Feb 9 2012, 07:01 PM
33 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: PJ n Ipoh |
hi guys, I just picked up a female stray kitten today. She's about 2 months old. Her fur is a beautiful dark brown (sort of brownish black), and her eyes are yellow-green. She is SUPER DUPER manja and loves to curl in my lap and sleep.
The problem is that she has ringworms. I've already taken her to see a vet (at Hands n Paws) and gotten malaseb shampoo. Now I'm just wondering if anyone's willing to adopt her after she recovers. ![]() more pictures » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Feb 16 2012, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 16 2012, 02:03 AM) If you're giving the bones to the cat, COOK the bones first. NEVER EVER give cats raw bone even if it is the soft small bone. i'd have to disagree with that. I often feed my cats raw chicken neck, gizzards, whatever part I can get. Actually raw bones are better than cooked, as cooked bones are more prone to breaking in splinters since they're so soft.Dogs on the other hand, are a different story since they're bigger. long thin bones like chicken ribs are best avoided. But my sister's dog is a really slow eater and will slowly chew her food so she sometimes gets chicken necks oh and btw, http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10150483534296693 Added on February 16, 2012, 11:11 am QUOTE(Listiani @ Feb 16 2012, 10:23 AM) Added on February 16, 2012, 11:00 amI am in Kota Kinabalu now. My mum's cat was sick and I brought him to the clinic last Tuesday. After blood test, if seems he was infected with fleas virus. But he is still in early stage so he is not in danger. He didn't want to eat and I wanted to buy A/D to stimulate his appetite. But the clinic doesn't sell A/D. When I chk around, the nearest to my mum's house there's 1 clinic selling A/D. I called the clinic and the girl who pick up the phone said I can come and buy at their clinic. I went there around 11am. The girl who is manning the counter told me I cannot buy A/D from their clinic because my cat was not treated in their clinic and need vet presciption. All these year I have cats as my pet (I live in KL BTW), I have never encounter any problem buying A/D. In fact, vets encourage me to feed my sick cats with A/D if they refuse to eat their normal meals. I have to argue with her until she agree to sell 2 cans of A/D for me. After that she gave me a supplier number somehwere near in town. She told me I can buy directly from this supplier. I bluntly told her, I only want to buy 2 can not 200 cans of A/D. This post has been edited by verulin: Feb 16 2012, 11:11 AM |
Feb 16 2012, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(kizwan @ Feb 16 2012, 06:01 PM) I don't have litter box yet. At daytime, I put my cat in the lobby (a place we used to parked our bicycles). There is an open window. So, when she want to poop or pee, she will go outside to do its business. She can come in through the same window too. The problem is at night, I don't want her to get out because a lot of "pacat". I already know her schedule. She poops in the morning (after breakfast) & pee at least two times a day (morning & evening and/or night). She usually "tell" me, so I know when to bring her to toilet. Like I said, some time she get diarrhea. When this happen, I usually wake up with very nice smell in the room. Don't worry no more. Today I bought very cheap litter box & "Clean 'N Easy" clumping cat litter, and also "Saintail" cat shampoo. I also bought a "Ubat Cacing Biasa" for cat. The instruction on the bottle only said one bottle for three time usage & one usage for every two weeks. How to use it? Do I need to add it in the water? I'm really lost. ubat cacing from vet is much simpler. one tablet masuk dah boleh This post has been edited by verulin: Feb 16 2012, 07:22 PM |
Feb 18 2012, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Feb 18 2012, 10:26 AM) I have two ways of feeding medication to my cats. some cats will just lick the wet food off the pill, so I prefer to use cheese. I give a bit of cheese without the pill first, just to make them happy One using the pill popper instrument. Put the pill in the instrument, open your cats mouth put the instrument and then push the pill inside. Tadaaaaa finish in just a few seconds. Second one ois take a bit of wet food eg science ad put the pill inside and roll the food into a ball and feed it to yr cat. They eat the wet food and pill together. Easy huh? No struggles, no scratches I then give them the cheese ball with pill using the method Shukri showed, but since they just taste the cheese they don't fight so much |
Feb 21 2012, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(Gareth @ Feb 21 2012, 01:13 PM) Sorry , is health problem ...typo that sounds suspicious i try to discuss with the owner since she still not allow me to go in her house i wish to buy in small quantity/pack so the cat food can be more fresh for them is that star pro avilaible in 1kg ? I heard that NATURAL TRAINER which is from Italy is quite famous and highly recommanded by many pet shop, is it true ?? I think I agree with dfcloud. did she say exactly why you can't enter her house? I also don't think it's a good idea to move the cat around. best is to visit her. to choose good cat food, you have to read the ingredients, especially the 1st ingredient in the list which is the highest amount. 1st ingredient = meat, is better than corn/rice/cereal This post has been edited by verulin: Feb 21 2012, 07:56 PM |
Feb 24 2012, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(pcminc @ Feb 23 2012, 07:52 PM) "my cat got no choice" EXCUSE ME??!! If you had done your research BEFORE getting a cat, you'd know that female cats DO have a choice when choosing their mate! It's YOUR FAULT that she's stressed because you didn't spay her! "Not fair"???!! sheesh QUOTE(pcminc @ Feb 24 2012, 04:28 PM) if you tell me about cost become a cat owner,act i unable to spend so much money to my cat,clinic etc,i also have no money at all,just love the cat..my family also same , we re poor family with but living with home cat together and sleep together, SO NICE of you to condemn the cat for something that wasn't his fault. If you do manage to trap him, get him to a vet to get him neutered. NGO's like Animal Care can provide subsidy for the treatment of stray cats.lessons here this kurap male cat can defined as bad cat because i know he is very bad cat here,no behave,no manner,no owner, because of that he become kurap from fighting,disturbing and surviving to live....is not about curing or healing. i wanted set a trap cage and sent him to some fish market if i got him... and if you truly love your cat, get her spayed, and get any future cats you get neutered/spayed. You might think it's so cute and fun to have kittens at first, but after maybe 10 litters, who's gonna buy them? Your friends already have enough cats and there are millions of homeless cats looking for owners. I live in a condo unit and can only foster one cat at a time, so I can only afford pick up strays that are sick and injured. Currently I'm fostering a kitten with ringworm. Don't add to the problem! Sure, some say that it's pcminc's own business since it's his own cat, but THINK OF THE BIG PICTURE! Your own satisfaction and happiness versus the millions of other stray cats out there! edit: okay I've calmed down now. I'm sorry that I appear rude to you, but I REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY x1000000 hope that you think this through really carefully first. I'm guessing that your cat is not a pure breed, so there's really no need to mate your cat since there is not much demand for it. Let other homeless cats have the chance to find their forever homes, don't add more kittens that will become competition. This post has been edited by verulin: Feb 24 2012, 08:48 PM |
Feb 25 2012, 11:21 AM
Feb 25 2012, 11:25 AM
Mar 11 2012, 10:02 AM
Mar 16 2012, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(virphirod @ Mar 16 2012, 02:47 PM) OMG thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu and remember not to give milk while the kitten is lying on its back. must lie on stomachps: after googling, most probably 2-3 weeks (small front teeth, eyes and ears open)... huhu This post has been edited by verulin: Mar 16 2012, 06:46 PM |
Mar 24 2012, 03:25 PM
promo sikit
this kitten is up for adoption! |
Apr 3 2012, 03:06 AM
QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 2 2012, 04:00 PM) This question had been raise many times and SPCA always giving a lot of excuses why they didn't neuter the kitten. As far as I know, shelter for animal will neuter the kittens/pups as young as 3 months (for female) because they can get on heat at 3 mths old. No fund for SPCA for spaying?? Fund keep coming in and they can afford to buy land and bungalow already. this is why I prefer to support less well known shelters, they need just as much funding but not many people know of them.This post has been edited by verulin: Apr 3 2012, 03:08 AM |
Apr 3 2012, 08:01 PM
DIY litter box
1. Get a cheap plastic storage box. The cheaper the better, because the plastic is softer. This one was about RM9 from Carrefour. 2. Cut out a 'door'. It's easier if you have a jigsaw, but I didn't have one with me so I just used a good sturdy cutter (the type for cutting paper). It'll take some time and your hands will feel sore. Be careful not to cut yourself. 3. Cut off any stray bits to make it smooth, or sand down the edges if you have sandpaper. 4. Get a thick floor mat, the type that's like very stringy ...not sure how to explain. I got mine from Ace Hardware for RM15 i think (can't remember the exact price). It will help to catch most of the litter, but there will still be a bit on the floor if your cat runs out of the box straight after business. You can take it out and shake out the litter every now and then. 5. Fill with litter and you're done! pros: - so much cheaper! - sides are high so litter won't be kicked out - not covered so it's not stuffy and dusty inside cons: - not very pretty - troublesome to make and here's a pic. you can see the litter that's caught in the stringy mat. ![]() This post has been edited by verulin: Apr 3 2012, 08:27 PM |
Apr 5 2012, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 5 2012, 04:03 PM) Yes. my neighbour in Kota Kinabalu. Passed his dog to his friend to take care because he wants to migrate overseas. His dogs died 4 mths later. He doesn't want to eat, just lying on the floor and whining. I cried when I see the dog howl every nite because he missed his old master. my cat Tiger is blind so I guess it made him a bit clingy to me. I once left him at home overnight as I had to make a quick outstation trip. When I came back the next day I realised he was so stressed that he pulled out a bit of fur.My cats also very monyok everytime I go for outstation trip. Now I am bit worry because I'll be going to Korea on 20/4-28/4. They'll surely become monyok. I must hug and kiss them a lot when I return to KL. To reassure them I have no intention to abandon them. Now he has another brudder cat to keep him company true story from ISPCA: A young woman had to surrender her dog as she had to move away for work. The dog refused to eat for weeks, but finally the staff managed to get it to eat a little bit. Then the woman decided to visit the dog. When she left, the dog got so depressed again that it died some time later This post has been edited by verulin: Apr 5 2012, 04:24 PM |
Apr 7 2012, 10:45 PM
some cats do play fetch. One of my cats also does this.
Apr 12 2012, 07:37 PM
Fitrah, I agree with you. Raw diet ftw!
unfortunately I don't have the time to feed my cats raw everyday, but I do give them raw chicken neck, gizzards, hearts and carcasses a few times a week to replace their regular kibble diet. As long as the meat is washed properly, it's okay. My cats are worm free and they love exercising their jaws. I don't feed them raw often enough to notice much change in their poo, but from what I've read, others report that there is less poo produced and is much less smelly. and contrary to popular belief, RAW bones are easily tackled by cats. it's the cooked ones that are dangerous as they are softer and more likely to splinter. I sometimes get chicken carcasses very cheaply from the market and they devour everything - ribs, spines and all. ps. I prefer the Raw Meaty Bones diet. I don't see much point in feeding minced meat to cats when they can easily chew through the whole thing. This post has been edited by verulin: Apr 12 2012, 07:40 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0630sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:51 AM |