= Sugar Glider Thread V17 =

quineechow
post Mar 14 2012, 06:14 PM

hi!

i'm a newbie in both lowyat forum and also in suggies sweat.gif

my friends got me a suggie (named him Blackjack) last month for my birthday and i've been doing research on suggies care since then. but still i can't seem to find the answers to my questions, so i thought i might as well ask here because i've been following this thread as well and a lot of you seem to know so much about suggies. hopefully you people are able to guide me ! biggrin.gif

1. i know it's normal for suggies to sleep all day (especially young ones. Blackjack is 3 months now) but i'm always worried that he might be starving since he doesn't eat whole day but just sleep. so i tend to wake him up once or twice to feed him, but he always goes back to sleep after taking some bites. is it ok if he just sleeps through the day without drinking and eating anything? blink.gif

2. Blackjack isn't exactly afraid of me anymore because he no longer crabs at me, but i still think he's not exactly bonded with me yet. he allows me to hold him, stroke him and all, but when i put him on my body, he likes to jump and run away. is this normal? because i know that some suggies are very bonded to their owners where they just stick to their owners only. but mine.... cry.gif makes me feel so upset each time he runs away from me. i've been trying hard to bond with him ie: bring him out with me in the bonding pouch most of the time, gently stroke him when he's sleeping and leaves my hand inside his pouch so that he can get my scent and even talking to him.

3. also my friends (both of them have few suggies) told me that since Blackjack is still young, his digestive system isn't that good yet. so i was told to feed him with HPW in the morning and some fruits in the noon, and ensure milk at night. i've been doing this routine for a month now and i'm not sure if it's sufficient for him because i just recently learned about the ratio of calcium:phosphorous (which i'm still confused at!) . should i continue my routine of HPW, fruits+vege, milk at night? i see most of the suggies owners feed a proper meal to their suggies (vege+HPW+fruits) everyday but Blackjack doesn't eat a lot sad.gif most of the time he just nibbles a lil and leave the rest. it worries me a lot because i'm so afraid of him getting hungry sad.gif

4. last question! i've been thinking all day long (few days!) if i should get another suggie for Blackjack. i know suggies are colonial animals and they are better off being in pairs or groups. but i wanted to get another on at a later time because Blackjack is not so bonded with me yet (afraid if i get him a gf, he will palau me even more cry.gif ) and besides, i want to further educate myself first before getting another one. then again, i really want Blackjack to be introduced to another suggie at a young age rather when he's adult. such a huge dilemma sad.gif what you guys think?

okay that's all for now. so so so so so sorry for being so long-winded, but i'm really clueless, not knowing what to do and i really need to hear from the experts. thanks in advance ! blush.gif

quineechow
post Mar 14 2012, 10:35 PM

thanks a lot sheilameow! that's a very detailed answer there biggrin.gif

well, i feed him Ensure milk as i was told that that's the only suitable brand milk for suggies. oh and Blackjack was only 2 months old when my friend told me to feed him milk. i didn't know when to stop feeding milk, that's why i still fed him milk until last night. but tonight i didn't give him milk anymore. i prepared HPW and vege+fruits for him, although he's still sleeping and not willing to come out to eat sad.gif

may i ask where can i get Gliderade and Glider Booster? can i get them from petshop? and i'm not sure which pet shops have the supplies for suggies stuffs because even Petsmore don't have everything for suggies :/

and the stone problem, is that when they just sit still there without moving? because Blackjack used to do that quite often last time! like really just sit there without moving (even when eating halfway!) . i didn't know why was he behaving like that but i guess i know now! but now he does that a lot less frequently sweat.gif will the stoning problem cause further disease or anything? O.o

i tried looking for pure cranberry juice in jaya jusco but they don't have sad.gif is there any specific brands? because i know those packed juices are not that good for our human health, so i'm not sure if they're good for suggies :/ maybe some specific brands are better? tongue.gif
quineechow
post Mar 14 2012, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Mar 14 2012, 11:33 PM)
Quinee Chow@ Do u have a sister that teaches yoga. Sorry if non-related. The names sound familiar.
HAHA sorry but i don't have a sister smile.gif
quineechow
post Mar 15 2012, 01:58 AM

thanks a lot for the link! will online buy the 4 supplements now! rclxms.gif hopefully they will deliver it to me asap smile.gif

btw, if i make the puree, is it sufficient if i just feed the puree with the supplements as guided? because they're not exactly solid food isn't it?
quineechow
post Mar 23 2012, 06:13 PM

btw, is it true that suggies will turn yellowish if they sleep in coconut house? mine doesn't exactly sleeps there, but just goes in there for a while every night. he still prefers sleeping in pouch tongue.gif
quineechow
post Mar 29 2012, 02:50 PM

i want to share some pictures as well! rclxms.gif

my Blackjack, a present from my friends for my birthday wub.gif

no, he wasn't crabbing. he was just munching and i snapped the picture as though he's crabing tongue.gif

this is Bella, got her last week wub.gif

DIY a 'bungalow' for them tongue.gif

toys rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by quineechow: Mar 29 2012, 02:51 PM
quineechow
post Mar 29 2012, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Mar 29 2012, 04:06 PM)
wow i really like ur cage.
well done! ur suggie sure happy biggrin.gif
thanks ^^
was worried i might have exaggerated a little on their cage but thought the bigger space the better for them hehe sweat.gif
quineechow
post Mar 31 2012, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(sheilameow @ Mar 31 2012, 12:40 AM)
WAAAAW.....is that in your house?? well,becareful they might spray pee here n there lol...your white wall might get dirty a bit.
just cover with cloth for the cage facing the walls  nod.gif
hahaha yup in my house. the cage is even taller than me, so i need to use a chair to reach the top ^^" hmm so far it's quite clean to my surprise biggrin.gif
quineechow
post May 20 2012, 12:25 PM

i just got mealworms yesterday (VERY GELI cry.gif ) for my babies but i'd like to ask, are there actually any ways to jaga/feed the mealworm before feeding them to my babies? and also, how often and how many should i feed? 2-5 per glider on weekly basis ? sweat.gif
quineechow
post May 21 2012, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(paanzzz @ May 21 2012, 09:39 AM)
Hello All. Can i share something.. Huhu. Here's the thing. I got this 1 sg and she's with me for 2 month already and bonded with me already  rclxms.gif . She's 4 months old. Yesterday i bought another female sugar glider because my first sugar glider always sleep  blink.gif  borink maybe. The thing is, the next day they already sleep together in pouch without any fighting hmm.gif . Is this alrite? Because many people say 2 sugar glider need proper introduction and all. Should i separate them or leave them be?
hehe, my suggies are the same too! the second i introduced my suggies , they already slept together in the same pouch the next minute sweat.gif quite glad to say that i do not have to separate them because they do not fight at all and now they're living together peacefully and happily. hehehe.
quineechow
post Jul 29 2012, 10:28 AM

hi, i'd like to ask how old do you think these babies are?

do you think they are two months old?

my friend bought them from a pet shop (forgotten where) and they told him they're 2 months+ old but they're really tiny (compared to when i got mine at 2 months). initially another one that looked like the first picture died so my friend went back to the petshop and they replaced a new one for them.

what got me even more furious is that the sales person told my friend that he just needs to feed the gliders with the dry food ONLY and it's sufficient already! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
quineechow
post Jul 29 2012, 10:28 AM

hi, i'd like to ask how old do you think these babies are?

do you think they are two months old?

my friend bought them from a pet shop (forgotten where) and they told him they're 2 months+ old but they're really tiny (compared to when i got mine at 2 months). initially another one that looked like the first picture died so my friend went back to the petshop and they replaced a new one for them.

what got me even more furious is that the sales person told my friend that he just needs to feed the gliders with the dry food ONLY and it's sufficient already! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
quineechow
post Jul 29 2012, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 29 2012, 05:11 PM)
u look at the growth chart on the 1st page...then u compare...how old do u think it is?
it looks damn small to me...
just saw the chart. looks merely one month old to me... and the first one is malnourished cry.gif cry.gif

quineechow
post Jul 29 2012, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(FabuData @ Jul 29 2012, 10:04 PM)
The first one looked so weak... sad.gif
very! hopefully can survive sad.gif
quineechow
post Jul 30 2012, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(FabuData @ Jul 29 2012, 10:34 PM)
You mean after getting another replacement from petshop he still looks like this ?
the replacement one is the second picture. although still looks very small (less than 2 months old) but at least it doesn't look malnourished. the first one though, small and malnourished sad.gif
quineechow
post Jul 31 2012, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(tednet @ Jul 31 2012, 06:14 PM)
shiat lah like dis... that first pictah is an underage joey and malnutriton... gib lah the pet shop name, ayam want to go for site visit and scold them kaw kaw..  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
my friend lives in Cheras (nearby leisure mall) and he just told me he bought it from a petshop near his house. weird because i live in Cheras also but didn't notice any petshop selling sugar gliders. should be easy to locate then since there aren't many petshops that sell gliders. hmmm... shall try locating for the place after my finals!
quineechow
post Oct 16 2012, 08:28 PM

hi! does anyone know where i can get this cage?

preferably the white one on the left. yes, it's the image i got from the first page post, sorry yah cos i couldnt find any better pictures sweat.gif

or a cage like this link below

http://www.sugarglider.com/glidergossip/to...?TOPIC_ID=20822

my DIY cage recently got lubang lubang everywhere and my Blackjack kept escaping. even after my bf and i fixed the cage last night and we couldn't find anymore holes, we put them back in the cage (we bought a small cage for travel purpose also so for the past few days we kept them there). and guess what! Blackjack escaped this morning again but thank goodness i found him back easily this time.

and i was so paranoid last night that i couldn't sleep and kept going to check on them, but they're still in the cage even at 3something in the morning so i was convinced there isn't anymore holes. who knew that sneaky Blackjack managed to escape again; from where and how i really have no idea cry.gif

so now my bf and i decided to just buy a cage otherwise i'm gonna be so paranoid about it every night T___T

and because my DIY cage is quite big (can fit TWO of me inside! and it's taller than me -__- ) , i feel heavy-hearted to 'downgrade' them into a smaller home sad.gif so i'm trying to find the biggest possible i could get unsure.gif
quineechow
post Oct 30 2012, 09:20 PM

my Blackjack's penis has been out for a couple of days now.. heard it's normal when it's their mating season for the penis to be out all the time.. but what i don't think is normal is that ... one end is in normal pinkish red in colour whereas another end seems to be darker in colour.... like dark red or almost black..
quineechow
post Mar 18 2013, 11:51 AM

you can find fleece in Daiso smile.gif

1.0531sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:15 AM