Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v4 thread, We Drum We Drum We Drum Drum Drum!!!

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 18 2014, 05:40 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Feb 18 2014, 09:27 AM)
guys... planning to buy a double pedal. Any recommendation? want to use with my roland kit at home. Should i just get a simple cheap Dixon pedal (cost ~RM550) or china licensed TAMA (~RM950) or just wait longer and save more to get Iron Cobra (~RM1500).

btw, got lot of complaints from my floor neighbour (staying in apartment) due to noisy vibration while playing, and managed to make a drum riser which solve my problems. Now i can play anytime even at midnight  rclxm9.gif

Some snapshots on the DIY Drum Riser (Cost ~rm250)
Do not buy the Dixons.

I recommend that you save up and buy the Speed Cobras/Iron Cobras. If you intend to continue drumming for a long time, saving up to buy quality gear will be worth it. You'll be playing with great equipment, which will make it more fun and enjoyable (and comfortable) for you.
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 3 2014, 02:10 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Pedr0 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:30 AM)
Hello there dear drum gods,
This aspiring skinsman need some advice on where to find a cheap unbranded drum throne.wwnt around looking but most shops are pushing those mat salleh named brand for close to 200.
hey man. You should try looking around the forums at the Musical Instruments section.

All the guys who are buying their mat salleh thrones will be selling them here.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 19 2015, 08:07 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(fdcoiea @ Jan 16 2015, 11:20 AM)
Hi all drum sifus, I have tried a few drums around KL and these are the few drums I've narrowed down but couldn't really decide.

Tama Starclassic Performer B/B, Yamaha Live Custom, Pearl MCX, and Truth Drum.

Personally, I find the Tama unit to be unique. Birch + Bubinga does give a very fat sound with a good mid although the Pearl MCX have a better mid and high and the pearl seems to be very open while the Tama unit I find the sound very closed up.

Then went to try out my friend's Yamaha Live Custom, and oh boy! What a beast! Sounded so much fatter than the Tama and clearly outshine the Pearl as well. It kind stand out, however when contacted Yamaha don't have stock, not until April or May.

Then tried out Truth at TGS. Man, those shells sings! And the workmanship is way better than the other 3 brands.

So am pretty bumped. For economical wise - I'll go with Tama. For sound wise - The pearl might suit me, but the Yamaha sounds really really good (just need to go to friend's place to whack it again), and for workmanship wise - Truth is the bet.

I own a Yamaha Recording Custom (second hand unit), Sonor Select Force, and Ludwig Acrylic kit (hand down unit from uncle, 1980s kit)
At that price point, it boils down to preference (and drum heads), really.

I've recorded the Starclassics, and I've found them to be among the most versatile drums I've played. A little bit of tuning, and a quick head switch, and you've got a completely different tone. The Starclassics would be my safe option - good thumps, great value for money, and pretty decent resale value down the road. The MCXs offer more clarity perhaps (as you've mentioned), and I've always been a fan of what Pearl does to their kits, but I'd side with the Tama on this one.

Live Customs on the other hand are a whole other monster - one of the best kits I've had the pleasure of working with, but availability is an issue, and there's no reason why any of the other drums here couldn't bust out a good drum tone as well. Truth - they're custom kits, aren't they? Hence the quality of the workmanship - but it depends on what specs you'd want, of course.

I'd go with the Tama.
isaacmiranda7
post Jul 1 2015, 11:50 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Picked up this custom Saluda Symbolic '14 china a couple weeks back from John James, and I can't get enough of it.
It's the first non-Sabian cymbal I've added permanently to my stable, and I guess I just wanted to try it out cause it looked so unique.
The rivets/jingles make it sound a little bit like a fast stack - but way more trashy than your usual ones. My only complaint is that it's rather soft, but eh, you win some and you lose some. It's also quite fun to do swells on - the jingles add a lot of personality to your tone. HAHAHAHA

I also bought an 8' Nemesis splash from him that I've taken to stacking upside down on top of my Saturation crash. Pretty nice mix of tones.

isaacmiranda7
post Jul 2 2015, 01:10 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(greatbrownshark @ Jul 1 2015, 09:15 PM)
bro, it would be nice if we can hear the sound it makes. share a vid of you covering a song perhaps?  brows.gif
Unfortunately, I'm not going to be hitting the studio anytime soon - tied up with work. But, I'll be using it live at Merdekarya this Saturday, so if you wanna hear it for yourself, come on over rclxms.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Aug 1 2015, 10:38 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(fdcoiea @ Jul 8 2015, 11:08 AM)
Anyone keen on trying out the Sabian Big & Ugly Series? One of my church mate is currently Yamaha Drums Product Manager, so he's asking me to just ask around.
YES. This is late, but YES. I'd love to.

isaacmiranda7
post Sep 9 2015, 02:03 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 4 2015, 12:49 PM)
Looking for feedback and constructive critisism on my cover of Nothing Else Matters, my first cover that is not in 4/4 time signature. Thanks. biggrin.gif

IMO you should go and try them out. IIRC Bentley do carry Roland drums.
Hey man! Timing still a bit wonky here and there - that's the main issue. At times it feels like you're following the song, instead of playing along with it. But you're getting better though! And I love the fact that you're still using those Fusion hats I sold you years ago! Sometimes I still regret letting them go. HAHA

QUOTE(hey_there @ Sep 6 2015, 01:35 AM)
My friend is looking for this series. Is Yamaha Malaysia bringing it in anytime soon?
I know the Product Manager as well - he brought in a few test pieces recently, and they all look beautiful. Not sure if they're stocking up big amounts though. Contact Yamaha and ask for Julian Loh.

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Sep 9 2015, 02:06 AM
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 11 2015, 12:22 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Sep 11 2015, 11:10 AM)
Hi sifu all. I want ask always when I play other ppl kit many times their Tom is at one angle quite Horizontal that when I try play will hit the rim easily. I need angkaty elbow very high to avoid hit the rim. Usually I adjust more vertical to able hit the Tom easily.

I want ask is it my playing wrong or wat that I encounter many ppl put the Tom quite Horizontal? How they avoid hit the rim?
Hi! I don't think it's your playing that's wrong - sometimes you've just got to practice moving around the kit for awhile before it becomes second nature. Another thing, is that most of us who play with a near-90 degree set-up usually sit quite high as well - so the horizontal toms aren't at an awkward angle.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 11 2016, 04:46 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(anna.cf @ Jan 1 2016, 04:22 PM)
Hi all,

Newbieeee here... wanna know from you all experts out there how to do a good drum tuning?

Drum Tuner will help much?
Stuff like the Tama Tension Watch will help you get a consistent sound all the time, but you can tune even without one.

Check this video out to start. smile.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yl9wgXSfxew
isaacmiranda7
post Sep 5 2016, 02:05 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

I remember back in the day all I'd do was come here and hang out for ages.
What's everyone been up to lately?

Since the last time I was here I think I've almost completely revamped my setup. Miss those time ah.

Just for kicks, a few of the setups I've messed around with over the past year.

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Sep 5 2016, 02:25 PM

14 Pages « < 12 13 14Top