat like us hardly to be a leader or control their party. It being control by cronies from generation to generation at same time. In other word, it's family business.
For example (just name a few), anwar, wan azizah, nurul, azmin ali etc..
lim kit siang, lim guan eng, betty chew etc
karpal singh, Jagdeep singh, Gobind singh etc and many more..
They had control the party by cronies & family and had wide range of business too. They are millionaires if not billionaires.
Most of the time, their post is unchallengeable post and their power cant be denied.

khusyairi
post Jan 18 2012, 11:36 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 18 2012, 11:33 AM)
So what? They may be powerful ppl in their own parties but do they run GLC companies? Do they control tol collection and continously increase tolls? Do they sell you substandard fuel at high prices while they export the expensive grade to other countries? Do they dictate how this country is bring run? Do they control your 1 sided judiciary? Do they give your children crap low class education while cheating them with 20A's results? Do they increase your cost of living in Malaysia? Are they the ones who have given all of us a low quality of life with a substandard police force? Can your children play safely in the park without you worrying if they will be kidnapped or raped? Do they go around giving out a few hundred ringgit to kampung folk using money given by the rakyat through taxes and claiming its wang ehsan??? Are they the ones swindling and raping this country of billions of ringgit every year for the past 30 years while cheating the rakyat by telling them sweet stories every time? Are they the ones who tabled huge budgets every year and yet delivered only 30-40% of the initiatives? Are they the ones mentioned every year in the AG report caught buying items at 250% above market price?

Dont be a fence sitter. There is no such thing as perfect politicians and neither is there neutral ppl. if u care for this country and your generations to come then fight for them. Instead of sitting around complaining about everybody why dont u stand up and fight for what is right? If you think they arent good, then stand up and fight for the rakyat. Dont just sit back complaining day after day. Its ppl like you who have allowed BN to control the minds of Malaysians for the past 50 years.

Sorry to divert but pisses me off to hear crap from those who dont bother to even lift a finger to fight for a just cause and yet complain!  vmad.gif
I am yr supporters what. I vote for U to be our leader or PM.
I know U r transparent & fair.

Added on January 18, 2012, 11:44 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 18 2012, 11:21 AM)
so you can challenge majib post and nanathir power? ahhahahahahahahaha.

if they are not in power, so they are already millioanire, how about those in power? they are poorer or richer? talk with common sense man.

normal chap like you and i needs to work to find a living and can only look at those cheap cars under 100k. so you dont have time to go for politic. ok? understand?

now lets talk cars.
True..

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 18 2012, 11:44 AM
khusyairi
post Jan 18 2012, 04:07 PM

147 posts

I think there are no problems to anybody who want to chance car every 2-3 years or buy cheaper car instead affordable car.
It's their money.
I dont mind at all wt them.
khusyairi
post Jan 19 2012, 08:40 AM

147 posts

"Hyundai overall is more premium than KIA".

It is true a fact but not entirely true.
It just from perspective of global consumer including in south korea from the beginning of korean car industry.

Hyundai and Kia are technically separate companies, with Hyundai owning less than 50% of its junior partner. But as the two major divisions of the Hyundai-Kia Motor Group, the two firms share resources and align their strategies through carefully-maintained relationships in the classic Korean chaebol (conglomerate) fashion.

Hyundai and Kia enjoy a dominant position in Korea, earning 45.2% and 33.2% of the overall Korean market in 2010 (including commercial vehicles).

Technically, it just like Proton and Perodua in Malaysia. Proton initially said to be premium than Perodua. However, time to time Perodua catch up wt Proton in term of pricing & quality. Lastly there almost no different between their car (pricing & quality).

The past few years, it was said that Hyundai built better car as they own better technology, factory and staff.
However, the gap is closer and closer as they share all their resource.
As the result, current car pricing and quality is same.

khusyairi
post Jan 19 2012, 02:31 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ngweichoong @ Jan 19 2012, 01:57 PM)
Think twice before take Hyundai Car. 
1. The Tucson car has the cap of the fuel tank under the back seat. Which means there have the "fuel tank access" at the back seat.
2.Both Front Door can easily be open eventhough already locked from inside.. just simply pull the door latch. Highlight to SC, they claim that so call future design.
If above is the fact, the Hyundai car is just have a nice look but the customer safety not the priority concern in the car design concept. Further more if you go to access below link , you will find that a lot of customer struggle in Hyundai bad service .
http://www.facebook.com/hyundaimalaysia
Aiyo.. Current Mitsubishi car also had that features. No one complain.

If dont want that kind of unlock. Mitsu SC can reprogrammed wt their laptop. Easy as click enable or not only.
Not big problem.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 19 2012, 02:36 PM
khusyairi
post Jan 19 2012, 02:58 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 19 2012, 02:43 PM)
When did he say so? ohmy.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 2:44 pm
Maybe it's time for you to update or upgrade rclxms.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 2:49 pm
But it is a fact that Hyundai is more premium than Kia in term of their marketing position. Remember Genesis and Equus?
Yes they are very closely related in many ways, but there is something called branding. The same reason between VW, Skoda and Seat. Three of them are sharing a lot of similarities yet VW is more expensive than Skoda and Seat. But cheaper Skoda and Seat don't mean that they are inferior or lousy compared to VW, just a matter of branding and positioning.
Current KIA & Hyundai strategy marketing position is same.
Elantra & Forte
Sonata & K5 optima
Genesis/Equus & K9

VW vs Skoda & Seat of course different brand positioning.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 19 2012, 02:59 PM
khusyairi
post Jan 19 2012, 04:26 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 19 2012, 03:58 PM)
Why you said so? Didn't you notice that most Kia is cheaper than Hyundai or similarly priced but better spec-ced?
K9 is not out yet and according to the rumours so far it will only be available in South Korea because of their branding. Even K7 is not even on sale in US yet although it was released two years earlier than the Azera HG because of their marketing strategy. Kia is trying to attract younger buyer (Soul, Hamster, K5 space adv) while Hyundai is going the more premium way.
PS: Being more premium is compared with Kia in case misinterpreted.

Currently similarly price rite. Range of pricing is same.
Where got better spec? more or less is same if compare full wt full accessory.
Of course K9 yet only available in korea, while only marketed globally later. But that not the issue.
In term of marketing positioning, it will be the same as every car; they share technology, engine, chassis etc.. Only design different.

I agree wt U in term of marketing strategy, they attract two set of buyers.
However doesnt mean, in term of pricing, one is premium; another one is not.
Doesnt mean value of Hyundai or KIA better than the other.
K9 more or less same wt Genesis.
K5 more or less same wt Sonata.
It hard to tell which is premium than the other as the gap between them not wide as 10yrs ago.

PS: It also hard to tell which is premium either Honda or Toyota bcoz more or less their strategy is same.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Jan 19 2012, 04:34 PM
khusyairi
post Jan 27 2012, 11:44 AM

147 posts

How U know Elantra have a Bigger then average loss over the year than accord, proton & nissan?
khusyairi
post Jan 31 2012, 02:57 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 31 2012, 02:53 PM)
its the best estimate so far. if OTR around 18k.
Cheaper than Kancil. hehe.
khusyairi
post Feb 1 2012, 09:49 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 1 2012, 08:45 AM)
Even if u dont know the exact price, you already know the rough estimates. So ask yourself this question: Are you prepared to pay approx RM115K for a CKD 1.8L car with an Inokom badge? If your answer is no, then it doesnt matter what the final price is right? It will only defer by a few thousand and your decision is not gonna be based on a price difference of RM 2-3K rite?

So just wait for the price to be released. Whats the point in asking salesmen at various showrooms when NONE of them have a clue and we already know that? No point in everybody hearing some false rumours from somewhere and sharing it here. Merely makes the thread longer without any real purpose.

So lets all just keep cool and be patient.
If different only RM2-3K.
Mean that confirm final price 1.8L is RM112-118K?
khusyairi
post Feb 1 2012, 10:15 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Feb 1 2012, 09:55 AM)
Actually if the real price and your budget only few thousand gaps it makes no difference. Unless you expect the price should pair with Forte. But confirmed it's "Not Cheap".

I still not sure 115K CKD Inokom is value car to buy as it same wt Japanese car. Still 50-50. Hope somebody can convinced me it's a better choice.
I not expect the price should pair with Forte. But I hope the price is below 110K (then surely will buy).

When I buy a lancer. My big2 boss ask why dont I buy a camry or Prius instead of lancer.
That's a easily I can answer bcoz it's fully imported, sporty, for young guy, value for money etc...
Itu pun masih lg dia nak menang by said those car better. Diam je la.
If I buy another car an Inokom, of course my big2 boss will ask again. How to answer if Inokom price too pricey, I am not sure.

My wife ( a Doctor) say she don wan to pay monthly installment wt her salary. Just enough payment wt her monthly oncall claim. Cheaper is better.
That's why instead of buy a conti or D segment car.
I decided top buy C segment car.
But is it 115K CKD Inokom value car to buy? Hmm...

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Feb 1 2012, 10:38 AM
khusyairi
post Feb 1 2012, 11:00 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(kulatkia @ Feb 1 2012, 10:53 AM)
just curious why you thought the price shouldn't pair with Forte?? or why you think Elantra should cost more compare to Forte  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Because generally in Asia or South Korea itself, Elantra full spec price is just slightly higher than full spec Forte.
But it's not true for North American or Europe market where it's more or less same.

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:02 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 1 2012, 10:56 AM)
doctor needs an ultra reliable and boring car biggrin.gif get altis biggrin.gif
haha.. Maybe depend on Inokom price.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: Feb 1 2012, 11:02 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0477sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:43 AM