TSdariofoo
post Jan 4 2012, 11:07 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Jan 4 2012, 05:55 PM)

I am selling my house. Just wonder who pays for the Sale n Purchase Agreement?

Any idea ?

You mean stamping of the SPA? Or do you mean legal fees?

Stamping is paid by purchaser. Each party bears own legal fees.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 5 2012, 01:22 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(YAK @ Jan 5 2012, 12:17 AM)
Yes he has moved out and chances of meeting him are slim. I will go by the courier route. MAny thanks for the advise, the advise you are providing here for free, helping people is really something not many would do. God bless you and all the best to you.
Make sure you get the acknowledgement slip from the courier later.

After that when you make the necessary deductions and payments, record it in writing and send it to him (with photocopy of all receipts included). This is to protect yourself later, in the event he gets some idea to hit back at you. Spend a bit now, but avoid more headache later. nod.gif

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 5 2012, 01:26 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jan 5 2012, 12:06 PM)
I can't find it in the website,.

Can u please paste the link here ?
Here's another link where you can get all the forms:

http://www.selangorbar.org/content_dtl.php?id=14886

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 02:34 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Jan 5 2012, 01:42 PM)
Legal fees for the SPA. So the lawyer who gets the SPA ready get payment from both party?
Purchaser has to pay full scaled legal fees to his lawyer as the purchaser would definitely need to appoint his own lawyer.

As for seller, 2 options:

1) Appoint another lawyer to act on seller's behalf - seller has to pay full scaled legal fees to the lawyer. Lawyer would vet the draft SPA prepared by the purchaser's lawyer and would also follow up with redemption of seller's loan, preparation of discharge of charge/deed of RnR, application for consent (if applicable) and filing of CKHT Forms.

2) Do not appoint own lawyer but authorise purchaser's lawyer to assist with redemption of seller's loan, preparation of discharge of charge/deed of RnR, application for consent (if applicable) and filing of CKHT Forms. Seller does not pay full scaled fees but is fixed on the assistance rendered by the purchaser's lawyer, eg applic for consent is RM300, discharge of charge is RM300, plus some disbursements would be payable too.

For option 2, seller is deemed to be unrepresented. You need to check the draft SPA yourself. The purchaser's lawyer does not have the duty to explain to you the contents nor act in your best interest. If there is a delay on your part, for example delay in your bank to issue the redemption statement , the completion date would be extended in favour of the purchaser.
TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 02:34 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jan 5 2012, 05:26 PM)
For buyer portion, is it CKHT 2A ?
Yes nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 02:36 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(benny_s @ Jan 5 2012, 05:34 PM)
Hi

Recently i just bought 1 apartment unit and signed s&p last 2 week (22/12/11), the lawyer's firm staff told me that i entitle to get 50% on S&P even though i'm holding 1 house that bought on 2009.

Just want to clarify the 50% S&p discount is it can apply for my case?

Are you referring to the 50% rebate on stamp duty upon instrument of transfer for properties below RM350,000.00? If so, you do not qualify as the current purchase is not your first house purchase.
TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 09:34 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jan 6 2012, 03:05 PM)
1st time purchase for >rm350k can get 50% discount for stamp duty?
Not more than RM350K. There are guidelines.

Check out this topic for more info:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1748580&hl=

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 09:35 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Yoru No Hikari @ Jan 6 2012, 03:59 PM)
if we buy new house we should paid legal fees for bank's lawyer too?
New house as in purchase from developer?

Well, it depends if the legal fees for the bank's lawyer is included in the package or otherwise. Some developers just absorb the legal fees for SPA, but not for loan. Some absorb both. So do check with the developer.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 6 2012, 09:39 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(benny_s @ Jan 6 2012, 06:34 PM)
Yup, Its 50% rebate on stamp duty. But i already paid for lawyer fees which already minus 50% on stamp duty.

So, what should i do for next?

Thx for your kind advise.
If you have purchased another residential property you do not qualify for the rebate. I'm sure you would have affirmed a Statutory Declaration to say that you fall within the guidelines as stipulated by LHDN. If you haven't you would be called up soon to do so, as the SD is required when applying for the rebate.

For the guidelines, you can refer to the following link:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1748580&hl=

Do remember that affirming a false SD is a criminal offence. So do check with the lawyer (not with the clerk or staff) as to whether you qualify or otherwise.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jan 7 2012, 11:52 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(flabbergasted @ Jan 7 2012, 01:30 AM)

I'm in a little bit of conundrum. I'm a first time house buyer, so I don't have a lot of experience. Would appreciate it if someone could advise me.

The seller of the sub sale property that I am buying is still transferring the title to his name (the co owner passed away). I've already been waiting for about 3 months for this. The thing is I've already signed the SNP (pending the title name change) and paid the 10% about a month or two ago. Since it is taking too long, I'm starting to have doubts about the seller. Can I back out of this deal now without losing anything? I really want to buy the property, but it is taking too long. Or is there any way to force the seller to hasten the process? Since he already has the 10%, it would benefit him more to delay the process.

Please advise.
You need to abide by the terms of the SPA which both parties have signed. Look at the time given to the vendor to comply with the transfer of ownership of the other half-share. 6 months? 9? Until then, you can't fault him at all. You ought to be aware when you're buying this particular property that it is not the run-of-the-mill transaction and that it may be delayed. So, do be patient.

With regard to your statement that the owner has 10% and thus, it would benefit him more to delay the process - that is an incorrect statement. The longer the delay, the more detrimental it is to the vendor as the price of the property may appreciate, and he can't do anything about it. Add in inflation and you'll see that the vendor has no reason to delay things. He would definitely want to use the balance 90% for other matters as well.

If you're confused about the whole process then it's time to speak your lawyer directly and find out the latest status and also the flow of proceedings. Some enlightenment would be useful, as you're a first time buyer. Good luck.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 8 2012, 04:37 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(flabbergasted @ Jan 8 2012, 01:12 AM)
Thanks dariofoo.

It seems like in the SNP, there is no stipulated time given to the vendor to transfer the ownership, this worries me. There is however a 6 months period for the vendor to transfer the title to my name, after he successfully transfer the title to his name. The property is a leasehold condo with strata title, do you know the maximum time it would normally take for someone to transfer a property to his name?

I've been speaking to my lawyer, but he seems to be not that well versed with these things. So that is why I'm asking here. Thanks.
Sorry mate I can't understand the time period you're speaking of. Your lawyer does not seem to be well-versed in these things? Are you sure? How can you come to such conclusion? Your lawyer is the one who prepare the SPA for you so surely he must be well-appraised of the implications of the terms and conditions of the SPA..

If you want me to advise you further on the issue of length of time for vendor to complete the transfer, please scan a copy of the relevant pages of the SPA - those clauses which refer to transfer of ownership/completion date and other such terms - and put it here. If any sensitive information, do blank it out.

Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jan 10 2012, 01:50 AM

2,795 posts

nod.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Jan 11 2012, 06:58 PM
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 01:34 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jan 10 2012, 01:49 PM)
Hi dariofoo
I am wondering if you buy a property at 240K, renovated 50K and dispose it off at 380K within 5 years, how to calculate tax?  Thanks
No other expenses? Legal fees, agent fees also can be included as expenses.

RM380K - 240K - 50K - any further deductions = nett gain

Nett gain x 5% = CKHT/RPGT

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 01:37 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(keongzai79 @ Jan 10 2012, 04:59 PM)
Dario,

I had received the revoke PA from the Shah Alam high Court and my S&P lawyer is asking for some documents from me to prepare for the final disbursement to me from the buyer's bank. But, i have few question to check with you:

1) Buyer banker requested to have master quit rent for Y2012 and i had check with the condo managment, sad to say that they have not make the payment yet. So, can i skip this document?

2) I need the stamped DOA for the EPF withdrawal purpose. Can i have it after i obtained the revoke PA or i shall wait for the final disbursement from the buyer bank before my S&P lawyer can get the stamped copy for me?

Thanks!
1) This is sticky as it is January and surely the request for payment by land office has not been issued yet but it does appear to be outstanding as we are already in 2012. Your lawyer has to check with the bank if they can waive the requirement for it to be produced, subject perhaps to a letter of undertaking by the developer to settle the quit rent for 2012 as and when same is due for payment. Perhaps a verbal explanation by the lawyer would suffice. Depends on the bank's discretion. If verbal don't cut it, a letter ought to be ok.

2) You can have it once it is stamped by your lawyer. No need to wait until final disbursement of loan. With proof of submission of DOA for adjudication of stamp duty, it would be sufficient to advise for drawdown.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 01:41 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(chee yat @ Jan 10 2012, 07:16 PM)
Nice day Mr Dario,
I had facing some problem over here whereby the lawyer tell me i might have to wait the property for 1.5 ~ 2 yrs js can get it...

The situation is like this, me & owner had sign the S&P on Oct 2011. At that time, lawyer told us that we might need to wait the longest 6 months to get the name finish transfer because right now the developer is applying strata title from government.

But js now the lawyer phone me again and saying that, the developer doesn't want to directly transfer the name from developer to my name. Instead they wan to transfer to the owner name, then the owner transfer back to me. She say gonna take maybe 2 yrs for all these to be done. But after that she told me again, if you wan to be fast. You may pay money to government ask them directly transfer name to the owner, so can speed up the process and the fee is around Rm500 - Rm1000.

So is there any possibility for this to be happened? But after that she told me again, although pay d money already still need to wait around 1 year. Is it take so long to transfer name? She keep on mention because no yet get 'concern' from government...
Please i really need your advice here, i don't know where to turn up to..
Government/land office cannot transfer name directly to owner. Master title is in the name of the developer and strata title would be in the name of the owner/vendor. Looks like the developer insists on a back-to-back transfer and not direct. That seems to be the trend these days.

For the money which the lawyer is asking - tell her to put it in black and white and write to you, explaining the actual cost of the "procedure". If it is legal and can be done, the letter ought to explain it. If she refuses, then you can assume that it is for an illegal cause. Do be cautious.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 01:42 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jan 11 2012, 09:40 AM)
I think she mean that the government is not concern with your purchase of property and take their own sweat time with Tak apa attitude.
I think our friend meant "consent" and not "concern". hmm.gif

Thanks for your concern biggrin.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 06:54 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(keongzai79 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:25 PM)
Dario,

Thanks a lot for the quick reply. As for item 2), the stamped DOA, my S&P lawyer said that they need 1 month to stamp it as they are waiting for the notice from Stamp office. Do i need to wait that long just for the stamping of the DOA? I really need the stamped DOA for EPF widthdrawal for my 2nd house. Thanks!
It depends on the LHDN branch in question who is processing the submission. If all is ok you can get it within a week at the best. Most of the time it takes 2-3 weeks. 1 month is a safe figure. Sometimes if there is an error and document gets rejected OR if the staff in charge is not "aggressive" enough then it can drag longer than 1 month also.
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 07:04 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jan 11 2012, 05:06 PM)
dariofoo

If I have asked my lawyer to prepare the S&P but haven't signed it or pay any deposit yet.

Do I need to pay my lawyer anything if I decided to cancel to buy the house ?

Because my lawyer spend some time preparing it, what do I need to pay ?
Normally if it is aborted half-way after it has been executed, half of fees would be paid (or refunded back, if paid in full). That is customary practice.

In this case, you need to discuss with the lawyer. If it is your usual lawyer and you're going to use him again in the near future for another property, I'm sure he would not make a big deal out of it.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 10:49 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(leechers @ Jan 11 2012, 08:10 PM)
Dear dario, congrats on your new elite status, you deserve it.

As u might aware, i am in the middle of purchasing an apartment and it comes to almost the end, when the bank release first payment and will be follow by second/final release later on. I am relief that the whole process are actually quite fast and within timeframe given

Just one quick question, when i asked my lawyer about house key, she told me that i need to refund sinking fund back to vendor (previous owner). Is this normal and the right practice? Please advice. Thanks
cheers.gif

I don't she meant full refund. The normal scenario would be that all outgoings - maintenance, quit rent (if any), assessment, sinking fund, fire insurance, indah water etc would be pro-rated between you and the vendor.

Example: Maintenance for April 2012 is RM150. SPA completed on 15th. So, you would need to pay maintenance from 16th-30th April (15 days). As such, you would need to refund half of maintenance for April to the vendor (15 out of 30 days). So you would need to pay RM75.

Same goes for all utilities. If for full year - like quit rent, then you pro-rate on daily basis for the whole year. Your lawyer ought to do the necessary calculation for you.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Jan 11 2012, 10:54 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jan 11 2012, 09:22 PM)
What do you mean 'half of fees' ? Do you mean the lawyer S&P fees ?

But the S&P isn't signed by any party yet.

He has prepared draft S&P and vendor is looking at the draft.
Half of scaled fees. If normal scaled fees is RM2000, you pay RM1000.

54 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.4659sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:30 PM