5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

New Fibre ISP Coming To Ipoh, For Landed Homes. Anyone Knows?

billy_overheat
post Dec 7 2011, 09:51 AM

3,373 posts

my area is monopolized by maxis. there's no way for me to use unifi even it is here........ZzzZzzzzzzzzzz

TSiipohbee
post Dec 7 2011, 10:05 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 7 2011, 01:51 AM)
What do you call those boxes?
The smaller ones labelled with Cxxx are called FDP cabinets.It is where you organized all the fibre cables that are separated from the (1xN) splitter.

The large ones you can call them remote DSLAMs, MSAN cabinets or AT&T calls them UVerse calls them VRADs.

Added on December 7, 2011, 10:08 am
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Dec 7 2011, 09:51 AM)
my area is monopolized by maxis. there's no way for me to use unifi even it is here........ZzzZzzzzzzzzzz
If your area has been monopolized by Maxis, then the ADSL service in your area must be real good.

I heard they use very good equipment compared to TM. They have been using Stingers by Alcatel-Lucent and DHCP assignment.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 7 2011, 10:08 AM
totally_skint
post Dec 7 2011, 08:42 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Dec 7 2011, 10:05 AM)
The smaller ones labelled with Cxxx are called FDP cabinets.It is where you organized all the fibre cables that are separated from the (1xN) splitter.

The large ones you can call them remote DSLAMs, MSAN cabinets or AT&T calls them UVerse calls them VRADs.
Thanks iipohbee.

Looking up Google:-

FDP = Fibre Distribution Panel (also Filho Da Puta - Portuguese for Son Of b**** tongue.gif )
DSLAM = Digital Subscriber Line Access Multiplexer
MSAN = Multi-Service Access Node
TSiipohbee
post Dec 11 2011, 04:33 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Nov 20 2011, 01:12 AM)
The entrance to the shortcut to Greentown, nearby Menteri Besar house.
That "yellow stripped" line has been pulled into the MB's Residence alone. That exclusive line for his residence use.
AjkR06
post Dec 11 2011, 04:54 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

Just came back from Ipoh...
I noticed that there are "small" Unifi Cabinet around the Army Camp Area (Not sure where it is)...
It was labelled as "TSK xxxxx" something....
Some more, most of the phone polls around Ipoh have two types of cables hanging on it...
Above one is existing copper infrastructure and below the copper cable, there is fibre cable with yellow strip underneath the cable.... biggrin.gif But unfortunately, there's no Fibre Distribution box seen yet.... sad.gif
Location : Around the Pantai Puteri Hospital... (Greentown perhaps)

Image taken from : Puncak Jalil Community Forum

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Dec 11 2011, 04:55 PM
TSiipohbee
post Dec 11 2011, 10:24 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 11 2011, 04:54 PM)
Just came back from Ipoh...
I noticed that there are "small" Unifi Cabinet around the Army Camp Area (Not sure where it is)...
It was labelled as "TSK xxxxx" something....
Some more, most of the phone polls around Ipoh have two types of cables hanging on it...
Above one is existing copper infrastructure and below the copper cable, there is fibre cable with yellow strip underneath the cable....  biggrin.gif  But unfortunately, there's no Fibre Distribution box seen yet....  sad.gif
Location : Around the Pantai Puteri Hospital... (Greentown perhaps)

Image taken from : Puncak Jalil Community Forum
If you want to have more look at them go behind De Garden Mall and drive around the housing area.
The cables there mostly hanging with the yellow stripped cable and you can find a few FDP cabinets with TSK Cxxx around.

You can also find such cables in front of the Sikh Gurdwara Temple near Purnama Army Mart near the stadium on the way to Greentown.

Your eyes must be sharp to notice the yellow stripped cables.It's harder to locate at night.

You don't need to find a FDP cabinet around to have the service. On the poles sometimes you see there's a cylinder shaped black box which looks exactly like this:

That's where they splice the fibre into many branches from 1 single lead fibre strand to few premises.Usually 1:4 from each pole.

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:24 pmGot new tong sampah just outside the house with green stripped fibre on TNB poles.

With stinky socks on top

Nearer picture

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 10 2012, 10:24 PM
ezinger
post Jan 15 2012, 01:06 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

i have a *theory* that maxis is reselling for TM and then leasing it to other ISP like Time and Jaring.

so maxis doesn't really need to sell their own fiber broadband packages but other ISP like Jaring and Time can lease from maxis to sell their own fiber packages to consumers.

thoughts?
TSiipohbee
post Jan 15 2012, 01:27 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Jan 15 2012, 01:06 AM)
i have a *theory* that maxis is reselling for TM and then leasing it to other ISP like Time and Jaring.

so maxis doesn't really need to sell their own fiber broadband packages but other ISP like Jaring and Time can lease from maxis to sell their own fiber packages to consumers.

thoughts?
I can confirm the infrastructure being built here in Ipoh is owned by Maxis.

The round manhole cover that they used to cover the routes/drains they dug and installed on the ground has "Maxis" labelled on it.They have locks on them.They have been installed just very recent.

The older Maxis manhole covers are different which are rectangular concrete type.
azrin_kiko
post Mar 16 2012, 06:14 PM

634 posts

I've also seen TM are installing the yellow striped cable on my town in sabah...
masaka
post May 23 2012, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 9 2011, 07:17 PM)
Can some insider from the fibre cable industry share with us what is this about?

Pictures inside:

"Projek Pemasangan Kabel Jalur Lebar Berkelajuan Rendah":lol: going on in my housing area  starting last month which is non TM related.

They are installing new poles similar to TM telephone poles(but are not) and also running them on existing TNB electricity poles.
Those cables NEVER touches TM poles for some reasons.

The unfamiliar recognition with those cables are that they have GREEN stripes instead of YELLOW owned by TM Unifi's.

I had the opportunity to ask supervisor of the cable contractor on the job and he says it's going to be used for Maxis upcoming cable TV and broadband project something between the lines.

I'm very heppi now that finally some competing ISPs is now hearing the pleas of Ipoh residents since TM has been depriving us of Unifi for so long.

Thank you for hearing the needs of Ipoh residents. rclxms.gif

Looks like some other telco player is helping lay fibre optic in Ipoh earlier than TM. Kuddos to them. icon_rolleyes.gif
When got Maxis fibre in Pasir Putih surround housing?

I am interested.
KAHAK
post Jul 29 2012, 03:33 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Nov 9 2011, 08:26 PM)
No signs of Unifi until now at postcode: 31650 where Pasir Putih, Pengkalan and new Aeon Station 18 is located nearby.

Now the only Unifi infrastructure seen only in 31400 which is Tasek exchange (Kg Simee, Taman Shukor, Tambun Baru, Sunway & part of Ipoh Garden). That also still many areas such as Canning Garden, Fair Park all nothig seen yet.

Also Jelapang 30020 is yet to be available in their Unifi availability site check.

If TM going to start laying at Pasir Putih, maybe another 2 years from now lah.

Added on November 9, 2011, 8:31 pm

Tasek/Ipoh Garden/part of Bercham postcode is already available for registration for Unifi with 31400

Jelapang is 30020

Pasir Putih/Pinji is 31650

You can check here:

http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?Itemid...nt&view=article
when is gonna happen? thumbup.gif
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 29 2012, 05:30 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(KAHAK @ Jul 29 2012, 03:33 AM)
when is gonna happen? thumbup.gif
Those look like backhaul uplinks to telco towers/base stations.

Nothing to do with fixed lines. If got fixed lines, you will see FDCs(fibre distrbution cabinets) along the road nearby.

TS got pics of Maxis cabinets nearby? Or drop boxes on poles in front of the house?

If none, then those cables are mostly for LTE base station uplinks.
KAHAK
post Jul 29 2012, 09:11 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jul 29 2012, 05:30 PM)
Those look like backhaul uplinks to telco towers/base stations.

Nothing to do with fixed lines. If got fixed lines, you will see FDCs(fibre distrbution cabinets) along the road nearby.

TS got pics of Maxis cabinets nearby? Or drop boxes on poles in front of the house?

If none, then those cables are mostly for LTE base station uplinks.
if jaring bb go back to no1 we can choose a to boikoit tm and the menteri besar perak can launch a broadband war!!!
Ahn3hn3h
post Jul 29 2012, 11:10 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(KAHAK @ Jul 29 2012, 09:11 PM)
if jaring bb go back to no1 we can choose a to boikoit tm and the menteri besar perak can launch a broadband war!!!
You want to see improvement? Start the boycott by not voting for him in the next GE.

In Penang here opposition gave Time more preferences in wiring up Georgetown and Batu Feringghi condominiums. That's why Time have very good coverage and strong customer based on Penang Island. TM covers Bayan Baru and mainland mostly.

Your Jaring was strong during last time opposition ruling in Perak. After they seize the state, Jaring is seldom heard already.

New government will give you more choices and favor places where your current MB avoid today. They'll do the opposite.

fadzioriq
post Jul 30 2012, 06:28 AM

93 posts

I wonder when my housing area will be covered. My postcode is 30020 too but in meru. website says only Puncak Jelapang Maju~
KAHAK
post Jul 30 2012, 06:51 AM

181 posts

Jaring bb also good since they the frist ISP in malaysia back in 1992!
BaZingLa
post Aug 11 2012, 02:20 AM

83 posts

is taking toooooo longgggggggggggggg..................... is this real?!

fadzioriq
post Aug 11 2012, 01:55 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(fadzioriq @ Jul 30 2012, 06:28 AM)
I wonder when my housing area will be covered. My postcode is 30020 too but in meru. website says only Puncak Jelapang Maju~
wait, last thursday just saw TM workers installing the yellow stripe cable and a sign saying Internet berkelajuan tinggi at the road near my house~yeay! They read this thread perhaps? haha~
SUSash tray
post Apr 11 2013, 06:17 PM

Any latest news ?
propertymart
post Oct 12 2013, 01:00 AM

288 posts

http://i.imgur.com/uceZI.jpg

What is this green thing ? outside my house got 1 0.0 ?? means area very good for unifi ??? how about astro??

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0228sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:33 PM