i feel like my workout is too short?

TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 22 2011, 06:54 PM, updated 15y ago

20 posts

i have been told that workouts should last about 45 minutes at least for effectiveness

but mine last about 30 minutes usually not including warmup or abs

I am doing a high intensity workout so i have low rest periods like about 30-60 seconds(30 first set,45 second, 60 third)

my reps range is 12 reps, 10 reps and then 8 reps( so i can roughly maintain the same weight)

every three weeks i would do the same workout, on the forth week i would superset/dropset the same workout then the 5th week i would switch to incline bench for the nex three weeks,superset/dropset the same way, and then repeat with decline before going back to flat

Chest

3x Barbell Bench Press
3x Dumbell Fly
3x Dumbell Bench press
3x Wide Pushups

Back

3x Chin ups
3x Pulldowns
3x Dumbell Row(each side)
3x Wide pulldown

Shoulder,Arms

3x Military Press
3x Side Raise
3x Shrugs

3x Skull crusher
3x Dips

3x Alternating Dumbell curl
3x Hammer Curl

No deadlift and squats for me because i'm still a teenager and i''m not aiming for big just

ripped
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 06:57 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

And how does bring a teenager justifies no deadlift and squat?
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM

20 posts

cant really hire a spotter and it looks extremely dangerous for me to try haha
isnt those for getting BIG n Bulky?
so it dosen distroy someones growth?
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 07:02 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

After all the crap that I've had to see today, I'm gonna leave this thread alone
pedro
post Oct 22 2011, 07:09 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 22 2011, 07:02 PM)
After all the crap that I've had to see today, I'm gonna leave this thread alone
Imma have some fun!

KeithJohnson:

Define ripped?
Care to give us an example of who you wanna look like?
statikinetic
post Oct 22 2011, 07:18 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM)
I can't see how the deadlift is more dangerous than the military press or the squat more dangerous than skullcrushers.
Isn't the bench press and pull downs for getting big and bulky as well?

If squats and deadlifts destroys growth, no bodybuilder or athlete would do them. And yet today they are the staple of most workouts.
The Silent Killer

657 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM)
shit man i gotta tell Arnold Schwarzenegger to stop squatting and deadlifting
razorboy

#winning
2,634 posts

Do your squats and deads boy. You wanna grow? Do them. If you are afraid of death, do them light. You afraid for your form, record and post here.
SUSPepper
post Oct 22 2011, 07:49 PM

427 posts

by teenager, you mean you're 13? or 15?

maybe bcoz there's no squats or dead that it only cost you 30 minutes to do workout?
justin_5
post Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM

310 posts

deadlift and squats are important bro.. unless got back injury or severe knee injury.. do them..

and you dont do them coz u afraid u get big and bulky? ==

i did them until i can barely walk for the next 2 days and another 2 days for them to completely heal.. yet.. im still not big and bulky..
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 08:13 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM)
deadlift and squats are important bro.. unless got back injury or severe knee injury.. do them..

i did them until i can barely walk for the next 2 days and another 2 days for them to completely heal.. yet.. im still not big and bulky..
Good man
Microsuck_360
post Oct 22 2011, 08:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM)

he wanna keep his virginity shakehead.gif thats why no squat..lol laugh.gif
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 08:49 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

Then I realize, you have no leg days too.
justin_5
post Oct 22 2011, 10:14 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 22 2011, 08:49 PM)
Then I realize, you have no leg days too.
kuang kuang kuang...
mikehuan
post Oct 23 2011, 04:27 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Oct 22 2011, 07:09 PM)
Imma have some fun!
KeithJohnson:

Define ripped?
Care to give us an example of who you wanna look like?
+1

really kinda depends what your goal is. post a pic of yourself and a pic of what you want to look like. but imo if you see yourself a lot smaller than your target physique, squats are deadllifts are the fastest way for you to gain mass, though must be done with correct form and with heavy enough poundages...
SUSPepper
post Oct 23 2011, 09:17 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 23 2011, 04:27 AM)
+1

really kinda depends what your goal is. post a pic of yourself and a pic of what you want to look like. but imo if you see yourself a lot smaller than your target physique, squats are deadllifts are the fastest way for you to gain mass, though must be done with correct form and with heavy enough poundages...
this +1
Alphaproject
post Oct 24 2011, 09:41 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

brah, u suffer the "mama said" syndrom?

mama said dun squats n deads, if not u become hobbits...

on the serious note, pls read the stickies...

jphlau
post Oct 24 2011, 11:40 AM

1,202 posts

do dumbell squat and lunges instead of using barbell
x-199Tx
post Oct 24 2011, 11:46 AM

1,089 posts

just careful doing dl and squats , as mentioned before its not for everyone .

People with weak back or had injuries before should consider twice .

And if worried of injuries do as razor boy said , light .

IMO, I think should use leg press and squat machine , safer .
razorboy
post Oct 24 2011, 12:42 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Oct 24 2011, 11:40 AM)
do dumbell squat and lunges instead of using barbell
More likely to snap some shit up with db doing squats and deads

QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Oct 24 2011, 11:46 AM)
just careful doing dl and squats , as mentioned before its not for everyone .

People with weak back or had injuries before should consider twice .

And if worried of injuries do as razor boy said , light .

IMO, I think should use leg press and squat machine , safer .
Leg press is actually more dangerous in my opinion, unless your leg press machine has a safety pin. With squats, just drop the damn bar behind.

That being said, stay with hacks if you're so concerned about dying
Alphaproject
post Oct 24 2011, 12:49 PM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 24 2011, 12:42 PM)
actually, u can do sissy squat with "light" dumbells and deads too..

did i mention light? i mean relatively light for you...

i did db sissy squat with a pair of 40's... strict as fcuk...

and db deads... tat is when barbell begins to look boring.. tongue.gif

razorboy
post Oct 24 2011, 12:53 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Oct 24 2011, 12:49 PM)
actually, u can do sissy squat with "light" dumbells and deads too..

did i mention light? i mean relatively light for you...

i did db sissy squat with a pair of 40's... strict as fcuk...

and db deads... tat is when barbell begins to look boring.. tongue.gif
The only db work I do with these two is SLDL. Sometimes it's just to change things up. That's about it.
Tamsin
post Oct 24 2011, 05:18 PM

553 posts

Are my workouts too long ?Mine are almost 2 hours long ranging from warmups , 2 muscle group training ,rest intervals and cardio after that . I'm only 15 .
mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 12:06 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 24 2011, 05:18 PM)
Are my workouts too long ?Mine are almost 2 hours long ranging from warmups , 2 muscle group training ,rest intervals and cardio after that . I'm only 15 .
workout durations dont matter imo, its all about the intensity of your workouts. 45 mins of super intense, low rest times trumps a leisurely done workout with 5 mins chat/rest in between sets anytime.
Alphaproject
post Oct 25 2011, 08:52 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 25 2011, 12:06 AM)
workout durations dont matter imo, its all about the intensity of your workouts. 45 mins of super intense, low rest times trumps a leisurely done workout with 5 mins chat/rest in between sets anytime.
correct, it depends on the "intensity" of your workout... do 1 set and chat 30 minutes dosent count!!! tongue.gif

TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 25 2011, 11:15 AM

20 posts

http://www.google.com.my/imgres?q=ripped&u...1t:429,r:13,s:0

ripped like similar to this

ok i gonna add deadlift . but i'm really afraid of doing squats without supervision as my gym isn't well equipped to do squats. other than a smith machine( am i saying correct? the machine where u have to turn the hook and the barbell only goes vertical)

my intensity is really high, 30-60 second rest
razorboy
post Oct 25 2011, 11:32 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 25 2011, 11:15 AM)

ok i gonna add deadlift . but i'm really afraid of doing squats without supervision as my gym isn't well equipped to do squats. other than a smith machine( am i saying correct? the machine where u have to turn the hook and the barbell only goes vertical)

son, you don't know intensity until you've train with someone more experienced. anyway, it's all right to do smith machine squats, just place your feet slightly more forward than usual
mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 11:34 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 25 2011, 11:15 AM)

great, and since your gym isnt equipped for squats, its best not to do them at the moment. safety trumps everything else.
nothing else to add really, just keep the 3 main points in check; workout, rest, nutrition and you're good to go
Alphaproject
post Oct 25 2011, 01:35 PM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 25 2011, 11:32 AM)
son, you don't know intensity until you've train with someone more experienced. anyway, it's all right to do smith machine squats, just place your feet slightly more forward than usual
is this sentence got problem or im just dirty minded? tongue.gif

yeah, maybe im dirty minded tongue.gif

mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 05:27 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Oct 25 2011, 01:35 PM)
is this sentence got problem or im just dirty minded? tongue.gif
yeah, maybe im dirty minded tongue.gif
alpha, you can remove the 'maybe' from your sentence, lol.
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 25 2011, 05:54 PM

20 posts

i did it again
this time about 30 minutes

2 warm up set, 3 working set of
Bench Press, Dumbell Fly, Dumbell Chest Press, Machine Fly
could'not manage to do much pushups

Dips and SkullCrushers

warm up 5 minutes

about 35 minute total. haihh
-Dan
post Oct 25 2011, 05:58 PM

4,382 posts

How long you spend in the gym isn't what's important. It's how much effort you exert while you're there. As long as you bust your ass off in the gym, good, then get home to eat and rest.
mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 05:58 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 25 2011, 05:54 PM)
i did it again
this time about 30 minutes

Bench Press, Dumbell Fly, Dumbell Chest Press, Machine Fly

Dips and SkullCrushers

warm up 5 minutes

about 35 minute total. haihh
post the weights and reps you lifted. you can do ALL that in 30 mins? chances are you're going way too light
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 25 2011, 06:08 PM

20 posts

i'm not a muscular guy.. yet so my weight is low
buts its ok right, ego comes last. i'm here to learn and i just wan to know how to lengthen it

all my rest intervels is between 30 - 60

Bench Press
warm up- empty bar x10
warm up 2- 1.25kg plates x10

working set 1- 30kg x12
working set 2 - 20kg x12
working set 3 - 20kg x 8

Dumbell Fly
warm up- 5kg x10

ws - 10kg x12
ws - 7.5kg x12
ws - 7.5kg x 9

Dumbell Chest Press

ws - 10kg x 12(each hand)
ws - 10kg x 10
ws - 19kg x 8

Machine Fly

ws -its says 40 on the machine x 12
ws -40 x 12
ws -30 x 12

set 1 pushup : 5
set 2 pushup :4
set 3 pushup : 0.5

Dips
8 x 3

SkullCrushers
10 kg x 12 for 3 sets

This post has been edited by KeithJohnson: Oct 25 2011, 06:10 PM
mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 06:24 PM

6,160 posts

well, if you think you finish too fast, maybe try changing up your routine a bit? do heavier weights with longer rest times?
statikinetic
post Oct 25 2011, 06:27 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Did a brief calculation and with your program you're doing it a little too easily. I think you can manage heavier, suspect with the current weights you could do 15 or more reps with them.
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 25 2011, 06:36 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 25 2011, 06:24 PM)
well, if you think you finish too fast, maybe try changing up your routine a bit? do heavier weights with longer rest times?
i wan to cut resting time as i wan it to be kinda like those low rest intervel workouts for lean afterburn effect

i'm thinking next week i add few more sets of chest exercises maybe.

Added on October 25, 2011, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 25 2011, 06:27 PM)
Did a brief calculation and with your program you're doing it a little too easily. I think you can manage heavier, suspect with the current weights you could do 15 or more reps with them.
hmm, next week might try and increase the weights like you said. but i really wan to maintain the rest periods and reps range(8-12)

This post has been edited by KeithJohnson: Oct 25 2011, 06:37 PM
darklight79
post Oct 25 2011, 06:39 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 25 2011, 06:36 PM)
i wan to cut resting time as i wan it to be kinda like those low rest intervel workouts for lean afterburn effect

hmm, next week might try and increase the weights like you said. but i really wan to maintain the rest periods and reps range(8-12)
Lol. Is that what you think? Less rest times means you burn more bodyfat?
mikehuan
post Oct 25 2011, 06:44 PM

6,160 posts

aiya, if you said this earlier it would have saved a lot of enquiries, lol. dude if you wanted lean, do cardio. dont lump fat burning and muscle gain into the same workout.
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 25 2011, 06:46 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 25 2011, 06:39 PM)
Lol. Is that what you think? Less rest times means you burn more bodyfat?
erm, from what intel i can gather, less rest times intensify ur workout which can help build an afterburn effect.

i'm not trying to challenge ur knowledge man hmm.gif

i'm here to learn from you guys in order to get a better routine

so please dont be rough or sarcastic on me

Added on October 25, 2011, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 25 2011, 06:44 PM)
aiya, if you said this earlier it would have saved a lot of enquiries, lol. dude if you wanted lean, do cardio. dont lump fat burning and muscle gain into the same workout.
i do do cardio. but i'm not really fat lol. i just know that to get ripped i gotta get a high interval training and cardio like u said. i'm about 11-13% body fat atm. not underweight but not ripped

This post has been edited by KeithJohnson: Oct 25 2011, 06:48 PM
statikinetic
post Oct 25 2011, 07:17 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Just saying, to us it looks like mixed priorities.
The whole objective of doing chest exercises would be to fatigue and subsequently grow your chest right? In view of the main objective, it looks like you're letting the secondary compromise the main.

If you're working the chest, work the chest.
If you want a lean afterburn effect, go HIIT.

Objectives.
x-199Tx
post Oct 25 2011, 07:22 PM

1,089 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 24 2011, 12:42 PM)
Leg press is actually more dangerous in my opinion, unless your leg press machine has a safety pin. With squats, just drop the damn bar behind.

That being said, stay with hacks if you're so concerned about dying
well actually , it has been proven to be safer . Cause the pressure keeps off your backbone and spreads elsewhere .

You can go google it smile.gif
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:00 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Oct 25 2011, 07:22 PM)
well actually , it has been proven to be safer . Cause the pressure keeps off your backbone and spreads elsewhere .

You can go google it smile.gif
Try balancing 110 DBS on each hand and squat. Then tell me if it's safe.

razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:02 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

Bollocks. Who told you less rest time will result in afterburn effect?
justaregularjoe
post Oct 26 2011, 01:02 AM

113 posts

DBS is safer if Barbell dont have the smiths for failsafe.
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:05 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Oct 26 2011, 01:02 AM)
DBS is safer if Barbell dont have the smiths for failsafe.
I don't get you. But anyway, say , squat 220. Yea? Like I said, go ahead, try balancing 110 on each hand and squat.
justaregularjoe
post Oct 26 2011, 01:07 AM

113 posts

its is harder to lift such heavy weight without the smith, imagine just carrying the barbell from ground to your back o.o?

imagine the barbell drop out from your hand, if you are using straps, hand get snap out from the shoulder

This post has been edited by justaregularjoe: Oct 26 2011, 01:08 AM
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:09 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Oct 26 2011, 01:07 AM)
its is harder to lift such heavy weight without the smith, imagine just carrying the barbell from ground to your back o.o?
Which moron would carry the barbell from the ground, basically clean and press the bb up to their backs and squat?

You ever heard of squat rack and power racks?

And who the heck straps onto the bb to squat?

This post has been edited by razorboy: Oct 26 2011, 01:09 AM
-Dan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:10 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Oct 26 2011, 01:07 AM)

imagine the barbell drop out from your hand, if you are using straps, hand get snap out from the shoulder
You mean to say you clean the weight up to your front delts, press it, then lower it down onto your traps/rear delts, EVERY single time you wanna squat? I salute you, man. Talk about hardcore.

Edit: Talk about squats being a full body workout, literally. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by -Dan: Oct 26 2011, 01:12 AM
mikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:11 AM

6,160 posts

razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:11 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:10 AM)
You mean to say you clean the weight up to your front delts, press it, then lower it down onto your traps/rear delts, EVERY single time you wanna squat? I salute you, man. Talk about hardcore.
Right? Right? Lol
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:12 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:11 AM)
Btw, where da heck you 2 came from?
mikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:13 AM

6,160 posts

i cant sleep sad.gif, trolling tnation and facebook lol.
-Dan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:14 AM

4,382 posts

Was studying, got hungry, so I came on here. (Makes absolutely no sense, I know. laugh.gif ) So now it's time to find something to eat.
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:15 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:13 AM)
i cant sleep sad.gif, trolling tnation and facebook lol.
Lol. We have to learn how to squat man, it seems that clean jerking the bb to our backs are the new thing now. Or we can try squatting with DBS man, like put 120 on each hand and squat. HARDCORE
justaregularjoe
post Oct 26 2011, 01:17 AM

113 posts

smith machines, racks too. i said IF, blind or what
razorboy
post Oct 26 2011, 01:19 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Oct 26 2011, 01:17 AM)
Don't blame us if u can't tell your story right. You expect us to reply to something you didn't post properly? Look at your reply mate. Blind or what?
mikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:20 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:14 AM)
Was studying, got hungry, so I came on here. (Makes absolutely no sense, I know. laugh.gif ) So now it's time to find something to eat.
.... lol

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 26 2011, 01:15 AM)
Lol. We have to learn how to squat man, it seems that clean jerking the bb to our backs are the new thing now. Or we can try squatting with DBS man, like put 120 on each hand and squat. HARDCORE
well, honestly i think he means to pull a db up, like goblet squat or db deadlifts. but C&J then resting it to the back is pretty hardcore, lol.

QUOTE(justaregularjoe @ Oct 26 2011, 01:17 AM)
you just need to explain why you need straps to squat.
statikinetic
post Oct 26 2011, 01:22 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

I got hungry in the middle of the night and lo behold...look at the people hanging round here
mikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:23 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Oct 26 2011, 01:22 AM)
I got hungry in the middle of the night and lo behold...look at the people hanging round here
eh f*** you just reminded me to take my casein, thanks lol.
-Dan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:24 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:20 AM)
.... lol
well, honestly i think he means to pull a db up, like goblet squat or db deadlifts. but C&J then resting it to the back is pretty hardcore, lol.
And also how squatting involves 'carrying the bar from the ground to your back'
statikinetic
post Oct 26 2011, 01:26 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:23 AM)
eh f*** you just reminded me to take my casein, thanks lol.
Wha...that turned out well.

Okaay, so what's all this about C&J the barbell into the squat position and squatting with straps? Crazy ideas abound after midnight.
Alphaproject
post Oct 26 2011, 08:39 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 26 2011, 01:20 AM)
now thats new shocking.gif

SUSPepper
post Oct 28 2011, 11:45 AM

427 posts

i have a slight feeling boy gonna ended up with gorilla posture. don't know why

0.0319sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:00 PM