7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong V2

tsd
post Dec 18 2018, 04:01 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Dec 15 2018, 11:57 PM)
https://shopee.com.my/product/51249120/1432990466/ TO the experts here, is this paddle ok ?
For yinhe bats, if you are in Klang valley, you can visit tenryu shop in USJ subang jaya, they have alot of Yinhe blades for sales. As you can see from their website, lots of them to choose from https://www.tenryu.com.my/store/?m=cat&cat_...3&ft=&bt=20&tt=

This shop is opened by a famous former national player, so you can be assured those bad are not fake and are of good quality. Because they have the knowledge on what to stock up and what not to stock up.

for table tennis bat, it is better to be able to feel/touch before buying. You can also use their weighing machine to check the bat weight. You know exactly what you will get but online you only have a picture to refer to. OF cos sometimes we have no choice because shop is too far. then just buy online, otherwise it is better to visit the shop.
tsd
post Dec 19 2018, 09:26 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Dec 18 2018, 11:03 PM)
Both blades are YINHE. Original YINHE.
nice looking bats, yes... those backhand rubbers can be very confusing because everyone use it differently. Sometimes very hard to read the body movement to anticipate the kind of shots coming from those backhand.

I am also player from the past, I have not been active for more than 20 years, Started playing during my school days from 1980, peaked in 1992 and stop around 1995. My current bat was bought in 1991, still in good playing condition ( although I do change the rubbers ). Now at 49, feels like getting back into active table tennis.

Few month back I join a small table-tennis competition, still can give my opponents a hard time. Most importantly, it was was so fun, hope to play more in the near future.

tsd
post Jan 2 2019, 06:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Dec 20 2018, 12:18 AM)
rclxms.gif We should meet up for some friendly matches  rclxms.gif

Where are you located?
sorry for a long delay in reply, I went away before Christmas for holiday, came back just before new year and have been sick since then. So darn unhealthy nowadays. Missed those days when I was young, can play in the hot sun for hours, rush out to play football in the rain... yet never worried about getting sick. Nowadays just hit by a few drops of rain, few days suffering in the bed.

anyway, I m located in Subang Jaya. Ya, I would love to have friendly games.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 2 2019, 06:58 PM
tsd
post Jan 2 2019, 07:07 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Dec 21 2018, 01:22 AM)
huh>? this is quite common wo.
double sided pimple are very popular among old people smile.gif Actually any kind of rubber also can play well as long as the player can master it well. However those smooth rubber do have more advantage over pimples. Pimples are very impressive to confuse people but once people are used to it, it could be an liability. Pimples just don't have enough grip to control the ball, you have to depend on your opponents spin. The only type of pimple that is deadly is the short one, they can do those crazy high speed flat smash regardless of what spin you give him.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 2 2019, 07:57 PM
tsd
post Jan 3 2019, 08:02 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 3 2019, 12:14 AM)
My handshake blade has 1 long pimple rubber and 1 smooth rubber on the other side. I intentionally chose a super slow blade to pair with these 2 rubbers to play defensive ping pong for fun  rclxms.gif
Of course, if the opponent returns the ball high, I sure will go for the kill la hahaha.

My JPEN blade also have the same rubbers. I wanna experiment how to play with a back long pimple rubber behind the JPEN. This JPEN blade is rated super fast so it is totally contrasting with my handshake blade....so I will get to play both aggressive all out JPEN attacking style and then switch to defensive style with handshake blade for the fun of it.

Ya you are right, Short pimples are deadly against any type of spin....but only if you are accurate lo....hahaha.... and have to spend hours everyday to practise the accuracy.
Yes, I agree with you about the accuracy of those short pips, needs a lot of practice. Not just short pips, even the smooth rubber also needs a lot of practice. I have met many people with excellent skills and techniques, most of them have trouble to be consistent in their shots due lack of practice. So your idea of playing defensive+offensive may be highly rewarding, just wait for opponent to throw away points and you can still attack when your opponent becomes accurate. My style of play is different, it is all out attack, unfortunately as I grow older it is becoming more and more difficult, get tired very fast. Sometimes I do feels like trying defensive game but for now I still stick to my original style.

What type of service you like to do with your pen hold ? I always envy pen-holder service. You guys have so much luxury wrist work to twist and turn your bats during service

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 3 2019, 11:08 AM
tsd
post Jan 3 2019, 05:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(cede1975 @ Jan 3 2019, 01:54 PM)
H3 without speedgluing is a dead rubber.
H3 neo is a 1st gen tensile rubber, poor attempt of chinese rubber to counter the speedglue ban. Its a factory 'tuned' pre applied speed glued rubber(its too technical to explain why factory can use speed glue while at regulated tournament cant, main factor is curing time) . H3 neo has short lifespan and when it dies u need to 'speed glue it to revive it, chinese speed glue their special grade H3 neo the night before each game. 

Basically as amateur u can do whatever u want. But speed glue itself is pretty much extinct.
its 2018 now, there are all slews of branded cheap 3rd 4th 5th gen tensile rubber. speed gluing is extinct.
If you got money to spare and plays regularly, cant go wrong with bty tenergy.
ya, those new generation rubber do feels nice to play, they do generate very strong shots but the problem is the price. No way I am spending that amount of money on them, unless I am sponsored by someone else. Sometimes we think all the national players are using tenergy, therefore we must use it also. The only reason I believe the national players are using it is because they are not paying for it, they are all getting tenergy for free.

Although those tensor rubber do generate greater speed ans spin, on paper it is an advantage over a player with lower grade equipment, but in reality it might not be true. Producing heavy shots sometimes can be a liability, if you get a good blocker with a regular smooth rubber or pimples rubber, your heavy high speed top spin may come back to destroy yourself.

So I feel, a decent rubber with a good grip and consistent in play is good enough.
tsd
post Jan 3 2019, 06:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 3 2019, 11:25 AM)
sigh.... looks like all the Ping Pong kakis are spread all over  sad.gif
yes, that is the biggest problem. players are all over the place. Not easy to travel as some of the traffic condition are horrible,
tsd
post Jan 4 2019, 12:48 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 4 2019, 08:20 AM)
I recently watched in person, a few chinese players playing, and find that their smash are super powerful, with that awesome burst of power. How do we create that extra energy, that burst? When we smash the sound is not loud, but when the chinese smashes the sound is so loud, so different, and the speed is so so fast. Our smash is more like their training time, where u practice return and pace only... normal speed, not fast, not loud. Also their hand only swings from hip to forehead. Such short distance but produces a big bang.
Don't worry about the sound, cede1975 is right, those sound most likely comes from the speed glue. Although already banned but people somehow are still using it. So much fun right, watching two decent player exchange high speed topspin. It all comes to practice and consistency.
tsd
post Jan 5 2019, 05:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 5 2019, 11:37 AM)
it is not only the Blade and rubber.... it is the Stroke itself that will propel the ball with ferocious spin and power. Gotta put your whole body into it. Look at RYE SEUNG MIN in youtube. When he top spins.... he put his whole body weight into the stroke. He is well known to have most powerful Forehand during his days.
Table tennis is not about power alone, if power alone, imagine what those giant sized "Ang Moh" can do . With their body size, they can easily generate at least twice the amount of power that Asians can generate and yet they still cant beat the Chinese players. Why ? In table tennis, I feel the ability to move fast to be in good position all the time is more important. "Ang Moh" is big is size, it is very hard for them to move fast near the table. They usually play far away from the table, gives them time to position themselves.

When you are out of position, you cannot hit the ball properly. If you see people practice, they can do beautiful powerful shots for hours but when real game starts, all the crap starts to show up. This is because during practice/stroke session, they are always in good hitting position, but in real game it is no longer the same. To be in good position, you need to be very agile and have very good movement and body balance.

If you see top players in videos, you can see how well they move around the table and their body positioning to strike.
tsd
post Jan 7 2019, 03:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(cede1975 @ Jan 7 2019, 02:07 PM)
Anyone got TT session on SAT/SUN morning i could join? my skill average.
wow, looks like cede1975 is all fired up and ready to play smile.gif
tsd
post Jan 8 2019, 12:20 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 7 2019, 10:33 PM)
you live in PJ ?
he will travel anywhere to play table tennis smile.gif
tsd
post Jan 9 2019, 03:42 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 9 2019, 01:14 PM)
Ok I am going  to Play Ping POng tonight. Yay!
wow, congratulations on your success to book a game smile.gif where did you manage to get your play ?

As for me, I do have many place to play but too bad I cant play, still not well. I think majority of the time I am not fit to play.

Worse problem is my finger nerves, they have been troubling me for a long time already. It comes on and off with swollen fingers.

tsd
post Jan 9 2019, 06:10 PM

49 posts

thanks for the video.

I hope I can find something similar to my hand problem. Some parts of my finger knuckle and joints turned white. Every now and then they will get swollen and loss of feeling, sometimes it feels fine. According to one of my doctor, there is a problem with my hand nerve.

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 9 2019, 04:23 PM)
tsd
post Jan 10 2019, 12:52 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 9 2019, 10:35 PM)
alamak.... what is your condition called?
most likely it is caused by the HAVS
tsd
post Jan 10 2019, 09:15 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 10 2019, 12:52 AM)
alamak. IS there a cure?
no cure, its a permanent damage. So I have to live with it and be careful not to make it worse ( danger of losing my fingers, thank god all are still in place and functional ). I have this problem for a long long time already, so I am already used to it. Still better than a lot of people who are far more less fortunate.

Whether my fingers are works properly or not is an On and Off kind of situation. Sometimes I can go several weeks without any problems. Anyway, I can still play table tennis, lets not talk too much about my fingers problems, later people angry with me, out of topic. Lets get back to table tennis smile.gif

Talking about fingers, if you have children learning table tennis, make sure they learn how to use their fingers effectively to manipulate the table tennis bat. I noticed many training center does not pay much attention on how to use fingers effectively with the bat. For example, Locking your bats with fingers to execute a flat smash. A lot of time I see people wasted easy high ball smash. Apart from bad timing, sometimes it is caused by bat wobbles on contact, causing the ball fly somewhere else or lack of power from smash.

Just for information for those who are new on how to lock the bat ( Shakehand bat ). Make sure that last 3 fingers have strong grip on the bat handle and the second finger is firmly pressed against the back of the bat when executing the flat smash. You can try this method on your bat. I am sure you can feel the firm "bat lock" and a more stable and powerful flat smash. I am a Sardius player, this is my favourite shot smile.gif Of cos you do this only at the point of smashing, do not hold your bat this way all the time.

If you are doing a loop/topspin, then the fingers will be different, only press the second finger at the back of the bat for stability, last 3 fingers are more relaxed to feel the ball. I normally use the last and second last finger to adjust bat angle and middle finger for grip. Anyway, you can try different ways, the idea is to be able to get stability, flexibility and power with the different ways of finger play.

As for the thumb, it should be relaxed apply pressure upon contact. For backhand shot, the thumb takes over the role of the second finger.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 10 2019, 09:50 AM
tsd
post Jan 10 2019, 11:07 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 10 2019, 10:20 AM)
I saw a video in Youtube about how to generate power. Relax your fingers and grip...and right before contact with the ball only you unleash your force. Same as Karate punch. Its physics.
not just physics, its biology as well. I am not sure you notice or not, if you put the last 3 fingers are tight together, your wrist cannot turn freely, if they are separated and and lose, your wrist can turn freely. One of my coach last time spend a lot of time with fingers, just thought I share some of the things I learn last time with you guys.

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 10 2019, 11:09 AM
tsd
post Jan 10 2019, 02:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 10 2019, 12:32 PM)
For us casual players, mind sharing the video link please? Thank you in advance.
It is good to watch video for ideas, but sometimes some technique works on one person, it may not work on another person because of different body built. For example, some video ask you to hit the ball at x degree angle from certain location, but they are assuming everyone is of the same body size and height. Imagine if an 6 footer "Ang Moh" try to learn from Chinese training video, they will end up in worse condition. So be very selective in your videos

This post has been edited by tsd: Jan 10 2019, 05:14 PM
tsd
post Jan 17 2019, 03:25 PM

49 posts

n8210,

It has been several month since you bought your Palio 2 star bat, I like to ask you about the condition of the bat, does the rubber still have good grip on the ball ?
tsd
post Jan 18 2019, 11:59 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jan 18 2019, 10:27 AM)
My kid is using it. He has stopped playing for 2 weeks. The condition is still good, although a small section of the rubber starts coming off because the glue below is not keeping it intact. About 1cm on the side. If you do not peel it open, you won't notice. Sekian, report sy. Terima kasih.
thank you for your feedback. hope you dont mind if I will ask again in few month time smile.gif I am very interested to know how long it can last
tsd
post Jan 18 2019, 05:05 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 18 2019, 02:14 PM)
thx TSD
it was cede1975 who posted all those useful videos, not me.

It was quite a lot of work for that ERT TT fellow to compile all the techniques of different coach from all over the place and put them in his video. Surprisingly some of the techniques are thought by some of my former coach.

Because there are too many videos and post as he likes, he lacks the step 1,2,3 type of coaching. A good coaching must have a proper progressive system, like the school system. Most of his videos are posted in at random levels of play, if a beginner attempted to copy his high level video, will surely court disaster. Lets hope one day he go and arrange his video by levels of play.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:45 AM