finally flashlight can work now.. need to access from menu to open app, and toggle 2time the on/off button..
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V19, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first
Nov 13 2011, 10:29 PM
789 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
finally flashlight can work now.. need to access from menu to open app, and toggle 2time the on/off button..
Nov 13 2011, 10:37 PM
3,699 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 13 2011, 10:24 PM) my sgs2 now with dad note g note Now they're pushing uncle benny to take over since ts didn't update first page. Later when uncle benny fill up the first page complain to many info. Really hard to please people eh.. |
Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM
31 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
hey guys, Im planning to switch to the sgsII. my first time using an android platform. I'm just a little bit concerned bout malwares and spywares that attack the android os causing your personal information to land in the wrong hands. I do not want sensitive infomation such as emails and other personal data to land in the wrong hands.
Will security softwares such as Lookout help identify and rectify these security threats? How common does these kind of attacks happen? and lastly, has anyone experienced these kind of problems before? This post has been edited by JackLee88: Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM |
Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
This club is so organize and informative because of Uncle Benny was here
Nov 13 2011, 10:53 PM
1,427 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Northern |
QUOTE(JackLee88 @ Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM) hey guys, Im planning to switch to the sgsII. my first time using an android platform. I'm just a little bit concerned bout malwares and spywares that attack the android os causing your personal information to land in the wrong hands. I do not want sensitive infomation such as emails and other personal data to land in the wrong hands. as long as you dont access blackmarket or download pirated stuff..then you are good..Will security softwares such as Lookout help identify and rectify these security threats? How common does these kind of attacks happen? and lastly, has anyone experienced these kind of problems before? |
Nov 13 2011, 10:54 PM
150 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
just bought galaxy s2 white, about 4 days back. my first android phone. what you guys talk in this thread are so advance, i am all fuzzy already with the terms when i first read this thread. luckily TS posted various good readings at the first page. thumbs up
Nov 13 2011, 11:00 PM
162 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(leymahn @ Nov 13 2011, 10:54 PM) just bought galaxy s2 white, about 4 days back. my first android phone. what you guys talk in this thread are so advance, i am all fuzzy already with the terms when i first read this thread. luckily TS posted various good readings at the first page. thumbs up wat is ur android version?2.3.5 or 2.3.6? |
Nov 13 2011, 11:05 PM
3,699 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(leymahn @ Nov 13 2011, 10:54 PM) just bought galaxy s2 white, about 4 days back. my first android phone. what you guys talk in this thread are so advance, i am all fuzzy already with the terms when i first read this thread. luckily TS posted various good readings at the first page. thumbs up Don't worry, i was overwhelm when i first join the thread as well but you'll get the hang of it after awhile. Plus don't be afraid to ask simple question here if you are unsure of anything after reading the first page |
Nov 13 2011, 11:12 PM
150 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
and i did not know what on earth is root, kernal and so many other things that come out on this thread. but slowly picking up things. little by little |
Nov 13 2011, 11:27 PM
10,873 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(leymahn @ Nov 13 2011, 11:12 PM) 2.3.5 You don't have to know those things yet. Take your time. The device works very well as it is without need to root, change roms or kernel. Look for apps in android market to make the best of our device.and i did not know what on earth is root, kernal and so many other things that come out on this thread. but slowly picking up things. little by little |
Nov 13 2011, 11:33 PM
649 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I'm curious on what operations or which apps do actually need the 2nd core to work well. After turning off the 2nd core for about a day, testing games, apps and web browsing, I find no difference at all from turning dynamic hot plug on.
Nov 13 2011, 11:42 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10110011001110 Status: Missing |
the core can be turned off? so by default, this phone running in single core or dual core?
Nov 13 2011, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(Assclown @ Nov 13 2011, 11:33 PM) I'm curious on what operations or which apps do actually need the 2nd core to work well. After turning off the 2nd core for about a day, testing games, apps and web browsing, I find no difference at all from turning dynamic hot plug on. Most app and majority of games dun need 2 cores. Everything i have on my SGS2 now runs smoothly on my single core 1ghz HD2 before apart from some games. I believe 2 cores only come in useful when doing heavy multitasking or running games with high requirements. In fact once we get ICS which should maximize the use of our GPU, the load on the CPU should be even less.Added on November 13, 2011, 11:45 pm QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 13 2011, 11:42 PM) Default the kernel will auto manage the cores, when heavy cpu load 2 cores, when low load single core.This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 13 2011, 11:45 PM |
Nov 13 2011, 11:46 PM
649 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 13 2011, 11:42 PM) by default it is running Dynamic Hotplug, which means only 1 core is on, then 2nd core comes on when its needed. Using custom kernels like Siyah's latest allow you to change it to run only on 1 core permanently. (with the help of an app called "2nd core") |
Nov 13 2011, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 13 2011, 11:44 PM) Most app and majority of games dun need 2 cores. Everything i have on my SGS2 now runs smoothly on my single core 1ghz HD2 before apart from some games. I believe 2 cores only come in useful when doing heavy multitasking or running games with high requirements. In fact once we get ICS which should maximize the use of our GPU, the load on the CPU should be even less. Thanks! just got SGS2 few days back, and right now learning the basic terms before rooted/flashed the firmware.Added on November 13, 2011, 11:45 pm Default the kernel will auto manage the cores, when heavy cpu load 2 cores, when low load single core. From my understanding, flashing ROM = re-installing OS, correct? Can I flashing my ROM without flashing the kernel? Is by flashing the ROM, I'll be considered as ROOT-USER ? |
Nov 13 2011, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 13 2011, 11:49 PM) Thanks! just got SGS2 few days back, and right now learning the basic terms before rooted/flashed the firmware. ur s2 back from service centre?From my understanding, flashing ROM = re-installing OS, correct? Can I flashing my ROM without flashing the kernel? Is by flashing the ROM, I'll be considered as ROOT-USER ? |
Nov 13 2011, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(xortz @ Nov 13 2011, 11:49 PM) Thanks! just got SGS2 few days back, and right now learning the basic terms before rooted/flashed the firmware. G or non G. Be careful of your version before flashing anything. From my understanding, flashing ROM = re-installing OS, correct? Can I flashing my ROM without flashing the kernel? Is by flashing the ROM, I'll be considered as ROOT-USER ? Yes, flashing rom is similar to reinstalling OS but different version. Most if not all rom comes with their preferred kernel. Custom ROM will root your device official rom will not root. This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 13 2011, 11:54 PM |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
31,608 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 13 2011, 10:37 PM) Now they're pushing uncle benny to take over since ts didn't update first page. Later when uncle benny fill up the first page complain to many info. Really hard to please people eh.. haha ya i agreethat TS didn't update at all =.= QUOTE(yehlai @ Nov 13 2011, 10:51 PM) +1QUOTE(leymahn @ Nov 13 2011, 11:12 PM) 2.3.5 haha slowly learn for itand i did not know what on earth is root, kernal and so many other things that come out on this thread. but slowly picking up things. little by little |
Nov 14 2011, 12:05 AM
| Change to: | 0.0278sec