4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

hanz079
post Nov 30 2011, 10:02 AM

315 posts

Shyt... just yesterday I was talking bout swaying and out of the blues came a Zenith El Primero Port Royal Open that I have been searching for quite some time.
It's available at an OK price... headache liao la...
hanz079
post Nov 30 2011, 12:57 PM

315 posts

That's what I was thinking.
The reason why I bought a Maurice Lacroix Pontos Rectangulaire is because it the closest I can get on a budget to the actual watch that I want which is the Port Royal Open.
Why oh why does it have to pop up now?
Choices choices.... what would life be without em...
hanz079
post Dec 1 2011, 03:04 PM

315 posts

I do have some feel for the Transocean though...

Other models from Breitling tend to have busy dials. Not something that I like.
hanz079
post Dec 1 2011, 06:55 PM

315 posts

Yeah, non chrono looks good.
I didn't know they have a non chrono version.
Any idea on the price?

Added on December 1, 2011, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Dec 1 2011, 06:31 PM)
25k irrc.
cool non chrono also yummy.
25k? World of Watches magazine listed it as "starting from Rm16700"
I was thinking that's a steal to own a Breitling Caliber 01...

This post has been edited by hanz079: Dec 1 2011, 07:07 PM
hanz079
post Dec 5 2011, 09:07 PM

315 posts

Hey Patryn,

I was waiting to pull the trigger on the Zenith Port Royal Open preowned year 2006 (which means I need to send it for servicing if I were to buy it)
Then I came upon this.

http://www.ashford.com/ashford/browse/prod...jump&navCount=4

Brand new, although from grey.
Almost same price.
A more desireable (for me) rubber strap.
Do you have any coupons for extra discounts? laugh.gif
hanz079
post Dec 6 2011, 08:51 PM

315 posts

I am a fan of Jaeger Le Coultre watches but have yet to own one.
Have yet to find a definitive piece...
I'm jealous.... lol
hanz079
post Dec 7 2011, 11:53 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 7 2011, 09:19 AM)
hanz, how did the Ashford deal work out for you? I asked their customer service agent about another watch in the Daily Deals section but got no further discount (it's a 900 dollar watch anyway).

On the Port Royal, he was willing to take 100 off up front, probably could gone further if the potential buyer had persisted. Just fyi, good luck on the purchase biggrin.gif
I haven't asked yet.
Will be on holiday with my family n kids in Hong Kong for a week.
Might head to Macau to try my luck... see how it goes when I get back.
Thanks for the heads up though... might prove useful. thumbup.gif
hanz079
post Dec 7 2011, 02:56 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 7 2011, 12:12 PM)
hi, i am heading there as well, any particular shop that you recommend?
No shops in particular, I am just gonna check out some boutiques and ADs...
For pre-owned shops... you can chk this link, courtesy of terence2

http://thesydneytarts.blogspot.com/2011/01...-hong-kong.html

Oh, when I say try my luck, what I meant was at the casinos... lol

This post has been edited by hanz079: Dec 7 2011, 03:07 PM
hanz079
post Dec 7 2011, 07:21 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Dec 7 2011, 03:48 PM)
The JLC Reverso's are classics with much history and a reasonable entry price.
The distinctive rectangular shape is a plus as well.

There was a time (not too long ago) when I thought I could never afford one of those high-end luxury brands, let alone have a small collection of them.
It takes a bit of patience to save up if you're not from money, and definitely a lot of hard work.  But these are things that will hopefully last a lifetime and if not that, can be sold without a huge loss (and in some cases a gain).

I think the hardest part is when you get to that point where you've not only saved to purchase such a timepiece, but can start affording them - you'll want to spend your money on a whole mess of other things, some even less practical than a RM 30k "wrist clock".

Added on December 7, 2011, 3:51 pm

lol.  still, nothing beats a Timex Indiglo - one of my first loves (for watches, of course).

Yeah, I need to save up quite some time before I could afford any of those 15k+ watches, the Reverso series gets my fancy but I prefer the bigger Squadra...
Browse the JLC website and there are tons of choices... haven't zeroed in on any specific one.
I think it will have to wait till I have the cold hard cash before I start looking at it.
It's no fun looking at watches when wallet empty... sweat.gif
hanz079
post Dec 17 2011, 07:53 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(MiraclEz @ Dec 17 2011, 03:33 AM)
Hi there, i just bought a mido multifort automatic SE as my birthday present..

But I couldn't really find a review of it. my question is:

1. Is Mido watches worth of price?
2. Any one got problem with their Mido watches?
3. Is Mido a better brand compare with Tissot and Certina?

Worth is subjective but I would say that their watches are priced appropriately.
I bought a Mido Belluna Automatic for my wife and it runs excellent.
Mido, Tissot, Certina... all under the Swatch Group, different brand targets different customers.
Quality wise, I would say all the same.
hanz079
post Dec 27 2011, 08:51 PM

315 posts

Patryn,
While in HK, I tried on the Zenith Annual Calendar and I must say it is a handsome watch.
Too bad I got like a million stuff on my "wanted" list... lol
hanz079
post Jan 1 2012, 02:56 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 1 2012, 02:20 AM)
i certainly see the value in rolex, but it doesn't bring a smile to my face.

lots of $$ to save for the credor! alpina and credor..very distinguishably different watches as well.

deriku: grats on achieving your grail. a great position to be in so can focus $ on other things.

I've recently been poisoned by this

then I realized I liked the old one better

I was considering a birth year Rolex sub for 2012.. but this Zenith struck me hard..the old one that is.

The argument for Rolex is always valid.. no matter where in the world you are, not just Asia, Rolex is Rolex.. its the Ferrari of watches.

Personally I can't seem to justify paying >$5000 for a mass manufactured piece. And I feel mass manufactured ones have less character and soul to it, so I would steer towards vintages.. some guy could have the latest and greatest Rolex Sub, and you'd pop out with a Rolex red sub and win the day. No amount of money is gonna buy you this Rolex if nobody is selling it. I guess I like the feeling of being unique. lol.
It's good to see a fellow Zenith fan,
We have similar taste... I would love the striking 10th but I am more into this at the moment for the more vintage look case.

It's also abit more affordable compared to the striking 10th.

At the moment, I would have to make do with this... hehe

hanz079
post Feb 2 2012, 10:16 AM

315 posts

Another Zenith in the bag... hehehe

hanz079
post Feb 2 2012, 08:10 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 2 2012, 10:21 AM)
Hanz is spreading the poison here liao  tongue.gif
Of course... brows.gif

Added on February 2, 2012, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(deriku @ Feb 2 2012, 12:04 PM)
Wah Rainbow Flyback. Did you get the Port Royal too?
Did not get the Port Royal... someone beat me to it... doh.gif

This post has been edited by hanz079: Feb 2 2012, 08:11 PM
hanz079
post Feb 3 2012, 01:36 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 3 2012, 10:20 AM)
This zenith looks big for your wrist, what is the size?

I finally acquire my regulator!!!

Added on February 3, 2012, 10:29 am
what is your budget? AD prices are controlled no way to dig more from them
get the quartz B&R is the cheapest nonetheless it cost ~5.2K after discount.
the cheaper auto maybe original that's still ~6.1k
It's only 40mm... I guess it must be the angle of the shot...
Lemme try to get a better shot later...
hanz079
post Feb 6 2012, 04:40 PM

315 posts

Not that huge looking at this angle yeah?

hanz079
post Feb 9 2012, 07:46 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Feb 9 2012, 04:56 PM)

Added on February 9, 2012, 4:56 pm

superocean is nice  brows.gif
Transocean nicer... Hehehe
hanz079
post Feb 10 2012, 07:28 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(mankibon @ Feb 9 2012, 08:53 PM)
guys, today i booked a Rolex GMT Master 2 (Ceramic) model 11670LN at one of the shop in Amcorp Mall. It's a new unit and year make is 2009. Just wondering if i have a good deal here at 23.5k since most AD in KL got no stock at the moment. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. TQ
23.5k for a 3 year old watch but pristine condition?
I would rather go to a Rolex AD and put down your name on the waiting list.
You should be able to get a brand new one at 24.5k which is only 1k difference.
You get a brand new watch registered on the same day you buy it and under your name... Isn't it better?
hanz079
post Feb 13 2012, 07:13 PM

315 posts

Latest arrival... but vintage watch...
Just sharing....

hanz079
post Feb 14 2012, 10:44 AM

315 posts

Thanks for the compliments.
Yes iamadrianlee, it is the one Hobbit was selling over at MWF.
No questions asked, just a simple PM telling him I'll take it. thumbup.gif

As to why I choose this watch, I have been aiming for one ever since I knew it existed... lol... noob lah me...
The Snowflake hands are pretty unique, I love it.
More so when the watch arrived and it carried a 900k serial, dated back to 1979 production year... my birth year!!!
And all this while when I told Hobbit I will buy the watch, we have never mentioned the serial number.
Destiny I guess...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0250sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:51 AM