5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

crazy25kid
post Jan 12 2012, 10:26 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 12 2012, 10:12 AM)
Hi, thank you so much for your concern on my "poor" English and finding a job in Singapore. Yes, I’m admit that I have a poor English, and may be is a dump, but I’m trying to improve it. I understand how you feel and what you mean. ALL your comments and posts just meant “Rayhvs, your English is poor and please improve your English before you trying to get a job in Singapore”. Why don’t you just comment on this, instead of elaborated so much to deteriorate my value and end up it may spoil your mood and your personality yourself.  Thanks again.
hi rayhvs, cause you are new here.
if u have been here long enough, you will notice that you can ignore some of the forummers.
they are plain arrogant and most likely keyboard warriors (possibly with grammar checks software ready) in my opinion.
this is a public forum and with influence of kopitiam, if one thinks that it is a must to type in perfect english only, i did say tat person is a dimwit.
crazy25kid
post Jan 16 2012, 09:18 AM

1,424 posts

My wife burnt her car sales for moving over alone.
Then when I came (we rented the whole unit), burnt both our savings. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Try to nego with your employer.
Some understands and are willing to pay you the first month salary in advance so that you can settle down.
crazy25kid
post Jan 16 2012, 12:29 PM

1,424 posts

http://www.todayonline.com/Sunday/Faceinth...-100-interviews
crazy25kid
post Jan 16 2012, 04:31 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Ruey @ Jan 16 2012, 04:27 PM)
hello~
started working in SG about 1 yr ago...
got called after depositing resume in jobstreet ~
so free meh u?
crazy25kid
post Jan 16 2012, 06:41 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 16 2012, 06:31 PM)
ya, my bike ok already, but another issue come. cannot ride that bike into SG anymore in 1-2 months time. and i dun wan to buy a SG bike at the moment so need to find out how long does it take to take bus. i will ride my bike and park it at kastam then take bus.

i start work at 10am wor. so i need to reach kastam at 8am? i work in Yio Chu Kang only. so still need to much time?

i think u just want to know how long to pass immigration and reach sg side.
after that, mrt timing is more or less standard.
ur company walking distance from mrt anyway.

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 16 2012, 06:35 PM)
Bcos some of us think that able to work in SG then very lansi and often look down on ppl who fail to land a job in SG. WTF
+1
crazy25kid
post Jan 16 2012, 09:59 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(eataroundthebush @ Jan 16 2012, 09:05 PM)
Sound advice... thanks
It is a very good advise !!!
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 05:30 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jan 17 2012, 05:15 PM)
Hi everyone, MOM has increased the minimum salary requirement for E and S pass. I received a job offer of $1800 monthly salary which is 200 less than the MOM salary requirement for s pass. so i was just wondering if i should apply for work permit instead? has anyone of you managed to get approval for s pass even though you're getting less than the $2000 requirement?
The salary requirement is just a guideline.
Not entirely based just on salary, there are other criterias but salary is the easiest to draw the line.
your employer will be the 1 who will be applying the work pass for you...so no need to worry about such things. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 05:52 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jan 17 2012, 05:35 PM)
Really? biggrin.gif Phiew... I thought it's a must to met the salary requirement. I know my employer will be doing it for me but I was just worrying my application may be rejected due to not meeting the salary requirement. Thanks for the reply anyway. smile.gif

If the company wants you, they will appeal or apply another type of pass for u.
So in the end, this is still out of your control so worrying about it won't help.
Just follow the flow (i know, easier said than done laugh.gif laugh.gif )

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Jan 17 2012, 05:35 PM)
Hi guys, Need some advice.

I'm going to quit my job at the moment to look for one in Singapore.

I have tried applying through jobstreet and stuff but seems like not much replies as I have to serve a two months notice.

I'm in the IT line and have been working for the past one year only. Still quite fresh. What are my chances of getting a job there?

Personally, I think you should continue on with your job and continue applying.
Unless you have some sort of deadline to get here, i won't recommend quiting and jumping over.
It definitely helps in getting a job if you stay in Sg, but what if it takes a bit longer than expected.
The cost will burn a hole in your pocket when you have no income.

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 05:42 PM)
Erm actually all d company I've work with never see my cert or paper before. They just interview, talked, and straight apply online for my wp. And they never look any of my cert. they just look my online resume I sent to them. Yes I agree paper mean a lot for working. But I can't. I'm single but not available and I didn't mention I have one kid to raise.

i think rexona meant - probably in 10 years time, you will be married and have 2 kids.
when would be a better time to start studying part time (now or the 10 years later scenario).
maybe no need for degree or diploma.
how abt specialized skills or professional certifications?
they should be in shorter terms.
I suppose those will help if you do not want the diploma / degree.
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 06:22 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 06:12 PM)
I understand his advise. My last sentence is hint. I'm not single! I'm a single mother! I can't stop work for study. Understand? Ohmy.. I don't like to say this in public.
Oh...I did not got your hidden meaning earlier....my apologies. blush.gif blush.gif
But I meant the professional certifications...those are mostly part time (I dun think there are ppl who resign from their job to study those paper sweat.gif sweat.gif )
You can choose those which are more flexible for your time (probably just 1 or 2 nites on weekdays for 3 months?).
I understand the kid comes first. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 09:37 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 06:58 PM)
Thought of it before. Maybe after I got my job first. Need cash payment few k le. If I'm not wrong. Correct me if it's wrong

No need to rush for the certifications.
Job comes first as you need the money.
Then only you decide to study when you think you can balance work, study and life together.

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Jan 17 2012, 07:34 PM)
That's true. I have applied a lot of companies. seems like no answer. been almost 2 months already

2 months only?
Be patient.
There is no short cut.
http://www.todayonline.com/Sunday/Faceinth...-100-interviews

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 17 2012, 07:56 PM)
What's with the badminton thing? I've never seen any proper badminton hall in Singspore thus far. Where to play? Alley below hdb?

Badminton courts are mostly indoors.
Try the sports hall and CCs.
Schools also have great courts.

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jan 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
Oh and, how long does it usually take to get the approval from MOM?

If you are lucky...within the day.

crazy25kid
post Jan 17 2012, 10:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Celest-Lee @ Jan 17 2012, 10:03 PM)
yah I will. Now I need a job after cny. Don't know where else to find. So use to doing the work at previous company now feel useless.

should try the recruitment agencies...like kelly services or others.
crazy25kid
post Jan 18 2012, 09:18 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jan 18 2012, 09:16 AM)
Good day Seniors in SG,

I'm currently in my final year for my degree (mechanical engineering) here in Japan, and planning where should I start my career once I grad: Malaysia or Singapore.

Need some advice on this. I have no clue at all how to jump start in SG. Dumped my resume in jobstreet & jobsdb. Might be way too early for me to send in my resume now. Another question is when should I start sending in my resume? I will grad during Feb 2013. Thanks in advance.
i recommend final semester. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jan 18 2012, 09:35 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jan 18 2012, 09:26 AM)
I see. I'm thinking of start working immediately after I grad, around March 2013. There's a problem which is I can't attend any interview in SG until I'm back from JP for good. The only chance I have is Sept this year, will be back in MY for summer break. Should I send in my resume before that and try my luck?
i dun think employers would want to wait for a fresh grad for half a year.
unless u have very specialized skills.
just my opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jan 18 2012, 09:48 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jan 18 2012, 09:45 PM)
Question:

To step in SG for career as a fresh grad, how much SGD do I need to carry? I have no links at, no relatives. Forever alone.
I recommend at least 2.5k SGD.
crazy25kid
post Jan 18 2012, 09:53 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Jan 18 2012, 09:51 PM)
That figure can last how long?
Oh...I tot you meant with a job. laugh.gif laugh.gif
That is what I recommend to survive the first month till you get your pay.
crazy25kid
post Jan 18 2012, 10:17 PM

1,424 posts

Prepaid is more than enough for start.
Use the Singtel 55(SGD 15) or Starhub 128 (SGD28) thingy.
Will last you for 50 days.
It is a lot more worth it.
I am estimating about 1.5-2k for settling the rental part.
500 per month should be enough if u save.
crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2012, 12:15 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jan 20 2012, 11:38 AM)
argh..already sent my cv to 4 companies..nobody 1 reply yet sad.gif
sighhhh

i'm looking for software engineer position  icon_question.gif
Not to be harsh, but 4 send ins and you expect a reply?
I think you are overestimating yourself or underestimating the process of getting a job.
Even if you are applying for a job locally, 4 applications does not necessary warrant you an interview.
Patience is needed in job seeking.
That is why, ppl are recommended to start sending in applications on their final sem.
Anyway, just keep sending and good luck (yeah, you actually need some luck in landing an interview).
crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2012, 12:26 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
Bro, I've been in Sg for 20 years lah. Kids also growing up. You think the kids or me will have more opportunities in Malaysia? I am working with more than $10Ksgd income here. Which freaking company in Malaysia will hire me? I am even paid better than Jibby. lol. BTW, there's a loop hole in HDB where if your employer is good enuf to lower the salary less than $10K, you will be eligible for HDB-BTO. 12K below is for EC and DBSS.
good for employer cause they pay less.
bad for u because u get less.
so good for who? sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 12:17 PM)
For those looking for job in Sg, please be patient coz you are also competing with the locals AND Indians, Indonesian Chinese, Pinoys and Chinese from China. So, it is very competitive. You have to move in very low and then move up from there. Can't afford to be picky. Hope this helps.

for the first time, i agree with you...but only the bolded part.
move in very low...this is as if u are trying to destroy your own market.
why would anyone want to destroy their own market?

crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2012, 02:20 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Jan 20 2012, 01:19 PM)
but i got a replies from every company i applied locally  laugh.gif  that is why i wanted to know how ppl apply..

Same.
When I was applying, my phone and email kept getting "harassed" by local firms.
This is because we "open" our CV to all employers.
So they try to tempt you to join them.

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 01:43 PM)
Bro,

In SG there is no minimum sum salary lah. How?
In my company the programmers paid between 1500sgd-3000sgd.
Poject Managers paid from 3000-6000sgd.

So, if you want the job and competing with others which can be much more hardworking and efficient than you. What would you do? Wait ka?? Tan kuku ka? icon_idea.gif

BTW, can share your experience in SG? You worked there I believe? What I am doing is to encourage kids to come and have a good life. In the mean time, since they are young, let them do some job and keep busy and gain the experience they can so that they can be future high flyers. What is your aim or agenda? Anything against sg or low salary people? or Is your position being threatened? wink.gif rclxub.gif

btw, the salary less than 10K is only temporary for 3 months. So, as long as you are below 10K salary and show your CPF for 3 months, you are approved. On the 4th month, you can go back to your normal pay. This is what the locals have been doing la.. U sure u worked here before? hmm.gif

Then do your own research to find out your range with your experience and skill set.
You are advising everyone to go low without doing your own research.
For example, if 1 has 3 years experience can command say 3+ or 4k.
You want them to go low...as in fight with fresh grad with just 2+ or even worse, 1.5?
So if everyone goes that way....what do you think will happen to your market?
It will become the norm that 3 years exp will command only 2+ instead of the 3+ or 4.
Trust me...I had that kind of suggestion before from HR.
I am just advising to demand for what you are worth...at most just go slightly lower.
if the company wants u...why would u want to put urself in disadvantaged position.
Do not be picky on the company and job scope.
Companies will change, if you can't go in at this stage...try again later at another stage (with a better base)
Job scope will always change...this is a fact....so during interview or application jd, you may be amazed by what they say you will be doing but when you go in, it may be another thing.
I have no issues if u wish to go devalue yourself...employers will love it definitely.
but just take this into consideration - whenever you get promoted or jump to another company...your current pay MAY impact your future pay as they might only allow by percentage.
I repeat...it is MAY...I have this experience before back in m'sia. So I am just giving ppl the heads up.
if you feel offended by that....ignore me.

I have no obligation to share all my experience like you wish to which personally, i find it quite annoying.
i give advise based on what i think...you give on what you think...readers choose which they want to accept or apply for their own choices.

PS: please quote properly.
crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2012, 02:45 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Jan 20 2012, 01:43 PM)
btw, the salary less than 10K is only temporary for 3 months. So, as long as you are below 10K salary and show your CPF for 3 months, you are approved. On the 4th month, you can go back to your normal pay. This is what the locals have been doing la.. U sure u worked here before? hmm.gif

i finally understood where this came from due to ur "quoting" style
so u reduce your salary for 3 months to show u have a below 10k salary?
please be more specific.
this only works if u use the combined salary.
if single citizen scheme, for example say you (but from your postings, i doubt that is what you earn)...how much would u want your company to reduce your salary.
last i checked, 5k, 10k and even 100k pays the SAME amt for CPF.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0433sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:49 AM