12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

TSpatryn33
post Dec 23 2011, 06:01 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 22 2011, 01:09 PM)
Patryn33, if you own antea 390, I would love to look and touch..hehe
u willing to pay a few times the amount to fly to USA to touch? now the cost is ~US$4K sweat.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:03 am
QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Dec 22 2011, 05:36 PM)
I am thinking of ordering a C8 pilot from them. Didn't realized they are cheaper earlier.

Which courier service company did they used when they shipped your watch?

Steinhard was using FedEx, damn good, with online tracking and arrived within two working days, they even do delivery on Sat morning.
CW uses regular mail, that is why it only cost gbp$12, if U pay gbp$50 it is express with tracking

how much is shipping for steinhart? EUR$15?

Added on December 23, 2011, 6:04 am
QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 22 2011, 02:11 PM)
I bought a CW ladies chrono during their sales period and the quality is very good. Only thing is they are less well known in the market, and their prices have gone up quite a bit recently.
when did U get it, U must know inflation right?
ETA increase their price, cost of metal also increase they have to pass the cost to someone.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 23 2011, 06:08 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 23 2011, 07:02 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 23 2011, 06:10 PM)
Got it last year. Inflation is unavoidable, just that the price point does not seem as attractive as before.

Anyway, TGIF, I'm anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Speedy Pro! biggrin.gif
if U bought watches 20yrs ago. u may think why prices of watches increase more than 2X!
Omega discount back then ~30% today ~12%.

anyway, just wait for the sale, I am sure can get CW at ~30-40% off.
TSpatryn33
post Dec 24 2011, 06:27 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Dec 23 2011, 11:01 PM)
Christopher Ward have sales? When bro?
very random, sign up for their email to get informed quick.
TSpatryn33
post Dec 24 2011, 12:02 PM

3,940 posts

mostly quartz. the auto ones run on ETA 2824,. sadly it is decorated.
https://www.tsovet.com/Automatic_ep_62.html

TSpatryn33
post Dec 25 2011, 09:07 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Dec 25 2011, 02:10 AM)
Hi guys, wats ur take on Hamilton watches?
How's the built and wats their signature watch?
I saw a couple of their khaki series and it looks pretty good to me smile.gif
I own 1 Hamilton Khaki chrono, well build nothing wrong with watch.
mine looks like that, U want to take off my hands? I sell U cheap.. pm me.
http://www.bodying.com/hamilton-khaki-fiel...3/watches/10061

Added on December 25, 2011, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 25 2011, 01:51 PM)
On another note, I am currently looking at Stowa antea 390 day date. Concerning the metal bracelet,I'm not really sure if it's suitable for everyday wear. Looks like a dress watch with the metal bracelet. Any comments?
if u think metal is much of a dress watch then use leather. what are U doing everyday? desk job (white collar)? or U blue collar?
pay for the steel mess that like EUR$650 and buy the stowa deployment buckle for EUR$20, get a waterproof leather strap can change around.
today's leather treatment is very hi-tech

ie
http://www.fredawatchstraps.com/dimodell.html
Their patented “AERO Lining” is guaranteed sweat resistant with a porous inner lining and a humidity layer. All of their straps are water resistant, some down to 100m.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 25 2011, 09:29 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 25 2011, 09:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Dec 25 2011, 12:41 AM)
Anyone fancy fashion watches?

I personally like Luois Vuitton regatta series. Any idea does any other brand offer similar watches?
like that design? sorry no.. just buy LV. they are not really fashion watches.. some of their watches use Dubois Dépraz manufacture.
not your cheap fashion watches, these chrono starts like EUR$5K

Added on December 25, 2011, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 25 2011, 09:24 PM)
Thanks Patryn33!! I am working as a white collar. Didn't choose leather cos i'm worried about ruining it when i sweat...
either the special treated water proof type or get Cordovan leather. I am impress with their quality. no worries with sweat and water.
http://www.watches24seven.com/gallery2/mai...m&g2_itemId=785
http://www.europelli.com/ShellCordovanCollection.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 25 2011, 09:35 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 25 2011, 09:45 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 25 2011, 09:42 PM)
Patryn33, the clasp sold by Stowa works with aftermarket straps too?
certainly! U just need to buy strap that is 20mm.

stowa is nice, lug size are even sizes, get major bands and some make odd lug sizes. Hard to find 3rd party band.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 25 2011, 09:48 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 26 2011, 02:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 25 2011, 10:03 PM)
That's great!! I just hope I can get the high tech straps locally here in Malaysia. Is it easy to change the shop? can it be DIY-ed?
not sure if U can get them locally.
it is easy to change, just buy the tool and DIY!
TSpatryn33
post Dec 26 2011, 06:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 26 2011, 08:26 AM)
What kinda of tool are you referring?
youtube, google has the instructions and what you need.
http://www.thewatchprince.com/Changing-Your-Watch-Band

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 26 2011, 06:26 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 27 2011, 01:06 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(neojack @ Dec 26 2011, 08:37 PM)
i just bought The Welder K25 from US.anybody know what type of the leather used for the strap? im afraid it is pigskin as im a muslim.thanks
I thought they are usually rubber?
can post a pic? care to share your buying experience?

Added on December 27, 2011, 1:14 am
QUOTE(gabthefab @ Dec 26 2011, 11:35 PM)
Can anyone recommend me any affordable watches that good and longlasting?

I prefer those simple black strapped ones. Really dont like the metal watches shakehead.gif Heh.

I've seen Quicksilver selling watches but never had the interest to check them out. Anyone know the price range?
what's affordable? what is your budget?
what is good? do you need sapphire crystal? quartz? auto?
how longlasting do you want?

prices of quicksilver watches are here.
http://www.quiksilver.com/family/index.jsp...=1&camp=qpsidid

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 27 2011, 01:14 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 27 2011, 06:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Dec 27 2011, 02:41 AM)
Anyone here know where I can get aftermarket straps for panerai?
if U willing to get online plenty of sites.
ie
http://www.watchstyle.com/pi1146894906.htm
http://www.fredawatchstraps.com/kain.html
http://www.watches24seven.com/gallery2/mai...m&g2_itemId=785
http://barrettalley.com/handmade-leather-watch-straps

this site custom hand made strap, get a Cordovan strap
http://www.europelli.com/

---------------------
2011 most value for $$ watch by iWatch --- Zenith Winsor Annual Calendar

Steel prices start at US$8700
http://www.watchtime.com/2011/09/zenith-wi...nnual-calendar/
Zenith’s new Captain Winsor Annual Calendar brings together two notable watchmaking achievements: the elegantly simple annual calendar complication designed by Ludwig Oechslin, curator of the Musée International d’Horlogerie (MIH), and Zenith’s famous 36,000 vph in-house El Primero chronograph.

http://www.hodinkee.com/blog/2011/11/23/ha...nnual-cale.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 27 2011, 06:51 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 27 2011, 12:47 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 27 2011, 09:51 AM)
That is a very handsome watch, I like the blue dial model.

Out of curiosity, what is the price range for a watch with annual calendar complication?
omega aqua terra annual calendar MSRP is at US$9.4K and up
other brands such a PP, ALS would be alot more.

Breitling Navitimer Olympus (discontinued) last retails us$8.6k
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f29/fsot-brei...dar-522414.html

Bvlgari Annual Calendar - over us$36k
http://www.watchtime.com/2009/04/the-sotir...nnual-calendar/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 27 2011, 12:59 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 28 2011, 01:35 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:57 PM)
guys wonder if bell and ross is worth their price on it anot? and what do you guys think of russian watch ? is it worth to buy junkers for 1k++?
Russian - are you crazy about accuracy?
@1k you are looking at a swiss ronda quartz on the junkers. @1K budget U can get better alternatives online. check page 1 post 1.

bell and ross buy on grey - collectorstime.com its not worth the $$ if U are into design yes.

TSpatryn33
post Dec 28 2011, 12:27 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM)
Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help&nbsp; smile.gif
in fact it is a mod version of SW200, not ETA 2824.
yes u can handwind it

Added on December 28, 2011, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM)
As I know,not all automatic watches support handwinding.You have to check if your model supports it. As for number of turns, it depends on your engine. If you could list down your model, maybe sifus here can advise you...smile.gif
all swiss auto that I have come across can handwind.
Jap - entry level ones usually cannot handwind or hack. Today slowly changing need to read specs.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 28 2011, 12:48 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 28 2011, 12:48 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 28 2011, 09:27 AM)
actually i wanna get the zepplelin hand wind chronograph watch ... cuz i realli like that design and wana get a hand winding watch ...
but if buy on grey for bell and ross is it original? wats the diff?
u talking about this? which is on poljot 3133 which is base off Valjoux 7734. a good work horse. ppl say it is cheaper to maintain, I think if you can do it yourself. pay someone is same as swiss.

grey not original is not grey but replica! LOL..
grey vs AD... most case no factory 2yr warranty but can get huge discount. thats the trade off

Added on December 28, 2011, 12:51 pm
QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 28 2011, 12:33 PM)
^ So my retrograde orient is not entry level then...tongue.gif
have u seen this? orient 3 star is their entry level range much like seiko 5. their Orient Royal is like Seiko GS.
http://www.orient-watch.jp/product/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 28 2011, 12:51 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 28 2011, 08:33 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 01:47 PM)
The retail price is RM5100, Heading to KL to scout for the best price. Hope I am not being too optimistic to target 35% discount  blush.gif

Thanks ck77 and patryn33 for confirmation. 77 and 33, concidence lol

Added on December 28, 2011, 1:49 pm
uh-oh, is SW200 good and reliable?  hmm.gif
SW 200 is a clone of ETA 2824 with a tiny mod.
SW 200 are priced lower.

there are plenty of threads in various watch forums comparing them.
ie
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ori...-forum/3019.htm
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f25/sellita-s...ead-358081.html
http://xtrememeantime.forumotion.com/t1068...s-sellita-sw200
http://watchfreeks.com/view_topic.php?id=1...um_id=42&page=2
TSpatryn33
post Dec 29 2011, 02:14 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 29 2011, 12:01 AM)
yes that is the piece i wana get
know anywhere that i can get a good discount
was wondering if i should save up more to get the baume and mercier which has a similar design
but price different is big
mind giving an advice?
or any other watch which has similar spec and design?
BM Capeland Flyback Chronograph? its at us$7.5l retail. its on La Joux-Perret calibre 8147-2, not a cheap movement.

must it be white dial? dark dail can try
http://www.stowa.de/nocache/Chronograph/in...09610022808.htm
http://guinand-watch.com/index.php?option=...=150&Itemid=387

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 29 2011, 02:17 AM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 29 2011, 10:03 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lk3 @ Dec 29 2011, 03:47 PM)
why that two model instead of the zeppelin?
price i see almost the same
guess i will settle the zeppelin
is it a good buy?
base cost of poljot 3133 maybe ~us$100 and up, prices going up. Russia stopping production of movement. if U need parts many yrs down the road maybe hard to find. but its many yrs. U can find a basic 3133 watch for ~US$200. a gold plated one like Zeppelin had done maybe 2X the cost
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f10/poljot-31...ses-616427.html
a STRELA3133 only cost ~US$475

base cost of a Valjoux 7750 is us$400 and up

guinand and stowa are rhodium plated 7750 (cost of rhodium is ~us$1450 per ounce vs gold at ~us$1200 per ounce)
and for guinand U can get them to make certain customization without additional cost!

a pic of gold plated Guinand
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f7/guinand-40...3-a-198944.html

rhodium plate Guinand
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f8/guinand-fl...ics-593000.html

if the entire watch is about the same price what is a better buy?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 29 2011, 10:32 PM
TSpatryn33
post Dec 31 2011, 01:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck_18 @ Dec 30 2011, 07:15 PM)
anyone assist...what is the different between U-boat and Welder watches?? Both are from Italy with the same designer. Price is a lot of difference! Thank you.
welder ==> Miyota 2115 (cost ~us$5)
http://www.allwatchparts.com/MIYOTA-2115-W...ement_p_90.html

U-boat ==> Swiss eta 2824 (cost ~us$150)
http://www.esslinger.com/eta-swiss-2824-2-...-movements.aspx
TSpatryn33
post Dec 31 2011, 07:51 AM

3,940 posts

I would have got a Rolex dispute the negative stereotype. It is Asia, ppl love their Rolex to death... successful or not.. Today's uncle was yesterday's young adult too! U'll become a uncle one day, until then rolex prices of pre-own might have gone up by 2X due to inflation and demand, where the price your Tag has gone to a new low.

I love to a GMT 2 or explorer 2 but it is not on top of my list. 2012.. goals is save $$ for 2013 credor and pray there is a moonphase in the market.
I would really like to own a Aplina regulator in 6497/6498. Anyone know where to find a pre-own PM me!

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:03 AM