17 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 >Bottom

My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah

evofantasy
post Aug 24 2013, 03:56 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

broke 100k concurrent without counting china and the americans are still working... #sc2isdead
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 04:03 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Aug 23 2013, 08:35 PM)
stop assuming I'm retarded.

no seriously, this doesn't help.
Quazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 04:15 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

lag.

sc2 is dead.
GodJesterZ
post Aug 24 2013, 02:17 PM

1,542 posts

#sc2isnotdead
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2013, 04:31 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(GodJesterZ @ Aug 24 2013, 02:17 PM)
#sc2isnotdead
not impressed

SiewKaiz
post Aug 24 2013, 06:00 PM

304 posts

said only plastics was there~ all those r manmade automated figurine made by blizzard to fill in those empty seats
Sc2 is dead

This post has been edited by SiewKaiz: Aug 24 2013, 06:02 PM
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2013, 06:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

meanwhile, NANIWAAAAAA!!! KING OF THE NORTH...
Naniwa vs Jaedong again lolx omfg
GodJesterZ
post Aug 24 2013, 06:44 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 24 2013, 04:31 PM)
not impressed
hahaha, pls leave this thread. lol. if it is dead why u come here ?
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2013, 06:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(GodJesterZ @ Aug 24 2013, 06:44 PM)
hahaha, pls leave this thread. lol. if it is dead why u come here ?
ur sarcasm detector offline ar?
SiewKaiz
post Aug 24 2013, 08:01 PM

304 posts

bcoz it is dead~ we lurk around here~
red streak
post Aug 24 2013, 08:55 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Well the only way SC2 would revive (I mean seriously 100k+ max viewers for the global tournament is just sad) is if Blizzard made Multiplayer free to play. I mean seriously, make people pay for campaign but make the MP aspect free without having to tag along with that weirdass patron (whatever you call it) thing where you need a friend who already owns it to play online with all the units.

I own both WoL and HotS and I've been playing since March and I know it's a very hard game to get into and the lack of fresh blood will eventually end up killing the scene. SC2 is very expensive for Asians (non-1st worlders) and we're accustomed to freebies (Dota 1&2, LoL, HoN, WoT) so support for the SC2 scene here isn't gonna thrive unless Blizzard dramatically changes how the game works.
SiewKaiz
post Aug 24 2013, 09:55 PM

304 posts

despite dota2 being free~ 2 unusual courier cost RM500+ n got ppl offer for it~i think is the lack of interest or depth in game make lesser viewer~
red streak
post Aug 25 2013, 12:36 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Aug 24 2013, 09:55 PM)
despite dota2 being free~ 2 unusual courier cost RM500+ n got ppl offer for it~i think is the lack of interest or depth in game make lesser viewer~
You're not thinking about it the right way. The cost of entry is free. Imagine a game being a club or some sort of exclusive organization. Imagine trying to go in Club Starcraft II and then seeing a $39.99 entry fee. Then right across the street you have Club Dota 2, which is free to enter but has paid for food and drinks. Which do you think would have more members joining in? The former only earns money ONCE from the 5% of gamers that actually pay for stuff. Whereas the latter charges micro-transactions all the time for cosmetic changes that the 5% of paying gamers will keep on buying. Dota 2 is more fun to watch but Starcraft II is more satisfying in terms of play and is far harder to get into. The amount of skill and concentration you need to excel at starcraft is quite high. It's like reactive chess played in real time.
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2013, 04:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 25 2013, 12:36 PM)
You're not thinking about it the right way. The cost of entry is free. Imagine a game being a club or some sort of exclusive organization. Imagine trying to go in Club Starcraft II and then seeing a $39.99 entry fee. Then right across the street you have Club Dota 2, which is free to enter but has paid for food and drinks. Which do you think would have more members joining in? The former only earns money ONCE from the 5% of gamers that actually pay for stuff. Whereas the latter charges micro-transactions all the time for cosmetic changes that the 5% of paying gamers will keep on buying. Dota 2 is more fun to watch but Starcraft II is more satisfying in terms of play and is far harder to get into. The amount of skill and concentration you need to excel at starcraft is quite high. It's like reactive chess played in real time.
there a few things...
the main reason imho, 1v1 in sc2 is way too tryhard and serious where unlike MOBA, u can only blame urself (the opponent or balance) when you lose...
RTS eSport is quite the cliche community imho, look at the older WC3 vs Dota says and you would know...
red streak
post Aug 25 2013, 04:20 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 25 2013, 04:03 PM)
there a few things...
the main reason imho, 1v1 in sc2 is way too tryhard and serious where unlike MOBA, u can only blame urself (the opponent or balance) when you lose...
RTS eSport is quite the cliche community imho, look at the older WC3 vs Dota says and you would know...
I agree. It's very serious and very mentally challenging, such that it absorbs all your attention. When you lose you get really stressed/pissed off due to how much effort you're putting in (to win). I've had a few sessions where I was throwing my stuff after losing a vital match that was very close but I lost due to my own errors. It's stressful when you're playing against someone on your level (ladder) but far less so when you're clearly outclassed (such as tournaments when I went against GMs and Masters some odd reason). SC2 is definitely not an easy game to get into without continuous effort and training to get better.

However it still doesn't detract from the point that the reason why Dota is popular is due to its f2p playing model which allows pretty much everyone to at least try it and get into it without to invest any money (just time). Paid products can't compete with free ones that have roughly the same entertainment value. Dota is a far more casual game since you can always "blame your team" for any losses since it's team based game and thus it's less stressful. It's fun to play and far more fun to watch official tourneys like the recent TI. Even though I had never watched a single Dota tournament before and I'm a diehard fan of watching sc2 tourneys, I can't say I've ever enjoyed watching other people play a game as much as I did when watching Na'Vi, Alliance and Orange duke it out live.
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2013, 04:40 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 25 2013, 04:20 PM)
I agree. It's very serious and very mentally challenging, such that it absorbs all your attention. When you lose you get really stressed/pissed off due to how much effort you're putting in (to win). I've had a few sessions where I was throwing my stuff after losing a vital match that was very close but I lost due to my own errors. It's stressful when you're playing against someone on your level (ladder) but far less so when you're clearly outclassed (such as tournaments when I went against GMs and Masters some odd reason). SC2 is definitely not an easy game to get into without continuous effort and training to get better.

However it still doesn't detract from the point that the reason why Dota is popular is due to its f2p playing model which allows pretty much everyone to at least try it and get into it without to invest any money (just time). Paid products can't compete with free ones that have roughly the same entertainment value. Dota is a far more casual game since you can always "blame your team" for any losses since it's team based game and thus it's less stressful. It's fun to play and far more fun to watch official tourneys like the recent TI. Even though I had never watched a single Dota tournament before and I'm a diehard fan of watching sc2 tourneys, I can't say I've ever enjoyed watching other people play a game as much as I did when watching Na'Vi, Alliance and Orange duke it out live.
well there is the starter edition for SC2 which is free to play and get started...
i never think that price/ cost should be a factor for sc2...
of course there isn't any hard in it being free...

personally, i prefer to go into sc2 if i am serious about gaming unless i have 4 other friends tryhard enuff to join me for moba...
am a position 3,4,5 player in DotA 2 and you just cant play alone in pubs without getting annoyed compared to sc2 lolx...

i think it's fine that sc2 remains a cliche community, i mean look at fighting games which still have great community and a great tournament (EVO) despite being a small community...
and the event EVO even had a Singapore champ =)
red streak
post Aug 25 2013, 04:49 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 25 2013, 04:40 PM)
well there is the starter edition for SC2 which is free to play and get started...
i never think that price/ cost should be a factor for sc2...
of course there isn't any hard in it being free...

personally, i prefer to go into sc2 if i am serious about gaming unless i have 4 other friends tryhard enuff to join me for moba...
am a position 3,4,5 player in DotA 2 and you just cant play alone in pubs without getting annoyed compared to sc2 lolx...

i think it's fine that sc2 remains a cliche community, i mean look at fighting games which still have great community and a great tournament (EVO) despite being a small community...
and the event EVO even had a Singapore champ =)
Starter edition is very limited. I think you only get one race and that's the hardest one to master. Terran takes a different mindset to handle. I've got up to Gold/Platinum with Zerg and Protoss respectively but I still can't get my head around using Terran. Not to mention the fact that you're limited to custom games that high level players use to troll newbies (and thus drive them away from the game). Ladder (arguably the best part about MP aside from Arcade) isn't available for starter editions. The hardest things about SC2 are the variety of options with which you can use to harass your opponent and how one little misclick can cost you your entire army and the game. Dota on the other hand is still winnable even if you've got an idiot noob feeder on your team as long as everyone else plays well. The mindset when playing is very casual. Sure you still get mad at noobs but it's not a throw your keyboard at the wall kind mad because it's far more chillax whistling.gif Honestly I prefer playing Dota instead of Starcraft in between study sessions because of how relaxing it is.

Opening MP for free would arguably expand the player base since even now SC2 is nowhere near as popular as Brood War in Korea and the koreans don't really play SC2 because....it isn't free (unlike BW with their PC-Bang). But SC2 will never be as big as the MOBA genre games.

This post has been edited by red streak: Aug 25 2013, 04:54 PM
firedamage
post Aug 25 2013, 05:59 PM

Instead of opening battlenet free for everyone, there should be Lan multiplayer in sc2 just like in bw

This post has been edited by firedamage: Aug 25 2013, 05:59 PM
SiewKaiz
post Aug 25 2013, 06:15 PM

304 posts

somehow i more emo n rage having noobs in dota2 than get cheeesed in sc2~
red streak
post Aug 25 2013, 07:27 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Aug 25 2013, 06:15 PM)
somehow i more emo n rage having noobs in dota2 than get cheeesed in sc2~
Nothing beats blinking your stalkers into a bunch of banelings. R.I.P. First rclxms.gif

17 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 >Top

0.0264sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:49 PM