> Johor, is it safe or not?, discussion Serious Talk

TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 03:50 PM, updated 15y ago

365 posts

as per title.

lets discuss in more professional way.

lately i always surf-surf lowyat forum, theres many comments on johor, LGE, sultan Johor etc. blink.gif
ok first thing first, i just wanted to know where the resource/statistic that says johor the worst? mind sharing with me?
no im not butthurt or jealous, im just mad, well kinda mad, bcoz people just talk rubbish without evidence, this is why i really disappointed.
'johor is a cowboy town' 'nobody lives in johor' doh.gif doh.gif guys come on

so just bcoz some politician talk rubbish about other state, u guys think that he is correct and go bash every johor related thing. obviously he want his state looks better ohmy.gif
this is just so wrong, well its not if u just want to troll/jokes.
but doh.gif some people take this thing damn serious i was like wtf.

ok back to story, people saying johor is the worst, why? crime rate? so is there any statistic, official statistic not from those stupid blogs. pls pls pls share with me
i just wanna ask which place in the earth got no crime?
even in those undeveloped country got crime.

<insert a state here> is more safe than <insert a different state here> is just too ridiculous.
if like this 1, sure in 10yrs, no no 5yrs time got perang saudara and say bye bye to independence.
we should have 1malaysia spirit not 1<insert a state here> doh.gif

i still remember when merdeka day few years back, so stupid people bring sabah/kelantan (i dun remember well) flag and huuhaahuuuhaa.
pfft merdeka is for whole malaysia la wey. so typical people doh.gif

tldr? sorry just sharing my words.
inb4 im guy from perak, stays in johor quite long time, but now im at kl.

QUOTE(adren1 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:53 PM)
QUOTE(adren1 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:54 PM)
This post has been edited by shdin271: Oct 29 2011, 04:59 PM
deodorant
post Oct 29 2011, 03:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

TL;DR

My fiancee is from JB and she say it is more dangerous than SG or KL.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 03:55 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 29 2011, 03:51 PM)
TL;DR

My fiancee is from JB and she say it is more dangerous than SG or KL.
yes why ??
why dangerous? what happening???
i sometime go jb i dun see any diff?? hmm.gif

don compare with sg la. sg different level lol
azbro
post Oct 29 2011, 03:55 PM

4,403 posts

I'm from JB. Crime used to be lots everywhere. But I see police force have improve considerably since 2 years back. Especially town areas. Most Taman also have police station or bit nearby. But less crime doesn't mean no crime.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 03:58 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 29 2011, 03:55 PM)
I'm from JB. Crime used to be lots everywhere. But I see police force have improve considerably since 2 years back. Especially town areas. Most Taman also have police station or bit nearby. But less crime doesn't mean no crime.
i second that mate.
now got police ronda2 feel quite safe.
now got some police tent along jalan skudai there.
thats a quite good improvement.
and usually when i back here, i saw 2 police car near mamak at my taman, which is quite good although they go lepak2
SUSbabyrabies
post Oct 29 2011, 03:58 PM

281 posts

-a friend from johor told me that if u never experienced crime, u're not johorian. I shat brick.
sevendogz
post Oct 29 2011, 03:59 PM

1,276 posts

Johor is one very big state, and I think there are some dangerous area as well as lots of safe area.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:02 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(babyrabies @ Oct 29 2011, 03:58 PM)
-a friend from johor told me that if u never experienced crime, u're not johorian. I shat brick.
mate i lives in johor for almost 19 yrs.
ive witness crime in front of my eye.
i didnt say theres no crime.

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Oct 29 2011, 03:59 PM)
Johor is one very big state, and I think there are some dangerous area as well as lots of safe area.
so far the jb town area quite so so only. still people doing crime. but people cant say the whole johor is dangerous. tooo narrow minded doh.gif
im glad still got people think like u. salute to u mate
geforce88
post Oct 29 2011, 04:06 PM

2,841 posts

jb, dare not go...... much more dangerous than anywhere else in the world, snatch + rompak + curi.....SCARY..........
crapmann
post Oct 29 2011, 04:06 PM

26 posts

IF you are so disappointed, then provide statistics (official statistic not from those stupid blogs) as a comparison.
azarimy
post Oct 29 2011, 04:07 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

KL still have the biggest crime rate per population as far as we're concerned. but the thing about crimes in johor is that, it targets singaporeans, or indonesian targeting locals and stuffs like that. things that u LOVE to read in the newspapers.

simply put, if it wont get into the newspapers, johoreans wont do it tongue.gif.
azbro
post Oct 29 2011, 04:16 PM

4,403 posts

Well, it's kinda hard to pin point what kinda ppl or type of crime involved. I guess is since probably JB is kinda small compared to KL, so whatever crime here is considered talk of the town, especially robbery, gruesome murders, kidnapping etc.

But I feel safer now in JB than let's say 2~3 years back.
During those days, bag snatching, 'house clearing', rape, car / moto theft, gangster fights were pretty norm. Even hanging clothes outside is considered a bit dangerous during weekdays.

But as I say, less crime doesn't mean no crime. Things like wallet, handbag, car lock, walking, shopping etc need take care.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:20 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 03:50 PM)
ok back to story, people saying johor is the worst, why? crime rate? so is there any statistic, official statistic not from those stupid blogs. pls pls pls share with me
QUOTE(crapmann @ Oct 29 2011, 04:06 PM)
IF you are so disappointed, then provide statistics (official statistic not from those stupid blogs) as a comparison.
doh.gif u read carefully or not.
i already say there
give me the statistic not im the 1 giving the statistic la

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 29 2011, 04:07 PM)
KL still have the biggest crime rate per population as far as we're concerned. but the thing about crimes in johor is that, it targets singaporeans, or indonesian targeting locals and stuffs like that. things that u LOVE to read in the newspapers.

simply put, if it wont get into the newspapers, johoreans wont do it tongue.gif.
i agree mate.
and indon the worst prob here vmad.gif
payatz
post Oct 29 2011, 04:21 PM

I still remembered probably around 10 years ago when the ketua polis of Johor Bahru was murdered at his home. A group of Indonesians broke into his home to rob & kill him. Apparently these indonesians were hired by the local triads.

Ironically he called the nearest police station for help but it took them too long to arrive at his house.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:24 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 29 2011, 04:16 PM)
Well, it's kinda hard to pin point what kinda ppl or type of crime involved. I guess is since probably JB is kinda small compared to KL, so whatever crime here is considered talk of the town, especially robbery, gruesome murders, kidnapping etc.

But I feel safer now in JB than let's say 2~3 years back.
During those days, bag snatching, 'house clearing', rape, car / moto theft, gangster fights were pretty norm. Even hanging clothes outside is considered a bit dangerous during weekdays.

But as I say, less crime doesn't mean no crime. Things like wallet, handbag, car lock, walking, shopping etc need take care.
nowadays quite ok already.
the police becoming more good.
yes 5-6 yrs back quite dark.
i really agree with u on that.

QUOTE(payatz @ Oct 29 2011, 04:21 PM)
I still remembered probably around 10 years ago when the ketua polis of Johor Bahru  was murdered at his home. A group of Indonesians broke into his home to rob & kill him. Apparently these indonesians were hired by the local triads.

Ironically he called the nearest police station for help but it took them too long to arrive at his house.
shocking.gif are u serious??

SUSryanliew87
post Oct 29 2011, 04:26 PM

59 posts

Everybody knw johor is the worst state in terms of crime rate...kesian singaporean always kena rob and snatch
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:27 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:26 PM)
Everybody knw johor is the worst state in terms of crime rate...kesian singaporean always kena rob and snatch
why u say so?
sos?
payatz
post Oct 29 2011, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:24 PM)
shocking.gif are u serious??
Yes. I was a UTM student back then. The murder happened around Senai or Skudai area. The next day i can see police going through construction sites around my area to interrogate indonesian workers.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:32 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(payatz @ Oct 29 2011, 04:29 PM)
Yes. I was a UTM student back then. The murder happened around Senai or Skudai area. The next day i can see police going through construction sites around my area to interrogate indonesian workers.
indon worker serious prob mang.
last fews years back, they use chopper and big spot light to raid a small hutan bcoz too many indon there.
i see that and feel like gta lololololol rclxms.gif
SUSDarkConfidant
post Oct 29 2011, 04:33 PM

71 posts

This is why i say Malaysia gomen should trade johor for a portion of kalimantan. At least kalimantan got resources to mine/deforest.

Johor only got crime.
SUSbabyrabies
post Oct 29 2011, 04:33 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:32 PM)
last fews years back, they use chopper and big spot light to raid a small hutan bcoz too many indon there.
i see that and feel like gta lololololol  rclxms.gif
Don't u question why such an influx of indon in Johor?
hirano
post Oct 29 2011, 04:34 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Johor is a big state. It's not just JB. In fact, JB is the puniest.
SUSHITMAN316
post Oct 29 2011, 04:35 PM

73 posts

Not safe, Johor peoples also say the same thing. LGE also say not safe. And UMNO/BN will never admit the state they govern are crime heaven.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:38 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(DarkConfidant @ Oct 29 2011, 04:33 PM)
This is why i say Malaysia gomen should trade johor for a portion of kalimantan. At least kalimantan got resources to mine/deforest.

Johor only got crime.
QUOTE(HITMAN316 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:35 PM)
Not safe, Johor peoples also say the same thing. LGE also say not safe. And UMNO/BN will never admit the state they govern are crime heaven.
sos??? statistic???
pls share with me
payatz
post Oct 29 2011, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:32 PM)
i see that and feel like gta lololololol  rclxms.gif
Actually it is very easy for indonesians to sneak into JB. When Mas Selamat escaped from singapore prison, he swam to JB and stayed at a kampung behid Skudai Parade for a few months before he was caught.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:41 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(payatz @ Oct 29 2011, 04:39 PM)
Actually it is very easy for indonesians to sneak into JB. When Mas Selamat escaped from singapore prison, he swam to JB and stayed at a kampung behid Skudai Parade for a few months before he was caught.
agree doh.gif
the security there so f***ing lame.
i really hope they will tighten it sweat.gif
liez
post Oct 29 2011, 04:46 PM

1,346 posts

come on ts if u r so prejudice and defensive...who the hell on earth wanna discuss with you? its waste of time and you can just go to one corner and talk to yourself if you can't start everything from a neutral pov.

This post has been edited by liez: Oct 29 2011, 04:46 PM
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:48 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Oct 29 2011, 04:46 PM)
come on ts if u r so prejudice and defensive...who the hell on earth wanna discuss with you? its waste of time and you can just go to one corner and talk to yourself if you can't start everything from a neutral pov.
i just want to know how true the words of johor sucks.
just wanted to know and compare the statistic..
ainuddin
post Oct 29 2011, 04:49 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

johor is quite safe, overall. dont just talk about jb; desaru, mersing great holiday destinations, oso johor. those place IINM are very safe. petty crimes often happens, normal la, but big crimes nowadays are less and less. singaporeans tok kok about jb crime rates, but later everyday come here buy groceries, go for holidays and some buy land and houses too.
thesoothsayer
post Oct 29 2011, 04:51 PM

954 posts

Johor Bahru and surrounding areas pretty high in crime last time. Not sure about now. None of my friends who graduated from UTM wanted to remain there. One of them got pickpocketed and had her bag snatched 3 times in 2 years. Another was robbed in the middle of the night in his house. A few of us saw the aftermath of a chopping at Holiday Plaza; cleaners were just mopping up the blood when we arrived. Then extortion at the bus station was pretty common and the police did nothing about it.

Lots of crime around my relatives' neighbourhoods in JB as well. Felt like it was under siege since they seemed afraid to go out at night the past few years. One uncle was robbed at gunpoint near Holiday Plaza as well.

A pity cause when I was much younger in the 80s, I used to like JB a lot. Always went out in the morning with my uncle to tapao roti canai for breakfast. Felt nice and safe then.

Have only been back there 3 times since I left UTM 10 years ago.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:51 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 29 2011, 04:49 PM)
johor is quite safe, overall. dont just talk about jb; desaru, mersing great holiday destinations, oso johor. those place IINM are very safe. petty crimes often happens, normal la, but big crimes nowadays are less and less. singaporeans tok kok about jb crime rates, but later everyday come here buy groceries, go for holidays and some buy land and houses too.
THIS!! finally got people think same as me.
i really hate my mom friend, who kutuk2 malaysia, and come here angkut all the stuffs from giant.
those makcik2 vmad.gif vmad.gif
fuel they isi full tank. and kutuk2 malaysia. wtf la
adren1
post Oct 29 2011, 04:53 PM

137 posts

http://cpps.org.my/resource_centre/Crime.pdf
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:53 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Oct 29 2011, 04:51 PM)
Johor Bahru and surrounding areas pretty high in crime last time. Not sure about now. None of my friends who graduated from UTM wanted to remain there. One of them got pickpocketed and had her bag snatched 3 times in 2 years. Another was robbed in the middle of the night in his house. A few of us saw the aftermath of a chopping at Holiday Plaza; cleaners were just mopping up the blood when we arrived. Then extortion at the bus station was pretty common and the police did nothing about it.

Lots of crime around my relatives' neighbourhoods in JB as well. Felt like it was under siege since they seemed afraid to go out at night the past few years. One uncle was robbed at gunpoint near Holiday Plaza as well.

A pity cause when I was much younger in the 80s, I used to like JB a lot. Always went out in the morning with my uncle to tapao roti canai for breakfast. Felt nice and safe then.

Have only been back there 3 times since I left UTM 10 years ago.
now ok already.
they have many police post at many places.
crime rate i think decreased but still got..
adren1
post Oct 29 2011, 04:54 PM

137 posts

http://mpk.rmp.gov.my/jurnal/2005/riseofcrime.pdf
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:54 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:53 PM)
there.
so why people keep saying johor the worst i kenot brain
adren1
post Oct 29 2011, 04:56 PM

137 posts

If u want most recent studies about the crime subject sure don't have lah coz published data need some time to study in details.
But u can get sos from people's real exp or police data.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 04:58 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:56 PM)
If u want most recent studies about the crime subject sure don't have lah coz published data need some time to study in details.
But u can get sos from people's real exp or police data.
i agree.
those data is from 2005 2006.
real exp sometime people can lie.
police data is the best.
hopefully they will give report on crimes nod.gif
etigge
post Oct 29 2011, 05:03 PM

295 posts

I think TS just want to convince himself that crime is controlled in JB. Fine, just think that. Others are just telling their experiences and please larr........... stop with the statistics and sh*t. How are we going to get the real statistics when they are all covered up. If you really want statistics, you asked the wrong place. Go go the Police HQ in JB and ask the same question that you posted here. If you feel that JB is safe, then go with that feeling, why want others to feel the same way as you do. Others have rights to their opinions. Just like myself, if I feel unsafe to walk in the dark alley, I avoid it. Just the same if I feel that it is not safe in JB, then I won't visit it. Obviously, many Singaporean feels the same way and also many others don't feel it, it is their risk or perogative whether they want to venture out or not. What sh*T is this statistic, statistic , statistic.

You never know what's the real situation. Do you know that Langkawi has the highest Aids occurrence in Malaysia same as do you know Langkawi also has many foreign tourist dying of accidents? I doubt you know it. why? Certain news are blacked out in order not to frightened tourist from visiting places. I know because my friend is the one arranging the corpses to be sent back and I don't hink he keeps count on it or maintain a statistic record of it. Go lah! Go lah to JB, don't ask us and tell us we all are like those aunties telling stories in coffeeshop. doh.gif
NaMyzarC
post Oct 29 2011, 05:13 PM

1,140 posts

yupe, same as those ppl claimed that there is no IC Project in sabah even though you can get the opposite answer from most of the sabahan.
GunBlaDeR
post Oct 29 2011, 05:17 PM

504 posts

I can testify that JB is definitely not a safe place. My mother has been robbed a couple of times.

And my home has had 1 break-in.
iastate
post Oct 29 2011, 05:18 PM

599 posts

TS, please don't ask for statistics on the forum. If you want statistics, google it or go to police station.

Safe or not, that's a more personal thing. If somebody was showing you stats that the place you are living in has low crime rate, but a few of your friends or relatives encountered robbery, can you feel it's a safe place? Hell no!

Johor as a whole is not that bad, but JB is not safe. This is based on all the crime news on newspapers and agreed by all my friends who grew up in JB. This is my "FEEL," and I seriously don't care what its crime rate is.

KL ain't safe either. I have more than enough crime stories in KL to share.
kubing
post Oct 29 2011, 05:20 PM

263 posts

okey je johor...but Singaporean and indon make a shit all over town ma.
[+]
post Oct 29 2011, 05:28 PM

1,939 posts

so personal experience < some maybe fake statistic?
LOvebugs
post Oct 29 2011, 05:33 PM

Member #1256
1,145 posts

can't you see it? when majority says about it. it becomes facts. TS, what are you trying to defend @_@
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 05:33 PM

365 posts

doh.gif i dont say johor dont have crime
just saying that is that true that johor the worst??
thats my main question.
so the only way to tell is statistic, not aunty story.
if aunty story 1 i also can say and make story 1
ainuddin
post Oct 29 2011, 05:39 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

i live in jb, and to me, the crime rate here is about the same, if not less than probably kl and penang. as long as there is money moving and to be made, there will always be people trying to skip to the short part and do crime for it.
Lukr3va
post Oct 29 2011, 05:40 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(LOvebugs @ Oct 29 2011, 05:33 PM)
can't you see it? when majority says about it. it becomes facts. TS, what are you trying to defend @_@
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 05:43 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(LOvebugs @ Oct 29 2011, 05:33 PM)
im not defending.
just now got 1 fag tell me, waa u going johor isit?
i heard johor the worst.
doh.gif

wtf.
people think that johor the worst but i dont see any huge diff in 3 diff state that ive been on

This post has been edited by shdin271: Oct 29 2011, 05:44 PM
liez
post Oct 29 2011, 05:47 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:58 PM)
i agree.
those data is from 2005 2006.
real exp sometime people can lie.
police data is the best.
hopefully they will give report on crimes  nod.gif
ironically.... there are other sources like interviews from real life examples because police datas are found to be with many flaws. One of them is not everyone go to report the case after incident happened. Thats why police data is one of the worst. ask any criminology student and they will agree with me.... you need one source to supplement with another. So stop being so naive. smile.gif

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 05:43 PM)
im not defending.
isn't it obvious you are from the 1st post of this thread...

This post has been edited by liez: Oct 29 2011, 05:49 PM
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 05:49 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Oct 29 2011, 05:47 PM)
ironically.... there are other sources like interviews from real life examples because police datas are found to be with many flaws. One of them is not everyone go to report the case after incident happened. Thats why police data is one of the worse. So stop being so naive. smile.gif
haiz i also dunno.
some say go check police data,
then u say police data the worst.
shakehead.gif
Mercury_fulminate
post Oct 29 2011, 05:53 PM

70 posts

johor worst, but why properties price still high? why singapork buy house at johor? why buy groceries at johor? also why indo love to work at johor..... said johor worst but still come to johor.. haiz.. better sit quitely at their own place... if johor worst don't come to johor la...
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 05:55 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(Mercury_fulminate @ Oct 29 2011, 05:53 PM)
johor worst, but why properties price  still high? why singapork buy house at johor? why buy groceries at johor? also why indo love to work at johor..... said johor worst but still come to johor.. haiz.. better sit quitely at their own place... if johor worst don't come to johor la...
well said there rclxms.gif
[+]
post Oct 29 2011, 06:01 PM

1,939 posts

johor worst, but why properties price  still high? why singapork buy house at johor? why buy groceries at johor? also why indo love to work at johor..... said johor worst but still come to johor.. haiz.. better sit quitely at their own place... if johor worst don't come to johor la...
if singapore not beside u see how
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 06:03 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Oct 29 2011, 06:01 PM)
if singapore not beside u see how
unfortunately singapore IS beside johor whistling.gif
[+]
post Oct 29 2011, 06:04 PM

1,939 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 06:03 PM)
unfortunately singapore IS beside johor whistling.gif
so you know all this happened because of singapore. not Johor.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 06:05 PM

365 posts

it happens bcoz of money.
so yes
pubo
post Oct 29 2011, 06:09 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(babyrabies @ Oct 29 2011, 03:58 PM)
couldnt agree more lol.
liez
post Oct 29 2011, 06:10 PM

1,346 posts

intend to turn this thread to flaming thread? trolls should get out from this thread. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
iastate
post Oct 29 2011, 06:51 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Oct 29 2011, 06:10 PM)
intend to turn this thread to flaming thread? trolls should get out from this thread.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Agreed.

Crime rate is not the only thing that determines the prosperity of a city.
acbc
post Oct 29 2011, 06:54 PM

9,048 posts

What Johor? Even Hospital Sungai Buloh not safe... my lorry's battery got stolen inside the parking compound. Technically, MY is NOT safe!
kubing
post Oct 29 2011, 07:03 PM

263 posts

is there any house in malaysia tak pasang grill besi? adeii
pwncake
post Oct 29 2011, 07:05 PM

Validating
112 posts

Lol 19 years there and you still can't see why it's not safe? You blind or retard?

I born in Johor raised in Johor till I was 5. Mom kena rob twice, kena pecah masuk twice during that time. Last year sis kena snatch theft. A few years before that my cousin kena rob at knife point and almost kena rogol. If you read a tered of mine about union car pullers, u know about my friend whose wife was harmed.

Seriously, calling you blind or an idiot isn't an overstatement. It's spot on.
TSshdin271
post Oct 29 2011, 07:45 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Oct 29 2011, 07:05 PM)
Lol 19 years there and you still can't see why it's not safe? You blind or retard?

I born in Johor raised in Johor till I was 5. Mom kena rob twice, kena pecah masuk twice during that time. Last year sis kena snatch theft. A few years before that my cousin kena rob at knife point and almost kena rogol. If you read a tered of mine about union car pullers, u know about my friend whose wife was harmed.

Seriously, calling you blind or an idiot isn't an overstatement. It's spot on.
i read that 1 before. the one who messed with some stuffs, sign and car etc.
im sorry what happened to him.

u was raised at johor till 5y/o
i was raised til im 17 y/o. im not blind or retard.
so far nothing messed up to me or my family, i really thanks to god for that. so u got my point?
yes i do agree johor got crime but i just cant brain the point they say johor so dem teruk. rclxub.gif like they say johor the most ruined shocking.gif
wth
gogetter83
post Oct 29 2011, 10:40 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 07:45 PM)
i read that 1 before. the one who messed with some stuffs, sign and car etc.
im sorry what happened to him.
u was raised at johor till 5y/o
i was raised til im 17 y/o. im not blind or retard.
so far nothing messed up to me or my family, i really thanks to god for that. so u got my point?
yes i do agree johor got crime but i just cant brain the point they say johor so dem teruk.  rclxub.gif like they say johor the most ruined  shocking.gif
wth
seems u r one of the rare lucky ones that didn't experience much of the crime in johor....but have u ever brained why JB got the nickname of "cowboy town"? It's not like 1-2ppl say, it's a majority ... but i guess the worst is in JB and surrounding, not every part of Johor. Still if the state capital is f***** up, that just reflects the entire state condition.

i have a bunch of frens from JB that concur with the majority, you're probably the first johorian that I know to disagree with underworld reputation of Johor biggrin.gif
SUSbabyrabies
post Oct 29 2011, 10:43 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Oct 29 2011, 10:40 PM)
seems u r one of the rare lucky ones that didn't experience much of the crime in johor....but have u ever brained why JB got the nickname of "cowboy town"? It's not like 1-2ppl say, it's a majority ... but i guess the worst is in JB and surrounding, not every part of Johor. Still if the state capital is f***** up, that just reflects the entire state condition.

i have a bunch of frens from JB that concur with the majority, you're probably the first johorian that I know to disagree with underworld reputation of Johor  biggrin.gif
i believe he might looked like the underworld lord himself which is why noone dare touch him.
pisces88
post Oct 29 2011, 10:47 PM

3,969 posts

u r just very lucky TS. my friend also once told me if born in johor live in johor but hvnt met with any misfortune, u are not johorian
Mercury_fulminate
post Oct 29 2011, 10:49 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Oct 29 2011, 07:10 PM)
intend to turn this thread to flaming thread? trolls should get out from this thread.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
bro, you think i trolling? i born here johor at 1982... at 2000 i went to penang continue study about 5 years and return back to johor until now.. even my parent, relative all at johor.. even got one of my parent house rented by singapork.. i'm so lucky coz until now i never encountered any robbery/crime or what so ever...
SUSDarkConfidant
post Oct 29 2011, 10:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(kubing @ Oct 29 2011, 07:03 PM)
is there any house in malaysia tak pasang grill besi? adeii
My parents housing estate in malaysia = 80% of houses no grills

problem officer?
kneeYasing
post Oct 29 2011, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 06:03 PM)
unfortunately singapore IS beside johor

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:41 PM)
agree  doh.gif
the security there so f***ing lame

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 29 2011, 04:53 PM)
crime rate i think decreased but still got..

In the end, forgetting the fact you are basing Darul Takzim's crime rate on just JB (as u haven't shown any evidence you've commented on other towns in ur biga55 state) - & since Sg is beside Johor/JB as u say, it is easy for troopers/politicians to use your state as scaremongering tactic to drive away your Sg investors/visitors as much as possible. Until the opposition gets their foot in their door there.

But you are not helping yourself - sorry I mean, ur city.
Cos as you've first asked for stats (which is usually full of sh1t in terms of Msia's civil service biased reporting to begin with) - then you go and agree with the other posters that ur city's (not state's) security is lame.
Ok. So a state's security that's so lame according to a resident of it's capital and nearest inhabitant of a foreign country. Cool.

Your OP title, and still = "Is it safe or not?"
Stop changing goalposts to constantly act dumb and ask respondents ..."but is it the unsafest/worst safety?" etc etc.

Live with it.
If you want ur Iskandar zone thing to work, you better accept it won't unless u make some noise to improve safety concerns for FOREIGN investors/tenants/buyers.
Local Msians wont give a fuk - but they are not the target market of that region for the most of the purchases.
And as long as people keep giving Johor's sh1tty crimerates headlines over & over.. then the biggest loser is the optimum development of that (potentially promising) Iskandar Zone/Region.
GloryKnight
post Oct 30 2011, 12:06 AM

1,770 posts

I believe KL would be much more dangerous than JB town smile.gif

but most of the news-grabbing crime would come from Johor perhaps.

Murders involving pretty girls happen in Johor. Imma sad.
TSshdin271
post Oct 30 2011, 12:50 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(gogetter83 @ Oct 29 2011, 10:40 PM)

i have a bunch of frens from JB that concur with the majority, you're probably the first johorian that I know to disagree with underworld reputation of Johor  biggrin.gif
u heard people say? is it?
oh please u come here and experience it first.
the environment here basically the same as other big city.

btw im not disagree with the reputation etc. i just disagree that people saying its the worst

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 29 2011, 10:47 PM)
u r just very lucky TS. my friend also once told me if born in johor live in johor but hvnt met with any misfortune, u are not johorian
again, a friend told u.
real experience vs friend-told experience

QUOTE(Mercury_fulminate @ Oct 29 2011, 10:49 PM)
bro, you think i trolling? i born here  johor at 1982... at 2000 i went to penang continue study about 5 years and return back to johor until now.. even my parent, relative all at johor.. even got one of my parent  house rented by singapork.. i'm so lucky coz until now i never encountered any robbery/crime or what so ever...
lucky us mate.
lets pray for our safety and others. smile.gif

QUOTE(kneeYasing @ Oct 29 2011, 11:15 PM)
In the end, forgetting the fact you are basing Darul Takzim's crime rate on just JB (as u haven't shown any evidence you've commented on other towns in ur biga55 state) - & since Sg is beside Johor/JB as u say, it is easy for troopers/politicians to use your state as scaremongering tactic to drive away your Sg investors/visitors as much as possible. Until the opposition gets their foot in their door there.

But you are not helping yourself - sorry I mean, ur city.
Cos as you've first asked for stats (which is usually full of sh1t in terms of Msia's civil service biased reporting to begin with) - then you go and agree with the other posters that ur city's (not state's) security is lame.
Ok. So a state's security that's so lame according to a resident of it's capital and nearest inhabitant of a foreign country. Cool.

Stop changing goalposts to constantly act dumb and ask respondents ..."but is it the unsafest/worst safety?" etc etc.

Live with it.
If you want ur Iskandar zone thing to work, you better accept it won't unless u make some noise to improve safety concerns for FOREIGN investors/tenants/buyers.
Local Msians wont give a fuk - but they are not the target market of that region for the most of the purchases.
And as long as people keep giving Johor's sh1tty crimerates headlines over & over.. then the biggest loser is the optimum development of that (potentially promising) Iskandar Zone/Region.
its not me the on basing crime rate on just JB, i didnt say anything like that before did i?
i didnt even comment on any town specifically.
its all about crime rate in johor vs crime rate of other state doh.gif
i just cant brain why people saying johor worse. u get me? why johor worse?
is it because ur friend tell u? isit becoz /k/ tell u? or isit becoz ur own exp ?
read the comment. most of the real life exp people telling 'im cool at johor'. seems like some of them also cant brain why people think so negative about johor.
only the post 'one of my friend told me' give soooo much negative impression on johor<-- wth come on u telling us that a friend tell u bla bla bla doh.gif

yes i do asked for stats. why ? bcoz i want to compare with other states. and see how 'ruined' johor is. im a type who dont believe people word. its more like proof or gtfo.
again yes i agree with the comment saying johor crimes bcoz these thing i know and experienced it before.. thats why i ask why it is worst than other state???

brother wake up im not saying johor have no crime im asking why they say johor the worst??
thats a huge different. u really should take look at my 1st post carefully before posting like a boss who know everything doh.gif

so now we are on international border section. ok
of course the border security is lame. but again why johor the worst?!?!!?.
theres more bad stuffs going on at thailand border and u still say johor the worst doh.gif
u get me. this is my question.
people keep saying johor so bad why??

yes my title is like that, it reflect my 1st post, my main idea of this thread!
u get my main idea do u???? read my very 1st post!
'johor safe or not' <--my title
'i want stat that show the crime rate of all states' <-- my summary of 1st post.
ok? u get me now?

so now from 'my friend told me' story, you are going to foreign people security ? i really cant brain. first of all people saying local people safety and now u saying foreign people's safety ? so which one??
back to my main point WHY JOHOR THE WORST ?? let say foreign guy's safety. so u saying other state have better security to them ??
if u say so, theres would be less or none sg people coming over here..
but why? why each day theres still sg people coming over?!?
u go to tambak johor during holiday or weekends, there will be hundred and thousand sg cars coming to msia.
and u still say they scared to come here?

iskandar development is so successful all the way until now.. u see any defect ? yes no? i see none! danga bay, the new custom and immigration building, the new administrative center Nusajaya. I DONT SEE ANY FAILURE SO FAR
so back to my main point, why u say johor the worst?!?!?

btw bro here some important thing for u.

Flaming_lion
post Oct 30 2011, 12:52 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

Johor is the safest place in Malaysia. I know this because Johor gahmen say dis... I dun trust LGE wan... He liez wan...
syockit
post Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM

177 posts

kneeYasing's post pretty much wrapped up the thread.
In the end, forgetting the fact you are basing Darul Takzim's crime rate on just JB

Yup. It's important to understand the context of the discussion. When LGE was commenting about it, it's safe to assume that he wasn't talking about Segamat, Muar, Batu Pahat, or Mersing areas. And everyone else complaining about crime in Johor, we can be sure too that they're not talking about those districts remote from JB.

Many people agree it's not as safe. So TS, I think your question is answered, but maybe you're questioning the basis.
They base it on anecdotes. You may argue that the value of anecdotes is less important compared to stastistics, but not everyone thinks rationally using stastistics. Even rational people won't be foolish enough to base a judgement on solely stastistics as stastistics don't really paint the whole picture. Word of mouth is a really powerful influence. I, for example, after hearing from my relatives who live in Batu Pahat that they were robbed twice, will think twice before considering moving to that town. (And that LGE debacle was also word of mouth, but someone just had to break the journalism ethics by publishing off-the-record statement)
"but is it the unsafest/worst safety?"

TS, you too would agree that people don't care whether the place they're living in has the worst safety, they're not competing to be entered in Malaysian Book of Records. It's the same like the argument with rising petrol prices; people are complaining it's getting too expensive yet all the leaders bothered to say was "yet we have the cheapest petrol in the region!"
am3rr
post Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

im a johorian, my mum is a johorian, and i think its not as safe as kl. i live there for since i was a child then migrated to kl, in those years, my motor stole thrice, house got broke, + ambush some more. and sorry to say mate.
TSshdin271
post Oct 30 2011, 01:01 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
kneeYasing's post pretty much wrapped up the thread.

Yup. It's important to understand the context of the discussion. When LGE was commenting about it, it's safe to assume that he wasn't talking about Segamat, Muar, Batu Pahat, or Mersing areas. And everyone else complaining about crime in Johor, we can be sure too that they're not talking about those districts remote from JB.

Many people agree it's not as safe. So TS, I think your question is answered, but maybe you're questioning the basis.
They base it on anecdotes. You may argue that the value of anecdotes is less important compared to stastistics, but not everyone thinks rationally using stastistics. Even rational people won't be foolish enough to base a judgement on solely stastistics as stastistics don't really paint the whole picture. Word of mouth is a really powerful influence. I, for example, after hearing from my relatives who live in Batu Pahat that they were robbed twice, will think twice before considering moving to that town. (And that LGE debacle was also word of mouth, but someone just had to break the journalism ethics by publishing off-the-record statement)

TS, you too would agree that people don't care whether the place they're living in has the worst safety, they're not competing to be entered in Malaysian Book of Records. It's the same like the argument with rising petrol prices; people are complaining it's getting too expensive yet all the leaders bothered to say was "yet we have the cheapest petrol in the region!"
this is a really professional reply mate.
thanks for sharing. icon_rolleyes.gif
yes i totally agree with u mate.
i just dont want people giving -ve impression on not only johor but other states.
and btw no matter which state its still malaysia.

btw feel sorry for ur relative sad.gif

QUOTE(am3rr @ Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
im a johorian, my mum is a johorian, and i think its not as safe as kl. i live there for since i was a child then migrated to kl, in those years, my motor stole thrice, house got broke, + ambush some more. and sorry to say mate.
im sorry for u bro. sad.gif
pisces88
post Oct 30 2011, 01:02 AM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
damn.. KL already so dangerous, johor lagi teruk cry.gif
TSshdin271
post Oct 30 2011, 01:04 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 30 2011, 01:02 AM)
damn.. KL already so dangerous, johor lagi teruk cry.gif
for me its just the same.
u better come here and try live here.
real life experience is more important icon_rolleyes.gif
replymela
post Oct 30 2011, 01:05 AM

39 posts

u must have read this tered http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2082334
TSshdin271
post Oct 30 2011, 01:08 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(replymela @ Oct 30 2011, 01:05 AM)
u must have read this tered http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2082334
feel sorry for that.
but my question,
how true is that story ??
and is that 1 story changes everything on johor?
so nearly 1300000 people is not living in peacE?

This post has been edited by shdin271: Oct 30 2011, 01:11 AM
Lukr3va
post Oct 30 2011, 01:09 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 30 2011, 01:08 AM)
feel sorry for that.
but my question,
how true is that story ??
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Zarazagoza
post Oct 30 2011, 01:12 AM

246 posts

As a Malaysian who live in JB for almost all of his life, I am agreed with the opinion that JB is not safe and most unsafe place to live in Malaysia. And this is based on my personal experience.
pisces88
post Oct 30 2011, 01:13 AM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 30 2011, 01:04 AM)
for me its just the same.
u better come here and try live here.
real life experience is more important  icon_rolleyes.gif
but more and more johorians come in say its dangerous wor.. i've been there a few times, very fortunate i've not encounter anything bad..
hanieyf
post Oct 30 2011, 01:21 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

my kapung at johor....yes.johor sukkk
Enjoise
post Oct 30 2011, 01:22 AM

462 posts

lived 10 years in kl n 10 years in johor..
Personally encounter 2 incident in johor n 2 incident in kl..

bt johor definately hv more stories n reputation of crime..
even if i hv lots of money, i would not hv any confidence to spent on little luxury in johor..

n now im in sg =D
kneeYasing
post Oct 30 2011, 01:28 AM

QUOTE(syockit @ Oct 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
Yup. It's important to understand the context of the discussion.[....]

Well said. No intention to diss TS, but ostrich-head-in-sand moments does not help.
Just think where one is in Sg Petani or in Tebrau - if you have taken all common sense measures to ensure your safety/wellbeing from crime, but still kena crime, then areas where u kena more than usual will usually come out in the open.
syockit
post Oct 30 2011, 01:32 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 30 2011, 01:01 AM)
i just dont want people giving -ve impression on not only johor but other states.
You can't control how other people feel about what they've experienced. If any, the authority should be the one to step forward and bring confidence to the public. Maybe they can cooperate with the media to highlight the achievements of Johor PDRM in curtailing crime. If people hear more news of police doing good job, for example headlines like "Matahari Gang is busted!" "Kidnapping ring busted!" "Police saves the day before robbers manage to do anything", then they'd have the feeling that the situation is no longer as bad as what they've gone through. And if more people get first-hand experience in getting cases solved by the police, they too will spread news about how good the police is faring, and maybe they'll start telling relatives that Johor is now safe.
SGSuser
post Oct 30 2011, 01:40 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

1st step on johor land after plane landing almost kena robbed d...

so conclusion johor is teh worst
PreffixCity
post Oct 30 2011, 03:25 AM

14 posts

everywhere in Malaysia is dangerous... sad.gif

don't need to talk about JB... shakehead.gif

my daddy won't even let me out alone... worst when night comes... cry.gif
gogetter83
post Oct 30 2011, 11:04 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Oct 30 2011, 12:50 AM)
u heard people say? is it?
oh please u come here and experience it first.
the environment here basically the same as other big city.

btw im not disagree with the reputation etc. i just disagree that people saying its the worst
dude, i'm not johorian, but i'm just building the picture in my head based on the comments from many johorian. U open the thread asking a question and seem not be able to accept that the majority in the thread doesn't agree with u.

I've got nothing against johor, but if johor's own ppl say that, how can I say either wise? Like i said, not 1-2 ppl say, i have many frens born and bred in johor, still living there. All say the same thing, but I can understand that JB is the problem here, not entire state of Johor. But logically, if the capital itself is like that, how would the state itself be in general?

Why do I need to come and experience it myself? U think this is a carnival ghost ride to go and experience the thrill of being scared? If 9/10 johorians (u being the 1/10) say it's not safe, then it's not safe. Your own statesmen say that, ever wonder why?

p/s: I've been to JB. the weekend I visited, my fren's Nissan Sunny got stolen (parked near the ground floor of his flats). I know that could happen anywhere, but how does that help to improve the already damning reputation of Johor?

This post has been edited by gogetter83: Oct 30 2011, 11:14 AM
zZNekoChanZz
post Oct 30 2011, 11:28 AM

428 posts

Been living for 12 years in Kluang [located in the middle of Johor]. So far, my family had never encounter any crime except broad daylight robbery once. So I'm thankful for that.

Once, my buddy's mum was snatched of her handbag by a motorcyclist snatch thief and was dragged for a few blocks of shops before the strap finally broke. Luckily, she only suffered minor injuries.

Other case was that my neighbor's house got ransacked and even the TV got carried away, in the morning. [Most of the residents are out at work]. What's worst, the pulis only came at night even though the report was made in the afternoon, and complained "Benda remeh-remeh macam ni pun nak buat report" doh.gif

There's another time a force break-in almost occurred in my house, but my house alarm went off. I went to take a look outside and saw silhouette of 2 adult men running away.

There are many other cases too which I don't really remember.

So, I personally don't really think Johor is a safe place as they claim to be.

This post has been edited by zZNekoChanZz: Oct 30 2011, 11:29 AM
Silenced
post Oct 30 2011, 11:34 AM

439 posts

live in jb,its like u will be rob any time if you walking along any street
Dr Jan Itor
post Oct 30 2011, 11:36 AM

82 posts

This 1 time I was in Johor, I was beaten by a bunch of rempits. They eventually robbed me off my 3 packets of Mamee Monster.

Johor....definitely Unsafe
ainuddin
post Oct 31 2011, 02:26 AM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

i live in jb, been here all my life. crime is just the same if not less than kl and penang. but...
OT: LGE orang JB. LOL

replymela
post Oct 31 2011, 02:32 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 31 2011, 02:26 AM)
i live in jb, been here all my life. crime is just the same if not less than kl and penang. but...

OT: LGE orang JB. LOL
fear-mongering? well since bn always kutuk pr states, especially penang , and most of the allegations are misinformations, i dont see whats wrong with lge stating a view that actually has some truth in it.
AlexLee277
post Oct 31 2011, 02:38 AM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

u wear kadet polis uniform go out walk walk with a baton, people scare

14 years ago i live at mershing,johor, all i remember is the float and i play water

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Oct 31 2011, 02:39 AM
Irzani
post Oct 31 2011, 03:02 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

For some reason after reading this tered, I've to rethink whether to apply a jobs in SG (live in Johor)/Johor ... sweat.gif
Sethmaster
post Oct 31 2011, 04:45 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 29 2011, 04:07 PM)

sound like bullshit

I know most crimes there are committed against teenagers and young adults who most thieves know that either have no confidence in the police or the cops don't give a damn about.
Not to mention they have the most valuable personal belongings carried around them, lol.

If the percentage of crimes reported is the same as KL, JB is the crime centre for the whole Malaysia, lol.
You need to thanks for most Johorians giving up hope in Johor police and some thieves' strategy of stealing small stuffs only (leaving the SIM card and IC back to the victims) for the very low cases count, old ye proud Johorian
bobohead1988
post Oct 31 2011, 05:00 AM

852 posts

After reading all ts said I can only say this

Posting in a troll thread
ahpoo
post Oct 31 2011, 05:49 AM

78 posts

kl/klang valley is more unsafe..u see the head lines on acid throw?child kidnaping/rape??

Now even sked to roll down my car window when driving here..

I think johor just got more attention due to its proximity to singapore..i.e. singapore always got beef with msia..so who better to batch than ur closest neighbour?rite?

This post has been edited by ahpoo: Oct 31 2011, 06:01 AM
boblp
post Nov 18 2011, 03:22 PM

This is awkward
587 posts

lol.. seriously.. i loled a lot at u guys.. im a johorean.. been here for more than 25 years... at Kulai.. so JB is quite near la..

I wonder why some of em' johorean n not even johorean telling stories bout how bad johor is.. not safe here n there.. personally.. ive never had that kind of experience.. u say its not safe? really? currently working at bangsar and what can i say.. i felt Johor is safer.. maybe coz i was born n raised there n never experienced anything bad at johor.. maybe u guys unlucky people..

but anyway.. people claiming johor is not a safe place to be is bullshyt.. crime can be anywhere.. not at johor only.. wait till u get rob/snatched at other state n start labeling that place not safe bla bla bla.. grow up.. nowhere is perfectly safe nowadays..

ps: i hate people driving in the emergency lane at federal highway.. always potong que.. lol.. y u no patient.. zzzzzzzzzz
SUSXabrius
post Nov 18 2011, 03:28 PM

»»───Knee───►
1,486 posts

Story goes like this:

Back in the 90s, JB got a lot of squatters, demand for Indon workers boomed... All lived in squatters, govt can't do anything to them, they all are Red-IC holders (real also got, fake also got)

After the 98" Economy crisis, many people ran out of work

A 03~04" sudden crime rate boom, due to squatters being demolished main crimes are robbery.

Problem haven't been solved till today, since the Indons are raking in big money by robbing SG tourists, locals joined them. Locals formed up bigger forces and robberies became more frequent.

JBrean here, living in SG... Sked to balik JB liao...
SUSXabrius
post Nov 18 2011, 03:30 PM

»»───Knee───►
1,486 posts

QUOTE(boblp @ Nov 18 2011, 03:22 PM)
lol.. seriously.. i loled a lot at u guys.. im a johorean.. been here for more than 25 years... at Kulai.. so JB is quite near la..

I wonder why some of em' johorean n not even johorean telling stories bout how bad johor is.. not safe here n there..  personally.. ive never had that kind of experience.. u say its not safe? really? currently working at bangsar and what can i say.. i felt Johor is safer.. maybe coz i was born n raised there n never experienced anything bad at johor.. maybe u guys unlucky people..
Maybe I suay lor, kena rob in car at Bukit Indah...

0.0337sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:53 AM