40 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

CrossharE
post Dec 16 2005, 12:41 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Dec 15 2005, 01:12 AM)
U can always apply JPA/petronas/Proton/Telekom scholarship with matriculation result.
So lets say I get the scholarship, would I be able to go overseas with that?Or do I enrol in something else (pre-U or something) first?
darkages
post Dec 16 2005, 01:09 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(CrossharE @ Dec 16 2005, 12:41 AM)
So lets say I get the scholarship, would I be able to go overseas with that?Or do I enrol in something else (pre-U or something) first?
Most scholarships, you have to already be a student in a institution.
There's no scholarship that gives you money and let you study anywhere you want, as far as i know. That only work if you get your 'scholarship' from your parents
Yashamaru
post Dec 16 2005, 11:13 AM

34 posts

I truly respect all of you.
There's no need for professional counsellors with you people's advice & guidance.
Keep it up!
azarimy
post Dec 16 2005, 05:11 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(CrossharE @ Dec 16 2005, 12:41 AM)
okay... here we go.

i. matriculation and any foundation courses cannot be used to apply for oversea universities. they are strictly for malaysian universities ONLY.

ii. JPA or any other bodies awarding scholarship will only offer u IF, and only IF u have received an unconditional offer letter from the oversea university that u have applied. actually, u can only apply IF u have the offer letter. if dont have, then cannot lah. (this supports darkages' statement).

iii. so to apply to oversea universities, they will require A-level or STPM or equivalent for a degree course. and mind u, malaysian scholarships only offer to a degree programme and above. so no diploma or a-levels overseas.

so to put it simply:

after spm, get ur a-levels/STPM.
with that result, apply to the oversea university.
with the offer letter, apply for sponsorship.
with that sponsorship, pegi berambus and belajar and make everybody proudlah!

This post has been edited by azarimy: Dec 16 2005, 05:13 PM
feynman
post Dec 16 2005, 06:00 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 16 2005, 05:11 PM)

thumbup.gif
jdreamer
post Dec 16 2005, 07:08 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

So from ur statement, do u mean STPM is internationally accepted too ?
na21m
post Dec 16 2005, 07:12 PM

Uuuu i have four already!
545 posts

Lets say if I get good grades for my Diploma, is there by any chance I can apply for a scholarship to overseas?
azarimy
post Dec 16 2005, 07:32 PM

10,672 posts

jdreamer: yes. apart from the compulsory english test that u'd have to take (IELTS or TOEFL), STPM is internationally recognized as an A-level equivalent certificate.

na21m: maybe. first, with that high-scoring diploma of urs, u apply for a place in a good, certified course in a recognized university. then only we could say u have a chance of being awarded the scholarship.

things that they consider for scholarship award (typical for JPA):

i. unconditional offer from the university
ii. an offer from a recognized university in LAN's list
iii. the course u're applying is important/critical to the country
iv. the course u're applying is recognized by JPA.
v. ur potentials of completing the course in time
vi. ur potentials of scoring in ur studies (this refers to ur past grades), we're talking atleast 3.0 for loans, and 3.6 for scholarship.
vii. ur co-curricular activities (the more active u are, the more inclined they are to award u scholarship)
viii. u MUST BE SINGLE (either not married, or divorced with no children). this applies for undergrads only.

that should about all.
doinkz_gaara
post Dec 17 2005, 04:12 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

i'm interested in petronas scholarships; did googling; scholarships for year 2001. =.=

any1 know where to apply? usually all these is after my spm results right? the problem is; i might be in ns and;

oh no; cry.gif
azarimy
post Dec 17 2005, 06:51 PM

10,672 posts

actually, all the processing will be done by, guess what, human beings!

write a letter while applying using ur trial results. tell them u will send in ur official results as soon as u get them, or atleast, get someone from ur family to send the results to them. better yet, go there now or atleast call them and tell them the situation.
CrossharE
post Dec 19 2005, 01:18 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 16 2005, 05:11 PM)
okay... here we go.

i. matriculation and any foundation courses cannot be used to apply for oversea universities. they are strictly for malaysian universities ONLY.

ii. JPA or any other bodies awarding scholarship will only offer u IF, and only IF u have received an unconditional offer letter from the oversea university that u have applied. actually, u can only apply IF u have the offer letter. if dont have, then cannot lah. (this supports darkages' statement).

iii. so to apply to oversea universities, they will require A-level or STPM or equivalent for a degree course. and mind u, malaysian scholarships only offer to a degree programme and above. so no diploma or a-levels overseas.
so to put it simply:

after spm, get ur a-levels/STPM.
with that result, apply to the oversea university.
with the offer letter, apply for sponsorship.
My understanding is, after SPM, u can get a scholarship from JPA, Pertonas, etc., and from there, get full scholarship for A level in the country AND first degree overseas, not degree only.. Am I correct?
Another question; Can I enter Malaysian Uni with A levels? What r my chances when stacked up beside STPM and Matric students?

Another important question; I want to go to England in Jan or Feb for a holiday. But I'm afraid that during my absence, scholarships and UTP will open for application. Should I phone them to ask specifically when the adverts in newspapers will come out, or will it be an online application where I don't need to sign anything, therefore not worry?
And for how long do they open registration? Untill SPM results? Thanks a million.

feynman
post Dec 19 2005, 01:24 AM

4,781 posts

Entering local public universities with A-levels? Impossible, unless you are doing weird courses.....

No...don't go anywhere during that critical period. Besides people will usually visit the UK during summer, that is the holiday season, warmer too.
azarimy
post Dec 19 2005, 02:00 AM

10,672 posts

My understanding is, after SPM, u can get a scholarship from JPA, Pertonas, etc., and from there, get full scholarship for A level in the country AND first degree overseas, not degree only.. Am I correct?
here's what i know.

u can get a scholarship for A-levels, and later, another one for degree. i have not heard of anyone getting a single scholarship for both studies. and i think it's more realistic for JPA, coz top students in SPM doesnt always score during A-levels.

so basically, whether u pay for ur own or get a scholarship for A-levels, u will still need to apply for scholarships from JPA. but i will try and check this matter. i mean, if didnt hear it happening, doesnt mean it couldnt biggrin.gif.

Another question; Can I enter Malaysian Uni with A levels? What r my chances when stacked up beside STPM and Matric students?

actually, u could. this was made available as an option to malaysian IPTAs i think since several years back, but wasnt very popular, since it's generally easier to take foundation or matriculation. virtually all students take A-levels to further studies abroad, and did not realize that they could use it to apply for local universities as well.

u could clarify this matter by going to the local university websites, under admission or prospectus. sometimes they only indicate this under "international students admissions", which is weird.

but i've had several students in UTM who got into the course using A-levels. so i can confirm this matter. atleast for UTM.
santos
post Dec 20 2005, 03:53 PM

124 posts

I messed up my spm examination so i am afraid of my results.Do u think a computer engineer course need a good results because i wish to get that course....
azarimy
post Dec 20 2005, 04:59 PM

10,672 posts

dude, u dont need a good result to become a good engineer. it's all about attitude.

but u DO NEED a good result to join any engineering course! anyways, u wont be joining any engineering courses with SPM results. go get ur STPM or A-levels!
evofantasy
post Dec 20 2005, 09:14 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

well...
i just finished my SPM and i was thinking of going to a college to further my studies...
i'm a science stream student and i got straight As for my trials...
so i was wondering wut would be suitable for me...
i am kinda interested in computers and stuff like that and i was thinking about software engineering or computer engineering...
so any ideas on which course should i pick and wut college should i go to?
and which college got the best partner Universities for this field...
kinda interrested for a career in intel...
Thanks...

PS i'm not wealthy so is there any scholarships that i may apply (either by the college itself or outside)
Thanks again...

doinkz_gaara
post Dec 21 2005, 12:26 AM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

all A levels lead to abroad? O_O
Datuk di atas pokok
post Dec 21 2005, 03:46 PM

15 posts

u can get a scholarship for A-levels, and later, another one for degree. i have not heard of anyone getting a single scholarship for both studies. and i think it's more realistic for JPA, coz top students in SPM doesnt always score during A-levels.

JPA does pay for ur pre-u too if you get it after spm. i got an offer for both my alevels and degree studies.

well...
i just finished my SPM and i was thinking of going to a college to further my studies...
i'm a science stream student and i got straight As for my trials...
so i was wondering wut would be suitable for me...
i am kinda interested in computers and stuff like that and i was thinking about software engineering or computer engineering...
so any ideas on which course should i pick and wut college should i go to?
and which college got the best partner Universities for this field...
kinda interrested for a career in intel...
Thanks...
apply to the US for undergraduate studies. syllabus there is really flexible and u don't have to know exactly what you want when you apply. see Studying in the US if you don't get JPA or Petronas
azarimy
post Dec 21 2005, 05:07 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Datuk di atas pokok @ Dec 21 2005, 03:46 PM)
JPA does pay for ur pre-u too if you get it after spm. i got an offer for both my alevels and degree studies.
u should share ur experience exactly, preferably in chronological order, coz it would be easier for us to refer the matter for other SPM leavers. u know, like a precedence or something.
y@m@d@_iToE
post Dec 28 2005, 02:37 AM

131 posts

i have oredi make up my mind 2 study architecture.... now... i jz finished my spm.... so shud i stil go to stpm/ a level or straight go to diploma...

40 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0146sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 05:38 PM