if you want to cut cost on copper piping you can swap copper for polybutelene pipes. they work great.
Solar Water Heater
Nov 9 2011, 09:47 AM
2,031 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
if you want to cut cost on copper piping you can swap copper for polybutelene pipes. they work great.
Nov 9 2011, 10:02 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
yup, that could cut ur cost more than 20%
Nov 9 2011, 10:56 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
Nov 10 2011, 12:07 AM
and also the correct man to do the job
This post has been edited by zheilwane: Nov 10 2011, 12:07 AM |
Nov 10 2011, 10:50 AM
591 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Added on November 10, 2011, 10:51 am QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 10 2011, 12:07 AM) actually im planning redo my upstair 2 bathroom next month, so thinking install solar heater and rain shower as well. in that case i have bundle buy all and i prefer using pump brand g**f**.do you think its safe to ask my own contractor install pump & copper pipes or not i abit worry after install gt water leaking due to water pressure 2 strong... if i remember correctly they charge me $700 per bathroom. also im choosing either solar power or solar wave, which 1 is better ? are you selling solar heater can PM me best price ? This post has been edited by devil98: Nov 10 2011, 10:51 AM |
Nov 10 2011, 11:21 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I thought of this polybutylene pipe too, but after some research and plumber advice i stick back to metal pipe (S.Steal).
If water have heavy chlorine the pipe may not last. http://www.polybutylene.com/poly.html http://www.repipespecialists.com/polybutylene.html Quote: Polybutylene has, as it turns out, a relatively short life span, since chemicals in normal city-provided water cause it to harden and become brittle. The fittings usually go first, springing leaks, followed by the pipe itself. The pipe's tendency to burst has earned polybutylene a common nickname of "ticking time bomb" from plumbers. If someone is home when a burst occurs and can immediately shut off the water, it may only result in a few thousand dollars in damage. Unfortunately, many are not at home when this occurs, and the damage is much more extensive. |
Nov 10 2011, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(devil98 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:50 AM) Added on November 10, 2011, 10:51 am actually im planning redo my upstair 2 bathroom next month, so thinking install solar heater and rain shower as well. in that case i have bundle buy all and i prefer using pump brand g**f**. do you think its safe to ask my own contractor install pump & copper pipes or not i abit worry after install gt water leaking due to water pressure 2 strong... if i remember correctly they charge me $700 per bathroom. also im choosing either solar power or solar wave, which 1 is better ? are you selling solar heater can PM me best price ? ![]() ![]() Do you know that SOLAR WAVE has an assistant tank? Water will flow into this assistant tank, controlled by a float valve which is similar to those in our toilet bowls. So, if this thing is not working, who will climb up and change it? The assistant tank is needed as the storage tank is made of 0.5mm thick stainless steel and it cant withstand high water pressure while SOLAR POWER's tanks are made of 316 marine grade stainless steel with thickness more than 1mm. Therefore, SOLAR POWER's solar are not equipped with the assistant tank. There are a few more disadvantages of Solar Wave, if you would like to know more, you can drop by my shop. http://maps.google.com.my/maps?q=3.211593,...psrc=6&t=m&z=18 |
Nov 10 2011, 10:41 PM
591 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 10 2011, 10:01 PM) I m selling Solar Power. Solar Power has both the panel and tube type solar. seems like solar power better, no wonder i see few solar power but solar wave only 1 Do you know that SOLAR WAVE has an assistant tank? Water will flow into this assistant tank, controlled by a float valve which is similar to those in our toilet bowls. So, if this thing is not working, who will climb up and change it? The assistant tank is needed as the storage tank is made of 0.5mm thick stainless steel and it cant withstand high water pressure while SOLAR POWER's tanks are made of 316 marine grade stainless steel with thickness more than 1mm. Therefore, SOLAR POWER's solar are not equipped with the assistant tank. There are a few more disadvantages of Solar Wave, if you would like to know more, you can drop by my shop. http://maps.google.com.my/maps?q=3.211593,...psrc=6&t=m&z=18 if i bundle buy Grundfos and solar power (2bath room only 5-6 ppl use), how much you selling mind to PM me ? |
Nov 10 2011, 11:12 PM
FYI the PB piping used in the US are different (and problematic) from the ones used nowadays in europe, asia and aus. as far as i could find out (and i am not an authority) the chlorine problem does not occur. you can check with the manufacturer who gives a 25 yrs warranty on the pipe. (buteline.com)
Nov 10 2011, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 10 2011, 11:12 PM) FYI the PB piping used in the US are different (and problematic) from the ones used nowadays in europe, asia and aus. as far as i could find out (and i am not an authority) the chlorine problem does not occur. you can check with the manufacturer who gives a 25 yrs warranty on the pipe. (buteline.com) I'll not want to save 25% or maybe 50% on this and later having problem. Warranty is really useless if the pipe already conceal. Maybe they can warranty the labor and material we need to redo. That way is much better |
Nov 10 2011, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(devil98 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:41 PM) seems like solar power better, no wonder i see few solar power but solar wave only 1 Since u r going to do a major reno, u will need some mixers and rain showers. Just drop by my shop, i will give u a nice package for everything. I cant quote prices openly now even in PM, just survey the prices den come to my shop last, i m sure my price will b very attractive.if i bundle buy Grundfos and solar power (2bath room only 5-6 ppl use), how much you selling mind to PM me ? |
Nov 11 2011, 09:30 AM
1,836 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 10 2011, 10:01 PM) I m selling Solar Power. Solar Power has both the panel and tube type solar. What are the diffrence between the 2 types of solar heater, panels and tubes, performance and its effectiveness in malaysia weather.. ![]() ![]() Do you know that SOLAR WAVE has an assistant tank? Water will flow into this assistant tank, controlled by a float valve which is similar to those in our toilet bowls. So, if this thing is not working, who will climb up and change it? The assistant tank is needed as the storage tank is made of 0.5mm thick stainless steel and it cant withstand high water pressure while SOLAR POWER's tanks are made of 316 marine grade stainless steel with thickness more than 1mm. Therefore, SOLAR POWER's solar are not equipped with the assistant tank. There are a few more disadvantages of Solar Wave, if you would like to know more, you can drop by my shop. http://maps.google.com.my/maps?q=3.211593,...psrc=6&t=m&z=18 |
Nov 11 2011, 09:44 AM
weikee,
i didnt choose PB for cost reasons but because it wont move like copper, is bendable, easy to fix, wont rust and wont clog up and most of all: easy to install and if installed its tight. the clamping system is fabulous. i enquired in europe (UK) and australia about the specific pipes from buteline and it appears there are no complaints. actually one guy from UK waterworks recommended them and told me all their new piping is now PB because it's less problematic than other pipes. there are many different types of PB piping around it seems and the first gen of it that was produced and sold in US had apparently major issues and a class action law suit settlement if not mistaken. things apparently are quite different now. i used copper before and the expansion noises (creeking right?) were always more or less there when you get the hot water to run through the pipes. didnt like that very much. |
Nov 11 2011, 10:16 AM
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
One thing I don't like about solar/storage heater is that I have to experiment with the mixing (cold + hot water) to get the correct temperature. It gonna takes a while.. a few minutes to do this.
Besides, if people have small kids, they can accidentally get burn if not supervised. That makes the bathroom not kids friendly. |
Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(zeese @ Nov 11 2011, 10:16 AM) One thing I don't like about solar/storage heater is that I have to experiment with the mixing (cold + hot water) to get the correct temperature. It gonna takes a while.. a few minutes to do this. Education is the best prevention. When they are tall enough to open the tap, they can be teach already.Besides, if people have small kids, they can accidentally get burn if not supervised. That makes the bathroom not kids friendly. It won't go instant hot, it will slowly heat up. Added on November 11, 2011, 11:55 am QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 11 2011, 09:44 AM) weikee, PJusa, I have not experience the copper sound you mention. Well, maybe when i move in will know.i didnt choose PB for cost reasons but because it wont move like copper, is bendable, easy to fix, wont rust and wont clog up and most of all: easy to install and if installed its tight. the clamping system is fabulous. i enquired in europe (UK) and australia about the specific pipes from buteline and it appears there are no complaints. actually one guy from UK waterworks recommended them and told me all their new piping is now PB because it's less problematic than other pipes. there are many different types of PB piping around it seems and the first gen of it that was produced and sold in US had apparently major issues and a class action law suit settlement if not mistaken. things apparently are quite different now. i used copper before and the expansion noises (creeking right?) were always more or less there when you get the hot water to run through the pipes. didnt like that very much. This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 11 2011, 11:55 AM |
Nov 11 2011, 02:22 PM
17,021 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2011, 11:53 AM) My neihgbour is using solar heater and copper pipe. Always hear some sound when they use hot water. Something like hissing or hammering sound.While my friend change his house piping to SS but run outside. Never lay inside concrete or underground. So always have water hammering when turn on tap. |
Nov 11 2011, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 11 2011, 02:22 PM) My neihgbour is using solar heater and copper pipe. Always hear some sound when they use hot water. Something like hissing or hammering sound. U hear water hammering after u close ur tap not ON. Ur neighbour have this problem bcoz of the water pump and not bcoz of the solar. If they change their pump to Grundfos UNI E, they wont have this problem.While my friend change his house piping to SS but run outside. Never lay inside concrete or underground. So always have water hammering when turn on tap. Added on November 11, 2011, 11:14 pm QUOTE(zeese @ Nov 11 2011, 10:16 AM) One thing I don't like about solar/storage heater is that I have to experiment with the mixing (cold + hot water) to get the correct temperature. It gonna takes a while.. a few minutes to do this. What weikee said is quite true, when ur kids are tall enough to turn on the mixer or shower on their own, they would b able to control the temperature already. Nowadays kids are very smart d....Besides, if people have small kids, they can accidentally get burn if not supervised. That makes the bathroom not kids friendly. The water wont b hot immediately, it will b hot slowly and due to our reflexes even for kids, if the water is too hot we will either turn it off or stay away from the water. If u r worried, u can get a mixer like SORENTO SRTWT 8912. Just set the correct temperature then turn on/off the water using the divertor (leave the lever at the same position all the time) This post has been edited by zheilwane: Nov 11 2011, 11:14 PM |
Nov 14 2011, 10:31 AM
1,836 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Yesterday there was a mini hailstorm in USJ. Weather in Malaysia going KRAZY
Now I worry that install Solar Power system , if happen again, kena damaged. Any solution ah ?!?! |
Nov 16 2011, 10:46 PM
Nov 17 2011, 08:06 PM
699 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
My house has an old solar water heater, but the water is not hot in rainy season.
It is possible to add a storage heater on the same piping next to the solar water heater as backup ? (when the water is not heated by solar). Thanks. |
| Change to: | 0.0559sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:23 PM |