mamamia corolla! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
calvin_ng
post Feb 21 2012, 01:24 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

The Dashboard is so so so boring... bet myvi dash is nicer

Added on February 21, 2012, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(Kiding @ Feb 21 2012, 09:36 AM)
Prius C aircond is powered by electric inverter compressor, hence, it can be run by battery power only, as such, the aircond is running even the engine is stopped
Agree... but there is a downside to this technology... you see By doing this the car is 100% depending on the nimh battery pack and the car cannot move without it as when the time the priusC nimh cell die the compressor and water pump cannot run... your car engine will over heat...

Insight is called parallel hybrid and it rely on independent power source... meaning the Insight nimh battery only assist nothing more.. (hence called IMA)
when the nimh pack die/expired the car can drive like normal and uses normal starter to start the car... the car will run like normal 1.3l car... until you get the pack replace... this is much fool proof... and in hard time where no $$$ change nimh pack can rely on petrol at the mean time...

dont tell me prius NIMH can last lifetime... no battery can last a lifetime it is a matter of time... and still wondering why UMW-T still give only 3 years battery warranty???

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Feb 21 2012, 01:36 PM
BuFung
post Feb 21 2012, 02:05 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 21 2012, 01:24 PM)

Agree... but there is a downside to this technology... you see By doing this the car is 100% depending on the nimh battery pack and the car cannot move without it as when the time the priusC nimh cell die the compressor and water pump cannot run... your car engine will over heat...

Insight is called parallel hybrid and it rely on independent power source... meaning the Insight nimh battery only assist nothing more.. (hence called IMA)
when the nimh pack die/expired the car can drive like normal and uses normal starter to start the car... the car will run like normal 1.3l car... until you get the pack replace... this is much fool proof... and in hard time where no $$$ change nimh pack can rely on petrol at the mean time...

dont tell me prius NIMH can last lifetime... no battery can last a lifetime it is a matter of time... and still wondering why UMW-T still give only 3 years battery warranty???
insight using parellel hybrid keh? wa.. hou geng ah insight....
don^don
post Feb 21 2012, 02:08 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

somehow the new myvi's interior is better than this, wad a big disappointment. i'll save my final judgement after i see the real thing in showroom.
ar188
post Feb 21 2012, 02:20 PM

9,206 posts

acterly the accurate term for insight or IMA equipped hybrid is Mild Hybrid. which is the lowest tech hybrid. it cannot run on EV mode alone.

Mild hybrids are essentially conventional vehicles with some degree of hybrid hardware, but with limited hybrid feature utilization. Typically they are a parallel system with start-stop only or possibly in combination with modest levels of engine assist or regenerative braking features. Unlike full hybrids, Mild hybrids generally cannot provide ICE-OFF all-electric (EV) propulsion.

turbocharged
post Feb 21 2012, 02:21 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 21 2012, 02:05 PM)
insight using parellel hybrid keh? wa.. hou geng ah insight....
it depends.

if i buy bmx, then bmx pwned all, including BMW biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

if i buy bus sekolah, then bus sekolah pwned all. icon_idea.gif
BuFung
post Feb 21 2012, 02:28 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 21 2012, 02:21 PM)
it depends.

if i buy bmx, then bmx pwned all, including BMW biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif

if i buy bus sekolah, then bus sekolah pwned all.  icon_idea.gif
true wor... if chain putus, still can use leg to push... if wheel rosak, still can had carry it... lol
herojack41
post Feb 21 2012, 02:45 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

and im having problem accesing toyota website laugh.gif

turbocharged
post Feb 21 2012, 02:46 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:45 PM)
and im having problem accesing toyota website laugh.gif
since last night i face this problem, server overwhelmed biggrin.gif
herojack41
post Feb 21 2012, 02:54 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 21 2012, 02:46 PM)
since last night i face this problem, server overwhelmed biggrin.gif
brows.gif im not checking on the prius C thou ohmy.gif

brows.gif just normal price checking on vios laugh.gif
watonk
post Feb 21 2012, 03:04 PM

How can u say like that. Toyota parts all last lifetime one tongue.gif
herojack41
post Feb 21 2012, 03:06 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

hmm.gif i wonder if any1 find out this yet laugh.gif laugh.gif

lawl....103k OTR shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
watonk
post Feb 21 2012, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:20 PM)
acterly the accurate term for insight or IMA equipped hybrid is Mild Hybrid. which is the lowest tech hybrid. it cannot run on EV mode alone.
It runs on full EV mode below 50km/h. However engine still register rpm reading since the motor runs the crankshaft.
Prius C run its electric motor and disengage ICE under full EV.
victor_hoh
post Feb 21 2012, 03:25 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Feb 21 2012, 03:10 PM)
It runs on full EV mode below 50km/h. However engine still register rpm reading since the motor runs the crankshaft.
Prius C run its electric motor and disengage ICE under full EV.
That's not what I understand. IMA = full time combustion engine + part time electric motor. As long as your car is moving, your combustion engine will be running, and that's why you see your engine RPM rising.

This post has been edited by victor_hoh: Feb 21 2012, 03:35 PM
WannaGetBuffed
post Feb 21 2012, 03:37 PM

983 posts

Yeh? UMW only give 3 yrs warranty for battery pack? I wonder how much it cost to replace the batteries after the warranty is gone case.
turbocharged
post Feb 21 2012, 03:52 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Feb 21 2012, 03:37 PM)
Yeh? UMW only give 3 yrs warranty for battery pack? I wonder how much it cost to replace the batteries after the warranty is gone case.
takut, dont buy.

buy, dont takut.
calvin_ng
post Feb 21 2012, 03:53 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Feb 21 2012, 03:25 PM)
That's not what I understand. IMA = full time combustion engine + part time electric motor. As long as your car is moving, your combustion engine will be running, and that's why you see your engine RPM rising.
You are right the engine run all the time but there is a technology in Insight honda uses in the Accord V6 3.5 that is VCM... but insted like V6 that auto shut off 3 out of 6 cylinder Insight uses VCM to turn all all 4 cylinder in EV mode meaning the engine move but no fuel go in and no combustion... but power loss still there as the Electric motor still turn the engine which is not really required...

In Hybrid world there is no Mild/full hybrid there is parallel and Part hybrid...

let me explain

Parallel Hybrid is what Insight uses

it basically sandwitch the IMA motor in between Engine and Gearbox hence it is called parallel or Full time hybrid (you cannot dis engage either of them the both hybrid need to work fulltime to work)

HSD or Part Hybrid is what Toyota uses

it basically insted of a paralles setup it put in another planatery gearbox which disengage the ICE or Electric motor or uses both it is at the moment the most efficient hybrid as you dont get power loss like parallel hybrid

Some confusion like 4WD... it is the same shit and confuse used in 4WD world... in 4WD world part 4WD is better than fulltime 4WD

and in hybrid HSD or part hybrid is the best setup as the car can decide which to run or both and not forced to run both fulltime...

so let put it this way FULL HYBRID is SALESMAN BULLSHIT!!! (Mainly toyota salesman lah)

Toyota HSD uses part hybrid and Honda uses Full hybrid but since uncle think full hybrid is better toyota salesman quickly twist the fact...!!! ouch...

BuFung
post Feb 21 2012, 04:01 PM

8,407 posts

part hybrid... very new words to me... lol....
turbocharged
post Feb 21 2012, 04:01 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 21 2012, 04:01 PM)
part hybrid...  very new words to me... lol....
ppl explain something, to be polite we should just rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

i think now the new game in this hybrid is....

whoever save less fuel = real hybrid.

prius= bigger car, use less fuel = fake hybrid/part hybrid

xxxxxxx = smaller car, use more fuel, no aircon at jam = real hybrid/full hybrid.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 21 2012, 04:03 PM
calvin_ng
post Feb 21 2012, 04:03 PM

1,583 posts

correct term is HSD since toyota patent it L)

60 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:27 PM