TSdariofoo
post May 18 2012, 10:40 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(SKfolk @ May 17 2012, 04:59 PM)
Hi, dariofoo,
I want to ask if we can sue the developer's lawyer for changing the S&P date? With the proof of the bank slip for the 10% downpayment giving upon signing the S & P as it is showing the date. The date on the photostat copy I had definitely different form the original copy of S & P. if this photocopy can be the proof? Eventually the LAD will be reduced by shorten the period. Please advise.
Thank you.
The date you make payment of the 10% may not necessarily end up as the SPA date, as the developer may execute it later and only thereafter, would it be sent for stamping and handed over to you.

How much is the difference? If you want to sue you need to take into account the legal costs which you have to fork out first. This is litigation so there's no fixed fees. It depends on the law firm you appoint. What's your ultimate aim to sue them? Consider all that first before making a decision. To be frank I've never encountered such a case before.
TSdariofoo
post May 21 2012, 12:38 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ May 20 2012, 06:11 PM)
Dear Lawyers,

I'm in the mid of performing land ownership transfer & there is a clause in the previous title that preventing 3 holders transfer to 2 holders. So I appoint the lawyer to cancel off the clause before we can proceed.

Question:
My lawyer now ask for the original title to pass it over to the land office. I would like to know is the procedure valid? Is it alright to give him the title without black/white?
Yes, since you're applying for a fresh title, the original one has to be returned to them.

You can prepare a simple letter enclosing the title and ask the firm to acknowledge it for you. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 22 2012, 12:20 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Mlchoo @ May 21 2012, 04:19 PM)
Hi dariofoo,

Not sure if you missed my posting. Appreciate if you can advise on this. Thanks.
//

I own an apartment. The condo is very nice except for some people turning it into a budget motel. They rent out room by room on nightly basis. I know one of the biggest operator owns and rents more than 20 apartments. He is running big business. Even have a few cars to ferry his guests to airport.

As this is a residential place, is there any law that disallow such practice? Can he use a residential place to run a business? What legal steps can we take to get him to stop? Can make police report or MP can help? With so many unknown faces walking in and out, it makes the place unsafe.

Appreciate your advice. Thank you.
Sorry I remember typing a reply but I've no idea how come it is not posted. hmm.gif

In this case, can you prove that he is indeed operating a business? Anything in black and white? Any name card which states the existence of a business at the condo run by xxx? If so, then you can lodge a report with the municipal council that xxx is running a business without a license.

Perhaps you can also bring it up with the JMB and see if there are others who have similar thoughts as you do.

However, do note that as long as there is no nuisance to your use and enjoyment of your own unit, you cannot sue or seek any legal right against the owners of the multiple units as the condo is not your exclusive possession. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 23 2012, 10:14 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(cheekily @ May 22 2012, 07:05 PM)
Hi dariofoo,

I've just got the CCC + VP + keys for my new house...am a 1st time house buyer. Also, already settled the electric + water deposit quite some time back. Electric deposit paid directly to TNB, while water deposit paid to developer (developer will compile a stack and settle with SYABAS as they said that SYABAS don't want to entertain individual customers, but in bulk). The problem is that until now SYABAS have not installed the water meter / connect the water supply yet. I've already followed up with the developer a couple of times and each time, they said that "oh, there are too many houses in this development phase, so it will take some time for SYABAS to install the water meter...so sorry but we can't tell when SYABAS will be able to install the water meter for your house, just wait lah..." Am so frustrated as I can't do any cleaning up at all. Is this a normal process where we have to wait for some time before SYABAS connect the water supply for us, even after we've gotten our keys?

I've done the defects list and sent in the list together with an official letter to the developer, where I've also stated that there's no water meter/water supply yet. Is there any time frame for the developer to act on the defects and also ensure that the water meter is connected? How long do I have to wait before filing another letter of complain, and how should I go about with this? Please advice...thanks in advance!
I would recommend that you read this thread as it is very useful and relevant to your situation.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/385900
TSdariofoo
post May 23 2012, 10:26 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(janice11 @ May 22 2012, 05:12 PM)
Hi there,

I am working for a developer and I am having problem with 1 of the legal firm whereby this guy had been delaying our task which had affecting our purchasers. It is pertaining to the tranfer of title from developer to the home buyer. We were thinking of lodging a complaint on him but we do not know how to go about it.

Appreciate if you would provide some advice.

At the first page of this thread there is a link to the Advocate & Solicitors Disciplinary Board. If you want to file a complaint, you need to do it there. You don't need a lawyer to draft the letter of complaint or to represent the company at the hearing (if the Board decides that the complaint is valid). However, a lot of complainants prefer to appoint a lawyer as in the end, you'll be going head to head with another lawyer (the respondent), not a layman. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 23 2012, 04:27 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ May 23 2012, 12:51 PM)
Dear Dariofoo,

If a friend of mine die of heart attack, does heart attack fall under  the defination of accidental death?

Accidental death normally refers to death via accident, for example, traffic accident, drowning, murder/homicide, a fall causing death, heavy equipment mishap causing death.

Heart attack would fall under illness. So the beneficiary would still be entitled to compensation via life insurance, but would not be entitled for benefits under the rider for accidental death.

Am only 90% and not 100% sure on this, so please read the definition in the insurance policy. That would be the one and only interpretation of the term.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 23 2012, 04:32 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(daph84 @ May 23 2012, 12:14 PM)
Dear Dario,

Scenario:
Father is one of the 3 Developers, holding 1/4th share of the Master Title.
8 semi-D house built, title has not been issued yet.
So, the father entitled for 2 semi-D house.
Now, the father would like to assign the 2 houses to his wife and son each. No SPA.

Question:
What documents need to be prepared/sign?
Am assuming that the 2 houses are not encumbered?

If so, then a Deed of Assignment (DOA) is all you need. Perhaps a Deed of Gift would be prudent to be prepared for additional 'security' purpose just in case any dispute arises as to the legitimacy/voluntariness of the DOA in the future.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 24 2012, 01:15 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ May 24 2012, 12:59 PM)
My question:

1. What is the loadgement and withdrawal of private caveat under legal fee portion and what is entry and withdrawal of private caveat @ land office under disbursements portion? Is this applicable for new house under-con?
2. What is charge and consent to charge under legal fee portion?

1. It is for the bank to enter a caveat upon the title to protect their interest. In some cases, iIn your case even though it is a new development, the main issue is that the individual title is out. As such, the lawyer would advise the bank to lodge a caveat upon the indiv title. If Master Title, there could be a chance for a request for it to be waived. Of course, this depends from bank to bank.

2. Charge is the charge annexure. It is a subsidiary security document. Legal fees for such documents are 10% of the principal document. Consent to charge would mean that your property has a restriction in interest, i.e. consent of the state authority is needed.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 24 2012, 04:29 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ May 24 2012, 01:47 PM)
Thanks Dario, really good and no more worry after your advise. =)
They told me need to pay for MOT when sign S&P and loan agreement that time as the grant is out. In other words, can I said this is already in individual title? OR I will need to check with developer which title it is?
Grant = geran = title = individual title. All the same terms with the same meaning smile.gif

Stamp duty would be payable for the MOT to transfer from the developer's name to yours. Yes, it would be in relation to the individual title. MOT is memorandum of transfer = Form 14A.

Another thing which you need to note is that if this is your first property purchase and since your SPA price is less than RM350k, you would be entitled to 50% rebate from the stamp duty upon the MOT and also the principal loan documentation (facility/loan agreement). icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 24 2012, 04:40 PM

2,795 posts

Michael J:

It is very important at the outset to have evidence in black and white stating your instructions to transfer your late mother's half-share to you and nothing more. Otherwise, they may deny it (since there is a problem now) and then it would be your word against theirs.

If I may ask - if your instructions were to transfer just your mother's half share to you, then your father would not need to execute the MOT. Why did your father execute the MOT to transfer his half-share to you, if that was not his intention?

However, the fact that they have prepared the SPA with you and your father as vendor when in fact, the property has been transferred solely in your favour is clear cut case of negligence.

The Bar Council would not intervene as it is the Advocate & Solicitors Disciplinary Board (ASDB) which will handle complaints against Members of the Bar.

See the link to the ADSB's website for further info.

Before you file a complaint, it would be advisable to gather more evidence in support of your case, by simple writing a letter to the lawyer, demanding for an explanation and clarification as to the state of affairs. You need to write a complete summary of events, from the initial appointment and instructions, to what has ended up now. Demand for explanation and clarification as to how it can turn out this way. Send in the letter BY HAND and get it ACKNOWLEDGED with the LAW FIRM'S SEAL/CHOP. Don't send by ordinary post or even AR Registered. Send it in by hand. In your letter you can give them 7 days to reply failing which you will report to the ASDB.

Upon receipt of their letter, if you do reply, then you need to decide your next step of action:

1. You can accept their explanation and close the matter.
2. You can act on your own and draft a complaint to be filed with the ASDB.
3. You can appoint a lawyer to issue a letter of demand to the lawyer, failing which the would draft and assist you to file a complaint with the ADSB.
4. You can further instruct your lawyer to file a civil suit in the Court for damages arising from the negligence.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 25 2012, 11:46 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ May 24 2012, 04:58 PM)
I've called up my dad, and he said that the lawyer had told him he needed to sign as he was the executor of the estate. They did not explain to him any further than that.

Also, he has indicated that the only documented instructions are with the lawyer. When queried, they said, and I quote:

"We are only doing what you asked us to do."

In other words, they are pushing the blame onto us.

How would you advice on this?

Regards.
As I've said earlier and I repeat it again, "It is very important at the outset to have evidence in black and white stating your instructions to transfer your late mother's half-share to you and nothing more. Otherwise, they may deny it (since there is a problem now) and then it would be your word against theirs."
TSdariofoo
post May 25 2012, 12:31 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ May 24 2012, 11:22 PM)
hi dario would like to ask.

is it a necessity to have fire insurance for a commercial property ? i currently have a lxxpac fire insurance which was undertaken for me by Pxxlic bank when purchased the property. is it ok to cancel ?

as one of the terms said should anything happen and i quote

"on the happening of any loss or damage to any of the property insured by this policy, the company may

d) sell any such property or dispose of the same amount of whom it may concern

as i dont like that part could i not have any fire insurance at all ?
It is only mandatory if your financier stipulates it as a condition in your facility agreement. If so, then you have no choice as you have agreed to purchase it when you took the loan from your financier. Once the property is unencumbered then the choice is yours. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 28 2012, 09:50 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(ryuxeen @ May 27 2012, 10:12 PM)
Someone just signing SPA at the signing page and suddenly the ink was running out while he was signing. The signature was imperfect and he signed again next to the "imperfect" signature. Can a lawyer just cross it and initial the mistake there? Is the document valid?
Yes it can be crossed and initialled. Small matter. It will not invalidate the agreement. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 28 2012, 12:15 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ May 28 2012, 10:02 AM)
Hi Dario:

Good morning, I just signed the offer letter, not yet sign S&P and loan agreement, if I want to add 1 more name, which is my brother name in S&P, is this possible and any charge will be apply?
For SPA, yes it is possible as long as it is not signed yet. No there won't be any further charges, even if you add in more than one name. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post May 29 2012, 04:30 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 28 2012, 03:46 PM)
if i have some legal issue related to company and money matters, how much is the charges just to seek a legal consult from a lawyer?
they charge per hour ar?
Different lawyers charge differently. Some would prepare a legal opinion and charge you a lump sum for it. Some would sit down and discuss with you and charge you for the consultation (just verbal). Not all lawyers charge by the hour.

However, there is no fixed rate. It differs from lawyer to lawyer. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post May 29 2012, 04:45 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ May 29 2012, 02:40 PM)
May i know what is the proper procedure if i lost my land title/grant? Anyone knows? Thanks.
Go the the land office and inform them. A form will be given to you to be filled up. They would advise you to lodge a police report. Ask their advice as to how to word it. Then you submit the form together with the report and payment for processing fees and also fees for publishing in the Gazette. Then the land office will process a fresh grant for you.
TSdariofoo
post May 30 2012, 10:35 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(kongjong @ May 29 2012, 04:49 PM)
i received house key last saturday which had been delayed abt 2 weeks time. developer hand over me the CCC document, is this a valid CF? the electric and water are not ready to be used (not even see the meter) (but ready to connect only), wall plugs yet to install also, is this a trick for developer to compensate buyer lesser amount on delay? can i claim more until all thing set to be ready?
CCC is the replacement for CF since 2007. It is valid. For CCC to be issued, only the mains of the utilities has to be ready, not the individual connections.

With regard to wall plugs, you can write in and request that the developer rectify same as there is Defect Liability Period of 18 months.

My opinion is that you can only claim for 2 weeks of delay only.

TSdariofoo
post May 30 2012, 10:36 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ May 29 2012, 08:52 PM)
question, if the lot I am selling is Bumi quota lot, will I have any problems selling it to non-Bumi?

It is a freehold semi-D in Nilai Impian.
Read the earlier posts in this thread for your answer as this question has been posed before.
TSdariofoo
post May 30 2012, 11:21 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ May 29 2012, 09:48 PM)
Can anyone tell me what is a block title?
A Block title is essentially a master title which is identified via a separate block. For example a condo development with two high-rise blocks. One block title for each block, both forming part of a master title. It does not digress from the fact that it is still a master title.
TSdariofoo
post May 30 2012, 11:21 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ May 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
Roughly how long i have to wait for a new title?
Depends on the efficiency of the land office staff icon_rolleyes.gif

54 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:14 AM