cherroy
post Dec 26 2011, 06:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 26 2011, 04:59 PM)
Haha seems like some ppl are still speculating that it would fall. It's being a couple of months and a couple of ppl are already gone. so who is our next contender who will deem that prop prices will go down next year? tongue.gif
Soon there will be people get it right.

But the scenario can be

x + 0 year - 400K (expensive, predict fall), but didn't materialise then
X + 2 year - 500k (even more expensive, predict fall), but still not happen), then
x + 3 year - 600k (crazy price, many more people cannot afford, predict all, still not happen, then
x + 5 year - 800k (ridiculous price, predict fall, bang finally materialise), then
x + 6 year - 750K, hurray, get the prediction right.

But the person predict the fall, what he/she get?
Get cheaper properties?
Even drop 20%, still way more expensive than first get one.
Drop 50%, same with the person first get one.
Just like this thread from V1, until now.
There is no rewards for over pessimistic.

Don't get me wrong, I am not super optimistic as well.

cherroy
post Dec 26 2011, 11:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(NameTaken @ Dec 26 2011, 10:21 AM)
rumor said price of houses will fall next year. dunno how many %.
any clue?
There is no such thing of rumour say price up x% or down y%.

It is only what happened and is happening out there, aka the transaction done out there.

cherroy
post Dec 27 2011, 01:45 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mellomm @ Dec 27 2011, 01:34 AM)
Yes property prices will come down heavy mb max 20 %.and sales at the high prices will be very slow. One the economy cannot sustain that high income and secondly all the indicators are already there. Thats wat happen in in usa dubai europe. People know on the problem 3 years before but more people and banks come to grip
At later stage wen its too late. In malaydia people have been talking about the high prices and sustainability over the last 2 years but now do you notice that more people are taliking about it now. So it will happen
The more people talk about price can crash, the chance of it crash become low.

The crash often come when most people cannot forsee it.

This is always repeating and proven.

Because when more people wary or cautious crash may around the corner, it means those people are out of excessive speculation.
It is always excessive speculation that causing the bubble and lead to crash afterwards.

I will deeply worry if no one talk about crash, and everyone said BBB.
cherroy
post Dec 27 2011, 02:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 27 2011, 11:58 AM)
In every situation, there's detractors. People talking about crash in US long before it crash. So yeah, crash is imminent. Next year all bought property will have negative equity. Mark my word.
What so fear about crash?
Stock market, property market did crash many many time before, not the first time already.
People talk about crash until bored already, so mark your word so that become Malaysia version of Peter Schiff or Dr. Doom? biggrin.gif
As said before or what I posted earlier, one day, you will be right.

When subprime exploded and financial crisis unfolded, people said "died liao", going to be deflation and economy recession for many many years,
yet after massive stimulus package around the globe, for the period form 2009-2010-early 2011, factories order flooding in until not enough man-power to cope the order.
The one believed the dooms day coming during the crisis, retrench all the workers, sell factories, due to fear of dooms day, were the biggest losers.
cherroy
post Dec 27 2011, 04:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Dec 27 2011, 03:17 PM)
If he can't afford to pay with his salary, how come he can still get loan? This prove that bank has become irresponsible lender. Your friend also act irresponsibly and this of course will lead to downfall of property market.
Nothing to fear if we still have jobs that pay well.
This is half story tell only.

Bank won't lend simply one, they either need one to prove the income or has rich guarantor to guarantee the loan, only then loan will be approved/released.

If can simply loan, everyone also want to loan.

cherroy
post Dec 28 2011, 10:45 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(brother love @ Dec 27 2011, 10:11 PM)
Today the developers and agents are chopping us the consumer kow2, its take it or leave it, launching at higher and higher ridiculous prices, wait for our revenge when the market crashes heeheheheheheheee....
The main culprit is speculators or flippers, they are the root, or reason, why price can be easily pushed up.
Developers alone cannot do anything if not those speculators/flippers always "sapu" new launched out there.

Revenge?
When market crash time, just like forumer said, who run first? whistling.gif
What you can benefit from market crash?
Buy cheaper properties?
Tomorrow even cheaper, why buy today?
Next week even cheaper, why buy tomorrow?
Next month even cheaper, why buy next week?
Next year even cheaper, why buy next month?

Market turn time, now expensive than yesterday, not worth, wait to go down further.
Next month, even higher already, hey last month, just 400k, now 420k, expensive already, wait.
Another 2 months, 450k, start to say majority people cannot afford this price etc.
Cycle continue for waiting game, people cannot afford, ridiculous price etc.
Wait next turn of crash...

Forever wait... laugh.gif
cherroy
post Dec 28 2011, 04:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Dec 28 2011, 04:18 PM)
wow! market not yet drop but many people are celebrating like grab some cheap stuff.
some fella invest since 8-10 years ago and made lot of profit but yet to celebrate with the champagne.
LOL, biggrin.gif , where got cheap and can celebrate?

The first or major drop always come from those highly speculated or previous high flying one, even drop 10-20% from current level, also higher than 2008-2009 pricing.
Some need to drop 30-40% before back to 2007-2008 pricing, can ar?
I don't know, I am not expert, I cannot predict fall or rise.

Added on December 28, 2011, 4:45 pmI only know if I cannot afford, doesn't mean others cannot afford.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 28 2011, 04:45 PM
cherroy
post Dec 28 2011, 09:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Dec 28 2011, 09:14 PM)
hehe...

like wat cherroy said.. the more to discuss the topic it would't happen...

y2k many ppl believe.. so no happen.... BUT, 2012 many dun believe....  hmm.gif
2012 end of world, believe or no believe make little difference one.
Unlike believing dooms day in economy or property market crash, this has significant different consequence due to one's believe/strategy/attitude towards one's wealth aftermath.

For 2012 dooms day/end of world.

1. Believe, scare everyday about dooms day, worry until mind also crazy, if really come, die.
2. No believe, enjoy normal life, if really come, die also.

No different. biggrin.gif

cherroy
post Jan 1 2012, 06:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 1 2012, 12:13 PM)
yesterday went to klcc to watch fireworks and found majority (estimate about 80%) on street /park are foreigners.  do u think these foreigners will help to boost KL prop and economy?? 

i noticed many metropolitan cities where lot of foreigners are always doing well.

i think KL is changing, i never seen this in the past few years.
my condo at klcc also majority are foreigner, me a local become minority staying here.

many foreigners like to visit/live in KL (cheap, safe, respectful, considerate, diversity, nice wheather etc, cant find this in many countries nowaday).  i think KL will change very soon. more will come if we improve our transportation eg mrt etc
It is the other way round.

Foreigners are attracted to come to your city, if your city got good making money opportunity, not got foreigners then do well.

Added on January 1, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 1 2012, 04:27 PM)
how about to save $ in high interest countries eg china (5-6%, and no worries of currency depreciation ) and serve loan interest here in msia 4.3%? can we take this advantage to own more prop eg refinance? 

many singaporean , hk is doing it. their loan interest is oni 2%....japan is even lower..
Since when China is high interest country at 5-6%? rclxub.gif
China deposit rate is around 3%, quite similar to here only.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 1 2012, 06:35 PM
cherroy
post Jan 2 2012, 01:08 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 1 2012, 10:02 PM)
you need to go china more often, go visit any bank and notice their digital screen etc.
p/s : I visited shanghai every 1-2 month..
http://www.hsbc.com.cn/1/2/misc/deposit-rates
3 Months 3.1000
6 Months 3.3000
12 Months 3.5000
24 Months 1.0000
http://money.cnn.com/2011/07/06/news/inter..._rate/index.htm
The People's Bank of China's annual interest rate on deposits stands at 3.5%, while the annual rate on loans climbs to 6.56%.

If the deposit rate is 5-6%, people won't complain about negative interest they are getting.

6% is about their lending rate, not deposit rate.
The digital screen show 6% as lending rate?
cherroy
post Jan 6 2012, 10:52 AM

25,802 posts

Please do not bring in other not related to property issue.

This is property talk section.

Ty.
cherroy
post Jan 6 2012, 02:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cerocor @ Jan 6 2012, 01:24 PM)
Interest rate hv to go up..
BNM futile attempts to control inflation beast (especially property prices) are way too cosmetic & ineffective...
R they there to play politics for cosmetic show or really manage national economy??
d only country has d political will to battle inflation is Australia... they hv mining & Malaysia has oil, y cannot?
BNM has paused the rate hike, as sign of economy is slowing down.
Even RBA has cut the rate down already, aka 0.5% already, from 4.75% to 4.25%.

I don't see how the interest rate can go up further, if economy is stalling and slowing further.

Unless the economy recovery and growing is good, only then rate can go up, which I don't see it in near future.

cherroy
post Jan 18 2012, 03:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cyrix @ Jan 18 2012, 11:08 AM)
Booming or not still depends on affordability of majority people. Majority income have increased in tandem with the house prices? It is not about how much cash investors (flippers) have, they can keep on "goreng-goreng" but at the end still need majority people to support it.
I don't really think in 3-5 years house price can increase >50% like what happened in past 2 years. Although there are some exceptions for prime location but on overall it is very unlikely.

Slow sales and stagnant price are what currently happening. We should expect more offers from developers and flippers no longer able to push up the price.
World economy has many uncertainties now (US slow recovery, Euro crisis, China hard landing), we all can actually see the storm is coming and there is no point to deny that. So far the worst haven't came yet, that means nothing really bad happened yet. House price might dip further if something really bad happens.
When are we going to see fire sale? That would happen only if our jobless rate hit more than 10%. When will that happen? Only if there is world wide recession.
We know that the storm is coming but we don't know how hard it will hit us.
I don't know why people keep on using majority people affordability as reason to say property price is doom.

You don't need majority people can afford,
you just need enough people that can afford it.

Car price here is extra-ordinary expensive, 100k, 200k, 300k also got, which is way beyond majority affordability, but I still see many of those car, and those car dealer is not closing down nor slashing price.

Yes, increase 50% in 3-5 years is unprecedented, and unlikely to repeat.
Doom or storming coming or not, I don't know, I don't have the crystal ball to know, but the uncertainty mentioned is the one current limit the price surge, which is good, without those uncertainty, we might as well as see the price ballooning even higher.
Don't get me wrong, I also view house price should dip/correct after tremendous surge for the past few year.
But I don't agree the majority affordability theory.
As long as there is enough buyers to meet the supply, price stay, as simple as that, the most simple ultimate supply and demand theory.

Got 1k unit 1 million house, if got 1k buyers want to buy, price stay. Whether the rest 20 million people majority cannot afford to buy the 1 million house, it doesn't alter or matter for the price.

cherroy
post Jan 18 2012, 04:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 18 2012, 04:13 PM)
in the same way, i dun understand why people keep saying there are enough people with the means to buy all the props today at current prices.

the truth is in the supply and demand of the various classes of homes in relation to their income, cash and debt position.
in a general discussion like this, we are neither refering to below 100k low cost apts nor above 1 mil ones.
we are refering to the mainstream 300-500k homes which have now become 500-800k.

you have always argued there are enough of those who can keep buying to buoy the current supply.
pls make it clear if you are saying there are and will be enough of these buyers willing and can afford all these 500-800k homes, incl those coming onstream in the next 2-3 yrs or being launched new now. at least in the klang valley.

my position is there aren't enough to take up the supply in the next 2-3 yrs such that prices will stagnate or fall slightly.
because many who want to buy don't have the means and many of those who have the means are the ones that have invested and want to sell.
Enough or not enough I don't know, I don't have crystal ball as I said.

But price has surged and stay at elevated level, already means previous there are enough buyers. This is strong indicator, there are/were enough buyers, despite 500k or 700k.
But I did not say future will be or not. Not related.
Supply may become more, and buyers may not enough, nobody knows.
Remember the basic supply and demand theory?

While, supply is controlled by developers, once they sense not enough buyers aka slow take up rate, mostly will delay new project, until sometimes when time suit.

Main stream or not, 300k, or 800k, enough buyer or not, I also don't know.

But I know it is not related to majority affordability issue.
Even majority afford, it doesn't they want to buy, if price of property is heading down, just like what happened in US. There are plenty of money, cash, liquidity around, but if people have no confidence, you still see price keep on going down. Just like stock market during crisis.

Yes, there may not enough to absorb all the newly built in the near future or next 2-3 years, price can stagnate or fall slightly, but this has nothing to do whether majority now afford or not afford.
The property market is all about enough buyers that are willing to buy, can buy.

While those own the property doesn't mean they must sell either.
We don't know, some bought and let the house grow grass also have. Some bought condo and paying maintenance each month and let the condo vacant also have.
cherroy
post Jan 19 2012, 12:07 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(peet @ Jan 18 2012, 11:51 PM)
Let me guess. U only read gahmen newspapers?  tongue.gif
BTW gahmen said 2012 GDP is 5%. Pte banks say 3%. Reality could be anywhere between 1-3%.

Talk about FDI, it depends on whom you ask. If you ask Gahmen, it's increasing. If ask Opposition, they are running away.

Banks willing to lend? Bank Negara just announced stricter requirements for home loans starting Jan 1, 2012. Banks already bracing for slower growth in home loan sector. Personal loan sector still okay.

I am sorry I don't have better news for property owners here who are hoping prices will still go up 30-50%.  sweat.gif
The actual situation is banks want to lend, just BNM want to impose stricter rule to prevent bubble forming.
GDP is 5% or 3%, both also show positive growth, forget the property price is pegged to GDP growth figure? tongue.gif

Yes, no doubt, it is impossible to see price up 30-50% anymore, highly this year is a correction year.
But don't forget we are along being threaten by inflation, and inflation is the one can support property price.
On one hand, economy slowing down.
On one hand, inflation is everywhere.

One negative, one positive, neutralize.
cherroy
post Jan 19 2012, 12:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Jan 18 2012, 09:40 PM)
i think if price really drop many will not hesitate to buy after seeing the crazy sky price.
I can assure 95% will say, wait, price may crash further, a new round of waiting game.
If crash even harder, even more bearish, wait even longer... tongue.gif
No offense.
cherroy
post Jan 19 2012, 10:34 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Jan 19 2012, 07:29 AM)
the global is heading to deflation these years.... the commodity price will be stagnant.
Deflation?
I don't buy this story on the media.
If said business become slower and less volume/revenue, yes, this is the true picture, but not on the deflation for consumer.

Oil price is staying at elevated level, above USD100, so does copper, silver, gold, even CPO staying comfortable around RM3000.
Look at CPI, PPI number, all point to the inflation especially in emerging countries.
China despite showing lower CPI number, it is still a hot number of 4~5%, just not as severe as previous around 6%.

With central banks across the globe prefer growth over the inflation control, cheap interest, massive QE, I fail to see how can deflation occur.
Price paid by consumers keep on escalating only.
Where is the deflation?
I only know money become smaller, and price only up, no down.
cherroy
post Jan 20 2012, 02:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 20 2012, 10:35 AM)
this is not old, open ur eyes and look at the comodities price
even if u go to tyre shop they keep using the same reason year after year

if materials go down i oso doubt the price will go down, look at oil price during pak lah's era rm2.80
now rm1.90 can u see any price drop in anything sweat.gif
The actual industrial diesel price is around Rm2.60 level.
This is the real price.
Commodities price is not cheap despite media keep on sending fear about Euro debt crisis, recession looming etc.

Added on January 20, 2012, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(Seremban_Guy123 @ Jan 20 2012, 12:35 PM)
Its not only material cost increase, but the labour cost
contribute more to the price increase of properties.
This is just my opinion.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(dlyw1103 @ Jan 20 2012, 12:37 PM)
land price leh  whistling.gif
Inflation is everywhere, that's why I disagree the deflation part of story.

Labour is hard to get, you may have plenty of unemployed graduate, but factories and sites are facing labour shortage.
For site and renovation work, some already paid RM80-100 per daily wages, still hard to get one.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 20 2012, 02:39 PM
cherroy
post Jan 20 2012, 02:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 20 2012, 12:55 PM)
if sugar increase 10cents per kg those mamak can increase teh tarik by 10cents oso per glass
why do u think developer cant increase price using the same method

people are greedy

we as consumers can do nothing except unite and fight back..and this is unlikely to happen bcos the majority just keep going with the flow

welcome to the capitalism world

what the eyes see and the ears hear, the mind believes
It is chain effect.
If, sugar 1kg up 20 cents, then if teh tarik up 10 cents, then people complain to the boss, life is hard, everything expensive, want payrise, if not cannot live, need to quit for another job. So the boss give payrise, then boss feel hard to operate the business with rising labour cost, then want to increase selling price of hardware. Increase selling price of hardware, the developer feel profit being eroded by both hardware and labour cost, then want to increase price of property launched.
The chain effect continue and loop non-stop.
cherroy
post Jan 20 2012, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jan 20 2012, 02:49 PM)
+1 here thumbup.gif  That's come the cycle...
An interesting article regarding the property price in malaysia worth reading in chinese to share HERE. To those not familiar with chinese, you try google translator. Please share your view after read.
Not interesting at all.
I read enough doom and gloom since the 4Q of 2011 until now, but stock market keep on rising, corporate make even more profit.
Intel just announced decent profit with profit margin >60%, Microsoft beat forecast, McDonald share keep on become higher and higher, and near all time high and continue reporting higher and higher sales each month.

Same with local company and finance stocks keep on reporting good financial result.

Oil price, commodities price all stay at elevated level, oil price has firm footing >USD1000, so does copper price, CPO.

Added on January 20, 2012, 3:06 pm
大馬與印尼的房地產泡沫也是另一個慘痛的經驗。在1990年代,泰國將房地產發展,視為優先開發的領域,大規模的刺激產業市場政策出台,吸引不少產業發展商與投機者湧入市場。

此外,銀行信貸政策的放任、大量外國資金進入市場進行投機活動、造成房地產泡沫的產生,受波及的國家沒有很好的進行調控,形成產業單位供應大大超出需求的局面。大馬與印尼的房地產泡沫
1997 RE bubble in Malaysia/Asia?
Sure boh?

Those bought the property during that time compared now already appreciate 200-300% at least.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 20 2012, 03:09 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0582sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:35 PM