8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V3, Be a WISE user - Please read 1st page

cowithgun
post Dec 31 2011, 06:21 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 31 2011, 04:42 PM)
@cow, inside Aura, you got "android" this file?
mine got android file, and inside got "settings" in text pad ,
when open I found :

ResourcePath=/../Res

MapPath=/../Maps

ContentPath=/../Maps

Will this be the 1 need to change? >< this 1 is "latest" Sygic 11.2.1.
yours use phone dl map or comp dl map?
ohh... i heard latest Sygic no longer can do that... may be u can edit that file instead... tongue.gif
cowithgun
post Dec 31 2011, 06:43 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 31 2011, 06:30 PM)
hei, COW ~
the latest one very geng. I just put the aura in ext_sd.
install Aura 11.2.1. then open it, it'll install some file around 10-20mb.

poff ~ can use and the AURA file is in the EXT_SD automatically. Holy COW !!!
XDDDD ~ no need use internal storage anymore ~ haha
wow, can use ext sd automatically ka? may be i ll upgrade later biggrin.gif
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 03:50 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(dupicalz @ Jan 1 2012, 10:10 PM)
wad guide?

they giv the url for the pc. i typed tat but my browser just wont load it.
Need more info to help you. Are both of your PC and phone connect to the same Wifi?

Second, if you are using IE, you must type the "http://" as well. This is because IE is stupid if you try to connect to non-http port.
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 04:01 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(raysky @ Jan 2 2012, 12:50 AM)
what i dun get is why is it so difficult to manage apps in android?
it seems by default i can only install apps to internal memory then have option which says "Move to SD" which actually move to usb storage which is REALLY misleading,
and I do not have ANY option to move to my REAL SD card.....
The "Move to SD" actually move your app to External SD Card. You cannot see it on your External SD Card because they are encrypted in /.android folder. Look here if you want more info and test for yourself:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2125489/+1640#entry47394187

You also can set it so that all new App will be installed to external sd card by default, but you must have root:

Download Terminal Emulator from Market, execute this:

CODE
su
pm setInstallLocation 2

*Somehow, a few people report that it didn't work, although it work fine with my SGW*
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 04:10 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 2 2012, 02:42 PM)
maybe u can show what widget that trigger ur data?
on my homescreen only got facebook whatsapp market .. some clock widget but no weather .. thats all..
the problem is when restart not only data but also wifi is turn on ..

another thing .. sometimes my games or app been duplicate .. all those things is in a folder ..
Sometimes the app/games will be duplicate on my app drawer (inside SGW application screen) then in need to re-add again all those apps and games and then those duplicate apps will gone ..

quite confusing . huhu i know .. i think maybe there's some bug or virus inside my SGW .. already scan it with 2 different antivirus / malware and spyware still nothing .. last choice is factory reset but i dont wanna ..

rugi la all my games ...  icon_question.gif
Bro, you have "GT Racing: Motor Academy Free+" installed? If your wifi on after boot, may wanna try remove the game and see?

cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 04:12 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Lucasadu @ Jan 2 2012, 04:03 PM)
mr. cow cow....must type su[SIZE=7] pm stinstalllocation 2...

the su[SIZE=7] is a must??
Ya, "su" will make you execute the command as "root".

In Froyo, you don't need "su". But starting with Gingerbread, to execute this command you need "root" privilege. That's why some people report that it no longer working after Gingerbread... it will work if you can run it as "root".

I tested yesterday, without "su", you will get "Access denied".

PS: if you have not rooted your phone, executing "su" will not get you root privilege. You can tell if you get root privilege if the prompt change from "$" to "#"

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 2 2012, 04:14 PM
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 05:34 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 2 2012, 04:46 PM)
no i dont have that game ..
Oh~. In that case, if you still want to find out the app that auto start the 3g and wifi for you, your best bet should be to check each app, and look for those that has permission to receive boot complete or shutdown. Those app will auto start when your phone start....

cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 05:51 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(qamarzam @ Jan 2 2012, 05:26 PM)
congratz..youve made it..credit should goes to those at xda - me, just xplain their method a bit detail - wow , 32 gig?  :-D
As explained, the "Move to SD" actually move app to external sd card.

Question for those who did a memory swap. When you use the "Move to SD" in Setting, Manage App, will the app now moved to your internal sd instead?

There are a few ways to verify this:

- Move a big app to your sd, and check the size of storage in "Setting", "Storage". Look for changes in Device memory, USB Storage and SD Card. If your available "SD Card" memory decreased (like the rest of us without memory swap), that mean, your app now is stored in the internal sd.

Or

- Move 1 app to your sd card. Connect your phone to PC, enable USB storage. Now, look for ".android_secure" folder in both drive. This folder contains all encrypted APK that you chose to move to external sd card. Check to see if this folder is in your external sd card or internal sd card. If this is in your internal sd card, that mean, the "Move to SD" feature moved your app into your internal sd.

If this is like what I suspect, swapping memory with vold.fstab will make the "Move to SD" quite useless.

cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 10:33 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(dupicalz @ Jan 2 2012, 09:18 PM)
yes same wifi network

im using chrome n tried with IE with the http:// but still the same...

would it be because of my router settings tho?
Don't think it's router problem. But if you suspect it is router, you can disable the Wifi in your phone, launch Kies Air, it will ask if you want to enable Hotspot. In this case, your phone is your Wifi AP, then, use your PC's Wifi to connect to the phone's Wifi. Then browse your phone. Note that IP will be http://192.168.xxx.xxx:8080 If problem still persist, most likely you have Antivirus or something that preventing your browser to connect to port 8080.

PS: also check if you dont have Proxy setting in your browser...

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 2 2012, 11:03 PM
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 10:35 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Rolland @ Jan 2 2012, 06:20 PM)
Hi, Mr Cow. Your suspicion is correct. Memory swap is a good way of getting rid of the confusing Move to SD function. It is something like now we have an internal memory which can go way up to 32 GB just by changing the size of the SD card.

In my humble opinion, since we have root the phone to enable the use of terminal emulator for Move apps to SD, why not go for another step to swap the memory? Everything run smoothly and doesn't have the fear of apps lag bcos of the SD card as phone memory.  rclxms.gif
Hmm.. that's not what I meant. I mean, without Swap memory, you can use "Move to SD" to move app / game into External SD Card. But after you swap memory, it will not be useful anymore because it could have moved to your Internal SD instead... sweat.gif
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 10:53 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(raysky @ Jan 2 2012, 09:26 PM)
However I still run out of memory when trying to install stuffs on my so called "SD" space where actually i still have about 2gb of space in my external sd card....
perhaps it's a gameloft downloader bug then....
That is because Gameloft game hard-coded the download contents to your /sdcard/gameloft directory, which is part of your Internal SD space. The Internal SD space (also known as USB storage) only has 1.7GB. Your 2Gb external sd card is actually mounted in /sdcard/external_sd which Gameloft does not know how to use it.

To solve this problem you have at least 4 methods:

1) Manually patch (or find other ppl patch with google) the game (no need root)
2) swap mount point between /sdcard and /sdcard/external_sd (need root)
3) format internal sd as ext4 and use soft link (need root)
4) use mount bind (need root) (best)

Read more here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry46939482

PS: there is 1 more easy method - delete stuff in your /sdcard to free up more space biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 2 2012, 11:11 PM
cowithgun
post Jan 2 2012, 11:34 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 2 2012, 05:51 PM)
As explained, the "Move to SD" actually move app to external sd card.

Question for those who did a memory swap. When you use the "Move to SD" in Setting, Manage App, will the app now moved to your internal sd instead?

There are a few ways to verify this:

- Move a big app to your sd, and check the size of storage in "Setting", "Storage". Look for changes in Device memory, USB Storage and SD Card. If your available "SD Card" memory decreased (like the rest of us without memory swap), that mean, your app now is stored in the internal sd.

Or

- Move 1 app to your sd card. Connect your phone to PC, enable USB storage. Now, look for ".android_secure" folder in both drive. This folder contains all encrypted APK that you chose to move to external sd card. Check to see if this folder is in your external sd card or internal sd card. If this is in your internal sd card, that mean, the "Move to SD" feature moved your app into your internal sd.

If this is like what I suspect, swapping memory with vold.fstab will make the "Move to SD" quite useless.
I found the answer to this. The first vold.fstab has this problem; "move to sd" will move your app to your Internal SD. So, if you are using this vold.fstab, you have this problem: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...95&postcount=22

Fortunately, the author already 'fix' this by creating a second version of vold.fstab that will make the "
Move to SD" move your app to your real external sd card.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...47&postcount=29

So, if you are already using this second version, ignore everything I said! You're good. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 2 2012, 11:36 PM
cowithgun
post Jan 3 2012, 10:10 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(raysky @ Jan 3 2012, 09:51 AM)
Cant this be achieve without rooting?
Rooting voids manufacturer's warranty or not?

why cant some one just develope an app which allow us to choose between internal/external SD on the fly?

So Move to SD shd prompt a selection of internal SD or external SD which basically points to /external SD instead of the root SD folder.....

by the way would it work if i just manually move the "Android" folder to /external SD folder using "My files" browser?

I really hate this stupid thing.....everything else is just perfect.....but this is really back to eclair version's stupidity.....
- Can't be achieved without root since you need to edit the /etc/vold.fstab
- Rooted phone are not covered under warranty, but you can always unroot it when you want to claim warranty later
- The built-in "Move to SD" is good enough since it will moved to your external sd card, what else you need?
- You app may break (most of the time, it will be downloaded again) if you simply move the "Android" folder to external sd card

In the case of Gameloft game, the downloaded files are not stored in "Android" folder, but in /sdcard/gameloft. So moving "Android" folder will not solve your problem. You cannot use the "Move to SD" to move stuff in /sdcard/gameloft, it does not work that way. Part of the problem is because of the lazy Gameloft programmer to hard code downloaded files to a fixed folder (/sdcard/gameloft).

Agree that the 3 layers memory is confusing. The problem is worse in SGW because it has too little Internal SD card memory (1.7gb).

Hey, look at the bright side, there are people who already solved this problem using methods above. smile.gif
cowithgun
post Jan 3 2012, 10:41 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(raysky @ Jan 3 2012, 10:26 AM)
problem is it does NOT....it moved to internal sd card.....
meh... after so many posts, you still think it move to internal sd card? obviously you didn't read / click / understand any of the link i post earlier... good luck then!
cowithgun
post Jan 3 2012, 03:01 PM

2,248 posts

I tested Grave Tower Defense HD last weekend. I think Sentinel 3: Homeworld is a much better Tower Defense game. So, if you only keep 1 tower defense game in your phone, try Sentinel 3. (Other than Plants vs Zombies, of cause)

cowithgun
post Jan 3 2012, 03:07 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Jan 3 2012, 03:05 PM)
Sentinel 3: Homeworld is it good? how big is the file ...

i oso have Grave TD HD .. but stuck at gold campaign - Level 10 .. really tick me off .. wakakak!!~
i install GraveTD HD after i see my friend played it on HTC Flyer .. quite nice graphic .. but when install in SGW .. the graphic not so HD ..
Graphic is must better than GraveTD, gameplay also much nicer. You can control an upgradable Commander. See attachment in my previous post biggrin.gif

Only 16mb for the APK. PS: I downloaded addition HD files as well, in total about 55Mb of data files.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 3 2012, 03:12 PM
cowithgun
post Jan 3 2012, 11:48 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:20 PM)
wait...
u still didnt root ur phone??
just follow the instruction in 1st post link...(i learned from that website too)
takes less than 5 minutes to root the phone...

just a reminder...
it cannot transfer all ur games data files...
transferable only in gameloft and data folder...

if the games data folder not in either those two folders...
then it its just gonna sit in ur internal memory...

example like these games...

i cant move the games as the data files is not in sdcard/gameloft/games/ or sdcard/android/data
This tool is using the mount bind technique I post earlier:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2098558/+1740#entry46865404

If you have rooted your phone, and would like to 'transfer' other folder to external sd card, you can simply follow the steps in the link to "mount bind" any folder.

I don't have other games, but for Gun Bros, to move games data to your external sd card, during download, simply select to download data files into your Internal Memory.

Then, move your downloaded files to your external sd card. You can find those files in /data/data/com.glu.gunbros_free/app_save (175mb). Say, you move this to /sdcard/external_sd/data/com.glu.gunbros_free/app_save

Then, u can remove the original folder (/data/data/com.glu.gunbros_free/app_save)

Finally, simply create a softlink to point to the new folder:

CODE
su
cd /data/data/com.glu.gunbros_free/
ln -s /sdcard/external_sd/data/com.glu.gunbros_free/app_save app_save

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jan 4 2012, 12:06 AM
cowithgun
post Jan 4 2012, 12:13 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Jan 4 2012, 12:06 AM)
yup agreed...
it using the same technique...

i dunno...
maybe its just me...
yours seems like too much hassle to do it...

if use gl to sd...
just install then move the application that listed by the app...
then it will move the data folder to external memory...
no need to manually delete the data folder in internal memory as it has been done by the app...

and it also auto unmount when exit...
so no worries if forgot to unmount when quit the app..

for new games installation...
just run the apk file...
then when prompt for download additional data...
just exit the game...

then open gl to sd...
open the game u just installed in that app and download the additional data files as usual...
it will be automatically download to external memory instead of internal...
having an app is probably easy for most user. smile.gif but doing it yourself give you advantage to mount bind any game / folder. i have my mount bind auto-mount when phone boot up since i create a script to do that. never need to umount.

may be just me, i never trust any app that uses "root" privilege. u know u can do quite nasty thing with "root" privilege...

cowithgun
post Jan 4 2012, 12:15 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Jan 4 2012, 12:06 AM)

good way to transfer all other games that cant be move by gl to sd...
might gonna try it when i get my new 32gb memory card...

but 1 question...
how do you make/create softlink point...
can u teach on how to do it??
it's just like any *nix, use the "ln" command as stated in the code section of my post. but you can only use that on your Device memory (that's why u should download Gun Bros data into Device memory). This is because the device memory uses EXT4 partitions. You cannot use softlink in your USB storage / external sd card since they are FAT.
cowithgun
post Jan 4 2012, 11:43 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Jan 4 2012, 08:50 AM)
Sygic is better than papago or mapking. I used them before in my X10i and CSL Spice. If I'm not mistaken, between 3 of them only sygic can search destinations by entering gps coordinate.
Sygic is a better GPS than Papago, but Papago can use malfreemap (local community map) which has more POI. POI is important if you like to search for tower/places by name.

Moreover, for unknown reason, Sygic can only find nearby POI. So, if you are in KL, and would like to find something in PD, you will not find it.

I keep both GPS in my SGW.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:06 PM