4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

i feel like my workout is too short?

TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 22 2011, 06:54 PM, updated 15y ago

20 posts

i have been told that workouts should last about 45 minutes at least for effectiveness

but mine last about 30 minutes usually not including warmup or abs

I am doing a high intensity workout so i have low rest periods like about 30-60 seconds(30 first set,45 second, 60 third)

my reps range is 12 reps, 10 reps and then 8 reps( so i can roughly maintain the same weight)

every three weeks i would do the same workout, on the forth week i would superset/dropset the same workout then the 5th week i would switch to incline bench for the nex three weeks,superset/dropset the same way, and then repeat with decline before going back to flat

Chest

3x Barbell Bench Press
3x Dumbell Fly
3x Dumbell Bench press
3x Wide Pushups

Back

3x Chin ups
3x Pulldowns
3x Dumbell Row(each side)
3x Wide pulldown

Shoulder,Arms

3x Military Press
3x Side Raise
3x Shrugs

3x Skull crusher
3x Dips

3x Alternating Dumbell curl
3x Hammer Curl

No deadlift and squats for me because i'm still a teenager and i''m not aiming for big just

ripped
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 06:57 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

And how does bring a teenager justifies no deadlift and squat?
TSKeithJohnson
post Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM

20 posts

cant really hire a spotter and it looks extremely dangerous for me to try haha
isnt those for getting BIG n Bulky?
so it dosen distroy someones growth?
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 07:02 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

After all the crap that I've had to see today, I'm gonna leave this thread alone
pedro
post Oct 22 2011, 07:09 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 22 2011, 07:02 PM)
After all the crap that I've had to see today, I'm gonna leave this thread alone
Imma have some fun!

KeithJohnson:

Define ripped?
Care to give us an example of who you wanna look like?
statikinetic
post Oct 22 2011, 07:18 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM)
I can't see how the deadlift is more dangerous than the military press or the squat more dangerous than skullcrushers.
Isn't the bench press and pull downs for getting big and bulky as well?

If squats and deadlifts destroys growth, no bodybuilder or athlete would do them. And yet today they are the staple of most workouts.
The Silent Killer

657 posts

QUOTE(KeithJohnson @ Oct 22 2011, 07:00 PM)
shit man i gotta tell Arnold Schwarzenegger to stop squatting and deadlifting
razorboy

#winning
2,634 posts

Do your squats and deads boy. You wanna grow? Do them. If you are afraid of death, do them light. You afraid for your form, record and post here.
SUSPepper
post Oct 22 2011, 07:49 PM

427 posts

by teenager, you mean you're 13? or 15?

maybe bcoz there's no squats or dead that it only cost you 30 minutes to do workout?
justin_5
post Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM

310 posts

deadlift and squats are important bro.. unless got back injury or severe knee injury.. do them..

and you dont do them coz u afraid u get big and bulky? ==

i did them until i can barely walk for the next 2 days and another 2 days for them to completely heal.. yet.. im still not big and bulky..
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 08:13 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM)
deadlift and squats are important bro.. unless got back injury or severe knee injury.. do them..

i did them until i can barely walk for the next 2 days and another 2 days for them to completely heal.. yet.. im still not big and bulky..
Good man
Microsuck_360
post Oct 22 2011, 08:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM)

he wanna keep his virginity shakehead.gif thats why no squat..lol laugh.gif
razorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 08:49 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

Then I realize, you have no leg days too.
justin_5
post Oct 22 2011, 10:14 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 22 2011, 08:49 PM)
Then I realize, you have no leg days too.
kuang kuang kuang...
mikehuan
post Oct 23 2011, 04:27 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Oct 22 2011, 07:09 PM)
Imma have some fun!
KeithJohnson:

Define ripped?
Care to give us an example of who you wanna look like?
+1

really kinda depends what your goal is. post a pic of yourself and a pic of what you want to look like. but imo if you see yourself a lot smaller than your target physique, squats are deadllifts are the fastest way for you to gain mass, though must be done with correct form and with heavy enough poundages...
SUSPepper
post Oct 23 2011, 09:17 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 23 2011, 04:27 AM)
+1

really kinda depends what your goal is. post a pic of yourself and a pic of what you want to look like. but imo if you see yourself a lot smaller than your target physique, squats are deadllifts are the fastest way for you to gain mass, though must be done with correct form and with heavy enough poundages...
this +1
Alphaproject
post Oct 24 2011, 09:41 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

brah, u suffer the "mama said" syndrom?

mama said dun squats n deads, if not u become hobbits...

on the serious note, pls read the stickies...

jphlau
post Oct 24 2011, 11:40 AM

1,202 posts

do dumbell squat and lunges instead of using barbell
x-199Tx
post Oct 24 2011, 11:46 AM

1,089 posts

just careful doing dl and squats , as mentioned before its not for everyone .

People with weak back or had injuries before should consider twice .

And if worried of injuries do as razor boy said , light .

IMO, I think should use leg press and squat machine , safer .
razorboy
post Oct 24 2011, 12:42 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Oct 24 2011, 11:40 AM)
do dumbell squat and lunges instead of using barbell
More likely to snap some shit up with db doing squats and deads

QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Oct 24 2011, 11:46 AM)
just careful doing dl and squats , as mentioned before its not for everyone .

People with weak back or had injuries before should consider twice .

And if worried of injuries do as razor boy said , light .

IMO, I think should use leg press and squat machine , safer .
Leg press is actually more dangerous in my opinion, unless your leg press machine has a safety pin. With squats, just drop the damn bar behind.

That being said, stay with hacks if you're so concerned about dying

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:54 AM