QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 5 2012, 04:53 PM)
IMHO, the 'true' moonwatch is with caliber 1861 with close case back, ref 3570
I'm being pedantic here but shouldn't it be the c321 instead? tongue.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 6 2012, 01:59 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Apr 6 2012, 11:13 AM)
Can't imagine wearing a watch with leather strap in Malaysia, the sweat will probably kill the strap in less than a year.

Probably nothing much you can do to salvage it, just get a new one. Many reputable brands now offer sweat and water resistant leather straps e.g. Hirsch, Di Modell, Hadley Roma etc.

You may also consider replacing it with a rubber strap, way more suitable for active wear.

Added on April 6, 2012, 11:14 amGo digital for sports - Timex, Casio, even Asics has watches for runners.
Can wear to work or dinners la, when you know you'll mostly be in an a/c-ed environment.
Was once caught by surprise, wearing a leather watch, friend brought me to eat BBQ dinner. Had to remove the watch and put it beside me throughout the meal, I'm anal like that sweat.gif

But I do like how light leather straps are. My Mark XVI weighs almost nothing, and that's a welcome change from the heavier bracelet divers.
Plus I have a small wrist, so leather (and also NATO) straps tend to fit better than bracelets.

Having said that, my Tag (on brown leather) will soon turn 4. During the first 1.5-2 years of ownership, I wore it rather frequently since it was my only nice watch then (oh how things have changed since), and the strap is still holding on fine. I guess it's also a matter of how conscious you are in caring for the strap, plus the quality of the strap itself.

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Apr 6 2012, 02:00 PM
Chinoz
post Apr 9 2012, 09:29 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(tjwn @ Apr 9 2012, 09:17 AM)
whats your thoughts on this watch??
i like the position and the design of the pusher and seldom can see such arrangement of sub-dial biggrin.gif
It's a little too big for your wrist if you ask me...
Chinoz
post Apr 9 2012, 11:10 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Johnix @ Apr 9 2012, 11:05 AM)
I got a question here, I own a panerai radomir . Its using winding power to power the watch. The problem is. this watch is not my daily watch. it gets very little wrist time on me. Maybe about 2-3 month , i take it out to use for a day.

what concerns me is that, do i have to wind the watch to keep it moving every day or can i leave it as it is, not moving for about 2-3 month?
Personally, I think it is OK, especially for modern watches. However, I try to get it running at least once a month. Gets the oils moving.
Chinoz
post Apr 12 2012, 09:34 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(hafiz_control @ Apr 12 2012, 03:22 AM)
any good rolex ad in kl to recommend? would like to get a nice submariner with date.

i know there's one in gardens and pavillion, however very segan to go inside lah :-)
All ADs are pretty much identical if you ask me. Discounts should be the same too.

I would personally avoid Hour Glass in Gardens though - I had very bad customer service experience there previously.
Watatime in MV (opposite Body Shop) is more hospitable, but their range is also smaller.

I've been to the boutiques in Pavilion and KLCC, I find that they carry a good range and are also more approachable.
Chinoz
post Apr 19 2012, 03:26 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Apr 19 2012, 02:30 PM)
What is the discount like if you had asked for a receipt?
I believe it'll be single digit as per boutique discount rates?
Chinoz
post Apr 20 2012, 09:17 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 19 2012, 03:56 PM)
Um... so more discount with no receipt. Will the lack of receipt affect the warranty issue?
Doubt it. As long as you have your warranty card, that should be sufficient.
Chinoz
post Apr 22 2012, 06:59 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:34 AM)
You are referring to this?

http://www.iwc.com/en-us/collection/portuguese/IW5001/

Love IWC watch but i can only take <40mm watches as I have small wrist.sad.gif
I think that's the issue with IWCs for most Asian people. Their watches don't look as good on the majority of our teeny wrists.
Chinoz
post Apr 23 2012, 09:55 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Apr 23 2012, 05:55 PM)
impressed by all the top of the line watches u guys owned here notworthy.gif

sadly im not there yet to acquired any of those, hope one day i would be able to own an IWC thou laugh.gif

ok im considering a watch that is less than RM2k now, be it fashion watch, or watch specific brands.. what would u all recommend?

also, are those fashion watch ie CK, Emporio Armani, Armani Exchange, Fossil type of fashion watches actually reliable? i actually fancy Burberry watches a lot  tongue.gif  say to have it running for 3 years without fail mechanically?

or for RM2k, is it better to go for Tissot, Seiko and so on which mainly produces watches only?

what would be ur best buy if u have RM2k on hand to get a watch now?

pls suggest biggrin.gif and hopefully some pictures to make it more interesting icon_idea.gif

im looking at this actually:

what do u all think? this will cost roughly US$300++.. or are there any better range of watches?

pls guide me as im just into watches icon_rolleyes.gif
Those fashion watches that you mentioned, I reckon they're probably quartz? In that case, I don't think it'll be an issue for them to run in excess of 3 years. Though I won't be so sure if they're automatic.

While I personally wouldn't go for a fashion watch, I suggest for you to just go for it if you like the style/looks of it. There's no right or wrong when it comes to buying a watch, just as long as you like it wink.gif

For under RM2k, (still) the only thing I would consider is the Tissot Visodate. If you're willing to go used and can stand the looks of the bracelet, the quartz Bond Seamaster should be within range (RM2-3k?).

Just my 2c biggrin.gif
Chinoz
post Jun 4 2012, 09:44 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(JackLee88 @ Jun 2 2012, 11:03 AM)
Quick question. If you guys were to choose any watch under Rm25k as a daily watch, etc, a watch suitable for  shopping, going out, lunch, dinner, work, uni, dates, formal events, parties, vacations, which watch will you all choose? Oh, and it has to look good on a leather strap.  thumbup.gif
A Reverso nod.gif
Chinoz
post Jun 12 2012, 09:33 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:27 AM)
young ppl today like 40mm or 44mm watches, nothing wrong with 39mm, 39mm and 40mm is not too far off.
it really depends on how the watch is design, some watches have smaller dial but they wear big.
Agree with patryn33 on the first point. My 39mm Pilot fits like a glove whereas my 43mm Carrera can sometimes stick out like a sore thumb.
Ultimately boils down to your wrist size I'd say.

Chinoz
post Jun 12 2012, 11:31 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 12 2012, 11:29 AM)
lol, if the 14060 around 6-7 i also buy tongue.gif
I think a used 14060 can be had for around RM10-12k?
That's value right there no matter how I look at it laugh.gif
Chinoz
post Jun 13 2012, 09:50 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(takashi24 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:23 PM)

Just curious...what a watch hobby kaki will react if saw 2 person (your friend) wear a Tag Heuer Monaco Calibre 11 & another friend wearing Omega 300M Chorometer James Bond limited edition.

So the question is :Which 1 you will drool over and ask them take it off and let you c first?
None. A SMP without the waves is not a SMP tongue.gif
Chinoz
post Jun 13 2012, 11:34 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 13 2012, 10:47 AM)
did u know the wave dial only appeared on the 3rd gen smp?
Yup. I was referring to the Bond SMP actually, my bad.
The aforementioned Bond LE looks immensely odd (to me) with the 007 dial.
Chinoz
post Jun 13 2012, 02:50 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 13 2012, 01:52 PM)
ignoring the bond LE, and comparing the new smpc with plain dial with bond smp, both are different watches anyway.
the newer with more sporty bezel is nice in its own way, and doesnt look too old uncle-ish.
its kind like a PO liquid metal in a smp guise.
The fact that the SMPc looks the same as the Bond for the most parts (sans wave dial) and has the same bracelet, one would be inclined to consider both as almost the same watch.
However, let's not beat the dead horse. This topic has been argued to death in other parts of the internet. I appreciate that different people have different tastes. You might even say I'm biased since I own the old Bond laugh.gif

I personally think they overdid the "hey look at me!" factor on the new SMPs, but I guess they didn't have much of a choice considering Rolex went down the same path with their Subs not too long ago.
Chinoz
post Jun 26 2012, 09:24 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jun 25 2012, 10:46 PM)
Audemars, A Sange Lohne, Richard Mille for 40s... for the appreciation of finer things in life...
Lange & Sohne bro tongue.gif
Chinoz
post Jul 9 2012, 03:41 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(lemonboy @ Jul 9 2012, 02:25 PM)
is this a limited edition or normal one? wat is the RRP for this?

think 25K is a little bit overprice if it is a normal model...

My colleague jus got the blue one from Bangkok last month, 20% + VAT refund, the final price is roughly abt 20K...
When I got my Pilot last year, I enquired about the Portuguese Chrono's price as well and it was going for RM25k with 15% disc = RM21k
Some months has passed since then, so I'm not surprised if prices have increased since then.
Chinoz
post Jul 18 2012, 09:22 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Jul 17 2012, 04:00 PM)
Guys any idea when the Rolex Sub 114060 ketibaan & price ?
Is the 14060M already dicontinued ? last month AD got 1pc price at rm20,300 no discount .. 
I got this in 2008 icon_rolleyes.gif
The 114060 (together with all the other Basel Rollies and Tudors) are said to be arriving end of this year, according to boutique staff. Not sure about price, maybe a few thousand less than the 116610?

I believe the 14060M should have been discontinued already.
Chinoz
post Jul 18 2012, 02:15 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Jul 18 2012, 11:41 AM)
Chinoz & r3kahsttub Thank you for the reply...  rclxms.gif

Should I service the watch, normal wear no diving, time keeping excellent (to me lah)
Any idea how much estimate $ for service & turn around time ?
Do rolex centre replace the dial, hands, bezel without my notice ?
Can I put in a note for them no to do so & maintain original...  icon_rolleyes.gif
If normal wear, I suggest to only service once you start losing time.Since you don't use it to dive, you probably won't have to be too worried about water resistance or condition of seals or internal rust.

Hmm I suppose it won't hurt to inform them to maintain all the original parts, especially if it's not broken to start with.
I think before they proceed with the service, they'll give you a list of things they intend to do / change and the price. Only after you agree to it, they'll go ahead with the service.
Chinoz
post Jul 19 2012, 09:26 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Jul 18 2012, 08:53 PM)

Haha and here I thought it was the interior of a Satria Neo tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0475sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:32 PM