This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Oct 17 2005, 01:11 AM |
Oct 17 2005, 01:12 AM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
I'm using 1.5GB, I assume no or little diff with 2GB.
Maybe 4GB would be about right. Mainly photochop use. |
Oct 17 2005, 06:24 AM
2,851 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KuAlA LuMpUr |
well , now i have 512mb ,
and it sucks |
Oct 17 2005, 06:35 AM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I'm running on 512 + 256 ...
My notebook has 256 and I just add on an extra 512 ram inside...haha Okay for me since I'm not a gamer.... |
Oct 17 2005, 06:47 AM
460 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: 2.27,102.55 |
gonna spent from now on for 2gb...1gb is not enough...
Oct 17 2005, 06:57 AM
7,559 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
2GG ram?
i'll say games require this high ram are un-optimized program from the screenshots i see.... doesnt impress me a bit |
Oct 17 2005, 07:34 AM
3,277 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
anyone here tried 4GB full before, I've tried it before, and it was sweet, I've got a rich friend, 4GB's of Corsair XMS, If I'm not mistaken, he was kinda enough to borrow it to me.
Oct 17 2005, 09:13 AM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
planning and ZOMGLY HUMONGOUS 256 mb x 2 for my new rig! BOW DOWN IN SHADOW OF IT'S 1337-NESS!
Anyways, less banks and less memory put less stress on the memory controller, making Ocing easier. |
Oct 17 2005, 09:29 AM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 17 2005, 09:13 AM) planning and ZOMGLY HUMONGOUS 256 mb x 2 for my new rig! BOW DOWN IN SHADOW OF IT'S 1337-NESS! More RAM will benefit the pc in gaming.Faster loading time.But how much percentage will higher capacity RAM limit the o/cing?Just wish to know.Never experience b4.Anyways, less banks and less memory put less stress on the memory controller, making Ocing easier. |
Oct 17 2005, 09:38 AM
4,251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca, Malaysia, Earth |
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Oct 17 2005, 12:26 AM) If you got 2GB of RAM now,i think your spec can tahan for quite a long time in gaming rite?A step earlier from others moving to 2GB RAM.Wao smart man.I wish i can have 2GB RAM now.Ahaha,can save loading time in game. i don't think it makes loading time any fasteru just have more memory for u'r system, the loading time is still pretty much limited to how fast u'r HDD can transfere data, and u'r memory bandwidth for that mater, not its size. QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 17 2005, 01:10 AM) donno, but i'm starting to think that those without 2GB ram are merely living in self denial. more ram alone doesn't make a system any faster, its the system as a whole, not just a component.....it'll be pretty silly for a low end user to get 2Gig, because at the end of the day, the application he runs will be tone down so low that he barely need anything more than 1gig...u have to be running the currently greatest system which can handle a situation where the program will take more than 1 gig, then u'll be utilizing it.They know they want 2GB, but they're being sour grapes. This post has been edited by Hornet: Oct 17 2005, 09:39 AM |
Oct 17 2005, 09:54 AM
QUOTE i don't think it makes loading time any faster From my own experience,256MB to 512MB of RAM makes alot of different in game loading time.But i dunno how the 2GB.So i assumed that more RAM will benefit in loading time and of course will make game run smoother.u just have more memory for u'r system, the loading time is still pretty much limited to how fast u'r HDD can transfere data, and u'r memory bandwidth for that mater, not its size. QUOTE more ram alone doesn't make a system any faster, its the system as a whole, not just a component.....it'll be pretty silly for a low end user to get 2Gig, because at the end of the day, the application he runs will be tone down so low that he barely need anything more than 1gig...u have to be running the currently greatest system which can handle a situation where the program will take more than 1 gig, then u'll be utilizing it. And i agree with you that low end pc no need to use up to 2GB RAM la.Imagine a P3 with 2GB SDRAM(Just am example la,P3 cant support so much RAM),definately wont benefit the user but only 1 thing for sure he/she can open up many ie at the same time witout lacking of RAM. |
Oct 17 2005, 10:00 AM
4,603 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
True, there are very few programs (and even fewer games) that can take advantage of 2GB of RAM. But they are out there. I believe the 2GB will help when there's too much data/textures being shifted about and the GPU framebuffer is exhausted.
Oct 17 2005, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(daruma @ Oct 17 2005, 06:57 AM) 2GG ram? I do agree with your point for the moment now.A program that make use more RAM is no good.i'll say games require this high ram are un-optimized program from the screenshots i see.... doesnt impress me a bit QUOTE(Eoma @ Oct 17 2005, 10:00 AM) True, there are very few programs (and even fewer games) that can take advantage of 2GB of RAM. But they are out there. I believe the 2GB will help when there's too much data/textures being shifted about and the GPU framebuffer is exhausted. For now still very few program will use up to 2GB RAM.In future sure will have.Since we can see from the earlier computer with little of RAM 1MB untill now we have 1000MB or some with 2000MB.You can see the evolution from there. |
Oct 17 2005, 10:18 AM
1,191 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Ipoh, now PJ |
sigh... those PC Game developers are just too pampered... imagine those console developers who needs to squeeze out every bit of juice from a 3-4 year old technology. Thats the real way to go, not relying on ever-increasing technology, but to leverage on current technology and push them to the limit. Efficiency and optimization is the correct way.
Oct 17 2005, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(Eoma @ Oct 17 2005, 10:00 AM) True, there are very few programs (and even fewer games) that can take advantage of 2GB of RAM. But they are out there. I believe the 2GB will help when there's too much data/textures being shifted about and the GPU framebuffer is exhausted. Nah, when the frame buffer is full it gets flushed, unless you're using turbo cache, don't expect it to share memory. Games normally utilize the main memory for storing things like maps, locations, and other non graphic centric data, no really important in most games, but for games with huge maps and tons of AI controlled characters like Boiling point, Battlefield 2, Rome Total War, a b**** arse huge memory is obviously needed. |
Oct 17 2005, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Oct 17 2005, 10:18 AM) sigh... those PC Game developers are just too pampered... imagine those console developers who needs to squeeze out every bit of juice from a 3-4 year old technology. Thats the real way to go, not relying on ever-increasing technology, but to leverage on current technology and push them to the limit. Efficiency and optimization is the correct way. Actually, it's more a problem of compatibility, true, the X86 standard works well for all, but as we know some processors excell in some areas and lag behind, you can't really expect a game programmer to program for 1 brand of processor can you, the Pentium 4 really lags behind when it comes to cache access and has long-ish 31 stage pipeline, with optimization, i'm sure it could work better, but with numerous features out there, HT, Dual Core, SSE3, most programmers have to just stick with the middle ground and hope for the best. |
Oct 17 2005, 10:35 AM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Oct 17 2005, 10:55 AM
1,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Those who wish to make the transition, kindly consider this bulk http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=208219
Oct 17 2005, 11:39 AM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Hornet @ Oct 17 2005, 09:38 AM) more ram alone doesn't make a system any faster, its the system as a whole, not just a component.....it'll be pretty silly for a low end user to get 2Gig, because at the end of the day, the application he runs will be tone down so low that he barely need anything more than 1gig...u have to be running the currently greatest system which can handle a situation where the program will take more than 1 gig, then u'll be utilizing it. that statement was never in my sentence and it's pretty obvious that there are other determinants on the system smoothness and quickness such as the hardisk speed, processor speeds and whatnot. oh yeah, and those who can't stand the lagginess of the hardisk (ain't that always the headache?), there's I-RAM and i think babyelf is going to test them soon. Let's see what he says. |
Oct 17 2005, 11:40 AM
4,607 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
i'm already on 2gb since last year, but so far i never seen my free ram drop below 1gig most of the time unless i open two high end game at once.
When boot up windows and normal surffing is left 1.3gig free, and when play AOE3 with high detail without fsaa only took 180mb. Mostly 1.5gb is enuf for game, a single windows application/game cant consume more than 1gb in windows. That's why when i memtest my ram, i have to run two instances instead of 1. |
| Change to: | 0.0178sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:14 AM |