Short Review on the Exora Bold

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 9 2012, 01:34 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 8 2012, 08:20 PM)
yeah agreed, mention before even my jap cars can swap battery when engine running.. but he keep insist it's battery connector.. maybe it's a proton thing?  biggrin.gif
With modern car, I think you are asking for trouble if you disconnect battery when engine still running.
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 9 2012, 02:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 9 2012, 01:44 PM)
unless you have anything concrete, your statement doesnt mean anything..
Sure if you pay me money, I will go engage an professional automotive engineer to give you something more solid. As it is, you can take it or leave it as to what I said. This is the nature of online forum.

All I know is, I had been warned by mechanic that I should not do that with modern car that depends heavily on electronic. You wanna go try and come back and tell us what will happen? If not, stay away from what I said.

SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 23 2012, 02:31 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pgkia @ Apr 23 2012, 11:33 AM)
for that price tag, i am very happy for now. Nobody knows the reliability and durability of this new car engine. you just have to balance out what you get and what you have paid. The next nearest competitor is Innova which has 30k extra to pay. Innova is obviously better NVH than EB in terms of NV. Handling part, i would say both are equal.
Handling not much different if you drive at Ah Pek speed and taking corner. But once you drive fast, I would say there are lots of different in handling. The Exora is much better.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 24 2012, 07:24 PM

12,696 posts

Any discount or promotion for the Bold now?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 26 2012, 04:20 PM

12,696 posts

In the car manual, what is the Oil Change Interval? Every 5000-km or 10,000-km?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 27 2012, 01:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(akchang @ May 27 2012, 09:55 AM)
exactly! i asked for synthetic syntium 1000 and they gave me 15w-50, now my bold feeling heavy, i aksed them y do u not carry syntium3000 which is 5w-40? they cant answer me. aih
Did you change your oil at official Proton service center? If you did, write a complaint letter to Proton because what they did is technical heresy and the mechanic doing that should be crucified. This is oil change is as basic as learning A-B-C in kindergarten.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 27 2012, 10:13 PM

12,696 posts

A question on the Prime with 2nd row captain seat. From the photo, it seems you can't walk through them to get to the 3rd row. So does it mean, to get into the 3rd row seat, you have the flip the 2nd row captain seat like what you did with the Bold?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 28 2012, 12:41 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(akchang @ May 27 2012, 11:53 PM)
let repharse that, what i did was went for my 1st 1k service @ mutiara damansara proton (i believe this is the official service center). when the SA check my car with a some kind of check list form, they mark "semi-sync" for me. I asked the SA i want synthetic only. then the SA said your bold is design for this type of oil "semi-sync". tats puzzle me. i still press on for synthetic oil then only the SA mark it for synthetic. Now i did not know what/which vicoscity at that time cause the checklist shows - mineral / semi -sync / synthetic.

when i saw the bill wat was being charged, then only i saw it was a syntium 1000 (15w-50). then i asked them why do you not carry syntium 3000? that's where they can't answer me. so im stuck with the oil right now and thinkin going out to get a syntium 3000 and do it out side for the oil change.
If manual says xW30 and they used 15W50, you have every right to ask them to drain the 15w50 and replace with xW30 with no charge to you. I know I would.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 29 2012, 01:35 PM

12,696 posts

I bet the original factory filled oil is Mineral 10W30. Anyone can confirm?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 29 2012, 02:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ May 29 2012, 02:06 PM)
i guess so, that is why im sticking to 10-30 for now. i got an fb pm from proton i care saying that 10-30 and 10-40 can be used. but im sticking to 10-30 . but one thing lah. 10-30 , is sooo thin... so post service, im adding revooil to it ( can buy from eneos , 28 bucks . ) i told my mechanic,, that some other centre poured 15-50, and he was quite shocked.
Since Proton seems to have a deal with Petronas, then it's probably the Mach-5 10W30. I simply see no point using more expensive Semi or Fully Synthetic. It is like fitting a gold plated toilet in a Kampung hut.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 29 2012, 03:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ May 29 2012, 03:15 PM)
New small engine normally my mechanic suggested 5-30 or 5-40, after 100,000km then change to 10-30 0r 10-40.
Normally I bring my owned Mobil 5-40 for service. Even my 1993 wira still feel smooth. Engine tip top but all other part 'goyang' already (macam nak tercabut).  doh.gif
Your mechanic is a very cautious person. But I don't think it is necessary to use Synthetic (5-30, 5-40) in the beginning and then revert to Mineral (10-30) later. In the old days, they actually warn against doing that. Not sure of nowadays.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 29 2012, 03:45 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ir5 @ May 29 2012, 03:43 PM)
Guys,
Sorry a bit out of topic, but i've heard someone from outside saying that Exora Bold CFE:-

underpower - body besar...kalau naik genting nak tergelonsor ke belakang.
enjin kete 'manja'..takleh berendam dlm air even slight flash flood - terus jem (mati enjin)
sparepart susah dpt
any comments guys? coz i'm considering seriously to take exora bold cfe for my 2nd car...
You heard wrong. As far as engine power is concerned, the CPS is the lousy car your friend talked about. The CFE is a totally different kettle of fish and I think you should go test drive yourself. It's actually very nice to drive.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 06:10 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Turbocrazy @ May 29 2012, 10:45 PM)
Hi guys, I've been following this thread for quite a while, pretty interesting & informative  thumbup.gif
Actually, I'm local here in CH. So, yes indeed, my wife CFE doesn't lock at slopes, even if u engaged
to "L". The best thing to do is by using the handbrake. If you already so used to it, then I would only
balanced by gas pedal & brake  smile.gif

Anyway, my wife received her EB since CNY time, all this while it's been serving us well, until last week on my
way back from KL, autocruise been activated at that time , suddenly autocruise switched off by itself! Then I
accelerate, but RPM meter goes to max (8k), CVT lights up (but engine runs as normal). When this happened,
I found two things, air con stop working (hot air) & when I try stepping on the gas pedal, the car is move forward
in slow pace.
It happened quite often after that, when the RPM meter goes back to normal position, everything's also back
to normal!
Now, my car is in Ipoh workshop for investigation. Wonder if anyone experience this..
This is not good. Do keep us posted as to what went wrong.
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 10:50 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Turbocrazy @ May 30 2012, 10:23 AM)
Well, in CH we dun have any SC here, even other brands make  cry.gif  The nearest SC ppl here go is either to Tapah or Ipoh. I bought
it from Ipoh SA, so I preference is Ipoh due to better route condition.  biggrin.gif
I told them I'm leaving my EB there for a week or two for their investigation.

I do hope that its related to something simplier ie: OCV valve.. And not big problem like CVT gearbox.
Not sure though, the last thing I remembered before this problem occur, I was testing out the Autocruise function by increasing
& decreasing the speed for a few times (while the autocruise is ON)
Actually, my EB milage is still below 5k. I'm curious abt the engine oil used, coz during my 1st service, I was adviced to use fully syn oil
coz according to mechanic "turbo engine are very hot".. But i insisted to use semi syn oil instead. The question is, why is my hilux, D4D
turbo diesel engine which is already clock over 300k still using Castrol mineral oil and its still runs very well?? hmm.gif

Added on May 30, 2012, 10:25 am
Ok will sure do.. Cheers..
As long as you use the correct viscosity etc, Mineral oil is perfectly fine.
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 02:47 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 30 2012, 02:46 PM)
hi guys

interested in exora bold auto only

i see you there is cps and cfe version and the price difference is about 6k. worth the upgrade?
Forget about the useless CPS. Noisy but not going anywhere.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 04:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 30 2012, 03:06 PM)
It says CVT transmission at the top and at the bottom, it says Auto-transmission. How can you have 2 different transmission in the same car? So I suppose this car also have 2 engines doh.gif

This seller is either ignorant about Proton cars or not honest.

Added on May 30, 2012, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ May 30 2012, 03:02 PM)
kereta manja? hmm.gif

To simplify everything, just treat the CVT as a manual transmission with a automated clutch. If you drive manual cars before, on slope if not enough throttle is applied and the clutch is released too much, the car will also roll back then the engine stalls. Its actually the same concept for the current CVT in all Proton cars, you put the gear in D but since you dint input throttle, it begins to roll back and when the clutch plate in the CVT is released, it stalls the engine. Of coz, a slight roll back wont trigger this action, it need to roll down some substantial distance before it stalls.

Another way to easily cause engine stalling is engaging R without completely stopping the car first. I personally tried this a few times... tongue.gif
thumbup.gif
Ya. I am coming to the same conclusion. Manual but automatic in use. Since it is 'manual', should be more fuel efficient than traditional Auto.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 30 2012, 04:13 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 04:55 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 30 2012, 04:47 PM)
http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Exora+Bold+Prem...ck-15554877.htm

hi all

do you think this price is for real for cfe bold?
why bother with these people? why not go to a Proton dealer?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 05:11 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ May 30 2012, 05:09 PM)
As we said just now...the CFE only for Exora Bold Premium(rm 80K) and Exora Prime(rm 88K)  smile.gif
If it state other than prime or premium then it is cps.
At the moment EB will not have great discount as the demand is high, the most if u lucky is RM2K but no free gift or anything
What free gifts?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 05:14 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ May 30 2012, 05:13 PM)
Depends on SA, I got full tank, umbrella, tint voucher, smart tag n touch n go...but no discount lah for the EB
And a overpriced GPS? I heard that thing cost RM2000 shocking.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post May 30 2012, 05:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 30 2012, 05:34 PM)
Called the sale.the price is for cfe but no insurance

If otr 78.5k
Told you. Insurance is about RM1900. Add that up and you still ended up with RM80K thereabout.

If you presently have insurance NCB, that can be transferred to the new car for some saving. Doesn't matter whether you buy from this guy or from Proton direct.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0202sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:50 AM