52 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Solar Water Heater

TSzheilwane
post Nov 9 2012, 11:20 PM

4,184 posts

THe mixers was installed before the filter and before the tank is washed. So, there is a probability that when u wash the tank, some tiny dirt got stuck at the cartridge and after sometime, it damages the cartridge. If replacing the cartridge and it spoil again in less than one year, then you can say the product is lousy. Sorento is giving 5 years warranty for their cartridge, if they are not durable, they wont b giving 5 years warranty, moreover Sorento is also approved by SIRIM. I have been selling Sorento for many years and mainly SORENTO only, if the product got problem, wouldnt it b troublesome for me to get the cartridge and deliver to customers all the time?

WHen u remove the old cartridge, make sure u turn on the water to flush out the dirt, then only install the new cartridge.

FYI, you wrote this sentence "Given a choice again, i will never want to get sorento anymore. " right below my reply on Sorento Mixer having promotion.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Nov 9 2012, 11:38 PM
skng03
post Nov 10 2012, 09:51 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 9 2012, 11:02 PM)
Please, Did I say anything on your service or complain of your company? I never blame your service and your company.

Ah well, maybe is my luck, I brought only 2 mixer, and the 2 give difference problem.

Forgive this young man lar…

Nothing to do with luck, what u paid is what u got…can consider to add filter net at the flexible hose to filter any sand/dirt before water enter the mixer
viper83
post Nov 10 2012, 12:47 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 9 2012, 09:38 AM)
We are having promo for mixers smile.gif Sorento Mixers + rain shower + hand shower all in RM 600
which model is this bro..?pm me pls..tq
vincenz
post Nov 11 2012, 01:33 AM

17 posts

Looking for this solar powered water heater now..

Anyone from penang can recommend on this matter? Price, brand and location?

Added on November 15, 2012, 9:28 pmI just can find MySolar brand in my area, couldnt find Solar Power. Anyone know where I can find in Penang?

This post has been edited by vincenz: Nov 15 2012, 09:28 PM
Brick1235
post Nov 26 2012, 01:58 PM

440 posts

I am just sharing some experience: I have been using the SolarPower solar tube that I have bought from Builders Hardware. Used it for about 2 to 3 months now and so far so good no complains yet. It has been raining a fair amount these days and yet still getting very good amount of hot water. But this reminds me I have not tested the electric heater yet as every day I get hot water even thou its cloudy. My house have 4 people staying in and most of the time all of us come back at night for showers. My whole house have 1 porch pipe, 3 shower, 3 sinks, 1 kitchen sink and 1 backyard pipe all connected with hot water from the solar tube system using copper pipes. So far been using it in my kitchen and backyard most extensively to wash plates and mops. So far using JohnsonSuise and Sorento mixer for shower and sinks.

As for copper pipes its actually not that expensive only the workers salary is very high to put everything together. I happen to have extensive normal pipe service/replacement so I added all copper pipes with no extra salary charge just buying the copper pipes from the hardware shop.

halcyon27
post Nov 26 2012, 02:19 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Brick1235 @ Nov 26 2012, 01:58 PM)
I am just sharing some experience: I have been using the SolarPower solar tube that I have bought from Builders Hardware. Used it for about 2 to 3 months now and so far so good no complains yet. It has been raining a fair amount these days and yet still getting very good amount of hot water. But this reminds me I have not tested the electric heater yet as every day I get hot water even thou its cloudy. My house have 4 people staying in and most of the time all of us come back at night for showers. My whole house have 1 porch pipe, 3 shower, 3 sinks, 1 kitchen sink and 1 backyard pipe all connected with hot water from the solar tube system using copper pipes. So far been using it in my kitchen and backyard most extensively to wash plates and mops. So far using JohnsonSuise and Sorento mixer for shower and sinks.

As for copper pipes its actually not that expensive only the workers salary is very high to put everything together. I happen to have extensive normal pipe service/replacement so I added all copper pipes with no extra salary charge just buying the copper pipes from the hardware shop.
Good stuff. BTW, your home built in the 70s or 80s? Need to take note of your porch pipe, if you have installed water pump. See my post #315 in this thread.

My home's original plumbing is as Syabas guideline where the garden hose pipe under the porch pillar is branched off my master toilet cold inlet from the tangki. See the chart here.
http://www.syabas.com.my/consumer/internal-plumbing-system [2020-07-12:updated to archive.org snapshot]

Chances are it could be the same for yours if it's in the porch.

Unless you had the plumbing redone in the toilet, Water pump + old GI pipe + time = trouble.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jul 12 2020, 04:10 PM
ozak
post Nov 26 2012, 03:09 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Brick1235 @ Nov 26 2012, 01:58 PM)

How long it take the hot water reach the tap?
Brick1235
post Nov 27 2012, 12:18 AM

440 posts

Halcyon27 : My pipes are all redone in the house

ozak : It does takes a little bit of time to come out as the pipes are longer from the roof till your ground floor. Less then 2 seconds more or less depending on the amount of water coming out.
weikee
post Nov 27 2012, 07:27 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Brick1235 @ Nov 27 2012, 12:18 AM)

ozak : It does takes a little bit of time to come out as the pipes are longer from the roof till your ground floor. Less then 2 seconds more or less depending on the amount of water coming out.
2 sec is fast for ground floor. My first floor shower got water need about 5 sec.
ozak
post Nov 27 2012, 10:09 AM

17,021 posts

That pretty fast. Have you measure how many liter of cold water comeout before the hot water?

I m concerning the water waste and time to wait.

Added on November 27, 2012, 10:15 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 27 2012, 07:27 AM)
2 sec is fast for ground floor. My first floor shower  got water need about 5 sec.
Maybe high pressure kua. 5bar? What is your water pressure setting?

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 27 2012, 10:15 AM
weikee
post Nov 27 2012, 10:28 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2012, 10:09 AM)
That pretty fast. Have you measure how many liter of cold water comeout before the hot water?

I m concerning the water waste and time to wait.

Added on November 27, 2012, 10:15 am
Maybe high pressure kua. 5bar? What is your water pressure setting?
For shower, yeah quiet wasteful 5 sec is lots of water. Ususally I have another small tong fill up the cold water and use it for other things. Lucky i don't use much hot water only morning. Mine pressure not sure, standard grundfos pump without adjustment.

Also make me wonder why house owner need hot water water pipe for sink and backyard. Our country so cold meh?

ozak
post Nov 27 2012, 10:49 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 27 2012, 10:28 AM)
For shower, yeah quiet wasteful 5 sec is lots of water. Ususally I have another small tong fill up the cold water and use it for other things. Lucky i don't use much hot water only morning. Mine pressure not sure, standard grundfos pump without adjustment.

Also make me wonder why house owner need hot water water pipe for sink and backyard. Our country so cold meh?
When do the actual calculation, quite scary. Let say the solar heater hot water pipe from the roof till the kitchen have 10m lenght and 1/2" pipe. There is about 5liter of water inside the pipe. So about 5liter of cold water need to be remove from the pipe before the hot water reach your kicthen tap.

5liter of water enough for 2person drink each day.

Hot water can wash thing more efficiency. Dirt easy can be remove.
halcyon27
post Nov 27 2012, 11:12 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2012, 10:49 AM)
When do the actual calculation, quite scary. Let say the solar heater hot water pipe from the roof till the kitchen have 10m lenght and 1/2" pipe. There is about 5liter of water inside the pipe. So about 5liter of cold water need to be remove from the pipe before the hot water reach your kicthen tap.

Yes. I heard from some that manufacturer recommend the run length not to exceed 8m to each outlet otherwise get a bigger capacity or if it's a bigger house install two.

Think there's this block water heater by Steibel Eltron that can be used for on demand hot water but then that defeats the purpose.

thumbup.gif That's the best.

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 27 2012, 10:28 AM)

Grundfos sells a hot water recirculation pump for the problem you described called Grundfos Comfort. Don't know if it's available here.
http://www.grundfos.com/products/find-product/comfort.html

Agree somewhat. Maybe not useful for me cos mostly brush teeth or wash face. I hv my hot connection turned off at my mixer in the master bath.

My concern with pumped supply is water hammer effect after closing off shower mixer lever. When I redo plumbing most likely toilet supply inlet would be separate from shower and basin for the upper floor baths. Most likely T from tangki with a master valve and each outlet also valved. Ugly but less problems in long run. Problem with shower, no problem at least toilet still runs. Or if want stronger pressure, toilet not affected as long as solar has adequate pressure reduction valves installed.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 27 2012, 11:36 AM
weikee
post Nov 27 2012, 11:18 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2012, 10:49 AM)

Yes, but how dirty is house hold dishes? can already wash few plate with 5L cold water. Invest in good detergent and 3M scrub is good already.
ozak
post Nov 27 2012, 11:37 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 27 2012, 11:18 AM)
Yes, but how dirty is house hold dishes? can already wash few plate with 5L cold water. Invest in good detergent and 3M scrub is good already.
If talk about the water waste, yes. It is not worth it.

Like those overnight dish which is harden, hot water is best. Another is overnight harden podridge. You need to scrub quite hard and longtime to remove. If using hot water, would be easy alot. Dish washer using hot water?

Cooking using hot water, shorten boiling time ?
weikee
post Nov 27 2012, 11:43 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2012, 11:37 AM)
If talk about the water waste, yes. It is not worth it.

Like those overnight dish which is harden, hot water is best. Another is overnight harden podridge. You need to scrub quite hard and longtime to remove. If using hot water, would be easy alot. Dish washer using hot water?

Cooking using hot water, shorten boiling time ?
Gas boiler lah. Rinnai is still the best. Harden leftover food, just soak normal water for bit longer. If it can wait overnight it can wait for few more mins.

Problem with Malaysia utility are cheap. My friend in UK don't use much hot water for washing, only bath. And here our average temperature 27++. Hmm....
firestream
post Dec 4 2012, 01:44 PM

50 posts

Bro, looking to replace our old solar heater (>20 years). About 6person. Can you give me a quote?
TSzheilwane
post Dec 4 2012, 10:04 PM

4,184 posts

Pmed you d bro
hvveein
post Dec 13 2012, 11:55 PM

66 posts

Any promotion for solar heater now? How about Seremban area?
~Curious~
post Jan 12 2013, 01:45 AM

1,744 posts

has anyone heard of monier roofs?they have a solar powered one,,issit d same function as getting a solar water heater?

52 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:30 PM