Headphones Headphones / Earphones Recommendation Corner V7

windboy
post Jun 11 2012, 06:04 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 11 2012, 05:03 PM)
- My Rig: Laptop -> Fiio E10 -> Headphones OR iPad/Galaxy S2 -> Headphones (no amp)
- Type of usage: Music
- File format: mostly 320k mp3 and CD quality FLAC
- Music genre: Rock, Acoustic mainly
- Budget: below 2k
- Headphone/ earphone type: circumaural
- Other requirements (if any): preferably open back, with a neutral/analytical FR

I have the DT 770/880/990 in my list (32 Ohm version), the AKG K702 and the HD650, as well as the D2k. which one do you guys recommend/any others?  smile.gif
How about this bundle ? http://jaben.com.my/shopping2/Beyerdynamic...Peak-Amplifier/
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 06:41 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

- My Rig: Laptop -> Fiio E10 -> Headphones OR iPad/Galaxy S2 -> Headphones (no amp)
- Other requirements (if any): preferably open back, with a neutral/analytical FR

I have the DT 770/880/990 in my list (32 Ohm version), the AKG K702 and the HD650, as well as the D2k. which one do you guys recommend/any others?  smile.gif
AKG K702 requires good amp. Why not try AKG K550? It's closed, but try it before saying "but it's closed"... Hehe.
DT880 shines in vocals, but the sound isn't as open as 990. There's a Head-fi post explaining about the difference between the DT770/880/990 too.

HD650? Be sure to have a good amp! Tried HD600? You may end up paying less because some people prefer 600 over 650.

I'm a detail hunter...therefore I go for Tesla drivers. And so I stick to T70 (for now tongue.gif).
Alex05187
post Jun 11 2012, 07:11 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jun 11 2012, 06:41 PM)
Hows the T70 doing so far?
hongrui
post Jun 11 2012, 08:18 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

acoustic rock i'd recommend DT880.

with your 2k budget, get the DT880 and another amp/dac to go along. definitely will bring up the sound and experience to another level. i would recommend the 250ohms version, its not portable friendly but it gives you room for growth should you want to upgrade your dac or amp in future.

Aska_sama
post Jun 11 2012, 09:08 PM

70 posts

- My Rig: PC and laptop
- Type of usage: gaming , movie , Music
- File format: Flac and 320k
- Music genre: Techno , Pop , Rock , Accustic
- Budget: 250-350
- Headphone/ earphone type: Headphone / Headset
- Other requirements (if any): -

This post has been edited by Aska_sama: Jun 12 2012, 11:03 PM
hebe0330
post Jun 11 2012, 09:26 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 11 2012, 05:52 PM)
Do you need the inline mic and control  hmm.gif  If so, it is virtually impossible to get a third party headset (mic/control) that will work with Sony mobile due to its unique configuration  nod.gif  The only option is to go with Sony's own headsets  nod.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 5:56 pm

Bro, you can't even do justification for the AKG K702, Sennheiser HD650 or even the Dennon D2000 with the FiiO E10 let alone driving it straight from iDevices and Galaxies.

Why not? okay, so maybe the 300 Ohm HD650 is out. what about the rest? 65 ohms isn't that hard to drive, is it?

Added on June 11, 2012, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(windboy @ Jun 11 2012, 06:04 PM)
250 Ohm version bro. And I'm not looking for a desktop amp.

Added on June 11, 2012, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jun 11 2012, 06:41 PM)
AKG K702 requires good amp. Why not try AKG K550? It's closed, but try it before saying "but it's closed"... Hehe.
DT880 shines in vocals, but the sound isn't as open as 990. There's a Head-fi post explaining about the difference between the DT770/880/990 too.

HD650? Be sure to have a good amp! Tried HD600? You may end up paying less because some people prefer 600 over 650.

I'm a detail hunter...therefore I go for Tesla drivers. And so I stick to T70 (for now tongue.gif).
I'll consider those too. Amping is currently the biggest issue. Thanks anyway biggrin.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(hongrui @ Jun 11 2012, 08:18 PM)
acoustic rock i'd recommend DT880.

with your 2k budget, get the DT880 and another amp/dac to go along. definitely will bring up the sound and experience to another level. i would recommend the 250ohms version, its not portable friendly but it gives you room for growth should you want to upgrade your dac or amp in future.
I see. Thanks bro! Erm.. I'm not planning to get it that soon. Need to test out the options first. Thanks for the offer btw smile.gif

This post has been edited by hebe0330: Jun 11 2012, 09:28 PM
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 09:33 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(Alex05187 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:11 PM)
Hows the T70 doing so far?
T70? Not the best phones out there. But I feel satisfied...or try to be satisfied tongue.gif

Not encouraged by most websites due to the high price vs return ratio. D5000 can be more musical and fun at times.
But me? I want to "see" the music. lol.

If you wanna "see" music, go get T1!
Flagship from Germany~ Feel like driving Mercedes!
Alex05187
post Jun 11 2012, 09:35 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jun 11 2012, 09:33 PM)
Feel like driving Mercedes!
What if i wanna drive a Bugatti ? tongue.gif
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 09:39 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Then go for STAX!
Alex05187
post Jun 11 2012, 10:46 PM

939 posts

Inside my dream i will smile.gif but not in reality~ its a lot of money man~
shyurhead
post Jun 12 2012, 12:21 PM

nvm...==

This post has been edited by shyurhead: Jun 12 2012, 01:27 PM
noobandroid
post Jun 12 2012, 06:19 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

looks like something i wont even wanna get near to
Alex05187
post Jun 12 2012, 07:56 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 12 2012, 06:19 PM)
looks like something i wont even wanna get near to
LOL~ if it wasn't monster company? let say grado use the design but put in their driver? would you be considering it?
noobandroid
post Jun 12 2012, 08:20 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(Alex05187 @ Jun 12 2012, 07:56 PM)
LOL~ if it wasn't monster company? let say grado use the design but put in their driver? would you be considering it?
no, i hate the design, too "edgy"
Alex05187
post Jun 12 2012, 08:28 PM

939 posts

Yeah~ abit too~ what i dun like is the glossy finish @@
tunertoobe
post Jun 12 2012, 10:25 PM

9,309 posts

It'll be so cool with a matte finish, then it'll really look like an F-117.
Alex05187
post Jun 12 2012, 10:26 PM

939 posts

Nowadays people like matt finish more~ easy to maintain~ smile.gif
reehdus
post Jun 12 2012, 11:07 PM

183 posts

Hi guys, I'm by no means an audiophile and kinda looking for some suggestions here if you could help me out:

- My Rig: Desktop with on board soundcard capable of 7.1/5.1 surround sound
- Type of usage: Gaming mainly + movies
- Budget: RM200 - early 300s
- Headphone/ earphone type: Circumaural
- Other requirements (if any): mic & volume control, preferably dynamic headsets to take the load off my head

I've been looking at gaming headsets mostly like the Siberia v2 and 5Hv2 from Steelseries + the Roccat Kave as gaming would be my primary use. I've also seen the Audio technica ad500 (with separate clip on mike) and sennheiser pc350 but that's a bit out of my range.

This post has been edited by reehdus: Jun 12 2012, 11:10 PM
hebe0330
post Jun 12 2012, 11:39 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Jun 12 2012, 11:07 PM)
Hi guys, I'm by no means an audiophile and kinda looking for some suggestions here if you could help me out:

- My Rig: Desktop with on board soundcard capable of 7.1/5.1 surround sound
- Type of usage: Gaming mainly + movies
- Budget: RM200 - early 300s
- Headphone/ earphone type: Circumaural
- Other requirements (if any): mic & volume control, preferably dynamic headsets to take the load off my head

I've been looking at gaming headsets mostly like the Siberia v2 and 5Hv2 from Steelseries + the Roccat Kave as gaming would be my primary use. I've also seen the Audio technica ad500 (with separate clip on mike) and sennheiser pc350 but that's a bit out of my range.
Razer Carcharias? biggrin.gif
tehsuam
post Jun 13 2012, 12:26 AM

27 posts

need advice..

- My Rig:Laptop/Desktop/Galaxy Nexus
- Type of usage:Music/Movies/Games/Video Editting
- File format:
- Music genre:
- Budget:<200
- Headphone/ earphone type:closed back
- Other requirements (if any):