for the past few months, JPA has been quite helpful to my friends and i, and they really try to help u, IF U GO THERE lah
Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education
Jan 6 2006, 07:22 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
jeremy3232, i think u should go to JPA directly in putrajaya. it is easier for them to entertain u when u go there in person, and ofcourse, u can bring someone like ur parents to "persuade" them to get everything ur way.
for the past few months, JPA has been quite helpful to my friends and i, and they really try to help u, IF U GO THERE lah |
Jan 6 2006, 07:42 PM
2,360 posts Joined: May 2005 From: East malaysia |
QUOTE(jeremy3232 @ Jan 6 2006, 03:56 PM) i'm interested in doing pharmacy and i plan to study A-Level for my pre-U at Taylor's if i'm able to secure a scholarship... if u can't get or apply scholarship i suggest u better study some college that your parents can afford for your further study's..the prob, i might not be able to apply any scholarships or attend those interviews as i might be in NS in that period of time (Mac-May), so is it possible for me to send a letter to JPA/others and ask for the application forms? Will they entertain me? Do i need to enclose my trial results or WANG POS (as i heard that we need to pay for the form)? thanks in advance! This post has been edited by Sim (2): Jan 6 2006, 07:42 PM |
Jan 6 2006, 10:57 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
^Worst comes to worst, go for Form 6.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Jan 6 2006, 11:00 PM
11,092 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Melbourne |
Study form six also not bad tho.
Jan 6 2006, 11:08 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Of course, it's a passport for you to gain access to local university.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Jan 6 2006, 11:29 PM
6,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOUR HOUSE |
QUOTE(feynman @ Jan 5 2006, 11:56 PM) It is ok.... can you elaborate ? i dont quite understand ... and 1 more question to answer ... which uni/coll best for mechatronics |
Jan 7 2006, 12:42 AM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Jan 7 2006, 11:38 AM
36 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: pearl of orient |
this is really helpful.
thanks a lot. |
Jan 7 2006, 09:14 PM
2,471 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Inti offer pre-u course, New South Wales Higher School Certificate (NSW HSC) which is known as Australian Matriculation. What's the difference between this NSW HSC & SAM ?
please see below url: http://www.intipen.edu.my/web/academic_hsc.asp |
Jan 8 2006, 01:49 PM
258 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
In Australia, every state has a different STPM-equivalent test. NSW HSC is the STPM equivalent for NSW state and SAM is for South Australia. They basically mean the same thing, but probably of different syllabi.
Jan 17 2006, 09:50 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
We can get full marks for the Co-Curiculum thingy if we joined NS rite??
But is the CO-Curiculum thingy useful if u are goin overseas? |
Jan 17 2006, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jan 17 2006, 09:50 PM) We can get full marks for the Co-Curiculum thingy if we joined NS rite?? Yes, if it affects the calculation of your STPM grades. Other than that, not really useful.But is the CO-Curiculum thingy useful if u are goin overseas? If you are applying to some american universities, a strong ECA would be very encouraging. However, most universities admit students solely on academic achievement. This post has been edited by feynman: Jan 17 2006, 11:12 PM |
Jan 17 2006, 11:53 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Malacca |
when will JPA/others offer scholarships? is it after the spm result come out?
do u think chinese can get that scholarships easily than malays? walau.... really if cant get have to suffer in form 6. |
Jan 18 2006, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Jan 17 2006, 11:53 PM) when will JPA/others offer scholarships? is it after the spm result come out? why so racist?do u think chinese can get that scholarships easily than malays? walau.... really if cant get have to suffer in form 6. Yes, application for undegraduate scholarships will open right after the release of SPM results. |
Jan 18 2006, 01:38 AM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
not racist ler... i think it is because it depends on a few critiria...
1) parents income 2) results 3) parents work for gov or not 4) co-cu activities not in any particular order lor so in general chinese harder 2 get i got straight As n i went interview for engineering n i din get it... some guy got 5As only manage 2 get medicine =.= tat was 4 years ago ler my parents earn quite much so i m not complaining... but i wanted 2 help them save money mar neway... all d same 1 ler... if u get good results no matter wat u will suceed... if u dun do 2 well... dun hope for much... just work hard n u will b rewarded ^^ |
Jan 18 2006, 08:15 AM
1,239 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Malacca |
Jan 18 2006, 08:52 PM
which part of "meritocracy" didnt u guys understand? it's been published in the newspapers sometime ago. u can go back and check at JPA if u want. the criterias nowadays DOES NOT INCLUDE RACE. there're no quotas anymore.
but be aware that most chinese come from well-funded family, with usually about 1-2 siblings. u list that down and compare with the other applicants, u'll see that majority of malays who applied for scholarships earns about RM2000 a month per family with 4-5 children. and later u'll compare the results laa. do note, this is application for scholarship/loan, not application for the studies itself. |
Jan 18 2006, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 18 2006, 08:52 PM) which part of "meritocracy" didnt u guys understand? it's been published in the newspapers sometime ago. u can go back and check at JPA if u want. the criterias nowadays DOES NOT INCLUDE RACE. there're no quotas anymore. For scholarships, the major requirement must be academic studies no matther what reason. Scholarships must be given to those who can study and not because one is from a less fortunate family.but be aware that most chinese come from well-funded family, with usually about 1-2 siblings. u list that down and compare with the other applicants, u'll see that majority of malays who applied for scholarships earns about RM2000 a month per family with 4-5 children. and later u'll compare the results laa. do note, this is application for scholarship/loan, not application for the studies itself. |
Jan 18 2006, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Jan 18 2006, 09:00 PM) For scholarships, the major requirement must be academic studies no matther what reason. Scholarships must be given to those who can study and not because one is from a less fortunate family. that's true ofcourse.i'm writing that out of my "malas-nak-layan" attitude. haha. |
Jan 18 2006, 09:53 PM
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:40 PM |