4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

marauderz
post Feb 10 2012, 07:09 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Warning, unless you really need Telco billing, DO NOT set the your LiveID region to Malaysia. You loose the whole Xbox Live branch!

So my recommendations about using a secondary LiveID still stands!
marauderz
post Feb 10 2012, 09:03 PM

3,390 posts

The Malaysia Live ID situation is NOT GOOD.

Please read this old guide
http://www.marauderzstuff.com/PermaLink,gu...5b6b64bdfa.aspx

and decide wheter you still want to set Malaysia region on your Live ID or not.

My recommendation is DON'T, there seems to be some bugs in it.
marauderz
post Feb 10 2012, 10:21 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Feb 10 2012, 08:13 PM)
Mean if use Malaysia ID we won't be able to access the Xbox live and marketplace?
No XBL, got Marketplace, can purchase using local CC without any problems, but selection will be different compared to other countries.
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 08:50 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Feb 11 2012, 08:13 AM)
so means now if i use my malaysia liveid... the marketplace and xbox live will be works?
If you use Malaysian LiveID, you'll be able to easily link a credit card to the account and buy stuff.

BUT....

You lose Xbox Live... In Malaysia, you do not get to buy Xbox live games....
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 08:55 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Feb 11 2012, 12:04 AM)
i believe marketplace for msia had been announced few days before lumia launched date
That is correct, with a Malaysian account, you can buy stuff in RM and easily link your payment options.

The problem here is that you would completely lose the ability to even try Xbox Live games cause the while category is disabled for Malaysian accounts.
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 12:16 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Feb 11 2012, 11:58 AM)
have you guy try the local scout ?
Local scout doesn't work in Malaysia.

Added on February 11, 2012, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Feb 11 2012, 09:45 AM)
In short, Malaysia still has very limited access to marketplace?

I probably will only buy a Window Phone after fully supported in Malaysia...
Well, if you want the hassle free experience you can well. Right now it'll be just like business as usual previously, just use another live id, and get all the free or trial apps you want. It's not that you can't totally access the marketplace to get stuff.

This post has been edited by marauderz: Feb 11 2012, 12:17 PM
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 02:17 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(chonglol @ Feb 11 2012, 12:44 PM)
any lumia 710 users here??

any problems so far?

how is the battery life?

any problems ending calls?

thanks smile.gif
Reemember that the end call problem is that the UI doesn't show the call is ended, but luckily the actual call has already been ended on the telco side.

Added on February 11, 2012, 2:19 pm
QUOTE(sammm33 @ Feb 11 2012, 02:10 PM)

to be fair, their argument do sounds logic enuf cuz what they using now are the mainstream, so for sure the app's are abundant . but does that really makes the Lumia 800 with meego sxxks?
Why you say it's running Meego?

This post has been edited by marauderz: Feb 11 2012, 02:19 PM
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 02:55 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Nightengale @ Feb 11 2012, 02:46 PM)
The only thing lacking on the WP7 side compared to other OSes are the number of apps/games available.

Actually its nothing to do with the number of apps, just that to them if your platform doesn't have X app its not a real phone.

For windows phone, X was
- angry birds

Then once it got that, X became
- whatsapp

I Think the complaint now for X should be....
- Instagram?

marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 03:21 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Feb 11 2012, 11:56 AM)
*btw friendly reminder for those (which not using data plan) getting this phone soon, once u put in ur micro sim, remember to go Setting -> mobile network and disable the Data connection  smile.gif
On first setup you can choose the Custom phone configuration option to turn it off initially already.
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 03:23 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Feb 11 2012, 03:14 PM)
many year ago before android os was recognize by many user that time many ppl are still using symbian , ios i guess?~

then one day Android started became more popular, which i still remember one of my friend who run smartphone business never really bother about android. Because still new in market no demand, i was that time wanted to try android after changing so many winMo, he bash on me..  Y U 1 android??!!  rclxub.gif  Android Good Meh!??  so what now??!! Android everywhere!!

Same thing happen to me again, i ask for Windowsphone 7 when 1st gen HD7 launched, he bash on me AGAIN!! same old slogan : Y U 1 windows phone good meh~~~??!!!  doh.gif  doh.gif  laugh.gif
that's a good analogy for what's happening now. True, in Malaysia all these marketplace problems are hampering adoption by normal users, but traction is increasing more than before so don't count it out yet.
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 05:44 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 11 2012, 04:40 PM)
Since there is no proper way to close the apps we have opened. how do we know if there is actually any apps running on the background?
The apps do not run in the background, its just an illusion, so don't worry about them.
marauderz
post Feb 11 2012, 11:49 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 11 2012, 03:39 PM)

First impression is... i Charged my phone at night to full.. (no 8 hours charging)....go to bed...wake up 12pm.. check phone... battery = 75% left... I dont have sim card insert and no wifi connected (did play 10 minutes d night b4 though)... now battery is really as bad as wat ppl said...
You didn't put the SIM card in, but did you turn FLIGHT MODE on to disable the radio? If not the radio will keep trying to search for a network that doesn't need the SIM card.
marauderz
post Feb 12 2012, 11:04 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(orenji @ Feb 12 2012, 09:42 AM)
whatsapp have, how to change the region of the market?
I m sorry, but you are unable to change the linked country.
marauderz
post Feb 12 2012, 09:09 PM

3,390 posts

Hey guys, I just noticed that the camera is stuck in Macro focus mode by default. So you'd want to change that to Normal focus mode and press Save setting to save it as default.
marauderz
post Feb 12 2012, 09:32 PM

3,390 posts

Batteries always get warm when they're in heavy use, ie. calls, charging, constant data transfer, etc. etc.
marauderz
post Feb 16 2012, 03:58 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 16 2012, 03:28 PM)
Not Nokia, more like Microsoft since Windows Phone OS is by Microsoft.
Follow blindly too much footsteps of Apple's iOS; not sure why they didn't add this, but if there's no any special concerns, they should be able to add this feature in "someday".
The inability to simply be able to drag and drop media and other files out from the device stems from the DRM required argument.
marauderz
post Feb 17 2012, 12:05 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 16 2012, 11:36 PM)
Anyway to overcome this problem? Only 1 Mobile number can be assigned... the 2nd number must be home/office/ other.. and the problem is if i assign a Hp number to Home.. I CANT SEND TEXT MESSAGE AT ALL?!
Welcome to the other OH MY GOD issue with Windows Phone 7 following USSD support.

Yes.. you cannot QUICKLY TEXT a message that isn't listed as a mobile number.

But you can do this.

- Go to messaging
- Hit + to create new message
- See the small + beside the TO field? Hit that
- It'll bring up the contacts list for you to search
- Find the contact with the number that you want and tap on the record
- when you're in the record you can see all the numbers listed, tap on the desired number
- Send message like normal

Begin doh.gif

I guess they figured most ppl only have one mobile.
marauderz
post Feb 17 2012, 03:13 PM

3,390 posts

No, you'll need to create another Live ID and attach it to US or SG.

marauderz
post Feb 17 2012, 03:53 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Feb 17 2012, 11:34 AM)
I don't think that's right.. 50% charge used up in 7 hours? When the phone has been on standby for almost all of the 7 hours?  When the screen has been turned off?

I mean look at the specs on the webpage http://www.nokia.com/my-en/products/phone/...specifications/
Is 3G on? How's the signal strength where you leave ur phone when u sleep?

we can see if data retrieval is eating power by turning off data connection before you sleep and see.

marauderz
post Feb 17 2012, 05:30 PM

3,390 posts

Always remember that if you're in an area where your signal constantly switches between 3G and E then there's a higher potential for power drain.

Because whenever your phone is on E, the radio will use up more power trying to get 3G.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0220sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:25 PM