2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

caddilac
post Jan 30 2012, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(ahcheap @ Jan 30 2012, 07:59 PM)
I see... I will try to check the showroom on 2nd first. If showroom still got no Elantra then maybe 4th go IOI rclxms.gif
But then this is a poster so it may not be true also... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Jan 30 2012, 08:29 PM
caddilac
post Jan 30 2012, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(finkl1 @ Jan 30 2012, 08:01 PM)
if you got fed up with the price...there's always the lower specced...

Accent. Unfortunately...no GDi again...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Accent
The new Accent is selling like crazy in many countries. I just came back from HCM and New Accent was such a common sight already (many Veloster also). In GCC the Accent is already the number 5 best-selling car (despite it was launched in March 2011) while the Solaris in Russia is now the best selling foreign car. All those countries have no GDi as well and still using 4speed automatic rclxms.gif
http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2012/01/27/...d-camry-on-top/
So you can expect our Accent to come with 1.4/1.6 single CVVT Gamma engine with 4speed automatic, the worldwide strategy of Hyundai:P

This post has been edited by caddilac: Jan 30 2012, 10:40 PM
caddilac
post Feb 1 2012, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Feb 1 2012, 07:36 PM)
Soft launch? Never heard of such thing, which SA BS'ing? If you mean the soft launch prepared for managers yesterday, it was yesterday.

Official launching date is 22nd February. No official pricing yet. Confirmed colors are White, Black, Ice Silver.
Do you know if the car will reach the showroom before the official launching?
caddilac
post Feb 1 2012, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Feb 1 2012, 07:59 PM)
Nothing indicate otherwise smile.gif So 99.999999% that will happen.
Last time my sa told me the car will reach tomorrow... tomorrow gotta call him n ask again...
caddilac
post Feb 2 2012, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 2 2012, 02:42 PM)
Sonata sales good meh?
From a Korean D-seg car point of view, Sonata is quite an achievement. Until now the sales of Sonata is still very sustainable (avg 100+) considering how small the price gap it have with the Jap.
caddilac
post Feb 2 2012, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 2 2012, 03:36 PM)
that is always true for KIA/Hyundai here..   until today Sportage waiting period are still fantastic..   only recently the Tucson waiting period settle down..
Actually not only in Malaysia but a worldwide issue... Even in US the Elantra is the car with lowest inventory...
If you are familiar with Hyundai and Kia, you will notice that many of their factories are running on 3 shifts and exceeding their actual capacity... Both their US and China plants exceeded the projected capacity by 10% yet they still can't produce enough...

Added on February 2, 2012, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 2 2012, 03:41 PM)
so they wud like to keep the gap there, instead of closing it...
I don't think it is possible for them to price it even lower... The previous Sonata NF CKD was about 120k while the CBU YF is only 136k yet with so many upgrades... Same story for Elantra, X20 CKD was 99k and if the new MD 1.8 is 110k, I don't think it is too much with all those added features.
The main problem most people having is the logo. People expect it to be cheap with a Inokom logo.

Added on February 2, 2012, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(heng84 @ Feb 2 2012, 09:57 AM)
Really ??? How much did they lower down for example like forte?? Maybe I can save up some $$
Until now the new car price of Forte is still very stable... Hardly see huge cash discount rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 2 2012, 03:49 PM
caddilac
post Feb 2 2012, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(squareballs @ Feb 2 2012, 07:09 PM)
The first thing i'll do is change the rims..
The ori rim looks much nicer sad.gif
caddilac
post Feb 2 2012, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(ezu_din @ Feb 2 2012, 10:21 PM)
better get mazda3 which include free labor + part + oils for 3 years...so disappointing...
And you also get 4/5speed automatic, cramped rear seat and single VVT engine... cool2.gif
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(sean8509 @ Feb 3 2012, 10:36 AM)
that 2din player look alike aftermarket

original is US elantra

if that player totally vendor from aftermarket, toally not worth it, and whole image look not so impressive, i rather spend my money to MAZDA 3 ,if Hyundai doing this hmm.gif
if they put the original player like US version that might consider hmm.gif
The unit on Santa Fe is not original as well... Isn't that original HU not compatible with local map? You see the whole range of Kia in Malaysia got no GPS because the ori unit cannot put our map... Even the Sonata 2.4 Premium is not an ori unit as well...
By the way if you can appreciate the cramped rear seat, 5spd AT and the single VVT not so new MZR engine, Mazda3 will be a good choice with 6 airbags as welll rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 3 2012, 12:04 PM
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(ivn79 @ Feb 3 2012, 12:06 PM)
OMG! If the din player looks like the aftermarket one, it's so fUGLY compare to the original one US or Korea. It's looks so CHEAP! If the pic is the malaysian version if Elantra, why they do this to us??!! Cut cost to earn higher?? mad.gif  I hope I'm wrong sad.gif
This thing RM3000 biggrin.gif
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(squareballs @ Feb 3 2012, 12:41 PM)
I rather they dont fit in the ugly HU into the 1.8 and sell us cheaper.
They seriously should consider a 1.8 high spec variant sad.gif

Added on February 3, 2012, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 3 2012, 12:28 PM)
mazda malaysia also gave out CASKA model...dont think it's original....
yeah... different from ori one oso...

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 3 2012, 01:06 PM
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(mac.tay @ Feb 3 2012, 03:28 PM)
just now SA called me.
Confirmed 22nd launching.
Can test drive 1.6 1.8
No price yet
Do you know when can test drive?
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Feb 3 2012, 09:27 PM)
Specs been out since December, nothing new there.

If the same vendor for Santa Fe is supplying the Elantra GPS, that unit is actually very good for it's price. I've seen other GPS HU before, the interface is not as streamlined as the one on the Santa Fe.

GPS depends on the GPS software anyway, doesn't really have anything to do with the HU, if you use Papago it'll be all the same regardless of HU's brand or software as most GPS now runs on same hardware specs, performance will not vary by very much.

Some minor updates, not 100% , since I didn't go to the soft launch that day, but the 1.8 center fascia design will be a bit different from from the 1.6, and Nappa leather seats appears to be black color.
Different center fascia design? Can't really understand this... sad.gif

Added on February 3, 2012, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(sean8509 @ Feb 3 2012, 08:02 PM)
u right , cramped rear seat, 5spd AT and the single VVT not so new MZR engine, Mazda3 will be a good choice with 6 airbags as welll
so i waiting is new  SKYACTIV-G engine tech bring in Malaysia for mazda 3 ,we always have better choice blush.gif

update confirm launch is 22-02 , price 1.8 below 110k , from 80k source from Hyundai SA
SkvActiv G is not a cheap tech... You can check the pricing of 2012 Mazda3 on US website and see how much the SkyActiv G cost over the 2.0MZR... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 3 2012, 09:40 PM
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Feb 3 2012, 09:42 PM)
It is slightly different from the 1.6, but I can't see them clearly as the photo was on my manager's phone. Different as in the appearance look a bit different, not only because of the GPS head unit and the auto air conditioner console.
Kinda weird coz Elantra is using the same center fascia around the globe unless SD do something with it hmm.gif
Just hope that they won't give us something like this...
caddilac
post Feb 3 2012, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(kekura @ Feb 3 2012, 10:03 PM)
For standard unit, the aircond vent will be on the upper side, near the player. But for 1.8, it needs extra buttons for the GPS (need more space) so the aircond vents are moved to the lower part.

Im just guessing.. Ive seen some version on upper side, some version on lower side.

Added on February 3, 2012, 10:05 pmBtw, i wonder what software is in the elantra gps. Papago, garmin, inhouse (like bmw)... Probably same as santa fe, what software is santa fe?
Elantra MD around the world are using the same aircond vent design regardless of spec.

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 3 2012, 10:12 PM
caddilac
post Feb 4 2012, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(squareballs @ Feb 4 2012, 12:11 AM)
Don't be surprise the Manual version will come with this HU.. lol
I'm worrying that all 1.6L get this doh.gif
Coz last time all i30 also like this... rclxub.gif
Although the unit is quite good but looked really bad... If really is this then have to change to the DVD HU...
caddilac
post Feb 4 2012, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(ivn79 @ Feb 4 2012, 03:45 PM)
Exactly! High & Normal spec...

Added on February 4, 2012, 3:50 pmHeard that the new Civic 2012 will get a facelift... why? I guess bcoz H already see their lost to this Elantra's Fluidic Sculpture design! wink.gif
Most probably they will only update the powertrain and some interior trim... It is impossible for them to make major changes to the exterior coz the car is still very new in the market.

Added on February 4, 2012, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(Antzfield @ Feb 4 2012, 04:52 PM)
On business trip in Egpyt now. Seen few Elantra on d road. A bit dissapointed with the exterior look and not as nice as in d pictures. Maybe I am having a high expectation with so many good review on d looks as well as from d pictures in the forum.

However, it sure looks refreshing than the Forte. smile.gif am still looking forward for the launch in MY.
Elantra and Accent RB are very popular in Egypt. rclxms.gif
http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2012/01/28/...elantra-excels/

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 4 2012, 09:47 PM
caddilac
post Feb 5 2012, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(ivn79 @ Feb 5 2012, 07:08 PM)
Yalor, why only 2 airbags?? i thought got 6 airbag safety system: Dual front airbags, front seat-mounted
side-impact airbags, roof-mounted side-curtain airbags

This is korea & US version, somemore it's standard version.

Added on February 5, 2012, 7:19 pm

Yaya.. i saw it too! It's white Veloster!
Only Naza will give 6. All Hyundai only got 2 except Sonata premium biggrin.gif
caddilac
post Feb 5 2012, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 5 2012, 08:14 PM)
the 1.8 also marketed as 'premium' mah..... langsung no consistency this SD....

guess the premium is meant for the price only haha

i say screw the sunroof give more airbags for practicality's sake!!
I also hope to get more airbags instead of sunroof... But i think they are trying to replicate what the Sonata did with panaromic roof because the Elantra will now be the only C-seg sedan with sunroof in our market... tongue.gif

Added on February 5, 2012, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(squareballs @ Feb 5 2012, 08:13 PM)
Mazda 3 also 6 airbags right?
Ya 3 2.0 got 6 airbags.biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by caddilac: Feb 5 2012, 08:17 PM
caddilac
post Feb 5 2012, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(Nick-87 @ Feb 5 2012, 08:24 PM)
Talking about running cost already ?  brows.gif

How is the fuel consumption ?  whistling.gif
Elantra achieved best in class 40mpg highway fuel economy in US across the range rclxms.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:32 AM