> [Q&A] Pos Laju Services, Ver 2

electronicfly
post Nov 30 2011, 11:43 AM, updated 14y ago

100 posts

Before you ask a question, please search through the old thread over at https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/106419 first, or at least read the first few posts.

Pos Malaysia's website
Pos Laju online tracking service (Usually updated at around 10AM or 11PM) Update: Appears that some have trouble with this, so you can try here or here as well.
Pos Laju rates (Remember to read the fine print. Certain cost not included yet one)
Pos Malaysia Network (Addresses, direct contact info etc). Pos Laju can also be delivered through a third party company called Mailboxes Etc
Pos Laju pickup service coverage and details
More Pos Laju services
Pos Malaysia customer service tollfree hotline: 1-300-300-300 (Operating Hours: Mon – Fri : 8.30am to 8.00pm ; Saturdays: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm)
Pos Malaysia customer service email address: csc@pos.com.my
Second delivery is FOC. Contact Pos Laju to arrange

Current rough postage cost for parcels <500g:
Within WM/Sabah/Sarawak = RM6
WM to Sarawak (and vice versa) = RM8
WM to Sabah (and vice versa) = RM9

Current delivery times
Large/medium towns = next working day
Small/interior towns = next working day or up to 3 working days
*Please check here for the exact timing, as it depends on recipient's location aka postcode)
*Pos Laju is open everyday except Sundays, Public Holidays and the first Saturday of the month
*Parcels posted after the cut off time (Depends on branch, usually either 2:30PM or 4PM) will only be processed the next working day

Pos Laju pickup service general info
Additional surcharge of RM5.00 per pick up is charged regardless the number of items send.
Free pick-up services is offered for Pos Laju account holders.
For documents and parcels up to 30kg.

Pos Laju account requirements and T&C (As of July 2011)
!! Accounts can only be opened if you have a company !!
Form PL13 (Poslaju )
Form 9/13
Form 24
Form 49
photo copy of Director’s IC/Manager
Rates quoted is subject to 10% Handling surcharge, 15% Fuel Surcharge and 6% Goverment tax.
All posting is subject to PosLaju standard terms & conditions.
For item weight more than 30kg, the 6% GST tax is not applicable.
The chargeable rate is based on the actual weight of the item or by volumetric calculation, which ever is higher.
Payment term is 30 days from the date of invoice.
Compensation coverage: For damages or loss in transit, item weight less than 2kg is entitled for claim a maximum of RM100 per consignment and for item more than 2kg is entitled for claim a maximum RM300 per consignment or the actual cost/value of the item whichever is lower.
All claims should be reported within one (1) working day from the date receipt.

Additional service: Insurance coverage

Some T&Cs:
- Must be done through Pos Laju Centers only.
- Insurance will cost RM1.50 or 0.15% of sum insured, whichever higher (2.15% of sum insured for high risk items).
- Jewelleries, currency, dangerous and/or hazardous goods, illegal items, perishable goods, livestock and breakable items cannot be insured.
- International shipping can also be insured.
- Claim is to be done by sender at any Pos Laju center within 30 days from date of posting and must submit proof of posting.
Shall update this with more info later

This post has been edited by electronicfly: Jan 30 2012, 10:32 PM
electronicfly
post Nov 30 2011, 11:43 AM

100 posts

Misc Info

Comparisons between Pos Malaysia's postal services:
Normal mail = Stamp only, no tracking, no signature required. From RM0.60 onwards
Registered mail = Stamp and registered mail sticker, tracking available, signature required, for packages <2KG only. From RM2.20 onwards
e-Parcel = e-Parcel form, tracking available, signature required, for packages >2KG only. From RM7 onwards
Pos Laju = Pos Laju form, tracking available, signature required, expedited mail. From RM6 onwards
Pos Ekspres = Pos Ekspres envelope/box of set price and size, tracking available, no signature required, expedited mail, for documents only. From RM3 onwards

Tracking codes:
Registered mail: RDxxxxxxxxxMY (Domestic) or RFxxxxxxxxxMY (From overseas, in this case Hong Kong. Not sure about from other countries)
Pos Laju: EMxxxxxxxxxMY or EDxxxxxxxxxMY
e-Parcel: CDxxxxxxxxxMY
Pos Ekspres: LExxxxxxxxxMY or LGxxxxxxxxxMY

Volumetric weight measurement = [length(cm) x width(cm) x height(cm)] / 6000 = KG

Lingo:
Expedited mail = express mail
Flyers = Courier plastic bags
Cut off time = Deadline for parcels to be sent if you want it to be processed on that day itself, if not will only be processed at the next working day
Item collected from the counter = Time parcel was posted
Item dispatch out from origin station = Time parcel was sent from Post Office to Pos Laju Center
Item arrived at processing center = Time parcel arrived at Pos Laju Center
Unable To Deliver The Item Due To Addressee Not Available At Time Of Delivery = No one was available to accept parcel when delivery person arrived. Contact Pos Laju for FOC second delivery or self-collect at stated location.
Unable to deliver the item due to missed delivery = Pos Laju delayed parcel. Can get Sender to make report and claim

This post has been edited by electronicfly: Feb 11 2012, 10:28 AM
electronicfly
post Nov 30 2011, 06:03 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(dasherzx @ Nov 30 2011, 03:49 PM)
First biggrin.gif
Anyway i want ask question. I live in Machang Bubok area, so will my packages be sent to poslaju kulim or.poslaju bukit mertajam? Help pls thanks for those who live here.
I think you need to call Pos Laju to ask about this, as I believe their areas are divided by postcode one. Hopefully someone here stays near you and so knows.

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Nov 30 2011, 04:03 PM)
i need to send  box is about 28cm x 22cm x 18cm . weight <500gm. how much they charge? is it they charge weight or volumetric. thankzz
if the person not lazy, then volumetric since it's so bulky. you can calculate the volumetric weight yourself (I already put the formula above) and check through the Pos Laju website how much you'll need to pay.

electronicfly
post Nov 30 2011, 08:23 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Nov 30 2011, 07:26 PM)
Nice electronicfly ! .. finally we got a new thread for Poslaju and with a clearer info on the 1st post...

thanks electronicfly
lol, easier to copy and paste than to create ma tongue.gif

would need your help though, since I think you're more well versed in these stuff than I am. Anything else you think should be on the first post?
electronicfly
post Dec 1 2011, 11:05 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Dec 1 2011, 06:15 PM)
28cm x 22cm x 18cm .. Should be charge by weight smile.gif Less than 500gm send within west Malaysia is Rm6
Hmm, not depends on how hardworking the counter staff is one meh? coz the size is quite bulky d, and if calculated with volumetric weight it'll be 1.8+kg d.
@kamfoo either way, I hope you get charged by weight only, if not so emm dai
electronicfly
post Dec 14 2011, 08:22 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(giggleyboo @ Dec 13 2011, 01:06 PM)
what happen with my parcel sad.gif keep 'missed delivery'!!

13-Dec-2011  08:59  Courier is attempting delivery
:  PPL TAWAU
12-Dec-2011  18:17  Unable to deliver the item due to
Missed delivery - Item will be deliver next working day
12-Dec-2011  09:58  Courier is attempting delivery
12-Dec-2011  08:35  Item arrived at processing center
11-Dec-2011  18:50  Item arrived at processing center
11-Dec-2011  18:50  Unable to deliver the item due to
11-Dec-2011  18:49  Courier is attempting delivery
10-Dec-2011  09:19  Item arrived at processing center
09-Dec-2011  18:46  Item arrived at processing center
09-Dec-2011  18:44  Unable to deliver the item due to
09-Dec-2011  18:44  Courier is attempting delivery
09-Dec-2011  14:02  Item arrived at processing center
08-Dec-2011  21:39  Item dispatch out from origin station
:  PPL SHAH ALAM
I agree with munkeyflo. The Tawau office is probably backlogged. Call them to complain, make sure they prioritize your parcel, and claim your refund.

electronicfly
post Dec 17 2011, 12:47 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(Kelifu @ Dec 16 2011, 11:06 PM)
Unable To Deliver The Item Due To Addressee Not Available At Time Of Delivery
WTF, i sit at home all the time how come " NOT AVAILABLE AT THE TIME OF DELIVERY "? SHHHIT, need run one round post office d.
Call them and complain. Sometimes it's the delivery person that's lazy/couldn't finish his round in time then try to cheat. Or, maybe so ngam you in the shower/go out tahpau food then the deliveryman come?

For Pos Laju, you can arrange with them for a second delivery, FOC. Call 1-300-300-300 or email csc@pos.com.my
electronicfly
post Dec 30 2011, 10:44 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Dec 30 2011, 09:36 AM)
my package was sent yesterday but today i check the tracking number it says no records found  rclxub.gif
Was it posted before or after the cut off time? If before, it could be that the system hasn't updated yet. Try again after 11AM today. Your parcel should still be sent today though.

If it was posted after the cut off time, then they will only process it today and send it tomorrow. Check the tracking after 11PM tonight.
electronicfly
post Jan 6 2012, 09:47 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(redshark_999 @ Jan 5 2012, 03:52 PM)
if i lose the invoice, but i need it back, what can i do? =)
You can try going back to the post office you sent your item out and ask whether they can help you find their copy and photocopy for you.

QUOTE(aheadtaro @ Jan 5 2012, 11:32 PM)
I'm wondering if Poslaju provides Mahjong paper....

Or could I send a box as it is? I got a used box...
you can use your box.

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jan 5 2012, 11:46 PM)
May i know why poslaju dont know how to use intercom ?
Depends on the delivery person one la. Who won't know how to use? IMO it's whether they want to bother or not. One person that used to be responsible for deliveries in my area knows me so well that if I'm not home he will call me using his own mobile to ask whether the parcel's ok to drop into the gate/whether I'm nearby etc.
electronicfly
post Jan 9 2012, 10:39 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jan 9 2012, 09:09 AM)
................ poslaju still sleeping ?

i called their office and no one answer
Contact our Customer Service at
1-300-300-300 (local) or 603 - 27279100 (oversea)
or 603 - 2273 3927 (Fax)

Operating Hours:
Mon – Fri : 8.30am to 8.00pm
Saturdays: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
electronicfly
post Jan 10 2012, 10:50 AM

100 posts

no, there's no receipt. If you self collect your stuff from the Pos Laju center then you would have already gotten the missed delivery note, since you need that to collect your item.
electronicfly
post Jan 11 2012, 08:23 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Jan 11 2012, 08:02 PM)
I have bought an item from a seller, and he sent it through poslaju on Monday 9/1/2012. Sender location @Cheras & my location @Kepong. Is been two days already and I still didn't get my item. The I called pos malaysia for few times within these two days and they respond is the item had delivery failure which is their postman unable to deliver to addresee.. I'm always at home at all time. and they have fail to deliver for two days & without any missed delivery note. Did they actually work on their job.. Really Malaysia Boleh..

Then I request to collect at the pos office (bandar sri damasara branch) which nearby my housing area. The customer service said CANNOT because it is at another pos office branch (batu caves) and they cant request it.

Is there anyone can guide me on this issue?

I think what they meant was that the Postman wasn't able to deliver to you because of their own problem, not because you weren't home (if it was because you weren't home, they would have asked whether you want to arrange for a second delivery which is FOC one btw)

If your parcel is at the Batu Caves branch, and you want to self-collect, then you HAVE to go to the Batu Caves branch, as they cannot send to another branch one (Btw, are you sure the Bander Sri Damansara branch is a Pos Laju Center? It's different from post office one ya)

I suggest getting the Batu Caves Pos Laju Center telephone number, call them to complain, and tell them to put your parcel on priority.

I had a similar incident before but with me as the sender. That time it was the Puchong branch, and when I called that branch directly I was told they were overwhelmed with parcels but would put the one I sent on priority. The next day my receiver got the parcel d.
electronicfly
post Jan 11 2012, 08:48 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Jan 11 2012, 08:36 PM)
Thanks for your respond..Previously, one of my parcel unable to reach my home and they left a missed delivery note and ask me to go Bandar sri damasara pos office to collect..I thought it would be the same. hmm.gif

Then I would contact Batu Caves branch myself to ask them to put my parcel on priority..thanks..
Should I call them now or tomorrow morning?
Hmm, that's odd. It should be the same branch one lo. Ask your seller again whether your seller gave the correct tracking number or not, or check with Pos Laju whether that number belongs to your parcel or not.

My suggestion for now is call 1-300-300-300 (the main customer service line), find out from them where your parcel is, ask them for the direct number, then deal with the office directly. That way you can confirm which office your parcel is at. Call tmrw only, you call now also no one will pick up.

Operating Hours:
Mon – Fri : 8.30am to 8.00pm
Saturdays: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
electronicfly
post Jan 20 2012, 03:08 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(sno0py @ Jan 11 2012, 08:20 PM)
I wonder if i can use small envelope around size:H10cmxL12cm for poslaju? Because only deliver small item. So how they stick the form if i use small envelope?  ohmy.gif Help pls~
Yes you can. Don't worry about that, let the Pos Laju ppl worry about that. If it's small enough, they will probably put it into the clear plastic that protects the form, if not, they'll just wrap that form+clear plastic around your envelope.

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 16 2012, 03:26 PM)
I'm looking to send a camera worth RM3k+ from Sarawak to KK. It'll be about 1kg+. Is it safe and are there any ways to prevent any mishaps from happening?
I personally have had no problems with Pos Laju before (the most once one case where delivery was delayed for 3 days due to the delivery branch being overwhelmed. Problem solved once I called and they put my parcel on priority).

Whichever courier you use, make sure you pack your camera nicely to prevent damage (bubblewrap and cushioning kao kao with packing peanuts and paper, before putting into a sturdy box) and also make sure you seal your package with something that is tamper proof to prevent theft (I've heard of such cases before, e.g. someone send handphone, receiver got a brick).

If you can get your parcel insured, all the better. Pos Laju has that insurance option as well, though the people I've asked all have no idea about it. If you do use Pos Laju, and got the insurance coverage, I would appreciate it if you would post here on your experience biggrin.gif

electronicfly
post Jan 21 2012, 10:08 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(zero2038 @ Jan 21 2012, 04:34 AM)
Post Office closed for how many days during this Chinese New Year?

I have a parcel (document) posted yesterday 20/1/12 from JB to JB,didn't know whether he's using pos express or poslaju, will I get it today 21/1/12(Sat) or when?

Really appreciate anyone who knew...

It's kind of urgent and that person posted to me instead of meeting me although I had asked him to COD...And now I'm frustrating...
Pos Ekspres/Pos Laju will take the same amount of time. They should be closed on Monday and Tuesday only, and Sunday's the normal closing. If it was posted yesterday before the cut off time, you should get it today, if not you'll have to wait until Wednesday.
electronicfly
post Jan 27 2012, 12:43 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ninask @ Jan 27 2012, 09:21 AM)
Can someone update the link to check parcel? The old link doesnt work anymore. You'll only get "Record Not found". I was mad at the seller, til he told me to check it with a new link.

Just sharing, cheers!
It still works for me. If you get the "Record Not found" note, it means the tracking number hasn't been used yet, so either the parcel hasn't been sent out yet or Pos Laju hasn't updated the database.
electronicfly
post Jan 27 2012, 02:59 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ninask @ Jan 27 2012, 01:23 PM)
[attachmentid=2655915]

Lol u think this is the 1st time I use PL? Just tested with 3 links, the old one is not working. Works for u, great. But not for everyone. It was a suggestion since you can edit the 1st post sleep.gif

Won't give benefit to anybody if the old link is still there. Should be replaced with the links that marcus20125 gave.
You do realize that I wouldn't know whether it's the first or 120493782901470324723438th time you've used Pos Laju right?
electronicfly
post Jan 27 2012, 11:38 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ninask @ Jan 27 2012, 09:04 PM)
Haiya really? Your reply is on how many times I use the service???? Just update the info for the sake of others. No point telling if the old link still works for you. Screen shot proves that it doesnt work for others.  Sharing is caring.
And from the way you write it's as if I die die MUST update the front page, where most others don't. What was the point of updating the front page with so many more links if in the end you were a new user and it was a problem with Pos Laju's database? Anyway, I am not going to quarrel with you d since I have already updated it.
electronicfly
post Jan 28 2012, 11:19 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jan 28 2012, 10:56 PM)
how much is estimated cost for pos express to sabah
item is very small/light, usb wireless

do I need to use their envelope only?
Babe, this thread is for Pos Laju, not Pos Ekspres.

For Pos Ekspres, technically you cannot use it for non-documents, so if they realize it then they will bounce the parcel back to you.

If you use Pos Laju, the cost will depend on where you are located.

Peninsula to Sabah would be about RM8-9, Sarawak to Sabah or within Sabah RM6 I think. If same town it would be RM4.50-ish.
electronicfly
post Jan 30 2012, 11:42 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(virus699 @ Jan 30 2012, 11:38 AM)
cuz i want to clarify something brah..btw if the parcel sent around 3pm something on saturday,when will posmalaysia update the tracking num, cuz i try to track the parcel until now still 'no record found'. sad.gif
Most post offices won't be open by 3PM on Saturdays if I remember correctly, but anyway, it depends on when is the cut off time at that specific outlet.

If posted before cut off time, then they will process on Sat, deliver on Mon but if after cut off time then process on Mon, deliver on Tues.

Either way, you should be able to see the tracking by today one.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:27 PM