The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Chinoz
post Mar 8 2012, 02:50 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 8 2012, 02:42 PM)
I thought the "First Omega in Space" is with applied logo?
I wish it uses NOS/refurbished caliber 321 with transparent back.

I like the Tudor Pelagos, a snowflake reissue.
Wonder why they don't use ETA2892.
Applied logo yes, but this re-issue uses the new style applied logo (as seen in the Seamasters and POs. Vintage ones look slightly elongated.
This one uses the c1861 according to the press release.
Chinoz
post Mar 9 2012, 09:48 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Mar 9 2012, 12:25 AM)

I love the look of the low-key straps!
Diazepam, all those all your watches?? shocking.gif
Chinoz
post Mar 10 2012, 02:04 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Mar 9 2012, 06:46 PM)
Guys need your inputs
Basel 2012 ... 14060M COSC will be replaced by 114060
Since 14060M COSC in discontinue status..can we still buy them?
You can still get them now while stocks last. I reckon it'll be a couple of months before the 114060 comes to Malaysian ADs.
Case in point, when I got my 14060M last year, they still had one piece of 16610 left.
Once they run out, you'll either have to go grey or used.

As for production, the 14060 was long in service before 2008; pretty much the same watch to me laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Mar 10 2012, 02:07 PM
Chinoz
post Mar 10 2012, 06:14 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Mar 10 2012, 06:03 PM)
Lucky you ..  you got the cosc 14060M ? I heard the price now about 20k... back in 2008 it cost 14k  drool.gif you are right they might drag on the production since the hype is there...
Yeap, was about 18k last year. Used ones can be had for 12-14k, I think that's a real steal for a Sub.
Chinoz
post Mar 14 2012, 09:32 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pucksz @ Mar 13 2012, 10:05 PM)
To all sifus,

Have been reading through the thread but cannot seem to find any discussion on what are some of the recommended watches for ladies. I am thinking of buying a watch for my wife and my budget is around RM5-7k. She is 38 and has a couple of nice watches. Her daily wear is a Dior Malice.

No requirements on quartz or automatic. She seems to like watches like Baume & Mercier Hampton.....clean looking watches. I also think she has a thing for rose gold watches.

Any suggestions on what to get for her?
Cartier Santos? I always thought that is a lovely watch for the fairer sex.

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Mar 14 2012, 09:32 AM
Chinoz
post Mar 15 2012, 09:48 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Mar 14 2012, 09:40 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought there were no Cartier models in the sub-10k category, even the quartz ones.
Haha I'm not too sure tbh. Mum has a quartz Santos which costs less than 10k, but she bought it a long long time ago.

Seeing yonggoh's Daytona reminded me - saw on WUS yesterday, the new rainbow Daytona is gonna cost a shocking 70k Euros apparently!
Also yonggoh, if you don't mind me asking, what credit card company did you redeem it from and for how many points?

Popped by Rolex KLCC to ask about the Tudor Black Bay. The girl there said it should be coming in April (so soon blink.gif) and will cost approx RM10,500 after discounts. Perhaps it is time to add another diver into the collection laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Mar 15 2012, 09:50 AM
Chinoz
post Mar 15 2012, 02:28 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(JackLee88 @ Mar 15 2012, 01:23 PM)
Bro, any idea if the pelagos is coming to rolex msia too? Any idea on pricing? looks fantastic  drool.gif
I don't see why not, though I didn't ask coz I wasn't too keen on the Pelagos.

Here are some Italian reference prices from WUS

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f23/tudor-bas...a-659054-2.html
Chinoz
post Mar 16 2012, 04:37 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 16 2012, 03:33 PM)
guys, recently been itchy thinking of getting extra watch into my collection, been considered chopard/pam/rolex explorer II (older model cheaper  tongue.gif ), but after some thoughts of getting a watch that i really like and not one that get attention of others (which sometimes i think i did made decision based on that).... today i have fallen in love with a fortis B42 watch...where can i get it?

i used to see watchshoppe in oNe u selling fortis, but i think this shop no longer in their shop..

anyone with info pls assist! thanks!
Hang Thai in BV2/SS2? Saw the Fortis because it looked exactly like the Mark XVI I was wearing that day laugh.gif
Chinoz
post Mar 17 2012, 11:15 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 17 2012, 05:28 PM)
In real life the Altiplano is a thing to behold... such a thin case with a beautiful auto movement... truly a mastercraft of watch making... it truly is like a wristband that tells the time...

I have always been fond of the house of zenith smile.gif
If not for my daytona i might've pulled the trigger on a Striking 10th...

Another dress watch in contention is the JLC Ultra thins... *sigh*

So many choices...not enough $alad for them all sad.gif
No love for the Langes?
Chinoz
post Mar 23 2012, 10:10 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Just got myself a Watchco SM300 thumbup.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Omega-Seamaster-30...=item519e62ba4b

Date one also on sale.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Omega-Seamaster-30...=item519e62e7fb

Thought it was quite good value considering how he's throwing in the mesh bracelet too.
Chinoz
post Mar 23 2012, 10:51 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 23 2012, 10:14 AM)
Good catch  rclxms.gif
Definately a classic.
Haha thanks laugh.gif
There goes my budget for the Tudor Black Bay though...
Chinoz
post Mar 23 2012, 11:48 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

ck77,
Pity he couldn't get the big triangle dial. That'll really set it apart from the Watchco ones.

yonggoh,
Another Rollie? brows.gif
Chinoz
post Mar 24 2012, 07:53 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Mar 24 2012, 12:36 AM)
Guys, where can I change battery for a cheap price for a Swatch watch? Not those digitals' one (not sure if there are any difference in terms of their battery).

Always have to fork out more than the usual by walking in some random shops. Greatly appreciated.
Why don't you change it in Swatch shops itself? Shouldn't be that expensive right? Maybe RM15-25?
Or can just change yourself. Unscrew the battery cover (should be exposed at the rear), remove battery, pop new battery, replace cover and voila!
Chinoz
post Mar 26 2012, 11:55 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Personally, I'd put the Submariner down for beater, dive watch and vintage laugh.gif

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 26 2012, 11:05 AM)
http://www.askmen.com/daily/photo_blog/bui...collection.html

Bash away smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Mar 26 2012, 11:55 AM
Chinoz
post Mar 29 2012, 04:16 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ck_18 @ Mar 29 2012, 04:11 PM)
My first expensive diver watch Oris.....hopefully can get another diver watch soon!
Haha hang around this thread long enough and I'm sure you will in next to no time brows.gif
Wear it in good health man smile.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 2 2012, 10:20 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

....called her up. Dafuqq she actually bought from my uncle for rm13k. LOL. Tried to tell me that new and from HK... Ok I'm not gonna sulk.. Birthday present anyway. More pics after I get home. Anyway who interested in buying 300M seamaster? I don't collect so not gonna wear it anymore.

Haha without posting here I'd definitely believe blindly that it's a new one cause it's well kept even with the green thing behind.

RM13k for a Sub Date with box & papers sounds like a pretty good deal. Personally prefer it with lug holes, but a Sub is a Sub laugh.gif
This one is definitely a keeper, take good care of it smile.gif

As for the Omega, if you're serious on selling it, pictures and/or a link to a dedicated sales thread might help. You can always pop by Omega retailers to enquire about the polishing cost. I think they can do it locally.

Guys does Rolex have a sub c with date but without the magnifying glass?

I think some people managed to swap out the 16610's crystal with the 16660. Either that, or they physically removed the cyclops with a file or something.

The poison is very strong. Anyway...I am still waiting for the new subC to come in, let me molest it and check out the damn price. If its 7100USD..I think probably it will be 27-28k here..for that money I think I'll get my Porto 7 days Auto first.

I'm not sure what the current prices for 116610LNs are, but I don't think they will price the 114060 anywhere near it. Before the launch of the ceramic Subs, the Dates were approx RM4-5k more than the NDs. I'm guessing it'll be between RM20-25k.

So the big question - will you buy a PO-C or a SubC? I believe they're now about the same price.

Chinoz
post Apr 2 2012, 05:50 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Apr 2 2012, 01:50 PM)
I will take the Sub C anyday (since its the Original Bond watch). As for the Omega, the co-axial movement is good..but not time tested yet.
Went to Rolex last weekend to enquire on the SubC. No stock so never had the chance to examine the watch. Will only be in in mid May.
Price was qouted 26k for black and 28k for the Hulk. IMHO kinda expensive since the old Sub is selling about 18-19k and knowing that no disc will be offered, may have to wait until year end and see if able to get some disc on it.
I wouldn't go as far as to say it is the original Bond watch. The ceramic Subs of today are a far cry from the minimalist look of the Submariners of yore. It's more of a bling thing nowadays more than anything.
Personally, I'm really leaning towards neither because of how far they've departed from their tool watch roots. And a blue Seamaster without the wavy dial is, well, not quite a blue Seamaster is it?
If I absolutely had to, I'd probably go for the Hulk. At least for that amount of money, you're getting your money's worth in outrageous-ness and bling heh.

In other news, the newest addition to the family is here!

Looking forward to swapping straps with the Speedy's black Nato soon rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Chinoz: Apr 2 2012, 05:52 PM
Chinoz
post Apr 2 2012, 09:40 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

You know what they say about idle hands...

ck77, thanks rclxms.gif
Chinoz
post Apr 3 2012, 11:40 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:24 AM)
The watch is mine by the way  blush.gif
You can change to nato as shown in my picture.
Some people change to leather strap as well, you can google to see more pictures.
Does your Sub Date has lug holes? It would be much easier for you for changing straps.
Seen some pictures of Subs with leather straps, they look kinda odd IMO haha. I like it with either a black Nato or a Tropic rubber strap.

However, I personally don't think it's easier to change out the straps even with the lug holes. I remember having helluva hard time removing the spring bars for my Sub.
Furthermore, if you happen to scratch the case in the process, it makes it that much more obvious since it's on the outside. Maybe I no skill la laugh.gif

Kalist0,

Lug holes are the holes at the edge of the lugs where the spring bar attaches to the watch, as seen in the image below.
The older 16610s have it, newer ones don't.

Chinoz
post Apr 5 2012, 09:31 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Apr 4 2012, 04:54 PM)
Guys. Any recommendation for a good speedmaster homage? smile.gif
Alpha?

Although I personally think you should just save up for abit more and go for a real Speedy wink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0308sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:14 AM