5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

chikana
post Feb 26 2012, 09:05 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 25 2012, 11:03 PM)
lul he was talking about old astro SD packages his buddy got wey laugh.gif nothing 2 do with byon 4 his case doh.gif
don't understand rclxub.gif
chikana
post Mar 2 2012, 11:10 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(Uncle Ron @ Mar 1 2012, 04:58 PM)
Yes i already have but still astro unsubscribe screens show up when i open that's channel... sad.gif
No point complaining here.....pls call astro customer service smile.gif
chikana
post Mar 2 2012, 09:48 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Mar 2 2012, 09:10 PM)
I can't enjoy the perks of this... My condo uses centralized satellite... Needa get a 'stapper' to use d pvr at rm400...
Or ask the condo management to bring in astro iptv installation laugh.gif
chikana
post Mar 4 2012, 09:30 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 4 2012, 02:06 PM)
huh.gif Bro, u know how to read English or not? Where does it mention got pop up to enter the code?
The code is there for you to see at the link or use another method in the installation guide. Please go and RTFM. doh.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Anyway I noticed the same tips also available in channel 900.
chikana
post Mar 5 2012, 04:56 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 5 2012, 03:29 PM)
You are welcome.  smile.gif  I saw that there were a few of you (including nujikabane on March 3rd) struggling to get precise answers from members here that prompted me to chip in with my "ah-hem" loooong winded answer.

Allow me to relate just two incidents out of many that I have personally helped to solve many of my friends problems with their Astro Byond. These are not related to your situation.

My friend in Jerantut, Pahang phoned to me with an SOS for help last year. At that time the 2 Astro installers came and finished installing his new Byond. He subscribed to Superpack 3 with HD. After setting up the 2 malay guys said its done but my friend complained that the HD channels looked like very bad quality with edge fringing discolourations on his 46 inch HD TV. The 2 guys said they have connected using HDMI and its working, and commented that the quality is like that on a big screen LCD TV. My friend even requested them to help connect to his Pioneer Amp but they refused because they are not trained for amp setup! Fair enough but still LOL ! Ok, they left without solving my friend's problem. A day later, my friend came by car to my house (about 50 KM away) and fetch me to his place to find out. You know what ? The Byond settings were set to [Standard Definition] and [720p] ! Oh my goodness gracious !! It should be [High Definition] and [1080i]. I just wondered how Astro trained these installers and buta-buta paid them installation commission for it eventhough Superpack 3 customers don't pay them. My friend sighed with relief and treated me to a sumptious dinner, hehe.

NEW EDIT
Correction... wrongly stated [Standard Definition] and [720p]... it should be [Standard Definition] and [576p] because Byond setting cannot change to [Standard Definition] and [720p] using HDMI connection. Quoted wrongly when I speed type, hehe. Sorry!

Later, I phoned to Astro Customer Support informing them of my friend's incident so here's a little of what I can remember of the conversation in malay...

[Me] Sepatutnya pemasang-pemasang dari Astro ialah pakar dalam semua aspek berkaitan dengan penyediaan alat Byond ditempat pelanggan !! Penyediaan "Setup" yang tak tepat bukan perkhidmatan berkualiti yang diharapkan oleh pelanggan Astro.

[Astro CS] Mungkin ini ialah sesuatu kecuaian pemasang atau salah faham. Boleh encik beri nama-nama installer supaya kami boleh melanjutkan komplain encik kepada bahagian berkenaan ?

[Me] Saya hanya dapat berikan nama dan nombor akaun sebab perkara ini berlaku terhadap pemasangan dirumah kawan saya. (As I intended to make complaint on my friend's behalf, I did jot down my friend's IC and account number but forgot to get the installers name)

[Astro CS] Terima kasih. Komplain encik akan dilanjutkan kepada pihak yang berkaitan.

That's it. Actually I don't expected anything to happen and quality of service will still not improve but I still made complaint just to let them know.

Ok... this comes to the second incident which happened only 2 days ago.

Another friend of mine asked me to help and I went to his house to check. He complained that their 60 inch LED TV continuously flicker once in about 10 minutes for all HD channels and picture quality is dull colour. He tried changing 5 different HDMI cables and still flickers. He tuned the TV colour settings to 100% and still the colour is not strong. When I went there, I was really dumbfounded and scratched my head when I couldn't find out what was causing it ! I was also confused when nothing happened after I pressed the "Record" button on the remote ! After about an hour fiddling with different suspected causes, I suddenly noticed this in Byond settings... "b.yond v1.2". What the hell ! Why is the Byond box still using very outdated software version ? It should be version 3.0s ! I asked my friend how long ago was his set installed and he told me it was only about 2 weeks ago. How did the installer gave my friend a Byond unit with outdated software ? Version 3.0s already released many many months ago and should already be pre-installed in newer units ! Even if the installer was supplied with older stocks, he should have updated the software after installation because its his responsibility to check this.

2 weeks earlier, its also terrible when my friend called the installer complaining about it and he came a few times and still cannot find the reason so he blamed it to some Byond compatibility problems with his TV and Onkyo amp and there's nothing he can do about it. He even recommended my friend to make a report with Astro Customer Support !! Double LOL ! I am not a trained installer but they are, so they should check the software version whenever any compatibility problem is suspected loh.

After sweating for about 30 minutes, I was wondering how come my friend's Byond set was not updated automatically since its always left in "standby mode" since the first day it was installed. Mmm... how to update manually ? There is no "Update" or "Full Manual Reboot" setting in Byond. Aah... I got it. Switch off power completely to the Byond unit (not standby). Waited a minute and switched on power.. ah ha.. the message ... "Update in progress..." appeared so I waited, not touching any remote buttons.

Guess what ? After update to version 3.0s, all my friend's problems solved ! Colour is lots more vibrant and no more fickering every 10+ minutes !!

End of my long stories. These are only 2 of the many more incidents which I helped to rectify because of the fault of the Astro installers. It makes me wonder just how good are the efficiency of these installers. If I based on the number of incidents that I have handled, it should be around 10% efficient. That's bad in a big way ! I should make a commission claim with Astro and get paid for my services but I know Assteruk will not pay me, hehe.

Thanks for reading and bearing my extremely long kopitiam talk. Mmm.. don't know if its out-of-topic here, if it is, then so sorry for it.

Best wishes.
thumbup.gif Bravo to you bro. All these installers in your story is just 'cari makan' installer. Astro should seriously look into this.....
chikana
post Mar 5 2012, 05:43 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 5 2012, 04:59 PM)
This channel 133 belongs to Mustika package so you can only watch this channel if you subscribed to this package. Previously its B4U. Now its replaced with Bella.

You mean this channel 133 (Bella) is missing from your normal Astro DMT (or Astro Byond) channel selections ? I did not subscribe to Mustika package because I am chinese but I can still "see" this channel with a message "..not included in your subscription". I use Astro Byond HD, not the normal Astro DMT.

Maybe your astro box did not update when B4U was changed to Bella on 1st March 2012. Please correct me if I stated the wrong date.

Don't know if it will help, but try this... completely switch off main power to your Astro box. Wait about a minute. Switch on power, don't touch anything and wait.

If your astro box was not updated, then it should start updating so don't touch anything until the clock on the box shows the correct time. The display on the box should show "Update in progress...".

If after switching on, nothing happens and the clock shows the correct time, then maybe other problem. Call Astro Customer Support to send update/reset signal to update/reset your box again through satellite signal. They can do that.

If everything failed, report back to customer support to send installer to your place.

I hope I have been helpful with my suggestions.
I believe for channel update, it does not need to reboot the box or update the software. For non byond box, it just need to put on standby (clock appear on front display) for about 5 minutes. For byond, the channel update should effect on the fly i.e. while you're watching or on standby.
chikana
post Mar 5 2012, 09:55 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Mar 5 2012, 09:16 PM)
Thanks for info.
Yes,now is Bella on my 2 Byond's (my wife notice this yesterday).
so actually nothing wrong with the box and the channel update work as usual (as your wife notice this new Bella channel replacing B4U channel yesterday) ? tongue.gif
chikana
post Mar 5 2012, 10:21 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 5 2012, 10:04 PM)
You are welcome but I did not actually help with my suggestions. Anyway, its great to know that your "problem" is solved. You posted your request for answers on why Bella was "missing" yesterday (04:34 pm) and you now mentioned that your wife noticed the change... also yesterday.

Hehe... I guess you were a bit impatient and did not wait without giving a bit of time for the auto channel update to finish and refresh, check with your wife and then post your request for answers here. You just need to have more patience and not rush for answers... only wait a bit longer and then your problem will be gone.

My suggested method is to be used ONLY when the channel is still missing after, maybe, 2 days eventhough the astro box have been left to auto update in standby mode.

NEW ADDITION
In future, try to be more patient and double check before posting for help or request for answers here. Lack of proper info and impatience can cause confusion for people who wishes to help you here. No problem for me to spend a little bit of time trying to find the solution.
Agree 100%
chikana
post Mar 8 2012, 12:17 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Rock Kapak Karat @ Mar 8 2012, 10:22 AM)
im new user beyond, just want to ask.. why my channel HD like HBO, ESPN, National Geographic, AXN kejap ada kejap takde? Yg lain OK je.. ke sebab hujan?

kejap takde - was it black or some message on the screen?

Added on March 8, 2012, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 8 2012, 11:08 AM)
But i see many elders are watching WATV, shouldn't be not making money.
maybe the content become expensive so astro can't afford to purchase it....

This post has been edited by chikana: Mar 8 2012, 12:20 PM
chikana
post Mar 10 2012, 02:25 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Rock Kapak Karat @ Mar 9 2012, 11:10 PM)
if no rain, can watching but sometimes the picture blank then OK.
no any message appear.. just black screen
Thanks for fast response bro  rclxms.gif

check the red fonts  flex.gif
Kalau hanya certain HD channel aje yg ada problem tapi channel lain takde problem, saya rasa problemnya mungkin ialah installation. Bagus juga suruh installer check pasal mungkin sesetengah frequency receptionnya tak bagus. Ini mungkin disebabkan dish alignment tak bagus atau cable RG6nya tak bagus. Saya rasalah channel2 yg awak listkan tu duduk dlm frequency atau transponder yg sama.
chikana
post Mar 10 2012, 09:59 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 10 2012, 09:28 PM)
I wonder when will all local football matches is covered in HD, unlike only finals last year? hmm.gif
Astro tak cukup bandwidth kot.....
chikana
post Mar 11 2012, 11:18 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(freyria182 @ Mar 11 2012, 11:03 AM)
Hi there.thanks for the help so far.ive try to create a new id and link it.still encountering the same error message.really fed up already.have called astro to check on my smart card issue
I had the same problem last time but now I can do remote recording on my iPhone. I strongly suspect this was caused by compatibility issue between astro website and their access system. They did something on my account and after that it was ok.
chikana
post Mar 12 2012, 11:23 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 12 2012, 05:47 PM)
astro will replace your existing LNB with the a dual-output LNB, 2 cables will be wire from dish to byond pvr

alternative way of wiring by using single cable is to get a stacker-destacker, I heard it will cost you RM300~RM400
A friend of mine has experienced his PVR installed with this stacker destacker. As an advice from is if you go for this, make sure the installer also provide a line amp together with stacker destacker installation as the signal will drop by a few dB so with line amp it is able to compensate this signal drop.

Added on March 12, 2012, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(freyria182 @ Mar 12 2012, 09:31 PM)
Finally i managed to link my acct and use it on my iphone..there is some problem with astro system
As expected.....

This post has been edited by chikana: Mar 12 2012, 11:25 PM
chikana
post Mar 15 2012, 08:48 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 15 2012, 04:12 PM)
Hello all.
Just wondering, did anyone subscribe to Lawak Ke, Der HD?

Usually, for pay-per-view channels, Astro only allowed viewing for 48hrs. But for this Lawak Ker Der, the notification I receive is for the whole month!

or is the charges recurring?
No. This channel is just like ABO movies. Just one time charge and you can watch for the whole month. The 48 hours one is just for Astro First channel.
chikana
post Mar 19 2012, 09:41 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 19 2012, 12:10 PM)
Hi!
I'm wondering how yu ppl can get such HIGH Signal Strength (80+%) & Signal Levels (212?).... doh.gif

Here my PVR can barely get Signal Strength of 60+% & Signal Level of 154!!
Not matter which Input Settings chosen eg 1 or 18 or any other...Measat 3/3A...most are lower tho! sad.gif

However Signal Quality is 100%...

Does my Byond sat dish need re-alignment to improve reception?
Nothing to worry. I believe there was signal measurement scale between Byond PVR and Byond decoder. Yours one is Byond PVR which the min acceptable level should be 120. While for Byond decoder the scale is higher where the minimum acceptable level should be 180. I got this info from the technical helpdesk guy.

Added on March 19, 2012, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 19 2012, 11:32 AM)
My previous post with questions... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2114557/+980#

Hehe... sorry for my many questions. I have to mention again that I may be wrong as I am not a qualified technician so my answers are only my opinions.

(1) That means your problem not from the second TV connected to Byond.

(2) Mmm... your Byond setting "yellow indicator bar will disappear, then come back, quite often" tells me something may be wrong with your Byond box. I suspect may be your Byond box should be checked and may be should be replaced with a new one.

(3) The yellow plug is for video and red plug is for audio (right channel). That means the installer also use home-made "Do-It-Yourself" joint using sticky tape. Mmm... I have said enough in my earlier post so no more comment on this as I respect your choice. Because of in-wall cabling, too bad you cannot change to the recommended RG6 co-axial cable for connection to the LNB at the dish. Your existing RG5 co-axial cables can still be used for Byond.

(4) Good, its the correct dish.

(5) I don't think Astro will send their qualified technician to any subscribers home to solve problems ! Astro only send the "lizards", I mean the poorly qualified Astro installers who (as I said earlier) are independent sub-contractors. I don't know whether Astro knows it or not but these people are damaging Astro reputation because I have heard too many times from my friends and others that many of them did a sloppy job, lazy, ignorant, simply finish the job, careless, et-cetera.

Useless to hope for any Astro technician to visit you because they don't have to. If anything (such as Byond box, smartcard, LNB, etc) found to be spoilt, they only bring it back or send to Astro service centre for replacement.

(6) and (7) Yes, I believe your problem is NOT caused by your HD TV.

Finally, if you have called Astro Cust Supp, then wait for another "installer" to come. Tell the installer that you suspect your Byond box may be spoilt by showing that the Byond signal setting is... like what you answered me... "yellow indicator bar will disappear, then come back, quite often". If the installer still do "this and that" such as re-alignment on the LNB and dish, tighten screws, changed Byond settings, blah, blah, blah... AND if still got problem... tell installer not to waste time and request for replacement of your Byond box to a new one ! Mmm.. after all your explanations, I don't suspect your cables because your problem only for HD channels, no problem for all SD channels. If cable fault, all channels should have the same problem. sad.gif

Peace smile.gif

ADDITION
I use ALL my Byond connections and no problems for me ... when connections are used correctly.

I think this problem most likely is caused by the RG6 cable. SD and HD channels are on different frequncy band. SD sits on VL frequency while HD sits on VH frequncy. Some older RG6 cable doesnt support VH frequency so that maybe explain why his SD channels are OK while HD got intermittent signal loss problem. Your signal reading at 180-187 for Byond (not Byond PVR) is also almost reach to a not acceptable level plus maybe there is signal fluctuation going on. My suggestion is try to use a different RG6 cable or get it from installer and connect directly from LNB to the box.

This post has been edited by chikana: Mar 19 2012, 10:16 PM
chikana
post Mar 20 2012, 06:57 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 19 2012, 11:25 PM)
Yes, I do know that changing to RG6 cable is recommended because of the 2 signal frequencies required to be carried by the cable.

The problem here is that 1GTR1 have given the answer to my 3rd question... "Only the cable from the white colour is in-wall, the cable from yellow and red are given by installer" with a picture of the connections behind his Byond box.

If I am not mistaken, this means that the cable from the LNB is mostly "in-wall".

This makes it difficult to simply replace the cable to RG6. If 1GTR1 don't mind the new replacement cables to look "ugly" which can be seen on the surface of the ceiling and walls, then replacement to RG6 cable is recommended. I do also agree with you to suggest completely replacing the cables to RG6 but this is not my decision to make. There may be various personal reasons so its up to 1GTR1 to decide.

As you already knew, many people used in-wall cabling to hide such "ugly" cables at the ceiling or walls which is why this was done during building construction. Smashing part of the walls cement to put new in-wall cables is not possible because of the costs and ugly patches to cover the cables again.

Just notice that you or somebody mention that he was using RG-58 (?) cable or other than RG-6. This is totally not recommended. Now replacing this cable is mandatory to solve his problem. Either conceal or surface cabling, you have to replace or you can opt to stay with this problem forever. Thank you.

This post has been edited by chikana: Mar 20 2012, 07:38 AM
chikana
post Apr 10 2012, 10:57 PM

213 posts

James, I wonder what are you doing now? All your post here are always impressive. Maybe Astro should employ you as their Head of Customer Service..... Ha ha just joking....

This post has been edited by chikana: Apr 10 2012, 10:58 PM
chikana
post Apr 13 2012, 05:37 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 12 2012, 10:16 PM)
If the mode of the activation between byond and smartcard is under soft-paired mode, you still can swap the card to non-byond set.  When they change it to hard-paired mode then it is permanently married between the byond set and smart card.
Salah ni.

Added on April 13, 2012, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 12 2012, 08:00 PM)

Thank you very much for the detailed feedback. Really appreciate it very much .. Perhaps I will give it a try this weekend and see it goes. While posting here, the ASTRO in my hometown is no longer viewable as the signal error message stated on the screen since yesterday till to date.

The satellite dish is powered by NOKIA compare to the very 1st generation - Philips.

Called up the Customer Service, but they required me to be there in front of the TV to work on the troubleshooting. Guess once I am done with this issue, will apply for the new Byond Super Pack combo directly with the HD Channels and AOD.
Rasanya tak pernah ada dish jenama Nokia......

Added on April 13, 2012, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 10 2012, 11:31 PM)
So, the next question is... Is Astrow beeyond HD channel bitrate as par as India HD channel?

Bigtv HD

Sun DTH

Tatasky HD

Videocon D2H HD

If only we have the tools to analyze b.yond hd channels bitrate... hmm.gif

p.s note: taken from india satforum.
They using different code rate each, that is why the total mux bitrate is different from each operators. The higher bitrate, the less error correction. Not sure Astro using which code rate.

This post has been edited by chikana: Apr 13 2012, 05:44 PM
chikana
post Apr 13 2012, 11:44 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 13 2012, 09:25 PM)
Did Astro HD channels gets more error correction since day 1 of B.yond launch? brows.gif  laugh.gif
What do you understand about error correction or fec?
chikana
post Apr 14 2012, 12:36 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 14 2012, 12:00 AM)
I pun x faham juga. tongue.gif
Secara teorinya kalau astro guna code rate tinggi, sepatutnya hujan lebat takde masalah, tapi dari dulu sampai sekarang same je ....smile.gif

Added on April 14, 2012, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 14 2012, 08:37 AM)
In theory, if the FEC rate used is small, the chances of the transmitted bitrate data being able to be corrected will be lower.

Likewise, if FEC rate used is larger, the chances of correcting a corrupted bit will be higher, thus reducing errors created during transmission of a signal, because u are using slightly more bandwidth to forward error correct transmitted bits.

If Astro uses small FEC rate, you may experience easier tendency to get the service unavailable msg, compared to using a larger FEC rate. So... here is how u can test in Astro. When it rains at your place, try surfing the channels. Some may still be watchable despite the rain, some wouldn't [however you must also take account into the frequency those channels are locked to, hence it would only be fair to compare the same frequency set of channels to justify the FEC rate]
I think to test the efficiency of the code rate use is to compare channel from different frequency/transponder not on the same transponder as each transponder may use different fec.

This post has been edited by chikana: Apr 14 2012, 12:46 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0711sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:05 PM