Why wait till April or July?
Start your A-level now, that way, you'll be in university in the fall of 2009.
Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education
Jan 13 2008, 11:30 PM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Why wait till April or July?
Start your A-level now, that way, you'll be in university in the fall of 2009. |
Jan 14 2008, 03:44 PM
2 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Thank u for the reply. I'm visiting my dad in the uk, it's not optional.
Oh and i don't plan on entering in July, i was hoping i would still be considered for the march intake if i enter in the beginning of April. Hence my question, would i still be eligible for the march intake if i enter in the first week of april? This post has been edited by MusicJunkie: Jan 14 2008, 03:49 PM |
Jan 14 2008, 05:35 PM
7 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Can i take my diploma in Uitm ( Which supposed to be a 3 year thing) and maybe after 1 year or so i get my credits transferred to US universities?
Jan 15 2008, 06:13 AM
QUOTE(MusicJunkie @ Jan 14 2008, 03:44 PM) Thank u for the reply. I'm visiting my dad in the uk, it's not optional. Possible, you have to check with Taylor's and HELP. You should know that the march intake at both colleges are express courses. Depending on what subjects that you are going to take, HELP wouldn't be a wise choice if you are starting in March.Oh and i don't plan on entering in July, i was hoping i would still be considered for the march intake if i enter in the beginning of April. Hence my question, would i still be eligible for the march intake if i enter in the first week of april? |
Jan 18 2008, 01:19 AM
102 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: somewhere in the middle of chaos |
hey everyone,
does anyone have a list of schools in kajang that offers Form 6... I'm seriously starting to consider Form 6 especially now that A-levels are kind of looked down upon by US colleges. FYI, i want to take Biology, Chemistry, Physics... Help is appreciated... This post has been edited by shinseijiro90: Jan 18 2008, 01:21 AM |
Jan 18 2008, 07:44 PM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I heard STPM was Rank NO.3 in the world . I then dug up frm veteran n found out tht STPM was Rank TOP 10 in the world 30 years ago . Now is 200++ . But does US colleges think tht STPM higher standards?
Jan 19 2008, 09:23 AM
330 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang , Seberang Jaya |
QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 22 2005, 10:03 AM) 3) Don't give up just because you messed up your SPM results. Remember that results are not everything, it's just a measurement tools to see how well you fair in school, stick it to your mind that A doesn't mean everything and results only meant something, not everything. There's always a second chance for you to improve yourself like foundation courses or form 6. [FONT=Times]Hi there,, I woould like to ask about how if i mess up with form six??? I have no other choice or to study f6 like those in form 5 now.... n my family financial not allow me to go private college and UNIversity, so if I get bad course in public Uni...wat mz I do???? go out to work??? |
Jan 19 2008, 07:02 PM
102 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: somewhere in the middle of chaos |
If i enter matriculation, after a graduate, can i apply to an American college/ university? (using my matriculation assessments/results)
I heard that if i enter matrics then i can only go to local public universities to persue my degree but i don't want to, I want to continue my education in US. Help.... I'd rather take STPM, but people are saying that it doesn't guarantee me a place in a university( like i don't know that already!). I have to get really good grades to keep persuing my education but i don't think that it's a big deal if i have to work harder to achieve success in my STPM and get myself a place in a university because i've deserved it and not merely because i've passed matriculation and am elligible for a place in that way. What's so wrong in working hard for something ??!! Everyone's saying matriculation is easier which is why i should take it but surely having something handed on a platter to you is not as great as getting it yourself by way of hard work and preservation ??!!! What is wrong with the world ??!!! |
Jan 20 2008, 02:29 AM
QUOTE(shinseijiro90 @ Jan 18 2008, 01:19 AM) hey everyone, Where did you get that piece of nonsense from?does anyone have a list of schools in kajang that offers Form 6... I'm seriously starting to consider Form 6 especially now that A-levels are kind of looked down upon by US colleges. FYI, i want to take Biology, Chemistry, Physics... Help is appreciated... The US accepts everything, even those home-schooled kids. The reason is because regardless of what you did in school, you still have to take the SATs and write a very pieces of admission essays. QUOTE(shinseijiro90 @ Jan 19 2008, 07:02 PM) If i enter matriculation, after a graduate, can i apply to an American college/ university? (using my matriculation assessments/results) That said, it is possible to use matriculation to go to the US. The application process wouldn't be that easy though. As you would need to have reports from your matriculation college, your college counsellors and all those paper work. With all due respects to the college, it might be a problem for the college to release documents in english. I heard that if i enter matrics then i can only go to local public universities to persue my degree but i don't want to, I want to continue my education in US. Help.... I'd rather take STPM, but people are saying that it doesn't guarantee me a place in a university( like i don't know that already!). I have to get really good grades to keep persuing my education but i don't think that it's a big deal if i have to work harder to achieve success in my STPM and get myself a place in a university because i've deserved it and not merely because i've passed matriculation and am elligible for a place in that way. What's so wrong in working hard for something ??!! Everyone's saying matriculation is easier which is why i should take it but surely having something handed on a platter to you is not as great as getting it yourself by way of hard work and preservation ??!!! What is wrong with the world ??!!! Don't forget that the admission officers of the universities that you are applying to may be clueless on how this whole matriculation thing works. That is probably so because, it is rare for matriculation holders to go places like the States. |
Jan 20 2008, 11:33 PM
330 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang , Seberang Jaya |
Can I ask something?? What is the course availableis really the 1 we dont like or hated??? or useless in future and we cant afford to study in public??? start working?? or continue study something dislike??
Added on January 20, 2008, 11:36 pm QUOTE(extreme.k @ Jul 8 2007, 12:59 PM) Hypothetical saying if I have obtain a diploma in any of the public college (etc Taylor diploma in Business) and I don want to join any of there pathway University at oversea, where I intend to join the local university (etc. UM, UPM) will there accept my diploma to enter into there bachelor program. If possible try not to take up STPM... waste time... and u are not sure of can get wat u 1 even 4.0Thank and peace Added on July 8, 2007, 12:19 pmGuy, If I want to go for Business and Finance road, which root will you guy recommend taking into account money factor, acceptable factor and quality factor. 1. SPM > STPM > Local or Foreign U (for both do I still need to start from 1st year or jump to 2nd yrs?) 2. SPM > Diploma in Business (planning to join Taylor) > 2nd yrs Foreign U (Can I apply with local U?) In additional speed will not be a factor as either way I think it will take about 4 1/2 yrs. Currently I'm Join 1st Yrs form 6 at MBS. Urgent advice . (diploma intake sometime around 12 july) This post has been edited by GuaRantopia: Jan 20 2008, 11:36 PM |
Jan 20 2008, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(GuaRantopia @ Jan 20 2008, 11:33 PM) Can I ask something?? What is the course availableis really the 1 we dont like or hated??? or useless in future and we cant afford to study in public??? start working?? or continue study something dislike?? If you can't get the course that you want, you can still go overseas.Added on January 20, 2008, 11:36 pm If possible try not to take up STPM... waste time... and u are not sure of can get wat u 1 even 4.0 |
Jan 21 2008, 12:02 AM
33 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kelantan |
hi, everyone can tell me which one is more worth?
diploma, foundation, a-level or stpm? i'm spm 2007 leaver, waiting results, i sat for 12 subjects, all got a except bc, now dunno wat is my ambition, my favourite subject is add math n physics, but i dont like account so much, i dunno wat course i would like to take in my tertiary edu.. any suggestions, thanks.. |
Jan 21 2008, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(myself_psl @ Jan 21 2008, 12:02 AM) hi, everyone can tell me which one is more worth? Do you want to go overseas? Want to have a shot at IPTAs?diploma, foundation, a-level or stpm? i'm spm 2007 leaver, waiting results, i sat for 12 subjects, all got a except bc, now dunno wat is my ambition, my favourite subject is add math n physics, but i dont like account so much, i dunno wat course i would like to take in my tertiary edu.. any suggestions, thanks.. |
Jan 21 2008, 12:30 PM
1,282 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang,Seberang Jaya |
QUOTE(myself_psl @ Jan 21 2008, 12:02 AM) hi, everyone can tell me which one is more worth? Dun take for STPM for sure...wasting time...And it is tougher than before(SPM)....diploma, foundation, a-level or stpm? i'm spm 2007 leaver, waiting results, i sat for 12 subjects, all got a except bc, now dunno wat is my ambition, my favourite subject is add math n physics, but i dont like account so much, i dunno wat course i would like to take in my tertiary edu.. any suggestions, thanks.. |
Jan 22 2008, 06:05 PM
22 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(MusicJunkie @ Jan 13 2008, 05:43 PM) and since my post is actually just me rambling, i'll break it down: ok for your case, hmm... y dun you go to some college tat can offer you A-level at April? - Taylor's or Help? - Will i be able to apply in april, though the intake is in march. - A-Level subjects appropriate with my career choice. - Undergraduate degree course suggestions. - The realities on my way to become a music journalist. hmm.... actually for me, i will more prefer to go to study the subject which i like. coz only this way i can concentrate in my study. if you want me to go to the subject which im not interested, i definely cannot get the good result. Added on January 22, 2008, 6:06 pm QUOTE(DragonMebius @ Jan 21 2008, 12:30 PM) Added on January 22, 2008, 6:10 pm QUOTE(myself_psl @ Jan 21 2008, 12:02 AM) hi, everyone can tell me which one is more worth? is not necessery tat u have to take account. you can go for engineering or achitect also can..diploma, foundation, a-level or stpm? i'm spm 2007 leaver, waiting results, i sat for 12 subjects, all got a except bc, now dunno wat is my ambition, my favourite subject is add math n physics, but i dont like account so much, i dunno wat course i would like to take in my tertiary edu.. any suggestions, thanks.. for me.. my favourite subject also math. but now im choosing business... any thing you can msn me.. >> cute-snow@hotmail.com / snw_ying@yahoo.com This post has been edited by cute_baby_snow: Jan 22 2008, 06:10 PM |
Jan 22 2008, 08:58 PM
33 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kelantan |
QUOTE(feynman @ Jan 21 2008, 01:07 AM) of course, i hope can go oversea, but no money, jpa de chance too low.. any idea?Added on January 22, 2008, 9:00 pm QUOTE(cute_baby_snow @ Jan 22 2008, 07:05 PM) ok for your case, hmm... y dun you go to some college tat can offer you A-level at April? thank for ur opinion, but engineering is too wide, dunno want concentrate on wat//?hmm.... actually for me, i will more prefer to go to study the subject which i like. coz only this way i can concentrate in my study. if you want me to go to the subject which im not interested, i definely cannot get the good result. Added on January 22, 2008, 6:06 pm Added on January 22, 2008, 6:10 pm is not necessery tat u have to take account. you can go for engineering or achitect also can.. for me.. my favourite subject also math. but now im choosing business... any thing you can msn me.. >> cute-snow@hotmail.com / snw_ying@yahoo.com u take business?. i heard too many take it, dont u think it a waste?... ur family do business? Added on January 22, 2008, 9:02 pm QUOTE(DragonMebius @ Jan 21 2008, 01:30 PM) how u know?..but the stpm is worth than diploma.. This post has been edited by myself_psl: Jan 22 2008, 09:02 PM |
Jan 22 2008, 11:17 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
Jan 22 2008, 11:21 PM
Jan 30 2008, 05:27 PM
1,196 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
""i. study for STPM
STPM is accepted as an A-level qualification. some places regard this paper as even higher than A-level, but lets not touch on that. STPM is cheap. it's quite broad, covers a variety of subjects, and open for all. u can study/sit for STPM almost everywhere in malaysia. and it's quite easy to get in (compared to my time...) STPM is also internationally recognized, so if u passed ur STPM, u can apply anywhere u want. be advised that u might need an IELTS or TOEFL to prove ur english proficiency (costs around RM400-RM550)"" Y need IELTS or TOEFL to prove our english level? MUET not enuf to prove ?? To complete whole IELTS course, how much v need? As i noe, it won't be RM400-RM550 tat cheap... This post has been edited by louis6: Jan 30 2008, 05:28 PM |
Feb 4 2008, 12:29 AM
331 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Petaling Jaya , Selangor |
How much does it cost to finish ur A-levels course?
If u want cheap and fast i would suggest that u try matriculation either offered by the government or private unis like UNITEN, MMU and so on (which will be more expensive) U save 1 year and u do not have to wait few months for ur result to be released... |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:02 AM |