= Sugar Glider Thread V17 =

emara91
post May 17 2012, 01:55 PM

Hi all!!

I'm a newbie here wan 2 ask ques to the sifu regarding my SG:

1)I feed HPW Instant or HPW Ready only for the main diet? Is it ok? blink.gif

2) My SG sleeps all the time day & night. I hve 2 take her from d sleeping pouch 2 play wif her.Is that normal? hmm.gif

3) Do I need to switch off the lights to play with her?I'm not sure she can differentiate night & day since my house is always light up rclxub.gif

Please help me. THanks! rclxms.gif
Flextro
post May 17 2012, 11:51 PM

Hey all.. Im new here..
I just bought my male SG (Mika) for two weeks now, the seller said, Mika was 3 months old.
So far everythings is good. Still learn and get tips from here.

I gave him apple, pear, broccolli, HPW, 100% fruits juice (baby food) and mealworm twice a week.
Well, from day 1-5 he act like tame already. Can crawl on my body and he love to lick my neck, bite my hair.

But two days ago, he act different till now.
He mad crabbing/attack me like hell, scratching & bite. Act like wild, fighting to escape when i try to hold/touch him and totally unrecognize me. Whats wrong him? either Mika being stress or i gave a wrong food?
How to make him calm? I dont want to make him stressed. Should i leave him alone for 2-3 days without hold/touch him? ~helppppp!~ icon_question.gif
NightHeart
post May 18 2012, 06:24 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(emara91 @ May 17 2012, 01:55 PM)
Hi all!!

I'm a newbie here wan 2 ask ques to the sifu regarding my SG:

1)I feed HPW Instant or HPW Ready only for the main diet? Is it ok?  blink.gif

2) My SG sleeps all the time day & night. I hve 2 take her from d sleeping pouch 2 play wif her.Is that normal? hmm.gif

3) Do I need to switch off the lights to play with her?I'm not sure she can differentiate night & day since my house is always light up  rclxub.gif

Please help me. THanks!  rclxms.gif
1) HPW only = NOT OK. Refer to Flextro's menu, should be something like that minus the mealworms.

2) Sometimes it happens, you can set their biological clock by waking them up regularly at a certain time.

3) Switching off the lights might make them more "natural" since they're nocturnal after all. But I'd like to train my SGs to get used to fluorescent lights (can't imagine playing with them in darkness forever).

QUOTE(Flextro @ May 17 2012, 11:51 PM)
Hey all.. Im new here..
I just bought my male SG (Mika) for two weeks now, the seller said, Mika was 3 months old.
So far everythings is good. Still learn and get tips from here.

I gave him apple, pear, broccolli, HPW, 100% fruits juice (baby food) and mealworm twice a week.
Well, from day 1-5 he act like tame already. Can crawl on my body and he love to lick my neck, bite my hair.

But two days ago, he act different till now.
He mad crabbing/attack me like hell, scratching & bite. Act like wild, fighting to escape when i try to hold/touch him and totally unrecognize me. Whats wrong him? either Mika being stress or i gave a wrong food?
How to make him calm? I dont want to make him stressed. Should i leave him alone for 2-3 days without hold/touch him? ~helppppp!~  icon_question.gif
Two weeks is still new. Let him bond with you more first, refer to 1st page for bonding tips.

emara91
post May 18 2012, 09:59 PM

QUOTE(NightHeart @ May 18 2012, 06:24 PM)
1) HPW only = NOT OK. Refer to Flextro's menu, should be something like that minus the mealworms.

2) Sometimes it happens, you can set their biological clock by waking them up regularly at a certain time.

3) Switching off the lights might make them more "natural" since they're nocturnal after all. But I'd like to train my SGs to get used to fluorescent lights (can't imagine playing with them in darkness forever).
Two weeks is still new. Let him bond with you more first, refer to 1st page for bonding tips.
Thanks for d info! I'll add some fruits in the mix. biggrin.gif
quineechow
post May 20 2012, 12:25 PM

i just got mealworms yesterday (VERY GELI cry.gif ) for my babies but i'd like to ask, are there actually any ways to jaga/feed the mealworm before feeding them to my babies? and also, how often and how many should i feed? 2-5 per glider on weekly basis ? sweat.gif
paanzzz
post May 21 2012, 09:39 AM

Hello All. Can i share something.. Huhu. Here's the thing. I got this 1 sg and she's with me for 2 month already and bonded with me already rclxms.gif . She's 4 months old. Yesterday i bought another female sugar glider because my first sugar glider always sleep blink.gif borink maybe. The thing is, the next day they already sleep together in pouch without any fighting hmm.gif . Is this alrite? Because many people say 2 sugar glider need proper introduction and all. Should i separate them or leave them be?
quineechow
post May 21 2012, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(paanzzz @ May 21 2012, 09:39 AM)
Hello All. Can i share something.. Huhu. Here's the thing. I got this 1 sg and she's with me for 2 month already and bonded with me already  rclxms.gif . She's 4 months old. Yesterday i bought another female sugar glider because my first sugar glider always sleep  blink.gif  borink maybe. The thing is, the next day they already sleep together in pouch without any fighting hmm.gif . Is this alrite? Because many people say 2 sugar glider need proper introduction and all. Should i separate them or leave them be?
hehe, my suggies are the same too! the second i introduced my suggies , they already slept together in the same pouch the next minute sweat.gif quite glad to say that i do not have to separate them because they do not fight at all and now they're living together peacefully and happily. hehehe.
NightHeart
post May 21 2012, 11:19 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(quineechow @ May 20 2012, 12:25 PM)
i just got mealworms yesterday (VERY GELI  cry.gif ) for my babies but i'd like to ask, are there actually any ways to jaga/feed the mealworm before feeding them to my babies? and also, how often and how many should i feed? 2-5 per glider on weekly basis ?  sweat.gif
They get plenty of protein from the HPW already, so mealworms are excess proteins. Maybe once a week? Too much protein will make the poo smell bad if I'm not mistaken.

Regarding mealworms care, just throw some food like bread or veggie or biscuit for them to eat. Let them eat until fat fat only feed your SG lol.
gliderhamsterreen
post May 24 2012, 04:53 PM

Is there a way to make sg not to be afraid of the light? Mine won't even come out if there is light. It has been 5months. How am I gonna play with her if in the dark?can't even see a thing. sad.gif
NightHeart
post May 24 2012, 05:29 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(gliderhamsterreen @ May 24 2012, 04:53 PM)
Is there a way to make sg not to be afraid of the light? Mine won't even come out if there is light. It has been 5months. How am I gonna play with her if in the dark?can't even see a thing. sad.gif
Fluorescent lights? I guess it's a matter of making them adopt to the new environment. Maybe you can start by warm lights instead of bright lights?
gliderhamsterreen
post May 24 2012, 05:40 PM

I tried fluorescent light. Guess need to buy some sort of bedside light so that I can still play with her. Thanks yaa smile.gif
milx
post May 30 2012, 02:11 PM

hello , anybody can teach me how can play with glider ?? my glider already 2 month + with me , but it still not dare climb up on my body , when i try let it on my body , it keep run away.... and keep pee on my boy , any solution ?
emara91
post May 31 2012, 02:24 AM

QUOTE(milx @ May 30 2012, 02:11 PM)
hello , anybody can teach me how can play with glider ?? my glider already 2 month + with me , but it still not dare climb up on my body , when i try let it on my body , it keep run away.... and keep pee on my boy , any solution ?
pee or poo on your body is quite normal because they have little to no bowel control. my SG always did that to me tongue.gif

milx
post May 31 2012, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(emara91 @ May 31 2012, 02:24 AM)
pee or poo on your body is quite normal because they have little to no bowel control. my SG always did that to me  tongue.gif
but can u teach me how to make it can play on my body ??
i saw ppl can bring it out and it wont run away cry.gif
tednet
post May 31 2012, 03:44 PM

Waaalllaauuu
952 posts

QUOTE(milx @ May 31 2012, 03:11 PM)
but can u teach me how to make it can play on my body ??
i saw ppl can bring it out and it wont run away  cry.gif
the process is called bonding wif ur glider/s. first u have to get their trust.. then do tent time with them..

but mostly the key is patient.. lots lots lots of patience required. i myself took 1 year to bond with my suggie.
milx
post May 31 2012, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(tednet @ May 31 2012, 03:44 PM)
the process is called bonding wif ur glider/s. first u have to get their trust.. then do tent time with them..

but mostly the key is patient.. lots lots lots of patience required. i myself took 1 year to bond with my suggie.
oic....how to know it they are bonded ?? izzit no crabbing at all , thats means bonded ??
my male glider no crab me already , just the female 1 will crab
emara91
post May 31 2012, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(milx @ May 31 2012, 06:49 PM)
oic....how to know it they are bonded ?? izzit no crabbing at all , thats means bonded ??
my male glider no crab me already , just the female 1 will crab
Bonded SG is when they are comfortable with u.They didn't run away when you pick them up and obviously didn't crab laugh.gif
What I can advise you is that play with them regularly. Talk with them, feed them using your hands, gently stroke them and let them play around on your body to get used to your smell. biggrin.gif
Just don't disturb them during their sleep sweat.gif
jtl
post Jun 1 2012, 09:34 PM

788 posts

Do come for Pet World at Mid Valley if you want to know more about gliders. There will be a talk on sugar gliders on 16 June @ 12.30pm smile.gif

http://www.facebook.com/events/225058260945945/
jamzz
post Jun 4 2012, 10:33 AM

365 posts

I hear nw thy impose a license fo rearing sg izzit?
jtl
post Jun 4 2012, 01:54 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(jamzz @ Jun 4 2012, 10:33 AM)
I hear nw thy impose a license fo rearing sg izzit?
Implementation date has not been established

51 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:56 PM