2 GB the way of the future?

Computer^freak
post Oct 17 2005, 11:57 AM

The Holy See
992 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Oct 17 2005, 11:40 AM)
i'm already on 2gb since last year, but so far i never seen my free ram drop below 1gig most of the time unless i open two high end game at once.
When boot up windows and normal surffing is left 1.3gig free, and when play AOE3 with high detail without fsaa only took 180mb.
Mostly 1.5gb is enuf for game, a single windows application/game cant consume more than 1gb in windows. That's why when i memtest my ram, i have to run two instances instead of 1.
I havent actually played AOE but I can say that RTS games are less demanding than FPS.

Back to the topic, 4X512MB(2 modules of dual channel 1GB@ 2X512MB) or 2X1GB, which configurations do most people use nowadays ?? Thinking of selling off my cheapo 2X512MB and get a 2X 1GB but is it more practical to get an extra 2X512MB since 2X1GB pricing is not at its best.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Computer^freak: Oct 17 2005, 11:57 AM
Hornet
post Oct 17 2005, 11:58 AM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 17 2005, 11:39 AM)
and when was it that i said more ram makes it faster?blink.gif
that statement was never in my sentence and it's pretty obvious that there are other determinants on the system smoothness and quickness such as the hardisk speed, processor speeds and whatnot.

oh yeah, and those who can't stand the lagginess of the hardisk (ain't that always the headache?), there's I-RAM and i think babyelf is going to test them soon. Let's see what he says.
well, my mistake then, but from u'r post, it does seems like u'r suggesting there is somesort of improvement in 2Gig over 1Gig (or at least u'r suggesting that all ppl, both who can and cannot afford it, do believe that there is peformance inprovement)...else no one's gonna want want 2Gig, being sour grape or whatever

So, basically i'm just giving my opinion that 2 gig isn't nessarily improve peformance, just in case there's anyone who have the misconcept that more ram always means better... wink.gif
ychwang
post Oct 17 2005, 12:15 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(Computer^freak @ Oct 17 2005, 11:57 AM)
I havent actually played AOE but I can say that RTS games are less demanding than FPS.

Back to the topic, 4X512MB(2 modules of dual channel 1GB@ 2X512MB) or 2X1GB, which configurations do most people use nowadays ?? Thinking of selling off my cheapo 2X512MB and get a 2X 1GB but is it more practical to get an extra 2X512MB since 2X1GB pricing is not at its best.

Cheers.
i'm on 4 x 512 bcoz it still manage to go 250mhz. I heard that 1gb ram module is not that OC compare to 512mb.

empire23
post Oct 17 2005, 12:22 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Oct 17 2005, 11:58 AM)
just in case there's anyone who have the misconcept that more ram always means better... wink.gif
Actually it does, it's the ability of the operating system to utilize and address that ram. OSX is a good example of this, Windows XP hits a wall at 2 gb. Literally.
Hornet
post Oct 17 2005, 12:45 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 17 2005, 12:22 PM)
Actually it does, it's the ability of the operating system to utilize and address that ram. OSX is a good example of this, Windows XP hits a wall at 2 gb. Literally.
hmm? i don't quite get what u mean there...
anyway i was talking about performance, specifically gaming
empire23
post Oct 17 2005, 01:06 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Oct 17 2005, 12:45 PM)
hmm? i don't quite get what u mean there...
anyway i was talking about performance, specifically gaming
The ability to scale performance with RAM actually comes down to the operating system and not the ram when we hit the 2 gigabyte brick wall. And yes, loads of games these days love hewg loads of rams, try Rome total war with 20000 individual soldiers and you'll thank god for that extra gig.
kingmaker_20
post Oct 17 2005, 01:17 PM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

Eeer..just spent 600 bucks on twinmos 512 x2,now feeling like saving some $$ for another 512 x2 sweat.gif
pizzaboy
post Oct 17 2005, 01:29 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ Oct 17 2005, 01:17 PM)
Eeer..just spent 600 bucks on twinmos 512 x2,now feeling like saving some $$ for another 512 x2 sweat.gif
wow you sure got it at a high price
definitely didn't buy frm garage sale didja
try 1GBx2 instead la....
it doesn't stress the mem controller as empire had said earlier that much and probably gives u higher overclocks
almostthere
post Oct 17 2005, 01:37 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Mem controller it does not stress but the limitation of XP will indicate that anything around there is overkill. vista is another story as 64 bit computing's max mem usage is about 12Gb if I'm not mistaken
ikanayam
post Oct 17 2005, 01:45 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Oct 17 2005, 12:37 AM)
Mem controller it does not stress but the limitation of XP will indicate that anything around there is overkill. vista is another story as 64 bit computing's max mem usage is about 12Gb if I'm not mistaken
actually x86-64 CPUs support a 48bit virtual address space and 40bit physical address space. Which means about 1TeraByte of memory. And of course it adds extra load on the memory controller.
Kite
post Oct 17 2005, 02:09 PM

Dark Tipper
4,289 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Oct 16 2005, 02:58 PM)
Wow... 2GB... Alot of money will be used too.. =\
Get a console , no need to worry about upgrading stuff ... tongue.gif
aad_lfcfn
post Oct 17 2005, 02:13 PM

402 posts

aiya..better saves for future rig..dual core..SLI.. DDR2...if you want to upgrade now(your old p4/A64) with 2GB ram ,,i think it will waste your money only..well, this is just my 2 cents..
servonet
post Oct 17 2005, 02:15 PM

Rebel Without a Cause
503 posts

future?? i tot it's the IN thing nowadays tongue.gif 4 gb would be the future biggrin.gif
aad_lfcfn
post Oct 17 2005, 02:31 PM

402 posts

that's just an example..................!<>
Eoma
post Oct 17 2005, 03:27 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 17 2005, 10:20 AM)
Nah, when the frame buffer is full it gets flushed, unless you're using turbo cache, don't expect it to share memory.
Of course. blush.gif Noob error there. I must have mixed things up.

So, any specific issues with 512x4 on an AI7 I should know about ? I'm running 512x2 now.
ychwang
post Oct 17 2005, 03:36 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Oct 17 2005, 03:27 PM)
Of course.  blush.gif Noob error there. I must have mixed things up.

So, any specific issues with 512x4 on an AI7 I should know about ? I'm running 512x2 now.
No problem so far, 512 x 4 DT-D43 on AI7

jarofclay
post Oct 17 2005, 04:19 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

Put it this way:

4 x 512MB for P4 doesn't have much impact as A64. Most A64 would run at 2T timings if all 4 banks are populated. This is because P4 runs at 1T only.

That's why it might be advisable that A64 runs with 2 x 1GB. Even the timings of 1Gb sticks are not so tight compared to 512 modules, at least it runs at 1T.

But if you already have 2 x 512MB sticks, it might be more feasible to get another 2 sticks so that you dun need to sell off your existing RAM. I'd rather run on slower timings or even at 2T as it is definitely much faster than in the case of insufficient memory (and hence, page file swapping).

Some sharing that I've encountered on my rig:

BF2 uses about 1.4GB of RAM
FEAR uses about 1.2-1.3GB
Doom3 uses 1.1-1.2GB
Half Life 2 uses 800MB-1.1GB
Ridd*** uses roughly 700-1.1GB

So all of these games will definitely cause page file swapping (that's why my games are stuttering all the time but the frame rates are still averagely high). I'd rather run at slower timings and have elimation of stuttering.

ikanayam
post Oct 17 2005, 04:43 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

P4 chipsets don't always run at 1T cmd rate AFAIK. Depending on the memory used, sometimes it drops to 2T, although i suspect that the performance drop from this is not as great as it is for an A64.
Swaye
post Oct 17 2005, 04:44 PM

236 posts

Hey a simple question,If i wanted to run dual channel mode..do i need to buy a kit? or can have 1 gig of ram and later on add an additional stick of 1 gig??
pizzaboy
post Oct 17 2005, 04:46 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Swaye @ Oct 17 2005, 04:44 PM)
Hey a simple question,If i wanted to run dual channel mode..do i need to buy a kit? or can have 1 gig of ram and later on add an additional stick of 1 gig??
~ yes

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0224sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:17 AM