126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

V5 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

Mavik
post Nov 30 2011, 03:36 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:47 PM)
Ello, been following this thread for quite some time now.

Initially I wanted to get a 1.4 Roc by pushing my budget to the limit but when I went to the showroom yesterday and tested out the golf 1.4 I was equally surprised by the acceleration thrill though the exterior seems a tad normal.

The SA advice me to go for Golf and with the extra budget to do some modification instead, so here are my questions hope some Golf TSI sifu's can advice.

1) Current package I got was 3 free service, 8K + 5K overtrade, go for it or wait for next batch 2012?
2) Any rumors for the new batch of 2012 golf's? (Sunroof, push start etc)
3) Front bumper not so nice, is there anyone modded their Golf TSI to other BK?
4) 16" Atlanta rims require to change, what is the recommended 17" Inch rims? I heard most people get the denver and polished to detroits, how do they actually do that?
5) I heard stage 1 upgrade by ABT is more expensive because it includes insurance but other upgrades from APR etc is cheaper, so what are the risks and recommended stage 1 upgrade?

Too many questions, too little to answer, hope the Golf 1.4 Sifu modders can provide some info here.
1) Why not wait for a month and see if you can snag a pre-registered 2011 car. You might get better discounts.
2) No idea on the next batch, they always keep it a very tight secret
3) Yes, there are plenty of bodykits about, Caractere, ABT, Rieger, Golf R, Golf GTI. Go search for "Exotic Mods" in Facebook and you can find plenty of photos there of the Golf's they have done. Gives you a good idea of how it looks in real life
4) Some recommend 17" rims, some go straight for 18" rims depending on their budget. You can send your Denvers to several shops to get it polished to look like Detroits.
5) Risks for a Stage 1 remap would be the loss of warranty or basically the service center wants to deny you a warranty claim. ABT's warranty is covered by them and not by Volkswagen Group Malaysia.

Last but not least, if performance is what you want and handling, I would still recommend that you go for the Roc 1.4

Btw, just to give you some perspective, I am also driving a Golf 1.4 with a GTI bodykit, Stage 1 APR remap, 17" Denvers polished to Detroits (want to sell them soon to upgrade to 18")

This post has been edited by Mavik: Nov 30 2011, 03:38 PM
Kerry1136
post Nov 30 2011, 04:56 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 30 2011, 03:36 PM)
1) Why not wait for a month and see if you can snag a pre-registered 2011 car. You might get better discounts.
2) No idea on the next batch, they always keep it a very tight secret
3) Yes, there are plenty of bodykits about, Caractere, ABT, Rieger, Golf R, Golf GTI. Go search for "Exotic Mods" in Facebook and you can find plenty of photos there of the Golf's they have done. Gives you a good idea of how it looks in real life
4) Some recommend 17" rims, some go straight for 18" rims depending on their budget. You can send your Denvers to several shops to get it polished to look like Detroits.
5) Risks for a Stage 1 remap would be the loss of warranty or basically the service center wants to deny you a warranty claim. ABT's warranty is covered by them and not by Volkswagen Group Malaysia.

Last but not least, if performance is what you want and handling, I would still recommend that you go for the Roc 1.4

Btw, just to give you some perspective, I am also driving a Golf 1.4 with a GTI bodykit, Stage 1 APR remap, 17" Denvers polished to Detroits (want to sell them soon to upgrade to 18")
Hi Mavik,

Thanks for the quick reply.

For the BK, I'll be sure to check Exotic Mods because plainly I don't like the stock golf looking bumpers and no spoilers look dull at the back unlike the GTI.

Reason for not going 18' is not because of the cost but because of the comfortability, profile 40 is a bit hard on the road, I feel that 17' is just nice.

Do you have friends going for stage 1 via ABT because of the warranty? New cars comes with 5 yrs warranty, its kinda sad to wait after 5 years for a stage 1 upgrade nor doing it voids the warranty which is also not very good. Is Volkswagen Malaysia very particular in monitoring of cars especially during service? Don't want them to check that its been modded to stage 1 during service time *gulp*
cute_boboi
post Nov 30 2011, 07:15 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:47 PM)
Ello, been following this thread for quite some time now.

Initially I wanted to get a 1.4 Roc by pushing my budget to the limit but when I went to the showroom yesterday and tested out the golf 1.4 I was equally surprised by the acceleration thrill though the exterior seems a tad normal.
Kena poison already  laugh.gif

The SA advice me to go for Golf and with the extra budget to do some modification instead, so here are my questions hope some Golf TSI sifu's can advice.

1) Current package I got was 3 free service, 8K + 5K overtrade, go for it or wait for next batch 2012?
2) Any rumors for the new batch of 2012 golf's? (Sunroof, push start etc)
3) Front bumper not so nice, is there anyone modded their Golf TSI to other BK?
4) 16" Atlanta rims require to change, what is the recommended 17" Inch rims? I heard most people get the denver and polished to detroits, how do they actually do that?
5) I heard stage 1 upgrade by ABT is more expensive because it includes insurance but other upgrades from APR etc is cheaper, so what are the risks and recommended stage 1 upgrade?

Too many questions, too little to answer, hope the Golf 1.4 Sifu modders can provide some info here.

If looks is what you want, go for Roc.
If practicality of 4-door for passengers, then go for Golf. Yes, it does look plain outside, but a beast inside (engine + DSG gearbox)

I choose 4-door due to I only own a single car, for personal/small family use.

1) Actually, it's up to you. If you don't need it urgent, wait next year to get 2011 pre-reg. More cheaper.
For 2012 batch, by the time the ship reach Port Klang, clear Customs, the estimated earliest is about Mar-Apr if the showroom got order it every month/quarter. If not, maybe earliest is May-Jun-Jul...
FYI, current Golf yr2011 are already 2012 model/accessories IINM. Look at the VIN number WVWZZZ1KZCW______ the 10th char, i.e. C, indicates it is yr2012 model. Note that westerners like to launch new products during Summer (Jul-Aug)

2) If you say want to wait for the re-model or MK7 blink.gif -> yawn.gif you may come back to this thread (but V10+) in end-2013 or 2014.
Even that, we may not get full-spec imported in, due to tax/duties/AP issues.

3) Sure, a lot of mod out there.

4) As explained above by Mavik. Send to certain shops to do it.

5) Warranty void on engine, gearbox and many other things.
Like they always say: Scare don't mod, mod don't scare laugh.gif

If performance is what you want, go straight to GTI / R

My depreciated 2 cents.

mikelee
post Dec 1 2011, 01:57 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 30 2011, 03:36 PM)
Going for that Audi S5 rims you been aiming for quite some time? smile.gif
Broleo
post Dec 1 2011, 11:04 AM

Mavik always gatal gatal everymonth hehehe
Mavik
post Dec 1 2011, 12:42 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Nov 30 2011, 04:56 PM)
Hi Mavik,

Thanks for the quick reply.

For the BK, I'll be sure to check Exotic Mods because plainly I don't like the stock golf looking bumpers and no spoilers look dull at the back unlike the GTI.

Reason for not going 18' is not because of the cost but because of the comfortability, profile 40 is a bit hard on the road, I feel that 17' is just nice.

Do you have friends going for stage 1 via ABT because of the warranty? New cars comes with 5 yrs warranty, its kinda sad to wait after 5 years for a stage 1 upgrade nor doing it voids the warranty which is also not very good. Is Volkswagen Malaysia very particular in monitoring of cars especially during service? Don't want them to check that its been modded to stage 1 during service time *gulp*
I have a friend who gotten the ABT stage 1 straight from FA Wagen meaning he paid RM262k for his Golf GTI with the full ABT kit. Thats the only guy I know. If you didn't get your car from FA Wagen, they will need to assess your engine first before providing the length of the warranty as well. But most of my friends on the 1.4 go for other brands.

QUOTE(mikelee @ Dec 1 2011, 01:57 AM)
Going for that Audi S5 rims you been aiming for quite some time?  smile.gif
Yup! Tunggu until my tyres wear out tongue.gif Need to go for a few touge runs at Ulu Yam tongue.gif

QUOTE(Broleo @ Dec 1 2011, 11:04 AM)
Mavik always gatal gatal everymonth hehehe
Hahahaha yup yup, one small mod a month tongue.gif
DaBestOne
post Dec 1 2011, 02:30 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Nov 29 2011, 04:55 PM)
Definitely wasn't easy; both driving and whilst taking pictures! Still, had a lot of good fun! Will have a proper write-up and more pics on ZTH soon.
Wow bro you drive and take picture at the same time? Under this foggy condition sumore.. power lar u bro thumbup.gif
Kerry1136
post Dec 2 2011, 12:06 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 30 2011, 07:15 PM)

If looks is what you want, go for Roc.
If practicality of 4-door for passengers, then go for Golf. Yes, it does look plain outside, but a beast inside (engine + DSG gearbox)

I choose 4-door due to I only own a single car, for personal/small family use.

1) Actually, it's up to you. If you don't need it urgent, wait next year to get 2011 pre-reg. More cheaper.
For 2012 batch, by the time the ship reach Port Klang, clear Customs, the estimated earliest is about Mar-Apr if the showroom got order it every month/quarter. If not, maybe earliest is May-Jun-Jul...
FYI, current Golf yr2011 are already 2012 model/accessories IINM. Look at the VIN number WVWZZZ1KZCW______ the 10th char, i.e. C, indicates it is yr2012 model. Note that westerners like to launch new products during Summer (Jul-Aug)

4) As explained above by Mavik. Send to certain shops to do it.

5) Warranty void on engine, gearbox and many other things.
Like they always say: Scare don't mod, mod don't scare  laugh.gif

If performance is what you want, go straight to GTI / R

My depreciated 2 cents.
QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 1 2011, 12:42 PM)
I have a friend who gotten the ABT stage 1 straight from FA Wagen meaning he paid RM262k for his Golf GTI with the full ABT kit. Thats the only guy I know. If you didn't get your car from FA Wagen, they will need to assess your engine first before providing the length of the warranty as well. But most of my friends on the 1.4 go for other brands.
Thanks for the constructive opinions/views. Going for GTI is out of budget already furthermore a Roc would really push my limit and I doubt I will get approval from my CFO.

I have a few questions though; while glancing through forums, I found that the charactere 18' rims are really nice but with a limited budget do you think its advisable to go for replicas? Does most VW owners/club members go for replica rims or ori?

Question on Stage 1 upgrade, its possible to go with ABT and not void warranty since it is insured by ABT instead but loses the 5 year warranty from VW?
Notice that Mavik mentioned that most of the members/owners go for other brands, is it due to cheaper or reliability instead? How risky is going for stage 1 without any issues? or its as simple as plug n' play a K&N filter without any tampering to the electronic device. Sorry kinda noob here.
ncb79
post Dec 2 2011, 11:03 AM

Kerry1136, attend the TT u should be find ur answer...
Sp00kY
post Dec 2 2011, 11:21 AM

3,366 posts

so the best dc now for golf tsi is 8k?
kuekwee
post Dec 2 2011, 11:34 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

DC change from time to time.. i got mine for 7k during oct time..
BlackGold
post Dec 3 2011, 10:48 AM

172 posts

guys,is it better to take normal polo which is rm99k and slowly mod it or better straight away take polo gti and live with it as in this case only left the red one (i prefer white)..which one u guys think more worth it?.thanks..
fr0sti3
post Dec 3 2011, 11:25 AM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

polo tsi 1.2 turbo engine will never reach the polo gti 1.4 twincharge engine performance... gti engine same as golf tsi
stalkerrox
post Dec 3 2011, 11:39 AM

1,587 posts

ofcourse polo gti..
2 diff type of engine..

u cant really mod much performance on a normal polo

u take the polo gti u dont need to mod already..
nice bk + sunroof + 17" rims..
more than enough
WingZero
post Dec 3 2011, 11:59 AM

384 posts

a new polo is rm 99k now?

QUOTE(BlackGold @ Dec 3 2011, 10:48 AM)
guys,is it better to take normal polo which is rm99k and slowly mod it or better straight away take polo gti and live with it as in this case only left the red one (i prefer white)..which one u guys think more worth it?.thanks..
fr0sti3
post Dec 3 2011, 02:10 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

99k after discount? not polo tsi sports edition ya?
MaxWealth
post Dec 3 2011, 02:33 PM

421 posts

Hi bro,

anyone can summarize the the basic stuff we can do on our stock golf tsi?

example

1) tinting
what brand available, estimated cost?
3m? cost? benefits?
llumar? cost? benefits?
v-kool? cost? beneftis?

2) paint protection?
pps? cost? benefits? pps got many type of additive???
sierra glow? cost? benefits?
normal waxing? cost? benefits?

by the way, is it pps and sierra glow long term? or after applyin it, we still need to wax every 2 months?

besides that, what can we do to protect our stock?
is these what we can do only? emm, except modification on wheels, bk etc. coz i want to do it step by step XD

thanks bro for the input and i think it can further help us newbie if anyone can provide detail info wink.gif being searching for a long time already, but not much info on it ;(

This post has been edited by MaxWealth: Dec 3 2011, 02:40 PM
SUSCastiel.
post Dec 3 2011, 02:51 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Dec 3 2011, 02:33 PM)
Hi bro,

anyone can summarize the the basic stuff we can do on our stock golf tsi?

example

1) tinting
what brand available, estimated cost?
3m? cost? benefits?
llumar? cost? benefits?
v-kool? cost? beneftis?

best heat rejection, 3M.
best security and longest warranty, Llumar.

elainor
post Dec 3 2011, 02:58 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

Hyper optik the best for overall
IMO.. Satisfied with the quality!
SUSCastiel.
post Dec 3 2011, 04:10 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Dec 3 2011, 02:58 PM)
Hyper optik the best for overall
IMO.. Satisfied with the quality!
tried huper, thought it was good but it is at best, thrashy.
only slightly better then rikecool.

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:38 PM