Headphones Headphones / Earphones Recommendation Corner V7

phillip88
post Jun 10 2012, 10:10 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Go go go Audio-Technica M-50. Better spend a little more to not regret later. M-50 can do little wrong in that price range. Lagipun, it's foldable!
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 08:22 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(Heroez @ Jun 11 2012, 01:55 AM)
- My Rig: Laptop
- Type of usage: Music/Games
- File format: mp3
- Music genre: many
- Budget: RM200-rm300
- Headphone/ earphone type: full size over the ear
- Other requirements (if any): open back and comfortable and not too tight cuz my head quite big
For music + games, with around RM200-300, I think DT231 pro fares well.

It's simple. It's an all rounder, is accurate sounding, and has a helluva wide soundstage!
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 02:19 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(ericng19 @ Jun 11 2012, 10:23 AM)
Hi  biggrin.gif  I'd like to ask from you experts here regarding which headphones to choose to best suit my needs

- Best for music (strong bass) and movies (Blu ray movies with truw srround sound quality)
- Does not make my ears warm after some use
- Budget under RM900
- Nice looking, not too much ugly
- Wire/Wireless

PS: Sorry to ask my questions directly from here as I cannot go through all the comments in this post.  notworthy.gif

TQ

cool.gif Eric cool.gif
Can consider Denon AH-D1100. 50mm driver cups do not touch your ears, but completely cover your ears. Superb bass, great for movies, and also a point: Portability.
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 06:41 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 11 2012, 05:03 PM)
- My Rig: Laptop -> Fiio E10 -> Headphones OR iPad/Galaxy S2 -> Headphones (no amp)
- Type of usage: Music
- File format: mostly 320k mp3 and CD quality FLAC
- Music genre: Rock, Acoustic mainly
- Budget: below 2k
- Headphone/ earphone type: circumaural
- Other requirements (if any): preferably open back, with a neutral/analytical FR

I have the DT 770/880/990 in my list (32 Ohm version), the AKG K702 and the HD650, as well as the D2k. which one do you guys recommend/any others?  smile.gif
AKG K702 requires good amp. Why not try AKG K550? It's closed, but try it before saying "but it's closed"... Hehe.
DT880 shines in vocals, but the sound isn't as open as 990. There's a Head-fi post explaining about the difference between the DT770/880/990 too.

HD650? Be sure to have a good amp! Tried HD600? You may end up paying less because some people prefer 600 over 650.

I'm a detail hunter...therefore I go for Tesla drivers. And so I stick to T70 (for now tongue.gif).
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 09:33 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(Alex05187 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:11 PM)
Hows the T70 doing so far?
T70? Not the best phones out there. But I feel satisfied...or try to be satisfied tongue.gif

Not encouraged by most websites due to the high price vs return ratio. D5000 can be more musical and fun at times.
But me? I want to "see" the music. lol.

If you wanna "see" music, go get T1!
Flagship from Germany~ Feel like driving Mercedes!
phillip88
post Jun 11 2012, 09:39 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Then go for STAX!
phillip88
post Jul 4 2012, 08:40 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Jul 4 2012, 11:50 AM)
hi friend,

1) I am using it through iPhones/laptop/desktop without soundcard.
2) Mainly it is for MUSIC
3) MP3/FLAC. but most of the time it's MP3
4) Most of the time I listen to Alternative rock like Linkin Park, or Coldplay, occasionally some beat songs like AVICII, Madonna's,
5) I am looking for In-ear earphones.

My budget for the earphone is around RM300.

Thank you for your time.
Soundcard is there, just maybe not "good" enough. Or else there won't be sound coming out tongue.gif

For that price, I'd most probably go for Beyerdynamic DT231pro. But that's headphone and not iem. If you can somehow spare for a little bit more budget, go for Shure SE215. It's one of the bang for the buck IEM. Good for what? Good for rock!

Haha. Happy Head-fi!
phillip88
post Jul 15 2012, 10:33 AM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Jul 12 2012, 10:10 PM)
My Rig:  laptop/ galaxy S1+fiio
- Type of usage: music
- File format: 320mp3
- Music genre: all kinds.
- Budget: rm500+
- Headphone/ earphone type: iem
- Other requirements (if any):
cable must not easily tangle
wide soundstage

deep bass n crisp treble
Try look for Yamaha EPH-100.
May be tasty~ Or Final Audio Design Adagio 3.
phillip88
post Jul 16 2012, 08:09 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(hon kin @ Jul 16 2012, 12:17 AM)
Help my fren to ask:

- My Rig: Comp
- Type of usage: Music
- File format: mp3/wma
- Music genre: all
- Budget: <rm1000
- Headphone/ earphone type: headphone
- Other requirements (if any):No
Consider upgrading sound file quality, eg. mp3->FLAC (or any lossless). Or else it'd be pretty frustrating when you heard distortions due to poor recording or file compression.

And for all around genre, you can go for Shure's SRH840/940 and Audio Technica's M-50 or AD series (AD700 for example) for comfort.
That's what I've heard of, and I'll recommend.

Cheers~

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(ahLiaNG90 @ Jul 16 2012, 05:47 PM)
- My Rig: Ipod 4th gen, Toshiba Satellite
- Type of usage: songs
- File format: mp3
- Music genre: pop, techno, heavy metal, r&b... my genre range are quite wide actually
- Budget: 500 or below
- Headphone/ earphone type: Currently using Creative EP-630
- Other requirements (if any): headphones that do not need an amp, US based product will do as well as im going back to US soon

Hi sifus,
Looking for some advise or recommendation here.
I hav zero knowledge about headphones but i always want look the perfection when im listening to songs.
My earphone are having some problems now as the wheel from a roller chair went thru the wire.
So im looking for a new headphones now.
Any recommendation?
Thx.
It'd be sweet if you can bargain an Audio Technica M-50 for versatility. M-50, in my ears, are quite all-around for many kinds of songs. That's for headphones.

US=United States?
But, if you're going back to US, why not go back then buy from Amazon? There are a lot of good deals online which offer significantly lower priced headphones/earphones/iem you can get here in Malaysia. If you're considering purchase here in Malaysia and go back to US, go for Shure as they're priced quite lower here over Asian compared to their birthplace-US. Besides, SE215 (IEM) has detachable cables too, and are good at bass.

This post has been edited by phillip88: Jul 16 2012, 08:14 PM
phillip88
post Jul 16 2012, 11:14 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

QUOTE(ahLiaNG90 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:02 PM)
Sry if my post is misleading.
Im looking for headphones.
Budget vice i can strecth a bit.
Since i hav not much knowledge bout headphones.
How do we actually determine whether a product is good?
FLAC files can be convert from mp3?
My friend told me that instead of downloading songs 1 by 1.
Download the entire album may hav a better sound quality like less flaw and distortion.
While we can delete those songs that i dont wan.
Ya by US means United State.
Im surprised that Shure are selling cheaper in Msia thn US tho.
FLAC file can covert to mp3, not from. Just like you can cut a big piece of paper to make it smaller, but u cannot expand the small paper to become bigger.

Download the entire album? Well, FWIW, CD is the best. If you're dl-ing from iTunes or other legal sites, then it's no use to download the whole album. Butta, AFAIK, when downloading the original released album, it MAY be better than downloading the Mix ones, like TOP10 charts, etc. It's because the TOP10 or similar ones MAY NOT be recorded from the original source. So, in this way, dl-ing the original album is better, but...well, if you don't mind your hard disk space tho...

Shure's price? It's made in China... LOL.

Anyway, feel free to ask more question so that you know what's going on.

Cheers~

0.0485sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:23 PM