4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

mercury8400
post Jan 5 2012, 04:36 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Estella @ Jan 5 2012, 04:27 PM)
m a girl. I know whether accidentally or purposely. Many times happen are purposely. Some men purposely put hands on my body on crowded trains.
Then how do you react? Do you scream at him and apprehend him or you keep quiet?

Anyway I work in a bank in SG. If you wanna know more PM me...
mercury8400
post Jan 5 2012, 05:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jan 5 2012, 04:44 PM)
careful with mercury
hes predator wan
you start pm him you fell in his trap ord
Eh, I'm no predator ok. I'm a gentleman who respects women.Pls don't smear my reputation. I reserve the right to take legal action for defamation...
mercury8400
post Jan 6 2012, 10:26 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 6 2012, 09:42 AM)
Not only the girl, but satu kali also her mother and all her classmates.
Speaking about JAV, i recently saw a clip of a hot jap girl strip in public in the middle of shibuya (i saw the street sign) and just walk around like butt nekkid....everyone looked at her but no one stared or tried to touch her.....i dunno japanese so open minded....but how come i nvr see this kinda thing when i was in Japan.... hmm.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 6 2012, 01:08 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(iStevei @ Jan 6 2012, 11:55 AM)
i had applied bout 10-20 jobs in sg but still no news yet.. hais..
normally how many did u all apply before get offer or interview?
my fren applied 100+ but only less than 5 called. Its like 5% chances lol

is it everyone here facing such situation?
Hei, dei...
You are a foreigner in SG.

Do you know how many foreigner (from India, China, Europe, America, Thai, Myanmar, Vietnamese, Filipino) in addition to the local Singaporeans and Singaporean PR to flood employers with their CVs?

You are only 1 of the hundreds of thousands and thousands of foreigners and locals alike, applying a job in SG. What makes you so special that they have to call you upon sending, even if you send >1000000 resumes, out? Have you thinked about that? If you haven't i suggest you read Dreamers post. He would give you a pretty good view on how the real employment market works.

mercury8400
post Jan 6 2012, 01:23 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 6 2012, 01:20 PM)
LOL mercury been flaming and trolling in the thread since god knows when, suddenly some "female" tag with somewhat-good-looking avatar come in and he's so helpful all of a sudden thumbup.gif
Learn from you mah...... my sifu.... notworthy.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 6 2012, 08:00 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 6 2012, 07:55 PM)
JAV lovers... what's the size of your collection? And does your other half allow you to keep it? I've got like 3TBs of the stuff and it's getting hard to explain why I've got a bunch of hard drives that I always claim are "Nothing".
Walau 3TB of JAVs????
Can share ar? whistling.gif

mercury8400
post Jan 7 2012, 12:18 AM

2,703 posts

Oh, i plan to go back to malaysia one day.....to retire
mercury8400
post Jan 8 2012, 12:34 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 7 2012, 10:10 PM)
got.. my ex uni mate.. after 1 outing no more from her  cry.gif  u mean external auditor? they are usually segregated from us.. especially me, cause my work is confidential

my coy is 70% girls, but not my type 1... but ugly girl dont turn me on leh...  doh.gif  my parents very lazy, they rather stay at home... i go no rights to tell them wat 2 do  biggrin.gif  my boss 68 lor, still wanna work.. zzz, hope he retires

got simple girls i am interested, not lala 1... but all attached d

my mother chase me out of the house after graduation.. i had to travel round the world to find a place to stay and earn a living  cry.gif

told u already... u have to load your nets account... it is like a prepaid acct, u have to load it first... go to a atm, insert ur debit and there's an option to load your nets acct

hayor... dont care ugly or spinsters, must have chemistry 1st ma... if tada then wont work..
So you wan a GF with supermodel looks and brains with big boobs? whistling.gif
I'm just contented with a average looking girl, not too pretty, not too ugly....not so much competition... rolleyes.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 12:34 am
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:11 AM)
1 advice...

If you past 28 and still single, the chances to find a good looking girl is only about 10% bcos almost all girls will already have a bf.

Unless you:-
1) spannar the girl
2) chase those PRC girls (there are many good (pretty, simple and kind heartered) PRC girls if you dont mind)

This is my usual advice to my company's colleagues as well.

The good time to find a gf is around 22-28 years usually.
Sure boh? I heard horror stories about PRC girls...

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 8 2012, 12:34 AM
mercury8400
post Jan 8 2012, 12:51 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jan 8 2012, 12:49 AM)
kindergarten teacher then intro to me. but I dun want the girl with different nationalities, why?? I see lots of couples have a long distance relationship although their children have already worked.

I found the vietnamese are hot and low cost maintenance.
There is an agency which "sells" vietnamese wife for SGD10-20k....
mercury8400
post Jan 8 2012, 03:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 8 2012, 01:31 AM)
it is not definite but generally it stands true... either you dedicate your life to your love ones or yourself... not to a goddamn company

company is just a partnership between you and a legal entity... for u to help be a part to generate profit... and not generate profit at your expense...

any company that overworks their staffs arent worth it... they forgot to take care of one of the most important stakeholders... their employee

i dunno la.. 2 of my lawyers, directors at the biggest lawfirm in singapore told me stories.. about single lady lawyers, going crazy.. when they spend their 30th birthday in the office alone and get to drive back to their condo in their bmw to nobody.. that's sad

$$$ can slowly make, career ends at 60+, but your life doesnt end there and you youth cannot be purchase back

cry.gif i are the sads... happy new year  doh.gif
I agree with you, which is also why i rejected several very good paying investment banking job and stay in my 9-6 corporate banking job. Life is short. You don't want to work till 3-4 am every other day with no time for yourself. You will end up with all kinds of illness and complications to health. In the end, all the money you earn will be "given back" to the doctors.....karma.....
mercury8400
post Jan 9 2012, 09:01 PM

2,703 posts

Actually i don't think they pay marine engineers very well in SG as compared to Aus, right?
mercury8400
post Jan 10 2012, 03:15 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 10 2012, 08:53 AM)
first u need to change your tag to female and put a hot avatar pic  laugh.gif
U talking bout me? rolleyes.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 09:43 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 11 2012, 09:36 AM)
Dunno why some types of people always like to make themselves feel better by making motherhood, across-the-board, impossibly definitive conclusions like "engineering is better than accounting". In all industries, you have some greater roles, lesser ones and all have to work together to keep the corporate engine running. It is pointless to generalize.
Why is engineering better than accounting or vice versa?
This reminds me of the story of the body parts who came together and discuss who is more important: the eyes, the lungs, the brain and the *******....we know who won.....
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 02:08 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 11 2012, 01:55 PM)
job security  hmm.gif , when u go through a 30-50% per jump every 1-2 year, u will not worry about job security
one thing good about singapore is when they want u, they pay your asking pricealot ang moh / expat here is just a figurehead, they still need local to run the business
u can see most of them 3 plus already heading to the bar around raffles here
But then again when the economy is bad (like this year) or they don't need you or can find a better replacement than you, its bye-bye to you. There is no job security in SG. Unlike in M'sia where you can go to the labour court and claim unlawful dismissal, in SG no such things.

Added on January 11, 2012, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jan 11 2012, 11:08 AM)
You can check from salary.sg http://www.salary.sg/2010/top-100-jobs-in-singapore-2010/
There are a few things you should take into consideration, like being a contractor you don't get to enjoy staff benefits that permanent staff do like bonus, medical expenses and with lesser annual leave and lack of job security.

Nevertheless, SGD 4700 is very good money, is the 'happiness' salary for single men. If you have family, then abit susah but still manageable la.
Can you pls define 'happiness' salary? I also want to know biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 11 2012, 02:10 PM
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 05:09 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 11 2012, 03:50 PM)
Hi Sirs/Madams, I have very strong interested to work in Singapore. I have 2 years experience in banking industry (Malaysia). Do you have any banking job offer to me? I don't mind to work in other industry as well.
Dear Sir,
Even if I do, i will certainly NOT offer you any job base on the many grammatical errors in your sentence above.

Kindly improve your english before you seek a job in Singapore. Actually i wonder how you got your current banking job in Malaysia with this level of english.....no wonder Singaporeans have a perception that Malaysian speak and write broken english....
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 07:53 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 11 2012, 06:27 PM)
If they have offered me a dollar to dollar with 20-30% increase I would have definitely grabbed it with both hands. My current pay is RM 6600 BTW so to expect a company to pay me SGD 6600 is definitely quite difficult as I will immediately become one of the top earners in Singapore without even proving myself.

Well you mistook me. Of course I will be taking that job with the presumption that I will stay no matter what happens. I am also not that concern about Job Security. Problem is that a contract worker should always be earning more then a permanent worker of the same capability because they sacrifice their job security. When say something happens, it's the contract worker that gets pushed out first followed by the permanent worker. Contract workers are always viewed as "not so important". That is why they get paid higher just in case something happens to them.
Contract worker don't get year end bonus or AWS (i.e. 13 months pay) like normal permanent staff do...
They only get a contractual bonus (upon completion of contract) which is normally only 1 month of salary....

Consequently they are the first on the chopping block should any retrenchment take place...
Which is why they SHOULD get paid higher....
BUT alot of foreigners are spoiling market right now.....
Especially those from India, China and now increasingly Europeans.....
They would rather take a contractual job for lower salary......coz its better than having no job at all....and contractual jobs are more flexible...i.e. can go travel etc after the contract ended....
So companies will use that as an excuse or benchmark

Added on January 11, 2012, 7:57 pm
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 11 2012, 06:49 PM)
am not in IT so dun shot me, firewall up  cool2.gif
but can only share a case i know off about contract staff, last time compaq contract out all their desktop troubleshooting to third party, and this contract is will be subject to tender after a period
basiclly lowest bidder win, these 3rd staff on contract basiclly follow the new co who win the contract but as the tender is getting lower, mean those contract staff also subject to a certain paycut when joining this new 3rd party co
and this vicious cycle keep continue ..  sweat.gif

6.6k is not top earner in singapore leh 
seantang will tell u, u still below sandwish class
mercury will still label rubbish
materazzi will laugh at u cause u in IT
mackiddo will only wish u good luck hahah..
btw deodorant din take pay cut when coming.. 

sux i am steppin on everybody toe,  happy lunar new year to all  thumbup.gif
No lor...
S$6.6k is not rubbish in Singapore
Actually its quite ok for a single guy/girl...
Can live quite a comfortable life....
Not alot but comfy for a singleton....

But RM6.6k is rubbish lor....
After you factor in EPF contribution, Tax
Ending up with something like a little over RM 5k....
and in M'sia you need car, petrol, parking, etc
And high cost of living, sure not enough even for a singleton lor....

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 11 2012, 07:57 PM
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 10:30 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jan 11 2012, 09:29 PM)
Pls la, dun hammer ppl just bcos u feel proud of your high level of English.
No.
I don't feel proud of my english.

I hammer coz this guy is suppose to work in a bank not some techincal or programming job where english is not as important (but still important).
If you cannot even write a decent sentence in a english how are you going to write documents, reports, etc? Do you think any bank in Singapore would want somebody who cannot write decent english? You may think I am harsh but I can 100% assure you that any banks looking at your sentence will dump/delete your CV in 3 seconds. I know, coz I do that regularly. Call it filtering the crap.
mercury8400
post Jan 11 2012, 11:17 PM

2,703 posts

And these graduates deemed it necessary to pollute SG with their broken english, asking for a banking job. After some months of failed job search and thousand of broken english, cookie-cutter CV sent, they will start posting "why no SG Bank contact me for interview?" or "why SG no fair to me?" or "SG Bank not appreciate my skill wan"......
mercury8400
post Jan 12 2012, 10:55 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 12 2012, 10:12 AM)
Hi, thank you so much for your concern on my "poor" English and finding a job in Singapore. Yes, I’m admit that I have a poor English, and may be is a dump, but I’m trying to improve it. I understand how you feel and what you mean. ALL your comments and posts just meant “Rayhvs, your English is poor and please improve your English before you trying to get a job in Singapore”. Why don’t you just comment on this, instead of elaborated so much to deteriorate my value and end up it may spoil your mood and your personality yourself.  Thanks again.
oh.... sarcasm.....i rike..... cool2.gif
mercury8400
post Jan 12 2012, 08:01 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jan 12 2012, 04:46 PM)
I think they are overworked but loaded with money... probably this is one of the way to release work tension.  haha...
I dun understand this kinda people also....
Geylang got so many, up to you to pinch and not so expensive also but he dun wan.....he wanna go pinch and pay S$5k and apologise samore..... doh.gif

Added on January 12, 2012, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 12 2012, 05:38 PM)
Well, to be honest. The standard of English here is really really terrible. Even for technical position you will not go far with this kind of English. Remember even technical people also have to prepare documents(Test scripts, Design Specs, etc). I am generally not very critical about Grammatical Errors as I am also from a technical background and I do not really care if there are some grammatical errors here and there as we are not English teachers after all but your English here is really bad. I mean from your English people may even get the wrong impression that you are from some Kampung.
Seriously brush up your english even if you decide not to go to Singapore.
Aiyah don't bother about this kinda people lar. Not worth the time and effort.
People give him advice but he wants to be sacarstic....
Just wait a few months and he will post the usual "why nobody call me for interview?" or "why SG banks no take me?" or "why SG so <insert complians> to me?"
Nothing unusual.....

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Jan 12 2012, 08:04 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0443sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:04 PM