4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

hanz079
post Feb 15 2012, 04:28 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(forget-me-not @ Feb 15 2012, 03:09 PM)
Dear all watch expert, I'm so keen on getting a 18k two tone Rolex GMT2, been looking around for new and preowned.
would like to know what would be the discounted price for new one from AD? i was quoted RM 31k from a trusted taiwanese website, worth a go?
or a pre-owned of 2003 is 22k from local preowned shop, what do you think?
since the latest model will be with ceramic bezel, would like to know the material for old models.
Thanks heaps!!
Not an expert but i can say that if you're prepared to splurge over 20k for a watch, its better to look at brand new... No point saving a few bucks for the risk involved.
As for older models, bracelets are the rattly type oyster bracelet with hollow mid links and flip lock bracelet. Bezel inserts are anodized aluminium.
New models features newer case design, sits firmir on the wrists... Stout as some might say.
Bracelet are all solid and features a newer clasp. Bezel inserts are ceramic.

Added on February 15, 2012, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(forget-me-not @ Feb 15 2012, 03:42 PM)
opps, i mean i'd like to know the material for the old models.
what's the cost for servicing normally? the preowned one comes with all papers.
cheers,
For a gmtii service costs, depending on what needs to be changed or replaced, you're looking at the region of rm1800 and up....

This post has been edited by hanz079: Feb 15 2012, 04:29 PM
hanz079
post Feb 24 2012, 09:36 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 23 2012, 11:38 PM)
already ma.. i put there for 30minutes then i took it off..  biggrin.gif  pic of milgauss + 2 subs
Wow... Milgauss and 2 Subs? Cool... show pic leh... we all drooling liao.
Dun put 30mins then take it off lah... everyone here is watch lovers, pics is paramount. rclxms.gif
hanz079
post Feb 24 2012, 11:04 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 24 2012, 10:14 AM)
aiyoh you fellas hor.. the cheapo tag chrono no resale value wan , which was the topic of discussion, no one ask pic.. milgauss GV ppl ask.. haha!
All pics of watches are welcome.
If can, post whole collection la... let us drool mah...
hanz079
post Feb 25 2012, 04:18 PM

315 posts

Updated my Snowflake on original tudor bracelet.

Yeaaahhh!!!
hanz079
post Feb 25 2012, 05:03 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 25 2012, 04:21 PM)
I am not sure what does this has to do with me having the money to buy a more expensive watch than you  doh.gif

You asked for opinion several times and some of us here are trying to help. Its difficult to narrow down the answers to general questions like `what do you think'.  In fact its about what do YOU think as a buyer. Looks like your heart is set on the TH-F1. 
The only Swiss brand  that offers a driving/racing line up if you still wanna compare is Oris.
Let's not forget Chopard Mille Miglia, Casio Edifice Sebastian Vettel, Seiko Honda F1 Racing collaboration and Frederique Constant Racing collection.
Those are those that I can come up with atm.

As to the resell value of Tags, they are on the weaker side.
For mechanicals, the older models carry generic eta movements except for the caliber 36 which is a variant of the zenith el primero carry their value well, but don't take it as a yardstick.
Newer models that uses the infamous caliber 1887 is a reworked version of the seiko 6s37 should still hold their value.
As for quartz, lets not even go there.

But let's be real here... most casual watch buyers are not going to delve deep into the history or movements of the watches.
As long as they like the design, then it's good enough a reason to buy.

Bottom line is, buy whatever that you like.
No use buying a piece with good resale value but with a design that you despise.
Zenith watches does not hold value well, yet I am a big fan of their watches... more so the new collection... feel like pokemon... "gotta catch them all!!" brows.gif
hanz079
post Feb 25 2012, 05:24 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 25 2012, 05:16 PM)
Haha.. True.. I like watches and i have about 7-8 watches in my collection buut all of them is just 3-4 digit value only.. I dont really know the history, movement, etc... I bought them simply because i like the design and brand as well as within my low budget.. :-)

I am a bit shock when ppl here saying TH is just another crap because TH is luxury brand to me.. Hehe..
Tag is a luxury brand.
That is a fact.
As for the products that they are offering, I do not feel they are value for money.
More like 20% is what the watch is worth and another 80% that you pay for is for the marketing costs.
I am not sure if anyone said TH is crap because it will not be right.
Everyone have their own tastes in timepieces.
A person wearing a patek does not necessarily be any different from someone wearing a casio or seiko.
All 3 could be equally rich, just not the same priority when in comes to watches.

If I were given a choice between a Tissot and a Tag, I would go for the Tissot.
But that is just me.
Check out the Seastar or T-Race automatic line.
Pretty nice watches.

Do not be jealous with the Patek the guy beside you is wearing, be happy with the watch that you're wearing now.

Added on February 25, 2012, 5:37 pmIf I have 3-4k to spend on a watch... for everyday wear... I would definitely go for this.

I am a big fan of their watches and I sold off my old DC67 and now waiting to pull the trigger on this, just that I have more targets than money... lol

This post has been edited by hanz079: Feb 25 2012, 05:37 PM
hanz079
post Feb 25 2012, 09:18 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 25 2012, 05:42 PM)
i got that...  brows.gif  and a few other cartiers..

Pics or it didn't happen bro... lol thumbup.gif
hanz079
post Feb 26 2012, 02:34 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Feb 26 2012, 02:03 PM)
I can't find the G-Shock topic, so I hope this is the correct topic to post else please redirect me to the correct one.. sweat.gif

I wish to buy this model. I m tired of changing battery every few years so this watch battery is supposed to last forever. drool.gif

Please let me know where I can find a shop that sell reasonable price G-Shock watch.

Thanks. icon_question.gif
Maybe you can find one that says Tough Solar on the dial.
Those run on rechargeable solar power... suppose to last 3 years without seeing sunlight, with sunlight... forever I guess? laugh.gif
hanz079
post Feb 27 2012, 03:51 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 27 2012, 02:21 PM)
Guys,

if you were me, which one would you choose between these two:

user posted imageuser posted image

Both of them are leading in my shortlist. I just cant decide which one to pick. If you guys give me some input, I might be able to choose. biggrin.gif. I like both of them. It's just the price of Tag is higher than Tissot but still within in my budget.

thanks!
Try on both, then buy whichever puts a smile on your face. thumbup.gif
hanz079
post Feb 27 2012, 07:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 27 2012, 02:21 PM)
Guys,

if you were me, which one would you choose between these two:

user posted imageuser posted image

Both of them are leading in my shortlist. I just cant decide which one to pick. If you guys give me some input, I might be able to choose. biggrin.gif. I like both of them. It's just the price of Tag is higher than Tissot but still within in my budget.

thanks!
Someone over at malaysiawatchforum.com is selling the tag you want.
rm4180 negotiable... I have no idea if it's a good price.
Maybe you can tekan more.
Cash is king.
My guess is he will take 3500 for it... or maybe 3800... hehehe... good luck!!
hanz079
post Mar 9 2012, 12:01 AM

315 posts

The rich get richer.... that has been the way of the world since like forever...
hanz079
post Mar 9 2012, 11:46 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 9 2012, 12:35 AM)
not keen with those dials... all of them are divers watch, aren't they?
Those dials are what made them unique and beautiful.

Added on March 9, 2012, 11:47 am
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 9 2012, 09:43 AM)
Diazepam

if u like that sorta thing check out the latest "tribute to deep sea" by JLC
That watch was on my lookout list.
But the fact jlc made them limited means the price is kinda high.
Around 40k if i am not mistaken.

This post has been edited by hanz079: Mar 9 2012, 11:47 AM
hanz079
post Mar 9 2012, 07:14 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Mar 9 2012, 06:46 PM)
Guys need your inputs
Basel 2012 ... 14060M COSC will be replaced by 114060
Since 14060M COSC in discontinue status..can we still buy them?
If you can find them, you can buy them... there are surely some left at ADs if you look hard enough.
hanz079
post Mar 17 2012, 08:11 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 17 2012, 01:56 AM)
piaget altiplano next fellas?

i have a:
rollie daytona (sporty/chrono watch) (check)
panerai 312 (errr poseur watch?) (check)

am looking for a dress watch to go with a suit..
the piaget altiplano appeals to me... tried a jlc reverso but i dont think i can pull it off... tongue.gif

any other suggestions?
30-50k RM budget
At that budget?
Zenith Captain Winsor for me without a doubt.

You will still have half your budget left.
Annual Calender + El Primero
hanz079
post Mar 26 2012, 12:04 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Mar 26 2012, 11:55 AM)
Personally, I'd put the Submariner down for beater, dive watch and vintage laugh.gif
Aren't we all bias here? icon_idea.gif
I would the Sub down as a beater, dive watch and vintage as well if it's a T-dial.
How can there be no El Primero? Blasphemy!!! vmad.gif
hanz079
post Mar 29 2012, 07:19 PM

315 posts

From the pics, the lugs still look pronounced and sharp.
Watch is on solid end links.
Production year should be after 2002-2003... anything after A Serial, non T-Dial.
Let's just hope your uncle don't screw up your mom... it's just a watch anyway.
Wear it in good health.
If it's 13k for full set, I believe it's a good buy...
hanz079
post Mar 31 2012, 07:20 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Mar 31 2012, 12:25 PM)
thanks. get A series of a rolex if you ever have a choice.
Any reason for getting a A series specifically? I would love to know.
Is it due to the "swiss" on the dial instead of "swiss made"
hanz079
post Apr 22 2012, 02:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Apr 22 2012, 01:11 PM)
Guys,
Have anyone bought from Military Watch Co. before?
Any comments on the quality of their watches?

They are selling this at 150pound

You can get the same one at WUS sales forum for rm600
search for seller tcolucci
hanz079
post Apr 23 2012, 10:59 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 22 2012, 04:14 PM)
You bought from tcolluci  before?
No I haven't, but my opinion is if you're getting a watch with that design... Steinhart offers them too and pricing isn't all bad.
I wouldn't buy from the link you provided though... it's just me...
hanz079
post May 12 2012, 07:48 AM

315 posts

From your pics, 100% fake.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0269sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:14 PM