The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk
Everdying
May 17 2012, 12:36 AM
Two is One and One is None.
QUOTE(wwwah85 @ May 17 2012, 12:07 AM) Dear Guys, I'm planning to invest on my very first luxury watch. After a few months of surveyed, i found that i'm really fall in love to Omega Planet Ocean. I have a few queries that hope sifus here can help me: 1) Planet Ocean 8500 VS Planet Ocean 2500 - I know the different is one is older version and another one is newer version. But the price that ACE jewellers offer me for PO2500 is really tempting. 2) Any of you buy watches online before? ACE jewellers, any comments? 3) Ace jewellers take out the 19% VAT (Euro Tax), then will i be imposed malaysia / singapore tax if i deliver to these countries? Thanks. how much they selling the 2500? is it this one? http://www.acejewelers.com/Omega-Seamaster...t/462498/?pr=exat 2773 pounds? if so, then can get cheaper here.
Everdying
May 17 2012, 12:50 AM
2230 euro? if like that i also want one
Everdying
May 17 2012, 01:18 AM
nm, u order first and then i see how  i can wait for a pre-owned one to pop up somewhere...
Everdying
May 17 2012, 12:28 PM
how come ace jewellers can sell much lower than the boutique here? i thought omega prices pretty much controlled worldwide?
This post has been edited by Everdying: May 17 2012, 12:28 PM
Everdying
May 18 2012, 10:54 PM
lower end seiko / orient all cannot hand wound.
Everdying
May 19 2012, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Catnip @ May 19 2012, 11:07 AM) For plain models, the lowest price for a Seiko 5 is RM180~RM200 after discount and go all the way to RM1K+ for those diving and sports models. COSC specs? IMO it's outdated and merely a marketing tool. Bear in mind that the specs listed in the link are the old standard. I'm not willing to buy the technical papers for the revised ISO3159:2009 standard. No, my watch does not meet COSC specs. Since 7S26 is non hackable, it can't be synched with an atomic time. So the relative accuracy will be in the range of -25/+35 seconds per day. More importantly, the accuracy of the watch also depends on the owner. If someone is riding a heavily vibrating motorcycle, operating a machine like a jackhammer or an impact drill etc, then the accuracy will be different for that individual. The +4 sec daily gain result is from my daily use and daily activity. Not static position like the COSC tests. yea, agree COSC is a marketing tool. almost everything swiss is a marketing tool, the term swiss made too is one considering a watch only needs to be 51% swiss to get that tag
Everdying
May 21 2012, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(Catnip @ May 21 2012, 07:05 PM) Only in your dreams.  swiss brand can la
Everdying
May 23 2012, 07:30 PM
buy pre-owned la. seamaster pro rm6-7k, planet ocean rm7-8k...
Everdying
May 24 2012, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 24 2012, 05:22 PM) Yah.. I find the design quite interesting.. Oh really.. I found the flashlight quite bright compare to G-Shock & Timex..  its bright enough to find ur keys, or if u car break down somewhere in the night...  the 1 LED is actually about as bright as the MTM special ops watch that has 3 LEDS...and also almost double the price...
Everdying
May 24 2012, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(Naka7a @ May 24 2012, 05:39 PM) certainly looks very fresh... perhaps, this targets to the younger crowd? Added on May 24, 2012, 5:41 pmtalking about finding ur keys.... are those Nite Glowringsbright enough to be used as key rings? abit off topic lah i know... u can go check those glowrings at a shop in subang. seems interesting, but for RM50 its kinda expensive for a keychain
Everdying
May 29 2012, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Naka7a @ May 29 2012, 03:26 PM) bought the keychain... waiting for the postage to come. btw, the halflife for tritium is 12years right... wonder why some advertise them as have a life span of 12 years... some 24 years... the keychain half life is 10yrs...so by 25yrs sure cant see any glow anymore...just like Ball watches  Added on May 29, 2012, 5:19 pmQUOTE(jackiewong @ May 29 2012, 05:16 PM) A black monster with 7S26 movement i got it RM680 a year ago.. so i dont think it is quite a good bargain.. u bought grey set or thong sia set? now thong sia set with bracelet also somewhere around RM850-950+. This post has been edited by Everdying: May 29 2012, 05:19 PM
Everdying
May 29 2012, 05:47 PM
well thats what half life means  so in 10yrs it'll drop to half...after 25yrs it should have less than 18% brightness...by then probably u throw it away already.
Everdying
May 29 2012, 05:59 PM
dunno about tritium replacements, but i imagine its going to be very hard to find someone to do it.
Everdying
May 31 2012, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(gladfly @ May 31 2012, 06:28 PM) Sure or not....the SubC is never meant for unker le. You go Singapore /Hong Kong you will see most wearers are young execs. In fact the 312 and SubC price is not that far apart  If I am in your shoes, I'll take the SubC anyday (YOU WILL NEVER GO WRONG WITH A SUBMARINER!!!) dont la be so nice. just say, i'll take anything over the pam anyday
Everdying
Jun 4 2012, 09:02 AM
25k? PO chrono
Everdying
Jun 4 2012, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(shalalala =) @ Jun 4 2012, 10:32 PM) Hey guys, I'm gonna buy my first watch.. Budget around 1 to 2K.. Thinking of Cerruti 1881 or Swiss army... Do they have good movements? Or shud better to buy Japanese watches like Seiko...? for brand new, i would also consider these. orient star. epos. seiko premier. certina.
Everdying
Jun 4 2012, 11:47 PM
if by swiss army, u mean victorinox instead of wenger, then ok also.
Everdying
Jun 5 2012, 12:21 AM
Everdying
Jun 5 2012, 09:00 PM
i've always wondered what is it about the watch stores here that they think everyone in malaysia likes to wear their watch loose like a bracelet when it comes to resizing... dont they ever think that they are some ppl who like to wear them snug?
Everdying
Jun 12 2012, 12:54 AM
imo 39mm looks smaller if its a black dial. lighter colored dial makes it look more normal sized