The price of Corsair K90 is insane. Beautiful keyboard but overpriced. Even SSD's price are dropping, HDD's price are still up there. Sigh
Mechanical Keyboard Club V4, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts
Feb 24 2012, 10:49 AM
5,936 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: City of Subang Jaya |
The price of Corsair K90 is insane. Beautiful keyboard but overpriced. Even SSD's price are dropping, HDD's price are still up there. Sigh
Feb 24 2012, 11:09 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(ricstc @ Feb 24 2012, 01:23 AM) I just am totally addicted to the buckling spring sounds of the Unicomp that I bought from willaw. Slowdown man.He was good company. And here's are my two MK's I bought in the short span of 48 hours - from zero on Mechanical Keyboards to owning two of 'em. Can someone please show me the way to my THIRD and FOURTH and Nth one? Do you have a money tree growing in your backyard or something? QUOTE(ricstc @ Feb 24 2012, 10:40 AM) Can anyone help advice me please? My offer for the switch try numpad is still open. Is there any where / place / shop in Malaysia that one can go to try as many types of MK switches as possible - get a feel - with the intent to buy? In short, a place where we can test and buy? Im addited to MK and want to try as many as my fingers permit. Anyone please please help... This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Feb 24 2012, 11:09 AM |
Feb 24 2012, 11:18 AM
2,272 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 24 2012, 11:09 AM) Slowdown man. Money is no problem, Ive done my homework and I know exactly what I want to collect - highly tactile, hard to the fingers, clicky noisy MKs.Do you have a money tree growing in your backyard or something? My offer for the switch try numpad is still open. I do not play games at all with the keyboard and dont need all those fancy high tech stuff (I already got the Ducky 9008 MX Blue yesterday and its now stored away for the dust mites). That's why Im asking if there are any places in Malaysia to try as many switches - else I will just end up buying and storing it away after a few clicks. Now, I do welcome your offer to send me the numpad - it will be like a portable place to try the clicks, right? Many thanks. Can you show me the way to more buckling spring? or any kb that can make me feel awake - makes lots of noise as I type? |
Feb 24 2012, 11:32 AM
107 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
there is 1 switch that impressed me so much and if you want a clicky feel , clicky sound , hard for finger and not so fancy. then i recommend you the blue monterrey (blue alps). mine come with the siig minitouch and it feel amazing. quite different from the blue switch but it has the characteristic on it. it is louder and clickier. clickclack..
Feb 24 2012, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(wilsongunawan @ Feb 24 2012, 11:32 AM) there is 1 switch that impressed me so much and if you want a clicky feel , clicky sound , hard for finger and not so fancy. then i recommend you the blue monterrey (blue alps). mine come with the siig minitouch and it feel amazing. quite different from the blue switch but it has the characteristic on it. it is louder and clickier. clickclack.. Thanks a lot. Where can I get it? Where did you get it? Any online agent here or can I go online to get it myself?Thanks for the suggestion. I like it. |
Feb 24 2012, 11:51 AM
i'm not sure that you can get a new one. i bought it from other geekhack user. the board only cost me 100$ but the shipping from his place to malaysia is $40. but i forget to say that the keyboard are retro style or actually it is an old keyboard. but the alps really amazing. here if u like to see some picture, http://geekhack.org/showthread.php?26880-S...rey-Suntouch-Jr .
Feb 24 2012, 12:00 PM
Ya youre right. Not so hot for retro or older keyboards. I was wondering if any newer USB types of MK that are really hard and clicky - someone once mentioned Green ALPS switches and now you Blue Alps.
Yes I am looking for ALPS swiches - any clue or direction to buy online? |
Feb 24 2012, 12:27 PM
6,774 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(ricstc @ Feb 24 2012, 12:18 PM) Money is no problem, Ive done my homework and I know exactly what I want to collect - highly tactile, hard to the fingers, clicky noisy MKs. buckling spring should be the best option to try for.I do not play games at all with the keyboard and dont need all those fancy high tech stuff (I already got the Ducky 9008 MX Blue yesterday and its now stored away for the dust mites). That's why Im asking if there are any places in Malaysia to try as many switches - else I will just end up buying and storing it away after a few clicks. Now, I do welcome your offer to send me the numpad - it will be like a portable place to try the clicks, right? Many thanks. Can you show me the way to more buckling spring? or any kb that can make me feel awake - makes lots of noise as I type? Unicomp are the way to go if you don't want old boards. This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 24 2012, 12:31 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 12:27 PM
Ducky 1087 XM if you want the green switch. since the blue alps quite rare
Feb 24 2012, 12:44 PM
1,726 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Taiping Perak |
i'm sorry for lacking of support in this thread, been quite busy lately, and extra info here, the nyancats keycap has arrived my house just now. the quality of the nyancats are quite good.
will post picture later. busy with some translation work. @Lacus, i'll make a new thread soon on tomorrow, please avoid closing the topic now. will import more content on the 1st thread as well as info. For everyone that are interested in helping, please send a pm to me regarding about suggestions of content should be added for new users to learn. i'll work on this tonight and create a new thread tomorrow morning with all content that users suggested. This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: Feb 24 2012, 12:47 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Feb 24 2012, 12:27 PM) buckling spring should be the best option to try for. Yes. I just bought the Unicomp SpaceSaver from member willaw yesterday. Using it now, thats why I want to buy more like this MK. The day before I got the Ducky 9008 Shine MX Blue but dont like - too soft and not loud enough Unicomp are the way to go if you don't want old boards. Any more suggestions and recommendations? This post has been edited by ricstc: Feb 24 2012, 12:46 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(ricstc @ Feb 24 2012, 01:45 PM) Yes. I just bought the Unicomp SpaceSaver from member willaw yesterday. Using it now, thats why I want to buy more like this MK. The day before I got the Ducky 9008 Shine MX Blue but dont like - too soft and not loud enough According to your request and interest, thats why I suggest Buckling Spring(Model M) probably the best option for you. It should be hard enough and with the most natural clicky sound coming from the buckling of spring itself.Any more suggestions and recommendations? May be you can try to get those vintage Model M if you find Unicomp still not well-built enough. |
Feb 24 2012, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Feb 24 2012, 01:16 PM) According to your request and interest, thats why I suggest Buckling Spring(Model M) probably the best option for you. It should be hard enough and with the most natural clicky sound coming from the buckling of spring itself. No I love the Unicomp i just got. Typing away since last night. But I just want to try more - its like sex - once youve tried it - you just cant stop, right? (or is it just me?)May be you can try to get those vintage Model M if you find Unicomp still not well-built enough. |
Feb 24 2012, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(ricstc @ Feb 24 2012, 02:23 PM) No I love the Unicomp i just got. Typing away since last night. But I just want to try more - its like sex - once youve tried it - you just cant stop, right? (or is it just me?) pokerface.jpgBTW Cyclone, are you free enough to shoot some photo comparing the stems spacing of Leopold200 and 500? I wonder why and how different are they till incompatible with each other... |
Feb 24 2012, 02:01 PM
@ricstc
Try to ask storm88 about the Ducky Green ALPS. They are clicky, noisy and a tad lighter than MX Blues. The trade off is that the build quality is not good, and the keycaps are a little bit wobbly. Also, there's a new Cherry switch in town. Cherry MX Whites (modern) - No keyboards coming out yet, but if you are feeling adventurous, you can buy some and mod. Also, you can consider trying out Topre, but I don't know if anyone would allow you to try them out, even if you are willing to make the trip: Since you know where I am, it's rather impossible for you to try out mine. |
Feb 24 2012, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 24 2012, 02:01 PM) @ricstc Thanks. Ive got in touch with storm88 and visited his recommended dealer (heavyarm) and bought the Ducky Shine Mx Blue as mentioned. Try to ask storm88 about the Ducky Green ALPS. They are clicky, noisy and a tad lighter than MX Blues. The trade off is that the build quality is not good, and the keycaps are a little bit wobbly. Also, there's a new Cherry switch in town. Cherry MX Whites (modern) - No keyboards coming out yet, but if you are feeling adventurous, you can buy some and mod. Also, you can consider trying out Topre, but I don't know if anyone would allow you to try them out, even if you are willing to make the trip: Since you know where I am, it's rather impossible for you to try out mine. I want to know more about the new Cherry MX Whites. Any leads on this? Thanks again. Id be sure to pay you a visit and a drink when I go up north... |
Feb 24 2012, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 24 2012, 03:01 PM) @ricstc You mean Cherry white? The one with white stem and black clicky stem/leaf? It should be an old/vintage/extinct switch existed long ago(suggested by some ppl).Try to ask storm88 about the Ducky Green ALPS. They are clicky, noisy and a tad lighter than MX Blues. The trade off is that the build quality is not good, and the keycaps are a little bit wobbly. Also, there's a new Cherry switch in town. Cherry MX Whites (modern) - No keyboards coming out yet, but if you are feeling adventurous, you can buy some and mod. Also, you can consider trying out Topre, but I don't know if anyone would allow you to try them out, even if you are willing to make the trip: Since you know where I am, it's rather impossible for you to try out mine. It isn't exactly the same blue/green switch stem, but rather with clear stem(i mean the bottom part of the stem), thats what keep me interested... This post has been edited by Human10: Feb 24 2012, 02:30 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 06:44 PM
11,836 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
hi y'all, wanna know any place in sabah kota kinabalu here can try mech kb? dun think general PC shop will have, cause all i see is some gigabyte, logitech and those small time brands around
I'm trying to find a mech keyboard that will be suitable for me, a balance of gaming slightly more than typing This post has been edited by noobandroid: Feb 24 2012, 07:50 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 09:21 PM
See, that's why you need a switch try numpad to pass around
Still nobody taking up volunteer position unfortunately. |
Feb 24 2012, 09:24 PM
11,836 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:12 PM |