English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Wigan 0-0 Liverpool
Dec 2 2011, 03:20 PM
673 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Malaysia our heavenly home |
back 3 years ago, maybe some of u don't believe lucas will be our key player....you'll never walk alone lucas...get well soon
Dec 2 2011, 03:36 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
I think we're getting a little to caught up with terms here. DM/AM/this M that M. Players these days are a little more adaptable. I mean Dirk Kuyt is known to back track and defend yes if I were to use a term, he'd me a RW/RF or whatever. What's Stevie G then? CM/DM/AM/RB/RW/LW? Carra would be a RB/LB/CB/DM. I think you catch my drift. Unlike in the past, footballers today can play in a variety of positions or at least they are expected to which is why you see Henderson on the right and not the middle. Players are more versatile which is why you see LB/WB's act as RW's and LW's.
I'm going to discard with the labels for awhile. When Stevie comes back into the side, he'll definitely take up his usual attacking role from midfield, Henderson will still likely be on the right, leaving Adam to play a deeper role than he has the past few games. I'd like to think of his as a deep lying playmaker much like Xabi was. I do agree however that Adam isn't as good at defending and in fact, he's reckless. I don't however see how else we'll set up. Can anyone honestly say that Stevie and Adam will never start together? Lucas' absence will leave a gap, no doubt and I'm not sure how we'll set up to compensate. |
Dec 2 2011, 07:14 PM
209 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
adam is abit clumsy.. the way i see him play, he always lean his body forward, fall easily n looks for a faul.. i mean if u dont get the faul u will leave a deep hole in the middle. If look at Chelsea Vs Liverpool prem league match chelsea's goal is part of adam's fault.. he did not close him (malouda) down.. vs man.city adam fell a few time when he tried to dribble the ball forward but wasnt fast enough got tackled n looking for a faul, ref not interested.. leaving a big hole again..
not sure bout adam flling lucus spot, my vote goes to spearing.. This post has been edited by kevafk: Dec 4 2011, 04:29 PM |
Dec 2 2011, 07:23 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
Jonjo Shelvy will play a Key role , lets see how KD will use him, How u guys think KD will utilise him?
Dec 2 2011, 07:42 PM
110 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Not sure about you guys, but a bloke with the name of a bullock cart - talking bullocks - conceding 2 goals every match...wtf... but idiot aside-
Spearing for lucas...well i have my reservation, i remember this scouse on his debut, contrive to lose the ball in the middle and allow opposition to counter attack...match after match i saw barring the league match against chelsea recently, which i need to catch up on sleeps, due to long deprivation... this wee Jay have tendency to lose it in the middle, in his own half! and allow counter attack...lo and behold, i dont know how many times lightning will strike, but not really comfortable wth spearing in the middle.... he tend to delves on the ball for too long time and sometimes his passing is a bit of a letdown. As much as a terrier that he looks like, hounding opposition midfield, but kinda light weight, he is afterall, small in stature. Only hope he can step it up and prove me wrong, just like lucas did, otherwise, jonjo and henderson looks more likely ahead of wee jay...just my tot tho... |
Dec 2 2011, 07:44 PM
Sounded like you were describing Lucas MK.1
Dec 2 2011, 07:54 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
QUOTE(markblurberry @ Dec 2 2011, 07:42 PM) Not sure about you guys, but a bloke with the name of a bullock cart - talking bullocks - conceding 2 goals every match...wtf... but idiot aside- Henderson should play upfront in providing for the main strikers to go for the kill, he is begining to jel with the front liners and at the same time provide cover for our DM. Maybe Jonjo should try out Lucas's role, abt Sparing taking over Lucas, no way man, he is such a small size guy and anyone with the size of Lucas can steamroll him flat. I would like KD to buy a replacement for Lucas , nor tat we dun hav a good replacement , we dun hav a "Body Able" replacement to fill the shoes of our ole Lucy ( actually no more Lucy now, as he more MANLY) Mind you Lucas is the most improved player in the BPL this season. Thanks Rafa for having the faith in him. He looks like the ole Hamman of the good old days.Spearing for lucas...well i have my reservation, i remember this scouse on his debut, contrive to lose the ball in the middle and allow opposition to counter attack...match after match i saw barring the league match against chelsea recently, which i need to catch up on sleeps, due to long deprivation... this wee Jay have tendency to lose it in the middle, in his own half! and allow counter attack...lo and behold, i dont know how many times lightning will strike, but not really comfortable wth spearing in the middle.... he tend to delves on the ball for too long time and sometimes his passing is a bit of a letdown. As much as a terrier that he looks like, hounding opposition midfield, but kinda light weight, he is afterall, small in stature. Only hope he can step it up and prove me wrong, just like lucas did, otherwise, jonjo and henderson looks more likely ahead of wee jay...just my tot tho... |
Dec 2 2011, 08:40 PM
395 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
The thing about shelvey is, I'm guessing KD's just using him as a cover in case any injuries occur in the absence of Lucas.
Dec 2 2011, 09:27 PM
174 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
agreed, jonjo are not been recalled to be an immediate replacement for Lucas. It's a precaution in case we loose another CM...
QUOTE(leftist @ Dec 2 2011, 09:59 AM) haiyyaaaa...of course we all sad lucas out for 6 months..when Stevie G not playing almost a season we said we cant compete without him etc...but look at us now..even without him we still grind out good result against top teams..the most important thing is teamworks!...relax duhh true... we finish 6th in the table and not qualify for Europe, not even Europa League. Anyway, we still got good result against top teams thou, if that is what being competence is all about.I still honor the importance of our Captain Marvel, not for what he has done in the past but because he is one of the best in the world who works his socks off for the love of the club and hopefully we can finally see the combination of him and Kenny real soon. also, just my 2cent. |
Dec 2 2011, 09:28 PM
289 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 2 2011, 07:54 PM) Henderson should play upfront in providing for the main strikers to go for the kill, he is begining to jel with the front liners and at the same time provide cover for our DM. Maybe Jonjo should try out Lucas's role, abt Sparing taking over Lucas, no way man, he is such a small size guy and anyone with the size of Lucas can steamroll him flat. I would like KD to buy a replacement for Lucas , nor tat we dun hav a good replacement , we dun hav a "Body Able" replacement to fill the shoes of our ole Lucy ( actually no more Lucy now, as he more MANLY) Mind you Lucas is the most improved player in the BPL this season. Thanks Rafa for having the faith in him. He looks like the ole Hamman of the good old days. Agree about Henderson. I don't think Henderson is suitable to play as DM. Look at the games where he play as RM, he seldom track back to help the team in defense.I think we should not rush to find a replacement for Lucas by buying new player. We should try out Spearing and if he able to step up, i don't think we need another DM. |
Dec 2 2011, 09:36 PM
I don't think you need to be the hulk to be a defensive midfielder. Claude Makalele was only 5'7" which is but a mere inch taller than Spearing. I think attributes like being able to anticipate play and movement of opponents before they happen matter more. Being tenacious is a bonus. That being said I don't think it's compulsory to have one in the team. Rather, you can have a player who can play the role when needed in the game. Stevie G was labeled a one man task force because he is a box to box type player and can fall back to mop up when required.
Dec 2 2011, 10:00 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
hah! Lucas...the one that i cursed back then. and got mad cause Rafa played him as a DM. Well who will replace Lucas ? im going for Stevie G! does he play as DM at England? please correct me cause im not sure.
Dec 2 2011, 10:07 PM
Stevie G has played all across midfield whenever Lampard is in the side because of his versatility. The problem is his natural tendancy is to attack and because he's given a free role, he doesn't have the discipline to stay behind. For the time being I'm backing Spearing to come good. Let's be fair to the lad though and not expect him to be world class just as we expected Lucas to be an Alonso. Let's hope he doesn't prove me wrong.
Dec 2 2011, 10:30 PM
1,910 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL |
Spearing is the best replacement for Lucas at the moment. He might not be tall but he's pretty good at marking and breaking up opponent attacks. Jonjo plays more in an advanced position, similar to where Gerrard was playing behind Torres. He was played in that position during his loan in Blackpool too.
Dec 2 2011, 11:29 PM
598 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
I'd go with Spearing as well. He's the closest we have to Lucas, at least motor wise. My only concern is that Spearing always had someone like Lucas to guide him on the pitch. And I'm not sure how he will cope with Adam who is kinda a mixed bag at the moment. One of these players need to take the reign of midfield and transcend their game. I have a sneaky feeling we may see a different Spearing.
Dec 3 2011, 01:05 AM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
I think the hardest part about replacing Lucas is his ability to control the tempo of the team, rather than his defensive abilities. He had the knack of keeping the ball very well and being the heartbeat of the team by pinging the balls back and forth. He dictates the tempo and provide a comfort zone for the team.
Having that said, no matter how good a player is, if we don't have a solution in event of injuries, it means that we have a problem in squad depth. So no, I don't think we have the need to knee-jerk and purchase a DM in January. Adam, Spearing and Hendo need to step up their game. Especially the latter 2, what better way to impose themselves into the first team than now? |
Dec 3 2011, 01:16 AM
160 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 3 2011, 01:05 AM) I think the hardest part about replacing Lucas is his ability to control the tempo of the team, rather than his defensive abilities. He had the knack of keeping the ball very well and being the heartbeat of the team by pinging the balls back and forth. He dictates the tempo and provide a comfort zone for the team. tbf Henderson was played out of position and I thought he showed his class when given an advanced role.Having that said, no matter how good a player is, if we don't have a solution in event of injuries, it means that we have a problem in squad depth. So no, I don't think we have the need to knee-jerk and purchase a DM in January. Adam, Spearing and Hendo need to step up their game. Especially the latter 2, what better way to impose themselves into the first team than now? Jury is still out on spearing though. Needs more game time and if he can't cope, we'll have to get a DM in January. IMO |
Dec 3 2011, 01:35 AM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
QUOTE(ianlee @ Dec 3 2011, 01:16 AM) tbf Henderson was played out of position and I thought he showed his class when given an advanced role. United recently had Fletcher, Anderson and Cleverly out due to injuries. In the Newcastle game they had (I stand corrected) Carrick and Giggs in midfield. Hardly the best midfield pairing but United were far superior than Newcastle. In recent years, they have faced some injury crises yet you would expect them to get by these adversities without much problems. Whether it's scraping games and betting on last-minute goals, other players in the team would always step up to the plate. Jury is still out on spearing though. Needs more game time and if he can't cope, we'll have to get a DM in January. IMO Thus, I stand by the belief that this is an issue of the team and Kenny's man-management, rather than an individual player's performance or ability. Plus, we always have the option of slotting Aurelio into DM. |
Dec 3 2011, 01:46 AM
160 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 3 2011, 01:35 AM) United recently had Fletcher, Anderson and Cleverly out due to injuries. In the Newcastle game they had (I stand corrected) Carrick and Giggs in midfield. Hardly the best midfield pairing but United were far superior than Newcastle. In recent years, they have faced some injury crises yet you would expect them to get by these adversities without much problems. Whether it's scraping games and betting on last-minute goals, other players in the team would always step up to the plate. Good point about KK's man management.Thus, I stand by the belief that this is an issue of the team and Kenny's man-management, rather than an individual player's performance or ability. Plus, we always have the option of slotting Aurelio into DM. Yup Aurelio is fit. Sad that we lost such a valuable player for such a long period. Predictions for Fullham away? 2-1 to us I'd say. Going with this line up but I think Carroll might come in for Maxi/ Bellamy ![]() |
Dec 3 2011, 02:18 AM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
Well, Aurelio certainly make a good DM. He has good defensive positioning. He makes good passes. He can tackle too. I remembered last season he played against City, went in hard on Adam Johnson. Surprised he didnt break his own legs! What a miracle!
This post has been edited by solstice818: Dec 3 2011, 03:18 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0313sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:04 PM |