TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 11:48 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 27 2012, 05:57 PM)
Sifu help!

I already calculated my loan agreement legal fees but is there other fees like power of attorney bla bla? Somehow the amount from my calculation is a thousand ringgit something more than what it should be
Yes for any other subsidiary documents the fees are 10% of the scaled fees.

You should download the SRO as well to check.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 11:49 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jimme @ Feb 28 2012, 12:16 AM)
Hi Dario,

i read through topics you answered before, really big help for better understanding on the procedures/documents, will take your advise be careful not to fooled by vendor/SPA lawyer.

Dario, appreciate your effort and time put in for public, thanks a lot! 

Cheers rclxm9.gif
Cheers. cheers.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 11:56 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 28 2012, 08:31 AM)
Hi all, need some advise here.

I'm buying 2nd hand leasehold apartment here. Loan from bank already approve but I have yet to meet up with owner to draw SnP. I just reviewed the legal fees calculator on the 1st page. The property price is below RM100k, which mean the total legal fees + stamp duty should be 2% of the property price. Am I right?

I'm asking because I need to prepare this sum of money when I go to meet the owner.

Also on 2nd question, I decided to withdraw my Acc2 from EPF for downpayment. From what I read, I need to have :
1. The Form
2. My IC
3. New SnP with my name on it
4. Loan approval form
5. Bank statement
6. Title Deed in seller name with letter of consent OR Title Deed in my name

My question is how do I proceed with getting the title deed and letter of consent? Should I ask this from the seller? Can I just print the bank statement from Maybank2u and submit?

sweat.gif paiseh, totally new in these things. I have done my googling around but come to nothing. :S

Thanks notworthy.gif
Not sure where you got 2% from but the scale is on this page of the link itself:

http://www.elawyer.com.my/legal_calculator_info.php

So do check again.

Seller has to give you the title deed, but the consent to transfer may take a few months after you execute the SPA and the vendor has the duty to obtain consent to transfer. So I don't think you can withdraw from EPF to make the downpayment. Unless the vendor is the generous type who can give you extra time to pay the balance deposit when signing the SPA. Normally you'd have to pay 10% minimum when signing the SPA. So either the vendor grants you extension, or you need to find another way to come up with the deposit.

Bank statement - yes you can get it printed from m2u but if i'm not mistaken a lawyer needs to CTC it first.

Basically, you need the SPA to be executed first before you can make your application for withdrawal.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 11:57 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 28 2012, 09:41 AM)
1. deed of assignment
2. power of attorney

is there a formula to calculate these two above for loan agreement?
10% of the scaled fees for the principal document, i.e. loan/facility agreement/ property sale agreement itself.
TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 03:15 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 28 2012, 02:55 PM)
Hi Dario,

Thanks. That 2% I get from the link you posted.

Legal Fees - 1% of the purchase price AND
Stamp Duty - 1% of the purchase price

So total I have to pay is 2%. Am I correct?

As for the EPF withdrawal, I will talk with the vendor when I meet up with her.
doh.gif Silly me doh.gif

I thought you meant 2% for both. Well yes that calculation of yours is correct. If this is your first property purchase, you get 50% off stamp duty, so knock off another RM500.00 from stamp duty calculation.

Don't forget legal fees and stamp duty for loan documentation. Same scale for legal fees (based on loan sum). For stamp duty on facility agreement, it is 0.5% of loan sum AND you get another 50% off from that as it is your first purchase.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 28 2012, 10:41 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(me_1980s @ Feb 28 2012, 04:25 PM)
redemption statement to be correct  icon_rolleyes.gif
doh.gif Silly me doh.gif

Typo. Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 12:09 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(irise.ufall @ Feb 27 2012, 06:16 PM)
The marked up value is only RM25k. The current market value of the said property has exceeded the marked-up value oledi though.

Will the insurance company pay for the 'illegal' marked-up value?
I really dunno how to deal with them oledi. Call them, no answer, never return call.

They sent email to my loan solicitor (c.c. to me) on 24/02 (but backdated the letter to 22/02) to send some of the docs to my loan solicitor but my loan solicitor has not received anything yet until today (27/02/12).

My loan solicitor sent 3 letters (1 letter & 2 reminders) to them to ask for such documents including the original strata title but they (the SPA lawyer )didnt even mention it in their letter/email.

They have been giving excuses and lies throughout the whole period oledi.

May i know what shld i do?  notworthy.gif
If the lawyer runs away with the money, he'll surely run away with the balance purchase price, not just your 25k. As such, if anyone is going to sue him, it's going to be the vendor. So the vendor is suing for your 25k also then. If the worst case scenario happens, that is.

I asked if you have paid their legal fees. So, have you?
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 12:11 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(it.fusion @ Feb 28 2012, 05:02 PM)
Thanks SiFu dariofoo !  This is great summarize of the steps involved that i am searching for... icon_rolleyes.gif
Please note that No.1 has been amended to state redemption statement, not redemption cheque. Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 10:35 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jimme @ Feb 29 2012, 09:59 AM)
Hi Dario,

where is the preocedure that need to get consent (from land office/or majlis perbandaran?) before 3+1 months of completion date stated on SPA?  Thanks.
That would've been done earlier. Once consent has been obtained, only then do you start the necessary with the loan documentation. By this stage, surely consent would've been obtained by now. nod.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:06 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(irise.ufall @ Feb 29 2012, 08:42 AM)
Hi Sifu Dario, so far i hv paid around RM6k (including the stamp duty for MOT) if i m not mistaken. (My purchased price is RM230k)
I see. Ok at least you've been fair and paid them their dues. But you're looking at another RM2k plus at least if you want to switch lawyers at this last stage.

QUOTE(irise.ufall @ Feb 29 2012, 08:42 AM)
The Vendor is the lawyer's fren. This thing has been dragging for so long bcoz the SPA lawyer is helping the Vendor to save from the rental.

That is the problem when a purchaser appoints a lawyer recommended by the vendor. There would "indirectly" be a conflict of interest. Although on paper the lawyer is acting for you, indirectly he is assisting the vendor by delaying things. Extremely unprofessional of the lawyer.

Of course if the unit is vacant, the vendor does not profit. When you say "helping the vendor to save from the rental" - are you saying that the unit is tenanted and the vendor is collecting rental as the SPA drags on? hmm.gif

With regard to the strata title - the original ought to be with the vendor's bank as a security (assuming that there is a loan). Otherwise, it ought to be kept by the vendor directly. I'm not sure why the developer would be holding it. That is not common.
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 10:30 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(doublef @ Feb 29 2012, 12:11 PM)
If i got a land, and i rent it, if the person who rent my land did not pay, what a the step to do?

aggrement made in dec 2008 for 3 years. the rental pay rental normal until november 2010, the rental did not pay for 6 month. and he pay for mei 2011, and i make the letter to get the money. then his wife take over his business and pay monthly rent for mei 2011 until now, she also pay extra 1 month.

now i appoint 1 letter to give he 3 month to pay 5 month rent and normal monthly rent.

what i want to know is what is the step if he/she did not pay? police report or court letter or just seal the premise? the step.

thank you in advance
So, the due rental is from the husband who signed the agreement with you? If so, then you have to sue him, not sue her. Send a letter of demand via a lawyer to him. As the wife is paying rental as usual, I don't think you can sue her as yet. Do you have an agreement with her? If not, better get one done now.

I hope I understood the facts right. Correct me if I'm wrong.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 10:53 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(it.fusion @ Feb 29 2012, 02:14 PM)
Consent from land office are done by S&P or Loan Lawyer ?
I am in doubt that my S&P lawyer had did that since there is no chapter of this earlier...

this can be done also during land title name change ?
one more thing.... the agent told me earlier that the unit i am purchasing are never been rented out.. but i came to know that the unit are now stayed by vendor's fren from oversea till another 2 months.. Question is, once the land title are changed to me can i request the vendor fren to move out ? and if not, pay for rental from then on ?

You quoted my reply to another forummer's question on consent. Is your property leasehold which requires consent? In any event, it is the vendor's duty to obtain consent to transfer, and your loan lawyer's duty to obtain consent to charge.

At the end of the transaction, keys are given to you with vacant posession. So that friend would have to move out before keys are handed over to you.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 10:55 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(rave7575 @ Feb 29 2012, 02:33 PM)
guys...

my brother have a problem..he has a new house which initially wana sell off...found a agent and a buy ready...my bother issue offer letter den the buyer sign ready...but have yet to sign the s&p agreement. now my brother change is mind don't want sell due to some financial reason. so what is the legal implication and how to move forward to cancel the agreement?

please advise..thank you so much
Try to explain it to the agent and the purchaser. Any deposit paid? If got deposit paid, even if RM1, then it forms a binding contract and the purchaser can sue him to force him to sell it at the agreed price and terms.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 10:57 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(karfei00 @ Feb 29 2012, 04:44 PM)
may i know for a typical sub sale transaction, should i find a lawyer to do SPA first or go apply loan first? my case is bank need to look at the title but vendor refuse to give it directly to me, vendor ask me to get from him via a lawyer but i do not have one
Do both at the same time also can. Looks like you have to appoint a lawyer now to get the docs. If you're hunting for a house anyway, there's no reason why you shouldn't appoint one now itself. If you can land this unit, you'd still need a lawyer for the next one.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:05 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 29 2012, 05:17 PM)
my case is like this
dad leave a will and need lawyers to transfer to name to new owner(its an apartment)
my question is...lawyers charge based on the hours they used to do the things or they charged based on the value of the house?
the lawyer that we appointed say they charged us based on the value of the apartment...and it doesn't make sense to me since procedure is same
if someone's hse is 2-3 million ringgit thn who knows how much would they charge
they charge us RM6k + 6% service tax + advertising fee = RM6000++
and whats funny is...thats only the phase 1 charges(high court thingy + advertising fee + service tax)
there is another phase he said is the transfer ownership thingy that would cost another few thousand
want to ask those that know well....is these all reasonable?..or hes overcharging us?

location...sabah
If for litigation, i.e. court proceedings, then it is subjective. Different law firms will charge you differently. So it is not based on the value of the property or the work hours required for the whole process.

If for conveyancing, i.e. transfer of property, then in Semenanjung, there is the SRO 2005 which regulates a fixed scaled based on the price of the property. If it is a transfer pursuant to a will, then it would be based on the market price. This is set by the Bar Council.

Am not sure as to the scaled fees in Sabah. Perhaps you can call the Sabah Law Association, whcih governs advocates and solicitors in Sabah.

With regard to your comment on how it doesn't make sense to you if they charge on the value of the house when the procedure is the same, let me explain to you the basis for it - the higher the price, the higher the risk it is for the lawyer doing the work. If things go wrong, then the lawyer would be sued for that higher amount. What if you act in person. You bear that same higher risk. When you appoint a lawyer, you pass the risk to the lawyer. As such, the higher the risk, the higher the remuneration must be.

That is the logic for it. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:08 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(PetomJL @ Feb 29 2012, 06:44 PM)
Is the individual title not yet available/not yet transferred? Normally that's the case if a title is in developer's hand.
If not yet available then it would still be referred to as Master Title. If not yet transferred then the title itself is in the name of the developer. In both cases, it is justifiable for it to be kept by the developer. If title is out, the developer has to surrender the original to the Purchaser's bank. That would be in line with an undertaking which they would have given to the purchaser's bank before the loan sum was disbursed to them.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:10 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Feb 29 2012, 05:51 PM)
You can ask the vendor give you a photostate copy of title or get Property Title No to do a land search.
Seems like vendor does not even want to give a photostat copy to him. doh.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Feb 29 2012, 11:10 PM
TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:12 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(jimme @ Feb 29 2012, 06:33 PM)
In case vendor delay on above procedure (not giving original documents) and purchaser's bank starts charging interest. Can purchaser stipulate something on SPA that if such cicusmstances happen vendor is liable for the bank interest incurred? Thanks.
Of course, but I doubt if the vendor would agree to it, as it is something which is out of the vendor's hands. The original documents would be in the possession of the vendor's financier. They would have to dig it out and hand it over. I have never seen such a term in any SPA so far. Nothing can stop the parties from putting in any term as they wish, provided both agree to such terms AND such terms are not contrary to law.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Feb 29 2012, 11:14 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(irise.ufall @ Feb 29 2012, 12:20 PM)
Hi Sifu, the Vendor is still staying in the unit. They ask me to rent the unit to them 1st even after they hav handed over the keys to me.
So he pays you rent, although you have not paid the full purchase price to him? hmm.gif
TSdariofoo
post Mar 1 2012, 10:43 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(doublef @ Mar 1 2012, 02:16 AM)
I just want my land back...the money is second problem... because now they still do business in my land....

What the step to take back my land?

If i sue him i must pay the lawyer first... so better i get my land is enough...
I'll explain again. Now you have allowed the wife to do business on the land in exchange for monthly rental. She has yet to default on the rental right? Is there an agreement between the both of you?

If yes, then you are bound by it. Look and see if there are terms pertaining to termination. Perhaps can be terminated with notice. Perhaps not. Check and see.

If not, then it is merely a monthly tenancy and you can terminate it by giving her one month's notice in writing. After one month, if she refuses, then you need to appoint a lawyer to get a court order to evict them from the premises.

icon_rolleyes.gif

54 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0578sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:26 PM