Stitchy® w/o stitches
Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education
Jan 4 2006, 11:54 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Science Stream will offer wide choice in your later degree seeking.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Jan 6 2006, 10:57 PM
^Worst comes to worst, go for Form 6.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Jan 6 2006, 11:08 PM
Of course, it's a passport for you to gain access to local university.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Mar 12 2006, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 10 2006, 10:45 AM) It is an exam, Malaysian University English Test. IELTS for those who want to pursue their degrees in UK or Australia while TOEFL is for those who want to get a degreee in US.it is just like IELTS and TOEFL.....who studies for them? QUOTE(zhaomeng @ Mar 12 2006, 10:07 AM) SPM's coming out tomorrow...good luck to all 2005 SPM candidates, wish u guys get good results.. 2 Chemistry subjects?I thought for STPM(Science), it's PA, 2 Maths, Chem, plus Bio OR Chem? Altogether 5 sub... that's what a batch of my friends did- be warned tho...STPM maths is NOT easy- my friend is complaining bout it and to think he's a maths pro... just be prepared... |
Mar 12 2006, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 12 2006, 04:16 PM) Not neccesarily, IELTS alone can get you to almost anywhere. Unless you are applying to an american university which specifically asks for TOEFL, IELTS is acceptable. Similarly, TOEFL is also accepted everywhere. The bad thing about TOEFL is that you need to pay ETS if you want additional score reports and TOEFL is not as universal as IELTS, as it only tests one on american english. IELTS has a mixture of everything. Yes, IELTS is a recognizable worldwide and more popular than TOEFL. My friend took IELTS before and he told me that it's not an easy paper.This post has been edited by David83: Mar 12 2006, 04:19 PM |
Mar 12 2006, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 12 2006, 04:21 PM) true, not easy if one is not a frequent english speaker. Well, for Malaysian student, it may be a great as English is not our first language and mother tongue. Those scores are very typical and most universities require a score within the range of 5.5 to 6.5 for admission.A typical college student would easily score some where between 6.5-8.5 |
Mar 12 2006, 07:43 PM
Even tough you can get a A1 or 1A in SPM, that doesn't guarantee a "1" for your GCE-O 1119.
Mar 12 2006, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(zhaomeng @ Mar 12 2006, 08:12 PM) yeah- that's what I said...1119 is the main thing here, forget SPM English- it's lousy enough... score 1119 means u'll *mostly* score SPM English, but not vice versa... Very seldom English teachers will ask their student to aim or score in the GCE-O level. SPM calons- focus when u write ur compo n summary- they account for 1119...do ur best there!! O...i got 1A for both 1119 and SPM English... for me, the best way is to forget essay references and start reading Reader's Digest...right now...lolz Congratulation to you since you get an one in GCE-O. |
Mar 12 2006, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(zhaomeng @ Mar 12 2006, 08:21 PM) wow...quick reply... Worst come to the worst, sit for IELTS as I did observe that not many could really score 1 in GCE-O. Well, few of my frens got rejected to singapore becoz of english grades not good...and they look for 1119... so they have to either retake or do another test as mentioned b4...troublesome isn't it? so strive when u got the chance- try ur best to score in 1119 lo...lolz This post has been edited by David83: Mar 12 2006, 08:26 PM |
Mar 12 2006, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(zhaomeng @ Mar 12 2006, 09:16 PM) MUET is only applicable in Malaysian sense. If you're going to overseas after your STPM, it may not help much. It may be a foolish idea to go to overseas after STPM.This post has been edited by David83: Mar 12 2006, 09:19 PM |
Mar 13 2006, 07:51 PM
STPM is recognized but MUET not.
Mar 15 2006, 12:29 AM
Mar 15 2006, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(sukun @ Mar 15 2006, 01:04 PM) haha...i got A1 for 1119... Same subject and paper but two evaluation schemes. One from MOE and the other from GCE. That means your SPM certificate will show two grades for English 1119.damn for EST that i got B3...can't understand why btw....got other english paper meh? why crimsonhead said got A1 for english and B3 for 1119? two different subject ka? |
Mar 15 2006, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(sukun @ Mar 15 2006, 01:20 PM) oh yeah...no wonder my 1119 there got two grades...the right right side there don know what GCE something with the number 4.... MOE is Malaysian Ministry of Education.MOE AND GCE IS WHAT? MAY YOU TELL ME? GCE is UK board which stands General Certificate of Education. |
Mar 17 2006, 12:00 PM
Dr@gon, you shouldn't post in this thread. There's a dedicated thread discussing all doubts in online IPTA application.
| Change to: | 0.0286sec
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:31 PM |