windows xp can handle max how many gb of ram?
2 GB the way of the future?
Dec 29 2005, 08:10 PM
1,546 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: botfly heaven |
windows xp can handle max how many gb of ram?
Dec 29 2005, 08:26 PM
4,784 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: MY |
Xp = 32bit 2^32 = 4gig |
Dec 30 2005, 11:05 AM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
minus the devices memory address, I think u will get roughly only 3.5GB
Jan 8 2006, 09:42 PM
2,068 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh / Penang / PJ |
Yup, after minusing all those buffer memory reserves for pci devices, you will definitely not get 4GB; most prolly you'll only see 3.5-3.8GB of memory "only".
Back to the main topic... 2GB is going to be the essential tool for a serious gamer; no doubt about it. |
Jan 8 2006, 09:56 PM
10,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: GMT +8:00 |
QUOTE(jarofclay @ Jan 8 2006, 08:42 AM) Yup, after minusing all those buffer memory reserves for pci devices, you will definitely not get 4GB; most prolly you'll only see 3.5-3.8GB of memory "only". It's not buffer memory. It's virtual memory addresses. I don't think the memory is actually used.Back to the main topic... 2GB is going to be the essential tool for a serious gamer; no doubt about it. This post has been edited by ikanayam: Jan 8 2006, 09:57 PM |
Jan 8 2006, 09:59 PM
3,622 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I agree with 2GB is the current 'minimum' requirement for hardcore gamers... the Far Cry graphics mania hasnt been long but then its a 1GB story... now i think the game developers are trying to milk our wallets dry from the vga cards and the RAM itself...
Btw, izit OK for me to have x2 512MB DDR400 and x1 1GB DDR2 ram on the mobo? |
Jan 8 2006, 10:39 PM
1,737 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
On the S939 boards that I've owned: Asus, Abit, Gigabyte and DFI; I've had generally poor sucess in populating all four memory slots. ALL of them (with the exception of the DFI Expert) will not boot with all four slots filled. The DFI Expert would boot but presumably because they were not IDENTICAL chips, would only recognize two of the four.
My solution was to go with a new pair of OCZ 1 gig chips paired to a total of 2 gigs. The final bottleneck in the system has therefore been removed. Widescreen gaming with full eye candy and no stuttering. I'm rediscovering FEAR at the moment. Am also trying out Quake4.... |
Jan 9 2006, 12:03 AM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 8 2006, 09:59 PM) I agree with 2GB is the current 'minimum' requirement for hardcore gamers... the Far Cry graphics mania hasnt been long but then its a 1GB story... now i think the game developers are trying to milk our wallets dry from the vga cards and the RAM itself... if ur using athlon64, 1gb per stick is recommendedBtw, izit OK for me to have x2 512MB DDR400 and x1 1GB DDR2 ram on the mobo? 512mb per stick also can, but u need 4 sticks to get 2gb and thus timing will be reduced to 2t, which may effect performance. |
Jan 9 2006, 12:19 AM
3,622 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
^ uhhh how come ppl tell me dual 512mb DDR400 is faster than 1GB DDR2 on S939 boards? I havent buy the processor yet cos still in the process of case modding so wanna double confirm first before getting new RAM *again*
Jan 9 2006, 12:27 AM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Acey @ Jan 9 2006, 12:19 AM) ^ uhhh how come ppl tell me dual 512mb DDR400 is faster than 1GB DDR2 on S939 boards? I havent buy the processor yet cos still in the process of case modding so wanna double confirm first before getting new RAM *again* ok... look hereur ultimate upgrade is 2GB rite? lets say u buy 2x512MB to run dual channel.. if coz dual channel run faster than single channel 1x1GB. (1/2 sticks always run at 1t), applies to amd64 onli when the times comes for upgrade to 2gb, u would purchase additional 2x512mb and thus u have 4x512mb which is equals to 2gb but command rate timing will automatically changed to 2t. (if use synthetic benchmark, in my case from ~5100mb per sec in sandra will drop to abt 4700, when go from 1t to 2t) unless u can try forcing it to run at 1t n c whether it can run or not. if u have 1x1gb and u wanted to upgrade to 2gb, just get anohter and u have 2x1gb =2gb and yet ur timing will still be 1t. so... u'll have to see which path to take This post has been edited by jinaun: Jan 9 2006, 12:33 AM |
Jan 9 2006, 12:49 AM
195 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL |
With relatively low RAM prices, 2gb is definitely worth getting these days.
Dunno whether in future got bh-5/ch-5 coming out with 1gb sticks? Currently on 4 X 512mb @2T @ 2.5-3-3. Feel much happier on this setup compared with 2 X 512 @ 1T @ 2-2-2. Even though running pathetically @2T and lower timings, games and certain applications are performing better now. |
Jan 9 2006, 07:29 AM
1,111 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: UK |
man dis ram thingy is kinda makes me dizzy...here wana ask ya guys opinion...i wana upgrade my ram to 1gig....using asus a8N deluxe SLI...amd athlon 3000+...(venice core)...wut i was wanderin is...there are ddr and ddr2 rams r8??and there several types of speed i presume...400Mhz,533Mhz and 667Mhz...so dis means da higher speed da better r8?correct me if im wrong...but ive been tru da thread and sum said dat it has limitations....sum wud run at 333Mhz onli??or 400Mhz??or did i get it all wrong??arghh...
This post has been edited by Turnip: Jan 9 2006, 07:36 AM |
Jan 9 2006, 07:35 AM
3,274 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Melacca ~NendoSlave~ |
AMD currently not supporting DDR2
so forget about DDR2 and go get a DDR1 ddr400 this is your mobo's memory spec CODE - 4 x 184-pin DIMM Sockets support max. 4GB DDR400/DDR333/DDR266 ECC/ non-ECC un-buffered DDR SDRAM memory - Dual Channel Memory Architecture it only support DDR400/333/266 This post has been edited by ShinAsuka: Jan 9 2006, 07:37 AM |
Jan 9 2006, 07:37 AM
QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Jan 9 2006, 08:35 AM) ic....so wut are ddr2 rams fer??intel?? This post has been edited by Turnip: Jan 9 2006, 07:39 AM |
Jan 9 2006, 07:38 AM
yup currently only intel using ddr2
Jan 9 2006, 07:40 AM
Jan 9 2006, 07:42 AM
also the same for X2 and opterons
not sure the future product M2 can support DDR2 or not about M2 CODE Even more recently, we saw a post on CoolTechZone that said that AMD was thinking of skipping DDR2 memory completely, and going from DDR straight to DDR3. Is it possible that AMD is again going to take the road less traveled and attempt another one-upping of Intel's technology decisions? Then today, from the same source, information on AMD moving their current DDR support up to speeds of DDR500. While there is no standard for DDR500 from JEDEC, it is entirely possible that AMD would or could have already implemented this in their latest "Venice" core processors. This post has been edited by ShinAsuka: Jan 9 2006, 07:43 AM |
Jan 9 2006, 07:47 AM
QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Jan 9 2006, 08:42 AM) also the same for X2 and opterons owh ok...sigh...runnin only on 400mhz onli i guess...so wut about high performance rams then??do dey make any difference??sorry to many questions...kinda dumb in ram stuffs..not sure the future product M2 can support DDR2 or not about M2 CODE Even more recently, we saw a post on CoolTechZone that said that AMD was thinking of skipping DDR2 memory completely, and going from DDR straight to DDR3. Is it possible that AMD is again going to take the road less traveled and attempt another one-upping of Intel's technology decisions? Then today, from the same source, information on AMD moving their current DDR support up to speeds of DDR500. While there is no standard for DDR500 from JEDEC, it is entirely possible that AMD would or could have already implemented this in their latest "Venice" core processors. |
Jan 9 2006, 07:53 AM
high performence ram of cos better den normal value ram hahaha
if not they wont be called high performence liao high performence ram usually with better chipsets and PCB's and both also will affect the OCbality high performence ram's timing will be varied since different ram got different structure. like some is 2-2-2-5, very tight timings and some with 3-3-3-6 and so on the tighter the better |
Jan 9 2006, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Jan 9 2006, 08:53 AM) high performence ram of cos better den normal value ram hahaha owh ok evrytin seems so clear now...guess i'll go fer high performance den... if not they wont be called high performence liao high performence ram usually with better chipsets and PCB's and both also will affect the OCbality high performence ram's timing will be varied since different ram got different structure. like some is 2-2-2-5, very tight timings and some with 3-3-3-6 and so on the tighter the better |
| Change to: | 0.0176sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:53 PM |